A Grand Don't Come For Free

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 209 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 209

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. richardj
    Jun 22, 2006
    5
    Sorry why do you hype this man! He has minimal talent and is plainly musically retarded, wanna listen to a good english MC listen to Plan B, album out on 26th June in UK, hard hitting and relevant this is just totally Sh*T! Crap rhymes and Sh*tty beats!
  2. JT
    Jun 10, 2004
    4
    This album is a let-down compared to Original Pirate Material. Skinner's schtick wears thin early on when all he does is gripe about poor me type sh!t. At least with OPM there was some edge to the beats and his delivery was refreshingly different and varied between tracks. Now he seems to have shifted to cruise control, making some kind of "concept album" using presumably an episode This album is a let-down compared to Original Pirate Material. Skinner's schtick wears thin early on when all he does is gripe about poor me type sh!t. At least with OPM there was some edge to the beats and his delivery was refreshingly different and varied between tracks. Now he seems to have shifted to cruise control, making some kind of "concept album" using presumably an episode of his own life as the muse. The result- listenable but unimpressive. The critics have been jizzing over this album but I can't believe they've actually listened to it, or if so they must not have heard OPM first. Anyway, they've got me scratching my head, cause I don't get all the fuss. Expand
  3. JosephP
    Jun 8, 2004
    4
    I can't stand this cd. Theres a few good parts but the majority of the cd is incredibly difficult to listen to. The tracks sound good but the british accent totally works against getting a flow going as far as word-play goes.
  4. Zion
    Jun 10, 2004
    5
    just bad.. no beats, no harmony. just a long boring story. unacceptable for a band like the streets...ill try the next albun just in case they were "baked" when they made this one..
  5. GlenB
    Jul 13, 2004
    6
    Good because it's the streets, but really it's pretty average. I had high expectations after OPM but this is a poor follow up. Losing money in a TV? Come on.
  6. darrins
    Jan 16, 2005
    5
    I dont get it. I mean, its creative, but not really my thing. I respect this guy, but hes far from being a lyrical genius. I hope this isnt where hip hop is heading. Personally, hip hop album of the year/decade is Madvilliany. This is more like techno with spoken word.
  7. ScottY
    Jul 9, 2005
    4
    I just didn't get it. It's highly-rated, but it seemed more like talking over electronica than music to me.
  8. AliR
    Mar 14, 2005
    5
    Confused and dull second coming that reaches for the stars but barely gets out of the earths orbit!
  9. ColbyB
    Dec 21, 2006
    6
    Maybe i don't know rap very well but i know Fruityloop beats when i hear them. I think i am biased towards the whole british rap thing as well, to me it sounds like a Wierd Al comical rap cover, listening to M&M is hard enough, add some 'bloody hells', 'wankers', 'twats', 'mate'. no emotion poetry reading over basic tired beats. It reminds me Maybe i don't know rap very well but i know Fruityloop beats when i hear them. I think i am biased towards the whole british rap thing as well, to me it sounds like a Wierd Al comical rap cover, listening to M&M is hard enough, add some 'bloody hells', 'wankers', 'twats', 'mate'. no emotion poetry reading over basic tired beats. It reminds me of the Numa-Numa guy. Expand
  10. benk
    Apr 23, 2006
    5
    I've seen a few reviews stating that Mike Skiinner "definitely took some risks" making this album. Risks? What risks? Original Pirate Material, if anything, was a risk, because it was so unique in an otherwise same-sounding genre. This new record is more of the same, hence my wonder: If your second record sounds like it could have been bundled with the first, what risks are you I've seen a few reviews stating that Mike Skiinner "definitely took some risks" making this album. Risks? What risks? Original Pirate Material, if anything, was a risk, because it was so unique in an otherwise same-sounding genre. This new record is more of the same, hence my wonder: If your second record sounds like it could have been bundled with the first, what risks are you taking with the album? It's a stretch calling this stuff 'music'. It's unique to be sure, but I still think it's slightly overrated. There's a value to originality, but there's also a value to cohesive rhythm and flow, which I feel this album (much like OPM) seriously lacks. What saved OPM was the handful of distinctive songs that this album lacks. "Fit But You Know It" is a good time. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Vibe
    70
    11 frenetic, oddball, and extremely original tracks. [Jun 2004, p.154]
  2. The problem with "A Grand Don't Come for Free" is that the pieces often work better as stories than as songs.... But it is still a thrill to hear Mr. Skinner toy with the form that he invented.
  3. This makes engrossing listening if the effort suits you, but it's useless as background music.