A Grand Don't Come For Free

A Grand Don't Come For Free Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 211 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mike Skinner returns with the inenviable job of following up his genre-smashing debut 'Original Pirate Material,' which was an enormous critical and commercial hit in the UK and paved the way for the success of later acts such as Dizzee Rascal.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Skinner has often been declared the Eminem of British rap. But on A Grand..., he proves that if anything, he's British hip-hop's answer to master storyteller Ray Davies, or maybe idiot savant Brian Wilson.
  2. Q Magazine
    100
    The best album of 2004 so far, and by some distance. [Jun 2004, p.92]
  3. Uncut
    100
    An essential listen for anyone interested in where music might take them. [Jun 2004, p.86]
  4. Skinner seems both edgier and more contemplative.
  5. This makes engrossing listening if the effort suits you, but it's useless as background music.
  6. 80
    The exact opposite of background music, A Grand Don’t Come for Free demands the same attention as a movie, and that’s why some people will hate it while others will find it uniquely riveting.
  7. Rolling Stone
    70
    Is both simpler--in sound and scope--than Pirate and much more ambitious. [27 May 2004, p.80]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 128
  1. bryonf
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    A Grand... ...the answer to hip hop with meaning
  2. ThomasM
    Jun 19, 2005
    10
    1 of the best albums ever skinners jus wicked and it was the best concert ive bin 2 an its great music 2 get lost in
  3. LaviniaH
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    loved it
  4. Pelicaine
    Oct 28, 2006
    9
    Some of the most unique beats I've ever heard. This album is well put-together. An enjoyable story that gets better with each listen. Some of the most unique beats I've ever heard. This album is well put-together. An enjoyable story that gets better with each listen. Get this album any way you can! A must-hear. Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2016
    8
    I remember when I was young and impressionable and I heard "Fit But You Know It" for the first time on the radio. I enjoyed its generalI remember when I was young and impressionable and I heard "Fit But You Know It" for the first time on the radio. I enjoyed its general quirkiness, and it was my first foray into the world of Mike Skinner. I had to pick the album up as soon as I could. Once I did I enjoyed it very much but it would take me several more years to appreciate its lyrics / story telling. Skinner was never your average early 2000s British grime/hip hop artist. He was always keen to explore new lyrical territory and went all the way with his 2nd effort. Some of the rhyming and choruses are a bit awkward but if anything it better serves to capture the instability of a man at life's crossroads relationship and money wise. Empty Cans is quite the stand out as it provides the listener with two very different but both equally impacting endings to the story. Expand
  6. DD
    May 14, 2004
    8
    Unique sound, doesn't change style much from original pirate material, but enough so that it stays fresh. excellent thought and emotion Unique sound, doesn't change style much from original pirate material, but enough so that it stays fresh. excellent thought and emotion provoking lyrics and music. I would definitely say worth buying. blinded by the lights, and empty cans are awesome songs. all the pussies who need to talk on their cell phones all the time bitching to their friends and need so much support from everyone need to listen to empty cans. those ppl don't care about you in the end, and your all you got. Expand
  7. stevem
    Sep 7, 2004
    0
    I hope my vote brings down the overall score for this terrible album. It's a shame I beleived waht was written in these high-score I hope my vote brings down the overall score for this terrible album. It's a shame I beleived waht was written in these high-score reviews for A Grand.... after listening to it, I 100% disagree with all of them. Come on people, you made me waste my money on a crap album. You're suppose to critics, not lemmings. Expand

See all 128 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.