• Record Label: Epitaph
  • Release Date: Mar 20, 2012
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    90
    Haunting as it may be, A Church That Fits Our Needs succeeds on nearly every level.
  2. It's definitely a taxing listen. But it's also one of the most cohesive and powerful records to come around in a long time, and it doesn't tire after multiple spins.
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    70
    Shimmering and ethereal, A Church That Fits Our Needs finds the band as ambitious as ever.
  4. 70
    Picker and the rest of Lost in the Trees have said plenty while also crafting a unique album that blends classical music with contemporary flair.
  5. Apr 10, 2012
    75
    A suite-like meditation that is emotionally expressive and impressively nuanced.[No. 86, p.55]
  6. Apr 5, 2012
    60
    A Church feels a little long, and getting through it requires a certain amount of emotional energy, but it's well worth the effort.
  7. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    Lost in the Trees rethink of the music of grief and catharsis, turning this album into a loving and lively wake without neglecting either the precariousness of life or the horrors of death.
  8. Mar 30, 2012
    80
    This may be one of the best records of the year so far.
  9. Mar 21, 2012
    80
    A Church That Fits Our Needs isn't easy to define, but it is easy to get lost in.
  10. Apr 9, 2012
    60
    The result is songs suited less for a rock club than a church sanctuary, with Picker playing the forlorn choirboy.
  11. Apr 3, 2012
    80
    It's an exhausting listen, but what A Church That Fits Our Needs does so well is how it makes this loss palatable--the grief is real and heartfelt and sometimes overwhelming, but in its honesty and the warm instrumentation that Picker has mastered, it's thoughtful and all too easy to get lost in.
  12. Mar 20, 2012
    70
    Mr. Picker fills these songs with uncomfortable imagery, reliving his mother's pain and imagining her golden transfiguration.
  13. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    The tracks on A Church are beatifically mournful, its orchestrations minor key, and its vocals sung by an author distinctly heavy of heart.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    A beautiful, breathtaking, heartbreaking and masterful work of art. Every note, every word, every melody. Just perfect. As of right now, farA beautiful, breathtaking, heartbreaking and masterful work of art. Every note, every word, every melody. Just perfect. As of right now, far and away the best album of the year. Full Review »
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    What emotion in this album. Arrangements melodies, voice, everything is very high. One of the best albums I've heard in the history of popWhat emotion in this album. Arrangements melodies, voice, everything is very high. One of the best albums I've heard in the history of pop music . Only tracks 4 and 8 are less developed regarding melodies. The other fly very high Full Review »
  3. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    Never heard of them before but somehow photography on a cover of it grabbed my attention...anyway turned out to be the most beautiful album INever heard of them before but somehow photography on a cover of it grabbed my attention...anyway turned out to be the most beautiful album I heard in 2012 so far. Full Review »