A Different Ship - Here We Go Magic
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 90
    Here We Go Magic certainly sound fantastically magical on A Different Ship. It's a definitive kind of feel and one that deserves proper recognition; they've delivered a remarkable album.
  2. May 30, 2012
    90
    Recommended for those who long to hear Radiohead make a post-aughts indie-pop record, A Different Ship is without a doubt one of the most impressive and enjoyable efforts of 2012. [No.87, p.60]
  3. May 18, 2012
    90
    'A Different Ship' is a magnificent return.
  4. May 9, 2012
    90
    The result is a stunning reboot.
  5. May 7, 2012
    90
    With A Different Ship, Here We Go Magic have clearly and undeniably arrived at the port of entry to indie rock's pantheon of top shelf acts – an utterly shattering release that anyone who likes forward-thinking music must have.
  6. May 4, 2012
    90
    A Different Ship might be the sound of a band often cast adrift, but in Godrich there's now a firm hand on the tiller, his steadying influence streamlining their sound and taking them to the next level.
  7. May 11, 2012
    81
    A textbook example of restrained, stylish writing, Here We Go Magic have found their muse: a 40-something producer from England who just knows well enough to get out of the way.
  8. May 8, 2012
    81
    The record is equal parts spontaneity and calculated charm.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 10, 2012
    10
    This band just keeps getting better with each record. Nigel Godrich definitely helps capture a bit of their live show on this record. With their self-titled album I absolutely thought this band was going to make 1 decent album and fall off the planet. Oh, how glad I am to be wrong. This album is such a beauty! If you have any interest in this band at all, go see them live and get blown away!

    TLDR; fantastic live band brings A game to the studio.
    Full Review »