A Little More Personal (Raw)

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 80
  2. Negative: 18 out of 80

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EthanK
    Jan 11, 2006
    5
    This is not my type of music at all, but surprisingly, this CD is not half bad. Whether or not Lohan had any artistic input at all, there are some good tunes scattered through this CD. In the hands of a better singer/performer this could be closer to a 7/10. I've got to admit....this is pretty good pop rock....and it blows contemporaries like Ashlee Simpson and Hillary Duff out of This is not my type of music at all, but surprisingly, this CD is not half bad. Whether or not Lohan had any artistic input at all, there are some good tunes scattered through this CD. In the hands of a better singer/performer this could be closer to a 7/10. I've got to admit....this is pretty good pop rock....and it blows contemporaries like Ashlee Simpson and Hillary Duff out of the water. "Who Loves You" is an industrial NIN-esque pounding teenage sex anthem. And while "Confessions" and "My Innocence"'s lyrics are riddled with teen-angst cliches they still deliver a powerful punch thanks to the tunes themselves and the conviction with which Lohan delivers them. And "Black Hole" is picture perfect pop rock. I still wouldn't buy this album, and if you're an indie/alternative rock fan like myself it's not worth the money. But it's not a horrible listen if you can snag a copy of it online. Expand
  2. ChrisE
    Nov 8, 2006
    8
    I might not be a dedicated fan of Lindsay Lohan, but I sure as hell know good music when I hear it. Her first album (04's Speak) had some bland filler but most of it featured examples of great Top 40 ear candy, from her debut smash single "Rumors" to the relationship-questioning "Over," the syrup-y "Symptoms of You" and beautiful ballad "Very Last Moment in Time." Her sophomore I might not be a dedicated fan of Lindsay Lohan, but I sure as hell know good music when I hear it. Her first album (04's Speak) had some bland filler but most of it featured examples of great Top 40 ear candy, from her debut smash single "Rumors" to the relationship-questioning "Over," the syrup-y "Symptoms of You" and beautiful ballad "Very Last Moment in Time." Her sophomore effort took some getting used to--upon a first listen long ago I knew the first single "Confessions" proved to be a great track and showcased Lindsay's ever-maturing singing abilities. But I couldn't find much about the remainder that had the likable qualities of Speak. Upon further listens, though, I started to realize that Lindsay's current studio release is the type that requires additional listens to get the most out of it--for example, "Black Hole" is one of the catchiest tracks on record, "I Live For The Day" is likable enough (during its blaring chorus), "A Little More Personal," despite an oft-confusing and slighlty odd opening line, soars during its chorus and "If It's Alright" is stellar. The closing track "Beautiful" is like its name suggests and is also a nice final touch to an overall surprisingly mature and likable disc. As a whole, it might not sound as radio-influenced as Speak, but track-for-track Lindsay delivered a pretty good album. Collapse
  3. Jonathan
    Jun 1, 2006
    9
    Wow, this album really impressed me...the fact that she wrote a lot of the songs was incredible...i am a musician and it is awesome to hear real music...yes her vocals aren't friggin incredible but they are actually enjoyable...Good Listen
  4. BenB
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    This album her best one yet the songs are all catchy and has some good lyrics throughout the album. Her voice has really developed since speak which seemed to be quite teen popish. Hope the Next one No Little Angel will be as good as this one.
  5. JessS
    Mar 5, 2006
    8
    This is a great album, I downloaded it off the internet when it first came out and i decided that it was better than her first ablum (speak). My favourite song on the album is 'My Innocence' followed closely by 'If you Were Me'.
  6. joec
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    finally someone who is worse that christina uglylera, or that jessica simpsons.. this lindsay chick is hillarious. Heh, Playboy is beckoning, before your twins start sagging
  7. andiev
    Jul 2, 2007
    4
    my friend is a big fan of lindsay lohan, but i don't like her, she begged me to listen to this album because she claims it was amazing, so i did, and i thought it was crappy, lindsay sounds like she has a continuous cold, like her nose was clogged up or someting, she's not a rocker, and she can't sing, she should just stick to acting, which she's not really good at either...
  8. KylieM
    Apr 8, 2007
    0
    Terrible vocals. Too hypocritical.
  9. ACRG
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    I really lovee this album. It's amazing!! And i think "No Little Angel" will be amazing just like this cd and speak!!
  10. Roz
    Dec 14, 2005
    0
    Again... why is this girl a star?
  11. HasABrain
    Jan 14, 2006
    3
    I haven't heard the album. I just wanted to say that anyone who can't tell "On Crack" is being sarcastic does not deserve to own a computer. That post was hilarious, but not quite as hilarious as the one from "j." j, you win the moron contest, hands down. Congratulations!
  12. ixata
    Dec 22, 2006
    9
    it isnt fresh, its out everything out there.. but however, there's sumthing bout it that keeps me listenin to it all day, n dat sumthin is herself.. critics say that she cant convey emotions, bt they are wrong. theyre unemotional icecreams.. listenin to this album, its easy to hear the pain, the love, the happiness, projected through her husky unique vice, unlike ashlee and hilary.. it isnt fresh, its out everything out there.. but however, there's sumthing bout it that keeps me listenin to it all day, n dat sumthin is herself.. critics say that she cant convey emotions, bt they are wrong. theyre unemotional icecreams.. listenin to this album, its easy to hear the pain, the love, the happiness, projected through her husky unique vice, unlike ashlee and hilary.. its not so catchy, so you won't get bored with it to soon. ultimately, lindsay rawkz lyk alanis too! Expand
  13. marisela
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    i love it ...... but i want more
  14. AlexanderC
    Feb 17, 2006
    7
    I normally don't like this kind of music but i gave it a try anyway. I think she has done a lot of progress. I just can't see why people always want to bring this girl down. Yeah ok, she's a popular hollywood star but does this make this album less good?
  15. matiusn
    Feb 8, 2006
    3
    Although people might say she is talented or whatever, you people just have to face it : the only reason this album sells is because of her looks and her Hollywood fame. Listening through this album is a drag and irritates listeners with squeeky vocals and banshee-like shrieking. I would have rated this lower but having a face like that on the cover is a warranted bonus.
  16. catarinas
    Feb 8, 2006
    9
    i realy lke this album... confessions of a broken heart, a beautiful life and edge of seventeen are my favorite ones.. linds.. you rock.. keep doing your songs (and movies)! luv ya linds!!
  17. Galen
    Mar 9, 2006
    0
    We really should stop giving record deals to movie stars. There are plenty of aspiring musicians who deserve a chance.
  18. EDUARDOC
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    i think that changes are good. lindsay loha has a strong voice but i still like the cd alot and its kind of sad that she put songs about her life she is trying really hard guys dont called lindsay lohan a bictch i mean if you where her you would feel the same pain as her . anyways its a good album.
  19. Billy
    Dec 15, 2005
    1
    Why is she a star? Tits.
  20. joeaverage
    Dec 18, 2005
    1
    When will she finally display her amazing talentS in the correct manner ? That is in Playboy? Lindsay Lohan and all the pop girlies like Kelly Clarkson, Christina Aguilea, Hillary Duff, Jessica Simpson are all shit and not talent
  21. j
    Jan 11, 2006
    1
    Fred R and "on crack" got to be 1st degree stalkers of Lohan. She is a made up entity of hollywood that is designed to make as much money as they can while making art less credible. Its obvious that both of you are brain dead idiots that buys into that crap!
  22. mgsc
    Jan 16, 2006
    0
    I have two words for you: Dana Plato.
  23. cesp
    Jan 17, 2006
    3
    I bought this album because I loved her single confessions, but I was terribly disappointed witht he album. The songs all resemble each other. There is no variety. SHe may have talent, but this album barely proves that.
  24. jane
    Jan 2, 2006
    0
    haha that Confessions video is so funny and horrible. Look lady, I come from a broken home too, but you don't see me me prancing about in an expensive designer princess dress to complain about it. I'M NOT THAT LUCKY. (/bitter)
  25. AndyMAC118
    Jan 25, 2006
    9
    Well I only have a few words to say these album is brilliant well written and downright addictive. she may be a wanna be kelly clarkson, but she has done a great job of it.
  26. sheilae
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    u guyz need to stop bein so narrowminded. lindsay lohan has soo much talent and this album is awesome u just have to give it time omg so amazing.
  27. pomo
    Jan 27, 2006
    3
    A definite genius poet...actually such statements do not even deserve sarcasm. The sheer magnitude of the albums crapiness is directly proportional to the amount that Lindsay actually had to do with the album in the first place. The singer songwriter category has been dealt a striking blow with every album that is sold of this steaming pile. This girl clearly needs less free time, unless A definite genius poet...actually such statements do not even deserve sarcasm. The sheer magnitude of the albums crapiness is directly proportional to the amount that Lindsay actually had to do with the album in the first place. The singer songwriter category has been dealt a striking blow with every album that is sold of this steaming pile. This girl clearly needs less free time, unless she plans on doing more drugs, which may actually give her a more interesting perspective of life. Expand
  28. TyrraT
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    This one beats the first hands down! The vocals are much better and the songs... WOW! And for all those who care she does write the songs! She has helped write over half the songs on each album. I like it!
  29. Shawna
    Mar 2, 2006
    4
    She doesnt write her own songs. So why should I rate her on voice which is fake, he movies, bleh im not going even comment on that and writeing. when its all FAKE. Iill give her a 4 for trying.
  30. Manaph
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    So more mature than other singers of her age, speacilly in the way that COABH is writen for his father. There are some covers that definitly rocks, that songs are I WANT YOU TO WANT ME, that's way better than the no doubt one, and edge of seventeen, a very difficult song to sing, but lindsay do it very well. The songs are fresh, originals, with very good and diverse rhythm. All that So more mature than other singers of her age, speacilly in the way that COABH is writen for his father. There are some covers that definitly rocks, that songs are I WANT YOU TO WANT ME, that's way better than the no doubt one, and edge of seventeen, a very difficult song to sing, but lindsay do it very well. The songs are fresh, originals, with very good and diverse rhythm. All that makes that the album calification is 10 (ten); if it would be another one xD Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. While this makes for an album that's substantially more interesting and cohesive than the gaudy Speak, it doesn't necessarily mean that A Little More Personal (Raw) is a successful record, either.
  2. Has she grown up? Maybe not entirely yet, but Lohan is showing the promise of an honorable mainstream career.
  3. Ultimately, like her manufactured pop rivals Ashlee Simpson and Hilary Duff, Lindsay is a little too superficial to sell us angst.