A Different Kind of Truth

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    8
    Hoped for the best, prepared for the worst. This album is closer to the former of the two. There are definitely some clunker moments. "Tattoo" is not a great song but most reviews (including this one) actually quote the lyrics incorrectly, so how much weight can you give the writer's opinion on that track? The more I've played this disc the more it grows on me. After listening to a bootlegHoped for the best, prepared for the worst. This album is closer to the former of the two. There are definitely some clunker moments. "Tattoo" is not a great song but most reviews (including this one) actually quote the lyrics incorrectly, so how much weight can you give the writer's opinion on that track? The more I've played this disc the more it grows on me. After listening to a bootleg copy for a week, I finally got the opportunity to buy it today. I popped it in the car system and took an hour drive with it at embarrassing levels. This CD not only gets better the more you listen to it but also the LOUDER you listen to it. It misses be a classic VH album, but not by as much as you would expect. There are definitely songs on it that belong in the canon. Bottom line: This is the heaviest record VH ever made and it is probably the best since "1984." Expand
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    Great return to form from a great band that hasn't been great in a while. Roth doesn't sound as powerful as he used to, but he sings with a maturity that he used to lack. The band sounds as heavy and loud as ever like they've got something to prove and frankly, they did. It's great that they remembered who they are. The only gripe I have is the choice to use Tattoo as the first single andGreat return to form from a great band that hasn't been great in a while. Roth doesn't sound as powerful as he used to, but he sings with a maturity that he used to lack. The band sounds as heavy and loud as ever like they've got something to prove and frankly, they did. It's great that they remembered who they are. The only gripe I have is the choice to use Tattoo as the first single and first track, as it's easily the worst song on the album. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    The mighty Van Halen is finally back with the most satisfying, detonating, roundhouse-kick-in-yo-face rock album since 1984!! As a first listener, skip "Tattoo" and go straight to "Honeybabysweetiedoll" to get a true taste of what this album really is about. Also go see them live, because that's where they truly shine!
  4. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    Everything a Van Halen fan could've hoped for. Eddie flexes throughout, showing it's never a good idea to write off The King. Dave is his Diamond Dave best, tongue in cheek lyrics and delivery intact. Alex slays the drums and Wolf is impressive on bass, despite cries for MA. There's been alot of backlash about hitting up their old demo's for this album, so what? What band DOESN'T do that?Everything a Van Halen fan could've hoped for. Eddie flexes throughout, showing it's never a good idea to write off The King. Dave is his Diamond Dave best, tongue in cheek lyrics and delivery intact. Alex slays the drums and Wolf is impressive on bass, despite cries for MA. There's been alot of backlash about hitting up their old demo's for this album, so what? What band DOESN'T do that? Like they get rid of unused riffs and whatnot...ridiculous. This album smokes, an outright beast. Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    As a long time fan, I really didn't think the day would come when a new Van Halen album would be released, much less one involving Diamond Dave. Well, that day came, and after hearing the so-so first single 'Tattoo', I was a bit nervous. Well that nervousness quickly changed to relief, because this is a real Van Halen album, and further a real vintage sounding Van Halen album. Gone are theAs a long time fan, I really didn't think the day would come when a new Van Halen album would be released, much less one involving Diamond Dave. Well, that day came, and after hearing the so-so first single 'Tattoo', I was a bit nervous. Well that nervousness quickly changed to relief, because this is a real Van Halen album, and further a real vintage sounding Van Halen album. Gone are the love ballads, instead replaced by the in-your-face rock that made Van Halen one of the most important bands in the late 70's and early 80's. Now if you're a fan of the Sammy Hagar era you may not enjoy this, but I don't care. This is (almost) the original Van Halen - Ed's ripping guitar, Dave's charisma & attitude, Al's booming drums, and hell even if Mike is missing, Wolfie does his best to fill the void, and his playing is pretty impressive.

    Of course this vintage sound stems from the band dipping into the archive of unreleased tracks, a move which I whole heartedly support. It's amazing that those old tunes weren't released in the band's prime, but reworking them with mostly new lyrics makes the band sound ageless. A lot of the attitude from those demos rubbed off on the new stuff too; just listen to 'China Town' or 'As Is'.

    I think most importantly this album is a triumphant return of David Lee Roth. It's undeniable that when Dave left, he took the attitude with him. Van Halen become a very different band with Sammy Hagar, with a different mood to their songs, and for many fans it really wasn't the same. Dave is a unique cat, and the chemistry between him and Ed is the main reason why Van Halen rose to legendary status. All in all, a great return to form for the band. After everything they've has been through, this is much more than I could have expected, and I couldn't be happier.
    Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2012
    7
    If someone claims to be a fan of hard rock, and doesn't know Van Halen - he simply ain't. For the rest there's a relevant message that the single "Tattoo" from latest - the first in 14 years album "A Different Kind Of Truth", rock out radio stations. David Lee Roth and the company serves us thirteen rock / metal compositions maintaining high level. "China Town", "Bullethead" or "TheIf someone claims to be a fan of hard rock, and doesn't know Van Halen - he simply ain't. For the rest there's a relevant message that the single "Tattoo" from latest - the first in 14 years album "A Different Kind Of Truth", rock out radio stations. David Lee Roth and the company serves us thirteen rock / metal compositions maintaining high level. "China Town", "Bullethead" or "The Trouble With Never" is only a foretaste of what to expect on the album. Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    In evaluating this album, I compared "A Different Kind Of Truth" to Van Halen's catalog, (which includes two other 10/10 albums in "Van Halen" of 1978, and "1984" of 1984,) and also to other successful, "comeback" albums, e.g. The Rolling Stones' "A Bigger Bang" of 2006 and AC/DC's "Black Ice" of 2008. Of successful comeback albums, this is the best I've heard since Steely Dan's remarkableIn evaluating this album, I compared "A Different Kind Of Truth" to Van Halen's catalog, (which includes two other 10/10 albums in "Van Halen" of 1978, and "1984" of 1984,) and also to other successful, "comeback" albums, e.g. The Rolling Stones' "A Bigger Bang" of 2006 and AC/DC's "Black Ice" of 2008. Of successful comeback albums, this is the best I've heard since Steely Dan's remarkable return to form on "Two Against Nature," (2000). Like Steely Dan, Van Halen's signature sound is intact; however, now there's something new -- in Steely Dan's case, it was sonic; in Van Halen's case, it's Roth's grade-A lyrics. Who knew that David Lee Roth was this intelligent..? (Admit it -- until you read these lyrics, you didn't.) If these lyrics are any indication, he's one of rock's most intelligent singers -- he simply makes no artistic pretensions. Aside from Roth's greatly lyrics, "A Different Kind Of Truth" could've been, sonically, the bands 5th album if -- instead of going pop on "Diver Down," the band continued its descent into darkness following "Fair Warning." Like that album, I don't hear a single, but also like that album, every track is excellent. No filler. This is a potential album of the year candidate. Expand
  8. Feb 7, 2012
    6
    I will preface this by saying that I'm not the biggest Van Halen fan out there. This album did what Eddie and DLR wanted to accomplish and that was to make a Van Halen record that sounded like their earliest stuff. However their age is showing pretty much everywhere throughout the record. Dave sounds only ok at the best of times and completely awful at the worst of times. There is veryI will preface this by saying that I'm not the biggest Van Halen fan out there. This album did what Eddie and DLR wanted to accomplish and that was to make a Van Halen record that sounded like their earliest stuff. However their age is showing pretty much everywhere throughout the record. Dave sounds only ok at the best of times and completely awful at the worst of times. There is very little to no keyboards in the entire album and the guitar is fairly hit or miss. The really good songs have some awesome guitar parts but they don't last throughout the entire album. However if there's one thing that this record has it's that Van Halen sound. While it might take a bit to get over how bad Dave can sound on certain songs, any Van Halen fan will definitely be able to hear that classic Van Halen song and this album could have been really good if it had been made around the time where these guys were in their prime. However at this time both Eddie and Diamond Dave are showing their age and it's fairly evident, especially for Dave, throughout the entire album and that really sets this comeback album back quite a bit. Still it's worth a listen too, or a buy if your a really big Van Halen fan. Expand
  9. Feb 12, 2012
    2
    I'm a lifelong VH fan, Van Halen and Van Hagar. I even had some positive things to say about VH III, even though Gary tried to sound like Sammy too much (and didn't need to). So, naturally, I'm curious about this album, but walked in with low expectations. Even those weren't met. This is such a boring, monotonous CD that even Wolfie's outstanding bass playing, the pretty darn goodI'm a lifelong VH fan, Van Halen and Van Hagar. I even had some positive things to say about VH III, even though Gary tried to sound like Sammy too much (and didn't need to). So, naturally, I'm curious about this album, but walked in with low expectations. Even those weren't met. This is such a boring, monotonous CD that even Wolfie's outstanding bass playing, the pretty darn good replication of Anthony's vocal sound and the musical genius of the brothers Van Halen can't make up for how absolutely horrible the songs are. So poorly written, even in **** terms. Vocally, it's embarrassing. I appreciate the attempt, but you've shot and missed. How VH felt good about recording, mixing, mastering and releasing a song in 2012 as dumb as "Stay Frosty," I will never know. I can only assume it was the alcohol. Expand
  10. Feb 18, 2012
    3
    Where has "Diamond Dave" been? Gargling rock salt? The vocals are mostly terrible. No Michael Anthony for harmony makes the vocals even worse. Eddie ... it's called a guitar ... you used to play one.
    I had such high hopes for this album as I have always loved VH (yes with Dave or Sammy). Better luck next time.
  11. May 26, 2012
    8
    I wasn't disappointed when I heard that this album was composed of material the band had reworked from over a decade ago. In my opinion, DLR Van Halen is better than SH Van Halen so it was nice to hear that these songs were made when the band was in its prime. The result is an incredibly fun album to listen to. Each song has the classic Van Halen flavor, and fun feel from back in the 1984I wasn't disappointed when I heard that this album was composed of material the band had reworked from over a decade ago. In my opinion, DLR Van Halen is better than SH Van Halen so it was nice to hear that these songs were made when the band was in its prime. The result is an incredibly fun album to listen to. Each song has the classic Van Halen flavor, and fun feel from back in the 1984 days. My only complaints are that DLR's voice does show some age throughout this album, taking away from his range, and my second complaint was that I personally wasn't fond of the track Blood and Fire. Other than that, this album is a great listen and tons of fun. Expand
  12. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    Like many Van Halen fans, I've been waiting a long time for this album, hoping it would be an excellent record. And that's exactly what it is: excellent. The classic Van Halen sound of the Roth years has returned to glory. David Lee Roth, despite his voice sounding a little tired and less energized at times, still blazes his way throughout the album's 13 songs. The guitar riffs aren't asLike many Van Halen fans, I've been waiting a long time for this album, hoping it would be an excellent record. And that's exactly what it is: excellent. The classic Van Halen sound of the Roth years has returned to glory. David Lee Roth, despite his voice sounding a little tired and less energized at times, still blazes his way throughout the album's 13 songs. The guitar riffs aren't as memorable, but Eddie Van Halen continues to prove his six-string mastery, pumping out screaming solos on every song. There is a strange void due to the absence of Michael Anthony, which is the main reason I didn't give this album a 10. But ultimately, "A Different Kind of Truth" is a must-have for Van Halen fans and anyone who appreciates rock 'n roll. Expand
  13. Feb 15, 2012
    6
    Nothing really original here. The sound isn't that good and I was expecting some crazy guitar riffs and thrills. This release was bland and I could have easily missed it. I wanted powerful guitar solos that would make me exited to hear more. This is not what I expected from the master of guitars.
  14. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Sammy Hagar's (mostly inane, but always clichéd and unoriginal) lyrics may very well have coaxed the peak songwriting period out of Eddie Van Halen, just to compensate for the charisma-free zone front & center... David Lee Roth was never the better singer of the two, or even a very good singer at all... But, he always was, and always will be, the better frontman for Van Halen,Sammy Hagar's (mostly inane, but always clichéd and unoriginal) lyrics may very well have coaxed the peak songwriting period out of Eddie Van Halen, just to compensate for the charisma-free zone front & center... David Lee Roth was never the better singer of the two, or even a very good singer at all... But, he always was, and always will be, the better frontman for Van Halen, both on record and stage. Gone, but hard to forget, are the singularly great 'Beach Boys' -style harmonies produced by original bassist Michael Anthony. Replacing him, we have Eddie's son Wolfgang, who handles the bass guitar department with admirable grace, power and finesse, and even his backing vocals are very competent if not exactly 'what VH used to sound like'.

    Roughly half the tunes are re-worked versions of songs originally demo'd in the mid-70's, and the new ones sound pleasantly like they could have been as well. This is not a bad thing. At all. We end up with 13 songs filled to the brim with passionate delivery from everyone involved. And a strong contender for most positive surprise of the year.
    Expand
  15. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This might just be the best Van Halen album since their debut! That's right folks, even better than the mighty 1984! It tops anything the band has released for decades, and with Roth back in the fold that isn't so surprising. His vocals are a bit rusted but who's arent after 20 plus years. For his age and how long he's been singing he sounds fantastic! This certainly is a CD for theThis might just be the best Van Halen album since their debut! That's right folks, even better than the mighty 1984! It tops anything the band has released for decades, and with Roth back in the fold that isn't so surprising. His vocals are a bit rusted but who's arent after 20 plus years. For his age and how long he's been singing he sounds fantastic! This certainly is a CD for the ages. I reviewed this in a video and gave it a 9.8, but no decimals here so rounding up to a perfect 10. The onlly thing this album lacks is strong lyrics, but those were never really Van Halen's strong spot. Expand
  16. Aug 8, 2013
    3
    What were they thinking? They killed the Guitar Hero series by not putting the Sammy Hagar songs in GH:VH and did not do Sammy Hagar songs in this album? They messed up big time. All because of David Lee Roth. He now sucks.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Mojo
    Mar 22, 2012
    40
    A disappointment. [Apr 2012, p.88]
  2. Metal Hammer (UK)
    Mar 19, 2012
    60
    Even though it's good to see Van Halen up and around, A Different Kind Of Truth is not the resurrection that we all dared to dream of. [Apr 2012, p.102]
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    70
    Once you're past the confusion of any preconceptions, it's a solid rock album.