a ghost is born Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When you record one of the most acclaimed albums of the decade, what do you do for an encore? If you are Jeff Tweedy & co., you return with both old (Jim O'Rourke again producing) and new (yet another lineup change) for your fifth studio LP.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. On almost every level, Jeff Tweedy and Co. have concocted the perfect follow-up to an epochal, career-defining record--taking greater risks and yielding deeper rewards--and finding more challenging ways to channel pain that just won’t quit.
  2. For the most part, Ghost channels its shaggy sound into pop music. True, it's pop music that constantly threatens to erupt into noise or fade into silence, but it's still hard not to hum along.
  3. What makes Ghost succeed so magnificently... is how the directness, the openness of the lyrics in general, is so beautifully matched to the damaged music, which is itself rife with symbolism and meaning.
  4. This is a dramatic, ambitious album that dares you to rise to its challenge.
  5. For someone [Tweedy] whose longtime strength has been songwriting over all-out adventurousness, many of the more traditional tunes seem, ironically, half finished. [25 Jun 2004, p.161]
  6. 70
    Finds Wilco switching moods, tones, influences and instruments enough to suggest a band on a pub crawl in search of its winterteeth. [#64, p.112]
  7. A Ghost Is Born is a textbook example of an album created to fulfill expectations the band doesn't necessarily share.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 66
  2. Negative: 4 out of 66
  1. WesM.
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    Is it crazy that I liked this way more than Yankee Hotel Foxtrot?
  2. MookiePatookie
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    Anyone who gives this cd less than 9 does not have ears to hear with!! Tweedy and co. stand on the shoulders of giants to produce yet another Anyone who gives this cd less than 9 does not have ears to hear with!! Tweedy and co. stand on the shoulders of giants to produce yet another masterpiece! Expand
  3. ElliottM
    Oct 15, 2005
    10
    It's a flawed album, yet it's still a perfect album. My favorite album of 2004.
  4. markf
    Jul 10, 2004
    9
    If you love Wilco, then you will love this. I'm one of those crazies who loves the whole album. I have no problem with any of the If you love Wilco, then you will love this. I'm one of those crazies who loves the whole album. I have no problem with any of the "difficult" songs. It's not perfect but in my opinion, it's as close as they've ever come. Neil Young and Billy Doherty would be proud. This album might not be as awesome as "the Beatles" or "After the Gold Rush", but it's as close as anyone can get. I'm not going to go into the "troubles'" with " people's problems." Just enjoy this for what it is. A mind-blowing genre-expanding walk on the wild side. Expand
  5. matta
    Aug 26, 2005
    9
    Better than their first two releases and almost as good as their two masterpieces Summer Teeth and YHF, this is an amazing album, but one Better than their first two releases and almost as good as their two masterpieces Summer Teeth and YHF, this is an amazing album, but one that definitely requires careful and repeated listenings to fully appreciate. Expand
  6. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    8
    Decent follow up to Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. There's moment of musical bliss, but than there moments of over-indulgent noise that detracts fromDecent follow up to Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. There's moment of musical bliss, but than there moments of over-indulgent noise that detracts from it's high points. Expand
  7. David
    Jun 22, 2004
    0
    they are getting waay too much attention after releasing this album. it doesn't even touch yankee hotel foxtrot and i was so they are getting waay too much attention after releasing this album. it doesn't even touch yankee hotel foxtrot and i was so disappointed when i heard the album. Expand

See all 66 User Reviews