• Record Label: Hopeless
  • Release Date: Jan 17, 2012
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    This is there best album to date. I first got into Enter Shikari before Take to the Skies was released, when their demos were floating around. 'Take to the Skies' reproduced all of their songs and they were, in my opinion, worse because of it. Common Dreads was an average album with a couple of stand out tracks. A flash flood of colour however is a different kettle of fish. Very easy toThis is there best album to date. I first got into Enter Shikari before Take to the Skies was released, when their demos were floating around. 'Take to the Skies' reproduced all of their songs and they were, in my opinion, worse because of it. Common Dreads was an average album with a couple of stand out tracks. A flash flood of colour however is a different kettle of fish. Very easy to listen to from begininning to end, some of the tracks are quite simply stunning. Definitely buy it...now Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    4
    Dull uninspired political electronicore garbage. Every song has some underlying problem at the heart of its message like corruption or global warming, there's also some boring electronica in the background behind Rou Reynolds shouting and ranting. The final song Constellations is the stand-out track with an impressive vocal delivery and less of the dull electronics and "breakdowns"Dull uninspired political electronicore garbage. Every song has some underlying problem at the heart of its message like corruption or global warming, there's also some boring electronica in the background behind Rou Reynolds shouting and ranting. The final song Constellations is the stand-out track with an impressive vocal delivery and less of the dull electronics and "breakdowns" prevalent on the album. If this sort of thing suits you, then buy it it is a good album, just not my type of album. Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    Every song is amazing, a lot of bass, electronics and metal finally together! Very lyrical and meaningful album. Sound is as fat as never. Highly recommended!
  4. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    This is, for sure, the best work that Enter Shikari have ever done. The sound is more mature and the lyrics are better than ever. Rou and the rest of the band did a awesome job with this record.
  5. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    Enter Shikari did an amazing job with this album. When your CD starts spinning, you will hear on of the best album openers ever! That's why System.... & .....Meltdown are also my favorite tracks of the CD, when the breakdown comes at the beginning of ....Meltdown, you hear their wild instruments together with some sick dubstep, and that's the moment when you realize "ENTER SHIKARI ISEnter Shikari did an amazing job with this album. When your CD starts spinning, you will hear on of the best album openers ever! That's why System.... & .....Meltdown are also my favorite tracks of the CD, when the breakdown comes at the beginning of ....Meltdown, you hear their wild instruments together with some sick dubstep, and that's the moment when you realize "ENTER SHIKARI IS BACK!!!". Beside System... and ...Meltdown there are a lot more awesome tracks on the disc like Pack of Thieves, Search Party, Arguing with Thermometers and a lot more. I also bought the limited edition of A Flash Flood of Colour, which included the Phenakistoscope Documentary. I loved watching this documentary, because you can see all the (sometimes really original) things Enter Shikari did to make A Flash Flood of Colour their best album yet. So don't doubt about it, just run to your local music store and get the album NOW! Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    Enter Shikari is constantly adjusting there style of music. In Common Dreads, many fans were slightly disappointed by there change in sound, however I thought it was awesome and I liked that they kept thing fresh. This time around they've taken it to a whole different level. They've successfully combined what was both great about their first, very heavy, album and there second, unique andEnter Shikari is constantly adjusting there style of music. In Common Dreads, many fans were slightly disappointed by there change in sound, however I thought it was awesome and I liked that they kept thing fresh. This time around they've taken it to a whole different level. They've successfully combined what was both great about their first, very heavy, album and there second, unique and more electronic, album and brought it to the table, but they've also added dub step that is melodic and rhythmic and fits in well instead of overtly blatant and all over the place with no melody whatsoever. There is not a weak song on this album, but there is not a stand out song either, which makes every song itself more important and unique. A 9.5/10 and definitely there best work so far. Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    An easily accessible album with some catchy tunes that keeps the experimental nature of the band in tact while not attempting to please everyone. It's damn near perfect
  8. Dec 3, 2012
    8
    I'd like to start off by saying that I've been a fan since Take to the Skies as this seems to matter to a lot of people with Enter Shikari now saying that they're bad because they've branched out their genre. Whilst they're often keen to suggest that they are beyond the boundaries of genre I'd call this album Metal-step. Regardless. I think it is incredible. Not a bad song on it, myI'd like to start off by saying that I've been a fan since Take to the Skies as this seems to matter to a lot of people with Enter Shikari now saying that they're bad because they've branched out their genre. Whilst they're often keen to suggest that they are beyond the boundaries of genre I'd call this album Metal-step. Regardless. I think it is incredible. Not a bad song on it, my particular favourite is System Meltdown, which have to be listened to back to back. Similar lyrically in terms of the politics of them to Common Dreads it still makes for an excellent album with a couple of cheeky DnB remixes of ssssssnakepit chucked in for good measure. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    60
    For the most part, A Flash Flood of Colour revels in a unique, organized chaos, and while it's a demanding and often exhausting listen, it's a call to arms which the flagging U.K. guitar band scene could do with more of.
  2. Feb 10, 2012
    80
    Disenchantment should always be this spellbinding.
  3. Feb 10, 2012
    50
    The positives are overshadowed by petulant observations to politics which is hard to take seriously when dire lyrics like "Yabba dabba do one, Son."