A Little Bit Longer - Jonas Brothers
A Little Bit Longer Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Last seen seen in the Disney Channel movie "Camp Rock," the three brothers return to release their third album to the masses.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. It's a nice run of numbers that really gets going with 'Shelf,' an impassioned advisory not to leave the singers' hearts in the titular location. [15 Aug 2008, p.64]
  2. The key to its success is that it is pitched perfectly between frivolous, disposable pop and meticulous mature craft, so as the Jonas Brothers continue to grow they might wind up losing that sense of fun that is integral to their music, but with this record they hit all the notes just right.
  3. 80
    Yes, the Jonases are squishy, vanilla and too sweet. But so is an ice-cream cone. And ice-cream cones are freakin’ delicious. Especially when they come with a cherry on top.
  4. The trio's new wave-inspired songs may be derivative--and sometimes too derivative, as on the corny, Cars-lite opener, 'B.B. Good'--but they simply sound fresher.
  5. The Jonases show more vulnerability with such numbers as the mid-tempo, yearning love song 'Shelf' and the title ballad, with its plaintive vocals and subtle touches of piano and strings. Still, the album is mostly a bland gloss, offering no depth or cleverness in material that covers familiar territory.
  6. Even if it stands to be one of the year's biggest sellers (which it most assuredly will be), Longer is hard to envision as an album that will allow the Jonas Brothers to transcend their place in this teen-pop cycle.
  7. Their McFly-like soulless pop-rock is unlistenable tosh.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 16 out of 36
  1. Mrs.N.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Awesome, and original songs...amazing CD!!!
  2. KaraleeO.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Dear Nick, I think you are so awesome! plus, my sister Savannah Bond bought you're new song album, A Little Bit Longer!
  3. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    Im pretty sure The reviewers that gave them scores in the green are runned by smart intelectual men, and not little girls. Anyone who dislikesIm pretty sure The reviewers that gave them scores in the green are runned by smart intelectual men, and not little girls. Anyone who dislikes the Jonas Brothers are quite bias. A band with average songs. Sos and Burnin up are one of Jb's worst songs, ironically they are the most famous of the jbs. but that is not the Jonas Brothers I know, Video girl "ranked 49th best song of 2008" great song. "shelf" a song quite reminiscent to "hey Jude" by the beatles. "tonight" is also a good song. People just judge them based of listening to 2-3 songs. This album is quite good. Expand
  4. Demosthenes
    Sep 25, 2008
    7
    The Jonas Brother's past attempts at music have been a string of terribly ghastly and appalling bubblegum pop that on someone older than The Jonas Brother's past attempts at music have been a string of terribly ghastly and appalling bubblegum pop that on someone older than 14 could potentially do harm. However, their new album is unusually feisty for a Disney boy band. The musicianship on many tracks is much more classic rock and power pop oriented, with actual guitar solos. Yes, guitar solos. Now, I've seen and heard enough about their behind the scenes recording, and am aware that most of the musicianship is from a backup band, but consider the Jonas Brothers an act that includes the backup band, and not just three squeaky clean vanilla faced heart throbs. It's a tad easier to digest. The lyrics are nothing special, but the boys know how to pen a good pop hook, and on tracks like Lovebug and Shelf, there's more hooks than you'll find on a fishing boat. A Little Bit Longer is not ground-breaking. It's not revolutionary. They aren't the new Beatles. They aren't saviors of power pop. It's just pop rock. And that's alright. Because as long as it contains very slight elements of classic rock, and as long as they claim to be inspired by musical greats such as Elvis Costello and Freddie Mercury, their music might actually get the youth off of bubblegum pop slowly but surely. (A friendly word of advice to those negative reviewers I have seen that have brought up Radiohead...I don't believe anyone will ever compare the Jonas Brothers to Radiohead. Ever.) Expand
  5. SoapM.
    Aug 12, 2008
    0
    The worst group ever. Next Bay City Rollers.
  6. JacobE
    Jan 2, 2009
    0
    I personally didn't listen to this album on for say my ipod or CD player. I listend to it by every single pre teen girl in america to I personally didn't listen to this album on for say my ipod or CD player. I listend to it by every single pre teen girl in america to the point where I couldn't walk down the street without hear the same 3 repetitive man screams called a "Band". Well to be honest these guys are a record companies dream. You can basically up nothing but them talking on a CD and little girls will gobble it up like it some sort of Fat Free Super Cake. All in all they are the prime example while people are marketing Monkeys. Expand
  7. AndrewE.
    Sep 7, 2009
    0
    Oh come on! This is Jonas Brothers.

See all 36 User Reviews