• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Sep 6, 2005
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 71
  2. Negative: 9 out of 71

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StéphanieV
    Apr 11, 2007
    10
    Great album! Definately 1000% STONES, blows your mind! They've done it again the Rolling Stones made a abso-fucking-lutely magnificent album once more ! The lyrics sound great - good old Jagger/Richards teamwork :) - and the RIFFS & MUSIC what can I say bold as ever. Every single 21th century band can wrap up, go home and change their nappies 'cos the Rolling Stones are in town Great album! Definately 1000% STONES, blows your mind! They've done it again the Rolling Stones made a abso-fucking-lutely magnificent album once more ! The lyrics sound great - good old Jagger/Richards teamwork :) - and the RIFFS & MUSIC what can I say bold as ever. Every single 21th century band can wrap up, go home and change their nappies 'cos the Rolling Stones are in town again; LEAN & Mean as ever... Expand
  2. JoséR
    Sep 6, 2005
    10
    Amazing
  3. EricZ
    Sep 6, 2005
    8
    A pretty good CD. While there are no "WOW that was amazing" hits there are a number of strong efforts. I love "Let Me Down Slow" and "Laugh, I Nearly Died." "Biggest Mistake" is pretty good too. And you've gotta love the Bush-bashing "Sweet Neo Con."
  4. NiklasE
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best Stones records in a very long time.
  5. Giulio
    Sep 8, 2005
    9
    The greatest rock 'n' roll band in the world is back!!! Better late than never ;-)
  6. PaulG
    Dec 10, 2005
    9
    There is only a few songs i don`t like. In an age of "idol" music..i needed some grit. It`s in this album. It also has blues and country reference songs that show their roots. What`s interesting is if this band had never made an album and i heard bigger bang as their first i would consider the same rating...to judge it otherwise against a back catalogue is pointless..it may be the last There is only a few songs i don`t like. In an age of "idol" music..i needed some grit. It`s in this album. It also has blues and country reference songs that show their roots. What`s interesting is if this band had never made an album and i heard bigger bang as their first i would consider the same rating...to judge it otherwise against a back catalogue is pointless..it may be the last album and therefore there will be nothing to judge as a forward catalogue. they`re only songs...no one said "You have to eat it!" Expand
  7. CarlosM
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    Their Best Album since "Exile". It´s strong, smood, country. blues. They are The Rolling Stones.
  8. ShannonW
    Sep 12, 2005
    7
    While rock solid and more cohesive-sounding than "Bridges to Babylon," this does not have near the variety and scope of "Voodoo Lounge." That album had country, R&B, and ornate folk alongside the standard power-rockers. I can't see why anyone thinks "Bang" is a significant improvement over that. Probably 'cause it's much easier to go along with the "best album in more than While rock solid and more cohesive-sounding than "Bridges to Babylon," this does not have near the variety and scope of "Voodoo Lounge." That album had country, R&B, and ornate folk alongside the standard power-rockers. I can't see why anyone thinks "Bang" is a significant improvement over that. Probably 'cause it's much easier to go along with the "best album in more than 25 years!" hyperbole. Expand
  9. JosephK
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    Best recording in years. Not over produced like the last couple of ones. There are plenty of good song s but the one that stand out the most to me is "Dangerous Beauty". Classic Stones riff with Jagger's hard driving lyrics. Incredible!!!!!
  10. BM
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    This is one great album. Once you've heard the separation of the instruments, you'll realize there are no bad songs. They groove very raunchy, bluezy, Mick in top form. I love TPIE. The Worlds Greatest Rock n Roll Band fo sho!
  11. PatM
    Sep 28, 2005
    10
    Bought it today (Netherlands), I didn't buy it earlier 'cause I didn't expect much. Positive reviews and a number 1 entry in the album top 100 in the Netherlands convinced me to buy it. .................I've been jumping, bounching and shuffling for an hour or two right now. Very inspiring and energetic, I'm again proud to be a Stones fan. I'm not into Bought it today (Netherlands), I didn't buy it earlier 'cause I didn't expect much. Positive reviews and a number 1 entry in the album top 100 in the Netherlands convinced me to buy it. .................I've been jumping, bounching and shuffling for an hour or two right now. Very inspiring and energetic, I'm again proud to be a Stones fan. I'm not into comparing with older material, still going strong that's more important. Can't wait to see them performing next year. Expand
  12. stevek
    Sep 7, 2005
    9
    best since some girls by far they will never stop evolving there jus missin 1 country song like far away eyes
  13. RobertK
    Sep 7, 2005
    9
    Very good album, lots of energy and comparable to Some Girls. Mick Jagger really worked his ass off this time!
  14. nevilleq
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    they are back sounding early stones post altamont . brave to take the honest approach and sound like a stones album should + not follow 2005 5 minute pleasers
  15. MikeH
    Sep 9, 2005
    10
    The Rolling Stones are the best band of all time and this just proves it again
  16. MikeS
    Jan 1, 2006
    9
    One of the best albums they have ever done. I can't get enough of it.
  17. BeaufordeP
    Feb 10, 2006
    10
    This is the best rock album of 2005. The Stones reclaim the crown. There is some filler toward the end, but the body of this album is stunning in its eclecticism, range, and execution. Simply a breathtaking ride...the kind of album no other band in the world could make any more...or even dare try...except for the Stones.
  18. DrewJ
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    Rolling Stones still and will forever have what most bands going today can only dream about...straight through great ablum...The rest of modern rock has just got the shit kicked out of them by seventy year olds
  19. JimR
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    best since tatoo you, mixes all areas of stones sound since the exile days, if they are going out on this one it's a fitting end!!
  20. SatanicMajestyColombia
    Nov 4, 2005
    7
    No glowing moments, and still the over-and-over-again-dull-guitar-riffs. It's fairly nice to see the Stones rockin' once again as they seem to never sell out. And, yeah... Jagger is a charmy guy but his band they all got stuck into that fakie/rockin' sound of their last albums: "Flip the Switch" and all that... no rock progression since "Respectable" see? And let me finish No glowing moments, and still the over-and-over-again-dull-guitar-riffs. It's fairly nice to see the Stones rockin' once again as they seem to never sell out. And, yeah... Jagger is a charmy guy but his band they all got stuck into that fakie/rockin' sound of their last albums: "Flip the Switch" and all that... no rock progression since "Respectable" see? And let me finish with something: the Stones are the most "mere" Rock band so, expect no progression on forthcoming albums, as it has been for the last 20 years or so... It's been "Only Rock n Roll... But I Like it" Expand
  21. JohnP
    Sep 11, 2005
    8
    Significantly better than many of the sniffy critic reviews would have you believe. This is the sound of an exceptionally talented, tight band playing a strong set of tunes. Yes, there are a couple of duff moments, but it's a stronger album than most acts 40 years younger are putting out. Jagger's lyrics might not always be hot, but his delivery of them is blistering - you Significantly better than many of the sniffy critic reviews would have you believe. This is the sound of an exceptionally talented, tight band playing a strong set of tunes. Yes, there are a couple of duff moments, but it's a stronger album than most acts 40 years younger are putting out. Jagger's lyrics might not always be hot, but his delivery of them is blistering - you should buy this now and play it very loud. Expand
  22. JEREMYS
    Sep 13, 2005
    9
    This may be the fifth best Stones album ever (after Sticky Fingers, Exile, Let it Bleed and Beggar's Banquet). No there is no Can't You Hear Me Knocking or Gimme Shelter type miracle, but there are about twelve or thirteen tracks ranging from solid (Infamy and Rough Justice) to extraordinary (Streets of Love and Rain Fall Down). People are calling it their best effort in 27 This may be the fifth best Stones album ever (after Sticky Fingers, Exile, Let it Bleed and Beggar's Banquet). No there is no Can't You Hear Me Knocking or Gimme Shelter type miracle, but there are about twelve or thirteen tracks ranging from solid (Infamy and Rough Justice) to extraordinary (Streets of Love and Rain Fall Down). People are calling it their best effort in 27 years because that's what it is. Any doof that just figured out that Mick is not John Keatsand posted a bad rating has apparently been living in a cave since 1964; Mick's lyrics have always been juvenile; it's a part of his charm. Expand
  23. SeanS
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    greatest effort in years giving yhe old fans what they want and need ladies and gents the greatest rock"n"roll band in the world. Nanker-Phelge are back and they are street fighting with Bush but its not rough justice when your driving to fast and you make the biggest mistake.that sweet neo con needs the back of my hand and it won't take long for this dangerous beauty to realize that greatest effort in years giving yhe old fans what they want and need ladies and gents the greatest rock"n"roll band in the world. Nanker-Phelge are back and they are street fighting with Bush but its not rough justice when your driving to fast and you make the biggest mistake.that sweet neo con needs the back of my hand and it won't take long for this dangerous beauty to realize that this place is empty.hey i mean look what the cat dragged in,laugh i nearly died when bush was re-elected.oh no not you again , this place is empty and there are no streets of love the rain fall down and washed it all away.he will go down in infamy. she saw me coming ,next time let me down slow and kiss me first. sremmus naes Expand
  24. JimS
    Sep 18, 2005
    10
    The best theyve done in 25 years! This is classic rock and powerful R&B This is a Stone"s masterpiece!!!
  25. RandyD
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    INCREDIBLE!!!!!! IS THERE AN 11 IN THE RATING CHART? Best Rolling Stones album in years!!!!!!Mick Jagger still has it!!!!! Lyrics and performing!!
  26. BrandonS
    Sep 7, 2005
    8
    Rock solid rock and roll. I for one don't mind that the lyrics aren't necessarily all that great. They're full of spite and raunch. - Jagger being Jagger. Great Stones album any way you look at it.
  27. SteveMcQueen
    Sep 7, 2005
    9
    A couple of duff tracks but Jagger sounds rejuvenated and the band are stonking
  28. ErikP
    Sep 7, 2005
    9
    Good album, No really awesome songs on it but over all the music is good.
  29. AndrewJ
    Sep 8, 2005
    9
    just short of a classic...the best stones album since exile
  30. peterw
    Sep 9, 2005
    9
    I'm amazed at how many tracks I enjoyed - felt that 60's part of me all over again! I espcially was moved by this place is empty, and of course streets of love
  31. zachm
    May 8, 2007
    9
    its good
  32. David
    Nov 3, 2005
    7
    I don't really understand all of this stuff about "the lyrics are bad.," and the comparisons to Spinal Tap. The Stones have always had willfully ridiculous lyrics and vocals ("I was making love last night/To a dancer friend of mine/I can't seem to stay in step/'Cause she come every time that she pirouettes over me" or check out the bridge of the song "Take it or Leave It." I don't really understand all of this stuff about "the lyrics are bad.," and the comparisons to Spinal Tap. The Stones have always had willfully ridiculous lyrics and vocals ("I was making love last night/To a dancer friend of mine/I can't seem to stay in step/'Cause she come every time that she pirouettes over me" or check out the bridge of the song "Take it or Leave It." You think Jagger doesn't know that lyrics like "The moon is yellow but I'm like jello/Staring down your tits " or "You look like your totally spaced/Your breath's got a horrible taste/You look like a leper, dressed as Sergeant Pepper" are completely ridiculous? The man is not an idiot. The Stones presentation has always been campy and overblown. One other thing...people who say that there is "nothing new" about this. That seems like a recycled criticism to me, and one that's not particularly observant. Do people really expect the Stones to start radically innovating and changing their music? Plus, more insightful listeners will realize that this rocks much harder than any of their last albums. Expand
  33. NickR
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    This is the best Stones album since Tattoo You & probably better than Exile on Main Street. The boys sound great as their songs cross over from hard rock to rock to r&b & even a little pop. There is something for everyone. Mick sounds great & Keith once again shows why he is the soul of the band. Ron & Charlie don't miss a beat. This offering isn't just for the fans....it's This is the best Stones album since Tattoo You & probably better than Exile on Main Street. The boys sound great as their songs cross over from hard rock to rock to r&b & even a little pop. There is something for everyone. Mick sounds great & Keith once again shows why he is the soul of the band. Ron & Charlie don't miss a beat. This offering isn't just for the fans....it's for music lovers. Expand
  34. SteveJ
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    Positively the best work the Rolling Stones have done since Tatoo You. Outstanding gutar riffs and interplay between Wood and Richards, Jaggers vocal ability is at its peak ranging from soulfull to blues to all out rock and roll. No otherband in the world today would put out an album like this containing a MOR power ballad, a electric Delta blues and punk rocking songs. The versatility in Positively the best work the Rolling Stones have done since Tatoo You. Outstanding gutar riffs and interplay between Wood and Richards, Jaggers vocal ability is at its peak ranging from soulfull to blues to all out rock and roll. No otherband in the world today would put out an album like this containing a MOR power ballad, a electric Delta blues and punk rocking songs. The versatility in this band is outstanding they can take any genre and make it there own. Collapse
  35. SteveC
    Sep 11, 2005
    9
    There are three rocking stompers that really kick ass: the steroid pumped 67 vibe of Dangerous Beauty, the sophisticated punk of Oh No, Not You Again, and the sleek rock of It Wont Take Long. Then there's the deliscious funk of Rain Fall Down, and the rending ballad Laugh, I Nearly Died. Thats just fuive outstanding tracks that hold water in any decade's company, 60's There are three rocking stompers that really kick ass: the steroid pumped 67 vibe of Dangerous Beauty, the sophisticated punk of Oh No, Not You Again, and the sleek rock of It Wont Take Long. Then there's the deliscious funk of Rain Fall Down, and the rending ballad Laugh, I Nearly Died. Thats just fuive outstanding tracks that hold water in any decade's company, 60's included, and theres more... Who'd have thought it? What weve been hoping for for a long long time, they've re-set the bar where it belongs, and noone will beat these guys for longevity. Expand
  36. Matt
    Sep 29, 2005
    7
    It feels a little desperate to seem relevant, but there are many solid Rolling Stones moments.
  37. DuckCD
    Dec 18, 2006
    10
    This is a very fine album, heartfelt and fierce like all their best work, but also tender, generous and brave enough to expose wounds that would sound silly in younger mouths. While it's not as darkly bold as "Undercover," which remains way underrated, its songs sneak up on you over time. You don't even realize till Track 4 that you're back in deep Stones territory... and This is a very fine album, heartfelt and fierce like all their best work, but also tender, generous and brave enough to expose wounds that would sound silly in younger mouths. While it's not as darkly bold as "Undercover," which remains way underrated, its songs sneak up on you over time. You don't even realize till Track 4 that you're back in deep Stones territory... and then it keeps going deeper. Expand
  38. MickJagger
    Jan 22, 2006
    9
    There's no way that you can hate these guys! They are too cool for school! From the beginning to the end, the california raisins kick major butt!
  39. LauraS
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    I wasn't expecting too much when I bought Bigger Bang since their last few albums weren't the Stones of old. But now, since listening to it every day in my car, I absolutely think its one of their best albums in their history. It has the classic rock sound of the Stones, along with the bluesiness that has made them the greatest band of all time.
  40. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    A solid later days Stones album and sure it's no Exile On Main St. or Sticky Fingers but it doesn't need to be. It is a compilation of great songs that make the Stones sound more like themselves than they have since Tattoo You. "Rough Justice" is a great rock track and it probably the best song they've done in twenty years. "Let Me Down Slow" is a great up-tempo ballad and "Rain Fall Down"A solid later days Stones album and sure it's no Exile On Main St. or Sticky Fingers but it doesn't need to be. It is a compilation of great songs that make the Stones sound more like themselves than they have since Tattoo You. "Rough Justice" is a great rock track and it probably the best song they've done in twenty years. "Let Me Down Slow" is a great up-tempo ballad and "Rain Fall Down" is a catchy "Miss You" esque dance tune. "Back Of My Hand" is pure blues and it's great to hear the boys going back to their roots with this one. "Oh, No Not You Again" and "Driving Too Fast" round out the great songs on the albums. Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. A strong, engaging, cohesive Rolling Stones album that finds everybody in prime form.
  2. Some of their best work in nearly two decades.
  3. 16 songs of stalwart Stones riffs that almost compensate for generally embarrassing lyrics. [10 Sep 2005]