Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    60
    This is cosmic R&B. [May 2013, p.95]
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    80
    A Love Surreal probably doesn’t have what 1st Born Second fanatics want out of the guy, but it’s plenty beautiful on its own terms.
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    76
    A Love Surreal is short on big, arcing-rainbow melodies as a result, but one of its joys is watching Bilal warp his voice into improbable shapes.
  4. Mar 1, 2013
    90
    By co-opting the title of John Coltrane’s 1965 classic, A Love Supreme, Bilal is at least hinting at lofty expectations. For the most part he exceeds them.
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    88
    He’s just a great singer, backed by great players he puts to good use on a set of sticky, deceptively inventive songs
  6. Feb 26, 2013
    80
    Pleasingly, A Love Surreal eschews the idea of calling in favors, instead laying bare Bilal's own songwriting and production prowess.
  7. Feb 26, 2013
    90
    This sensual song suite about the ephemeral nature of love and what it takes to sustain happiness should end up among this year’s finest efforts.
  8. Feb 26, 2013
    80
    With lush, glimmering keyboards and electronics, lean indie-rock guitars or Robert Glasper’s limpid jazz piano the songs tease and insinuate. Their meanderings lead somewhere.
  9. Feb 26, 2013
    90
    Bilal describes creating A Love Surreal as a surrealistic exploration of love and, indeed, he delivers on this end.
  10. Feb 26, 2013
    90
    As a producer and songwriter, Bilal has stepped up. As a vocalist, he remains supernaturally skilled and creative--swooping, diving, wailing, and sighing, all with complete command.
  11. Feb 26, 2013
    63
    The album washes near the end with a series of spacey slow jams, but then Bilal clears away the atmospheric clutter for "Butterfly," a stark ballad built around his soaring falsetto and rippling piano by recent Grammy winner Robert Glasper.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    I gave it a perfect score not to say that it's flawless musically but because it feels like a perfect trip in the country, the one that give you a fresh breath of air before you go back to the city jungle. I've ben a fan of Bilal's universe since I discovered First Born second. It was in the beginning of the 2000's and he hasn't released anything that sounds like that album since. I guess I've been able to follow him on his musical journey and I must say that he really opened my mind. For this album Bilal wanted to make something that would sound like Dali's surrealistic paintings and photos and I guess he succeed because I always picture myself in some crazy landscape when I listen to it. Like I said before, this album is like taking a trip on a train, looking out of the windows and seeing some Dali's or Vladimir Kush's type of scenery. It's a musical gallery. It sounds like a perfect mix between his never released masterpiece "Love For Sale" and his ballsy and critically acclaimed "Airtight's revenge". It's sensual and yet powerful and experimental at times. Nothing new for Bilal except this time, this project really feels more coherent than his last albums ...

    I can't really give you my highlights since it changes every time but I can only encourage you to give it a chance and another if the first one doesn't work. If you open your mind, you'll see the beauty of this piece of music.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    A Love Surreal is tasteless romance with a pinch of cuteness. Bilal has compelled with the emotion very well, that's what makes this album special. A Love Surreal is a timeless classic. Full Review »
  3. Mar 2, 2013
    9
    A Love Surreal is exactly that; a surreal set devoted to the subject of love. This is my first time exposed to Bilal and I am impressed. Great songwriting, spacey jams, so many influences, futuristic r b. I love Channel Orange but this is the album Frank Ocean should have made. Too bad not as many people will hear this... Full Review »