User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KenR
    May 24, 2006
    10
    This is by far their best album. I've thoroughly enjoyed listening to it.
  2. [Anonymous]
    May 22, 2006
    10
    Not as great as Bows and Arrows but still a really awsome album
  3. Eddie
    May 24, 2006
    10
    album of the year
  4. JP
    May 24, 2006
    10
    make no mistake: if you're a walkmen fan, you will love this album. they've just made the next step towards perfecting their already distinctively gorgeous aesthetic.
  5. SamuelS
    May 26, 2006
    9
    Entered this in after in response to having read a few dismissing review. Best efforts so far.
  6. chris
    May 26, 2006
    7
    Not a hundred miles off, but not quite on the mark either. I expected more from the Walkmen after 2 fantastic albums. One Hundred Miles Off is just alright.
  7. FrippeS
    Jun 11, 2006
    9
    Yep, their best yet, lots of really, really good songs, people giving this album a bad grade are really not into this kind of music att all, and shouldn´t try to be. Walkmen delivers.
  8. Marc
    Jun 4, 2006
    9
    Excellent record. I don't understand some of the poor reviews this album is getting. Just a great band.
  9. kdevilh
    Jun 7, 2006
    6
    While it does beg to be listened to in its entirety... it's still a record with few highlights and more middling-ground. I could have used one or two "Thinking of a Dream I Had" moments to carry me through.
  10. Caroline
    Dec 21, 2006
    5
    A huge disappointment. This album is messy, rambling, and lacks the characteristic charm of The Walkmen.
  11. AndrewL
    May 23, 2006
    8
    It takes a couple of listens , but i have grown to enjoy it very much.
  12. RyanS
    May 24, 2006
    9
    What gives? I like this album a lot. Sure it's different, but different is good.
  13. matt
    May 25, 2006
    9
    This is defnitely their most polished album yet, but that maybe their downfall.
  14. Mark
    May 25, 2006
    8
    It's no Bows + Arrows, but still good nonetheless. It took me a few listens, but I dig this album quite a bit.
  15. JohnB
    May 26, 2006
    10
    This is the most approachable Walkmen Album yet, but it still takes a few listens. Well worth the effort, see them live, turn up the volume.
  16. brandya
    May 28, 2006
    10
    Give this record a chance, and it will impress...I think it's one of the best of 2006...this is the record the walkmen have threatned to make all along...as close to perfect as it gets...haunting, beautiful, creepy, and a shambolic mess...it's like listening to a blues band from Neptune...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
  17. tommoc
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    With repeated listens my disapointment has turned to joy.
  18. mikes.
    Jun 26, 2006
    6
    Surprisingly solid, unique prodution and good raw sound to the album as a whole. The problem with the walkmen, is that people keep waiting for them to "evolve" and they still have not stepped up their game and they keep writing stuff that sounds sort of like the strokes. That type of music is going out of style not quite popular anymore, it was fresh when we heard it on their debut album, Surprisingly solid, unique prodution and good raw sound to the album as a whole. The problem with the walkmen, is that people keep waiting for them to "evolve" and they still have not stepped up their game and they keep writing stuff that sounds sort of like the strokes. That type of music is going out of style not quite popular anymore, it was fresh when we heard it on their debut album, but they need to switch up genres, otherwise they continue to be an above average band with potential not fully tapped into. Expand
  19. MaxT
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    A vast improvment from Bows + Arrows. B+A was a little too polished, but A Hundred Miles Off has the raw energy of their live shows. Quite possibly their best album to date.
  20. mattr.
    Aug 13, 2006
    9
    Like a lot of others have said, the album gets better after repeated listens. The criticism really is surprising, given that it holds up well in comparison to the previous albums.
  21. JanV.
    Jul 25, 2007
    5
    It's okay and would be passable without some of the standout tracks on the previous efforts. NOTHING on this album can touch the genius of My Old Man or New Year's Eve... I would say "nice try", but with what they've done before I don't think this is worthy. The best thing I can say is it's better than Pussy Cats.
  22. JamesD
    May 22, 2006
    5
    Thoroughly forgettable. The first two Walkmen albums only serve to make you want more out of this one. Not a single track that really catches your attention.
  23. TomM
    May 22, 2006
    9
    Everyone is way too quick to dog on this album. I think this is their best release yet, and I have listened to it consistently since I got my copy of it. I recommend it.
  24. OK
    May 29, 2006
    10
    It's entirely possible that I'm incapable of hearing the Walkmen objectively...but this fan can't understand the negative press this album is getting. The music washed in reverb, the vocals a hundred miles off...the Walkmen should be shoegazing here but their eyes are staring straight ahead making one of the most sonically impressive statements of their career.
  25. adamh
    May 29, 2006
    9
    highlights indlude: this job is killing me, tenleytown, lousiana, emma get me a lemon, lost in boston, another one goes by
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. The CD's austere instrumentation brings out the worst in Leithauser, whose once-endearing tunelessness becomes a whining deterrent.
  2. When the Walkmen are on, they can be as compelling as ever, but they’ve just spent too much time creating television-drama background music and not enough energy stretching themselves.
  3. A set of rousing, sharply focused, late-night pleas and barroom romps that take the group well beyond its garage roots.