User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    A Place To Bury Strangers' debut album is an interesting record. They play with a unique and distinct style. They mesh psychedelic rock with noise pop and it all comes together to sound pretty great. Each track has a sense of urgency to be listened too and it caught my attention right from the start of it. All In All, A Place To Bury Strangers is a great debut album. B+
  2. JustinB.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    I haven't enjoyed a new album this much in a while.
  3. MarekV.
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    Pure energy....great!
  4. Adam.
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    It's a good album, but I heard it before when I listened to psychocandy. I think they painted themselves into a corner stylistically with this one, though.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Top album of the year in my opinion.
  6. Kevin
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    Like old Jesus and Mary Chain, My Bloody Valentine with a bit of industrial thrown into the mix.
  7. AlexR
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    This is a brilliant debut LP. It's amazing that all this sound is coming from a trio. They really sound like a mix of the Jesus and Mary Chain's Darklands and Psychocandy. With the exception of one track, every single one is an adventure. Don't just listen to the sounds, listen to the words; embedded in the harsh guitar screams are beautiful pop lyrics. I GREATLY await This is a brilliant debut LP. It's amazing that all this sound is coming from a trio. They really sound like a mix of the Jesus and Mary Chain's Darklands and Psychocandy. With the exception of one track, every single one is an adventure. Don't just listen to the sounds, listen to the words; embedded in the harsh guitar screams are beautiful pop lyrics. I GREATLY await their next release and an opportunity to see them live. Expand
  8. LemmyK.
    Oct 26, 2007
    8
    It's rock solid. The JAMC critical references are apt, indeed. Also, bring your Altec-Lansings or your Bose along. They don't use conventional sonic approaches and neither should you; leave your laptop speakers collect dust until the new, um, Big & Rich CD, please people.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. It's a kick in the pants debut, and here's hoping they carve their own unique sound out even more in the future.
  2. A Place to Bury Strangers is a record with excitement hardwired to its musical structure: the elements of these songs are so individually pleasing that, when the band shifts them against each other, the effect is a sense of constant cataclysmic upheaval. Each new variation is giddying.
  3. A Place to Bury Strangers may not be easy for would-be record buyers to find--it's currently limited to 500 copies and put out by, um, Killer Pimp Records--but it's worth every effort.