A Grand Don't Come For Free

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 213 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 213

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. rogers
    Jul 28, 2005
    10
    This CD is incredible. I can listen to it all the time and get something new from it. To Trust or not to Trust that is the name of the Game.
  2. elainec
    May 24, 2004
    9
    complete original anybody who slates this album will be eating their words in years to come, a sure classic!!!
  3. LaviniaH
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    loved it
  4. stevem
    Sep 7, 2004
    0
    I hope my vote brings down the overall score for this terrible album. It's a shame I beleived waht was written in these high-score reviews for A Grand.... after listening to it, I 100% disagree with all of them. Come on people, you made me waste my money on a crap album. You're suppose to critics, not lemmings.
  5. richardj
    Jun 22, 2006
    5
    Sorry why do you hype this man! He has minimal talent and is plainly musically retarded, wanna listen to a good english MC listen to Plan B, album out on 26th June in UK, hard hitting and relevant this is just totally Sh*T! Crap rhymes and Sh*tty beats!
  6. DanielD.
    Jun 2, 2009
    3
    I'm pretty sure I could also make an album that sounded "like nothing else..." unfortunately it would be total garbage, just like this one. Call it lost in translation, say Americans just don't get it, whatever you want....this is annoying to the ear right off the bat, and it doesn't change the 2nd time around, either.
  7. BeckA
    Jun 6, 2004
    8
    Mr Mike Skinner... I have just one thing to say. Maybe people did listen to the CD and somehow manage, through sheer force of will against the imposing sheparding gaze of the music industry's hype, to make their own choices and give reviews based on their honest opinions. Comon man, you're basically saying that you didn't like it, so nobody else should either because the Mr Mike Skinner... I have just one thing to say. Maybe people did listen to the CD and somehow manage, through sheer force of will against the imposing sheparding gaze of the music industry's hype, to make their own choices and give reviews based on their honest opinions. Comon man, you're basically saying that you didn't like it, so nobody else should either because the album is obviously a "steaming turd." So...instead of making up their own minds and not following the popular opinion, they're supposed to follow yours? Uh, I fail to see the difference that would make. Instead, people seem to have done exactly what you have suggested: given honest reviews based on what they thought of the disc. ...and what exactly does the fact that you're a Brit have to do with anything? Personally, I thought the disc was decent. It has its hooks, good beats, and melds together fairly well. But, it just doesn't feel as original as their earlier release, which is to be expected. This disc is worth a listen. Expand
  8. bruceh
    Aug 2, 2004
    10
    its good
  9. shabaro
    Oct 7, 2004
    7
    8 for the originality,10 for the creativity of the samples and loops; 4 for not trying to take this to the next level; 9 for the production quality; 4 for trivial lyrics. total a well deserved 7.
  10. MikeSkinner
    May 20, 2004
    2
    I think this album is pure crap. I am a brit and I kinda liked Original Pirate Material because the beats were fresh and original. His style was quirky and different and it felt like some geniune effort had gone into the album. This album, sounds like its completely unrehearsed and unplanned, the beats suck and listening to skinner and his mates singing his lame hooks is about as I think this album is pure crap. I am a brit and I kinda liked Original Pirate Material because the beats were fresh and original. His style was quirky and different and it felt like some geniune effort had gone into the album. This album, sounds like its completely unrehearsed and unplanned, the beats suck and listening to skinner and his mates singing his lame hooks is about as enjoyable as vomiting and looking for the peas. No effort has gone into this offering and I've produced better beats with Cubase and a sample cd. Not even worth dowloading this steaming turd. I just don't understand how it can get such good reviews and it just goes to show how many sheep there are in the industry, everyone jumps on the band wagon and follows the leader. Get a life make your own choices and don't support sh*t albums like this. Expand
  11. EvanP
    May 20, 2004
    10
    A modern day flaneur, creating a philosophy upon the most mundane of daily activities. His concept is simple; it just a day in the life of Mike Skinner.
  12. GennaroF
    May 20, 2004
    10
    Brilliant!!! let all the naysayers eat a D$#@. We love you M.S. keep it comin.RESPECT
  13. JasonT
    May 30, 2004
    9
    Doesn't have the stand out tracks of Original Pirate Material, but still is a great collection of musings. "Empty Cans" is a brilliant record.
  14. JT
    Jun 10, 2004
    4
    This album is a let-down compared to Original Pirate Material. Skinner's schtick wears thin early on when all he does is gripe about poor me type sh!t. At least with OPM there was some edge to the beats and his delivery was refreshingly different and varied between tracks. Now he seems to have shifted to cruise control, making some kind of "concept album" using presumably an episode This album is a let-down compared to Original Pirate Material. Skinner's schtick wears thin early on when all he does is gripe about poor me type sh!t. At least with OPM there was some edge to the beats and his delivery was refreshingly different and varied between tracks. Now he seems to have shifted to cruise control, making some kind of "concept album" using presumably an episode of his own life as the muse. The result- listenable but unimpressive. The critics have been jizzing over this album but I can't believe they've actually listened to it, or if so they must not have heard OPM first. Anyway, they've got me scratching my head, cause I don't get all the fuss. Expand
  15. AndrewT
    Jun 3, 2004
    10
    Pure Quality! Great story on top of good beats. Dry Your eyes is by far The Streets best ever song.
  16. DJ
    Aug 2, 2004
    10
    its of the hook
  17. Kel
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    The album that follows a successful debut LP presents a significant problem. Do you rinse, wash and repeat the previous formula, hoping that it will sound just as good the second time round, or do you attempt to explore new territory with the risk of alienating old fans and failing to acquire new ones? A copy-cat album would most likely have seen The Streets branded as a one hit wonder The album that follows a successful debut LP presents a significant problem. Do you rinse, wash and repeat the previous formula, hoping that it will sound just as good the second time round, or do you attempt to explore new territory with the risk of alienating old fans and failing to acquire new ones? A copy-cat album would most likely have seen The Streets branded as a one hit wonder parody and this undoubtedly played on his mind as he attempted to conjure up an album that would stay true to his everyday UK style roots whilst, at the same time, charting new waters. This he has achieved by producing an intoxicating mix of old and new. There are many thematic similarities between 'A Grand Don't Come For Free' and 'Original Pirate Material'. For 'Blinded By The Lights' read 'Weak Become Heroes'. For 'Fit But You Know It' read 'Don't Mug Yourself'. For 'Dry Your Eyes' read 'It's Too Late'. But it's here that the similarities end, for unlike its predecessor, 'A Grand Don't Come For Free' can be loosely termed a concept album. But unlike the pretentious art-rock efforts of years gone by, AGDCFF is not a po-faced attempt at communicating the meaning of life to a mentally Expand
  18. Claire
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    great albumn and even better when hes live!!
  19. Joel
    Jul 9, 2005
    9
    This album is difficult to define. It's like "The Office" meets "The Wall" or something. The quality of the rapping (or talking) and music is usually nothing to write your homies about, but somehow the end result works great. I've listened to it about five times now straight through, and I rarely listen to albums straight through. Great piece of work they made.
  20. Pelicaine
    Oct 28, 2006
    9
    Some of the most unique beats I've ever heard. This album is well put-together. An enjoyable story that gets better with each listen. Get this album any way you can! A must-hear.
  21. CiaránMcC
    Nov 8, 2004
    7
    A little disapointing thought the 1 album is way ahead of this but did like the beats!!
  22. AndrewP
    Dec 15, 2004
    8
    Great cd, but often a bit too much of a story than a song. The streets rule.
  23. NG
    May 15, 2004
    10
    Mike Skinner took a lot of risks to make this album. The first time I listened to it, I thought that is was less than Original Pirate Material, but the more you listen to it, the more the pieces fall together. Briljant album; if this is the best album of 2004, I think we have no right to complain.
  24. Hales
    May 25, 2004
    10
    master pece for the first time in a long time it's an album thats moved me
  25. [Anonymous]
    May 20, 2004
    10
    Bloody Superb!!!!
  26. GennaroF
    May 20, 2004
    10
    Brilliant!!! let all the naysayers eat a D$#@. We love you M.S. keep it comin.RESPECT
  27. GennaroF
    May 20, 2004
    10
    Brilliant!!! let all the naysayers eat a D$#@. We love you M.S. keep it comin.RESPECT
  28. JosephP
    Jun 8, 2004
    4
    I can't stand this cd. Theres a few good parts but the majority of the cd is incredibly difficult to listen to. The tracks sound good but the british accent totally works against getting a flow going as far as word-play goes.
  29. PHOEBEP
    Aug 9, 2004
    9
    GRAND DONT COME FOR FREE is a really majestic album. I find The Strees a great new breath of good shit. Keep it up, yeah.
  30. AndyS
    Sep 6, 2004
    10
    This Cd is one of those that gets better and better with each listen. A Grand Dont Come For Free sounds completely original and moving on from the made for schoolgirls poppy hip hop and garage scenes. This Cd isnt about the music or skinners vocal talent, which arent tewrrible but not outstanding, but his delivery is spot on, moreover the lyrics are honest, funny, witty and expressive. This Cd is one of those that gets better and better with each listen. A Grand Dont Come For Free sounds completely original and moving on from the made for schoolgirls poppy hip hop and garage scenes. This Cd isnt about the music or skinners vocal talent, which arent tewrrible but not outstanding, but his delivery is spot on, moreover the lyrics are honest, funny, witty and expressive. Its more like looking into the mind of the average british teenager, listening to his thoughts and events. This is what makes it stand out as a modern classic. Some may not get how listening to someone talking is music, and maybe it isnt exactly, but I just cant get enough of the humour and intelligent lyrics. And pretty much anyone can relate to the lyrics. Skinner isnt the British equivalent of eminem, its nothing to do with him being white or anything like that. The Streets is in a class of his own, and this album is a classic. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Vibe
    70
    11 frenetic, oddball, and extremely original tracks. [Jun 2004, p.154]
  2. The problem with "A Grand Don't Come for Free" is that the pieces often work better as stories than as songs.... But it is still a thrill to hear Mr. Skinner toy with the form that he invented.
  3. This makes engrossing listening if the effort suits you, but it's useless as background music.