User Score
2.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 20 out of 25

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ToddJ
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    Like all other masterpieces of the 21st century Lively Mind is both groundbreaking, and breath taking. Albums such as Kid A and Hotel Yankee Foxtrot are definately comparable. In many years to come this album will be referenced upon. An alternative/electronic touchstone.
  2. OwenW
    Jul 28, 2006
    2
    There is nothing breathtaking or groundbreaking about house music anymore. There was nothing breathtaking or groundbreaking about house music 7 years ago, either. Comparing this record to "Kid A" is like comparing apples and rotten apples. If you're over the age of 25 and you're still listening to paul oakenfold records, its time to stop spending so much money on hair gel and There is nothing breathtaking or groundbreaking about house music anymore. There was nothing breathtaking or groundbreaking about house music 7 years ago, either. Comparing this record to "Kid A" is like comparing apples and rotten apples. If you're over the age of 25 and you're still listening to paul oakenfold records, its time to stop spending so much money on hair gel and move out of your moms house. Expand
  3. BillyTheKid
    Aug 10, 2006
    1
    You've got to be kidding me. This album is terrible. Just goes to show you how arrogance can blind anyone when attempting any project. 1/10
  4. BobbyK
    Jun 13, 2006
    0
    KLF rip-offs and cheesy vocals
  5. IvanM
    Aug 30, 2006
    0
    Horrible tracks, I am very dissapointed at Oakenfold. He is a god at the turntables but mediocre as a producer and he has proved that with this disc.
  6. BobJoe
    Sep 2, 2006
    0
    crap
  7. bobm
    Jun 19, 2006
    10
    fasterkill pussycat is a tune end of
  8. lncechum
    Jul 6, 2006
    0
    just awful
  9. JohnD
    Aug 12, 2006
    0
    You're better off hoping for DJ Shadow's latest, if only because Oakenfold is Satan.
  10. [Anonymous]
    Aug 9, 2006
    0
    ha ha ha, ahh man. Some dude compared this crap to Kid A and Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. What an asshole. Take me out with a house beat... Mff mff mff mff
  11. SimonB
    May 13, 2008
    2
    Too lively for me, apparently. I don't know if Oakenfold developed an immunity to sharp treble. I don't know if he's got an immunity to taste in music. If he's got an immunity to making LYRICS in songs sound good... But he lacks so much stuff that making an album called "A Lively Mind" just makes it sound like a selling catchline. The album's real name being Too lively for me, apparently. I don't know if Oakenfold developed an immunity to sharp treble. I don't know if he's got an immunity to taste in music. If he's got an immunity to making LYRICS in songs sound good... But he lacks so much stuff that making an album called "A Lively Mind" just makes it sound like a selling catchline. The album's real name being hidden somewhere within there. Possibly Oak, as to image the single-minded roads the songs take, save for Save the last Trance, which is half-decent. That doesn't solve anything, however. The opening track featuring the girl who Eminem screwed, then Ashton Kutcher, then whoever else... Was good on the first listen, then when I listened to it again, I found it stale and repetitive. Following songs just got irritating to the ear. Imagine being subjected to the droplet torture: Sitting down, unable to move, and there's a droplet of water falling down on your forehead constantly, without halt. Within the hour, you go MAD as every single droplet seems to hurt more than the other. This is what happens with this album, as each track sounds more painful than the other. And then Paul adds to the mayhem by saying something in one of his tracks. Well, saying something... He's looping saying something, which doesn't mean anything, because it's kind of like two robots unable to make a connection, constantly asking "What's up?": "Whassup Paul?" - "Hey Flash, Whassup?" I don't know if that's meant to show how LIVELY MINDED Paul is, but if that's the case, he fails pretty fucking hard. That, or the song was supposed to have full-time singing and ended up having none. I could go on but frankly, in a few words: Bad album, bad artist, bad mind. Expand
  12. AlanR
    Jun 15, 2006
    0
    Oakenfold is the biggest chump in DJing. GET OFF THE STAGE!
  13. claud
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    exellent
  14. TheCritic
    Jun 27, 2006
    0
    1 word: CRAP
  15. PresidentBush
    Jul 9, 2006
    0
    this man has the ability to write bad songs
  16. willyl
    Jun 19, 2006
    1
    ludicrous schlock.. worst album of the year so far, by far. poor pharrell... he doesn't need the scrill that bad does he?
  17. drewb
    Jun 28, 2006
    0
    let me make a better album in 5 seconds. *fart* done!
  18. DevinB
    Jun 28, 2006
    0
    Utterly worthless yawnfest...unoriginal, uninspired and corny beyond imagination. There must be thirty or forty fantastic DJ/Dance albums that come out in a year these days...why on earth is Oakenfold still allowed near a recording studio?
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Spin
    40
    These thumping, Ibiza-inflected excursions into pop and R&B aren't quite as catchy [as "Starry Eyed Surprise"]. [Jun 2006, p.83]
  2. Los Angeles Times
    50
    Instead of finding a different voice as a writer and producer of original material, Oakenfold seems trapped by dance-music genre conventions. [28 May 2006]
  3. Uncut
    20
    It'll work neither in the club or in the home. [Jun 2006, p.108]