A Cross The Universe Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The CD/DVD set features songs from the duo's 2008 US tour stop in San Francisco.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 90
    Live, this animal bears really bears it's fangs while at the same time increasing the thoughtful and clever sonics and compositional savvy that puts them in a class above most of their peers.
  2. 80
    Formidable. [Feb 2009, p.109]
  3. Adhering closely to the template of Daft Punk’s two seminal live albums, crowd noise is mixed high, becoming another instrument as it responds to every hook with a spine-tingling roar.
  4. Here, the pre-recorded sequences of fan favorites "DVNO," "Tthhee Ppaarrttyy," and "D.A.N.C.E." are born again; flipped and redecorated with aggressive house beats to the point that they feel fresh, but they still retain enough familiarity to get fists pumping and mouths singing along.
  5. The recording illustrates the bombastic edge that seperates Justice from their Daft Punk forefathers. [Winter 2009, p.81]
  6. A Cross the Universe isn't close to anyone's definitive idea of what a document of a live Justice show should be, but it's a diverting, sometimes-bizarre look into the first phase of fame for an aughts-era cult pop phenomenon.
  7. Newcomers to Justice will find A Cross the Universe only an occasionally endorphin-boosting experience, with most of the rest of the record a polished, if soulless recording of a group nearing the height of its powers.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Oct 31, 2010
    If only I was on the audience. If you liked Cross, then this should be in your blood. Every redone song makes me think how they take their great original songs and makes them feel fresh and new, like a distant memory. And that bonus documentary is also a nice touch. Damn it Justice, now I'm singing where ever I go. I don't even think it's possible to hum electronica but hey,it's pretty fun. Expand