A Rush Of Blood To The Head

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Aug 27, 2002
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 430 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 430

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    For me, the greatest Coldplay album and one of the best of the decade. Possibly the coldplay album with the most piano. Songs like "Green eyes", "clocks", "a rush of blood to the head", "the scientist" or "politik" are top class melodic rock. I would only delete the song "god put a smile up on your face". Here they don't sound like first era Radiohead at all as they did on their fantasticFor me, the greatest Coldplay album and one of the best of the decade. Possibly the coldplay album with the most piano. Songs like "Green eyes", "clocks", "a rush of blood to the head", "the scientist" or "politik" are top class melodic rock. I would only delete the song "god put a smile up on your face". Here they don't sound like first era Radiohead at all as they did on their fantastic first album. Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    Lyrically, "A Rush of Blood..." isn't too far ahead of "Parachutes," but its composition is nearly flawless. With marvelous guitar riffs and great piano melodies, there is a depth to this album that isn't present in any of their other studio records. This is the closest a Brit album from the 2000s ever came to comparing to the epic rock motifs of Britain in the 1990s, namely Oasis, Blur,Lyrically, "A Rush of Blood..." isn't too far ahead of "Parachutes," but its composition is nearly flawless. With marvelous guitar riffs and great piano melodies, there is a depth to this album that isn't present in any of their other studio records. This is the closest a Brit album from the 2000s ever came to comparing to the epic rock motifs of Britain in the 1990s, namely Oasis, Blur, and early Radiohead, though in the end it does fall well short of those bands' works. Solid album however. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    I don't even know hot describe how much I love this record. This album is the sole reason I started listening to Coldplay as a serious listener and even considering them as one of my favourite bands. Chris Martin's vocals and Jonny Buckland's electric guitar are terrific. Whenever I listen to the title track of the album, I always feel like I'm climbing a hill and it's so cold and I needI don't even know hot describe how much I love this record. This album is the sole reason I started listening to Coldplay as a serious listener and even considering them as one of my favourite bands. Chris Martin's vocals and Jonny Buckland's electric guitar are terrific. Whenever I listen to the title track of the album, I always feel like I'm climbing a hill and it's so cold and I need to make some decisions. Believe me, but I actually used to be a Coldplay hater but that's before I listened to songs like "In My Place", "Politik", "A Rush of Blood to the Head", "Green Eyes" and "Warning Sign". I can easily call it my most favourite Coldplay album. Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2015
    9
    Often rocking and always filled with energy, strong lyrics, and emotion: Coldplay's 2nd album "A Rush Of Blood To The Head" is timeless and memorable unlike many of the albums released around this time period
  5. Jun 14, 2016
    10
    This is another amazing Coldplay album!!!
    I love all the songs

    This album is even better than parachutes
    It feels like they evolved and the sound is phenomenal

    This and Maroon 5's Songs About Jane are the best albums of 2002
  6. Jul 8, 2016
    9
    This is, in my opinion, Coldplay's second best album. After I listened to A Head Full Of Dreams, I decided to go back and listen to Coldplay's other albums. On my first listen through, the only album that struck me was A Rush Of Blood to the Head. The album is a fantastic culmination of everything that makes Coldplay amazing.
    it is an example of Coldplay at their best, and is well worth
    This is, in my opinion, Coldplay's second best album. After I listened to A Head Full Of Dreams, I decided to go back and listen to Coldplay's other albums. On my first listen through, the only album that struck me was A Rush Of Blood to the Head. The album is a fantastic culmination of everything that makes Coldplay amazing.
    it is an example of Coldplay at their best, and is well worth the listen.
    Expand
  7. BenjaminBunny
    Jun 8, 2004
    6
    Damn. Just when I thought I found a new band to hate ("Parachutes," the worst album Catherine Wheel never recorded) this album comes along and makes me like them. Well, in the same way I like 80s-era U2, which is to say it's listenably pretty--as long as you don't pay too much attention to the lyrics it sounds okay. Not that I'd actually own it.
  8. musicLover
    Oct 17, 2002
    0
    Bought the album - Can I get a refund ???
  9. MultipleMiggs
    Sep 2, 2002
    5
    Calvin listens to 4 songs and decrees a 10? Thank god there will be people who actually listen CRITICALLY to this album and realize that, while there is some great songwriting going on, there are few if any original ideas presented.
  10. Frank
    Sep 20, 2002
    3
    really bland stuff and so damn middle of the road. The amount of acclaim this record is getting shows how boring music critics are. At least Travis had the decency to do a humorous video clip.
  11. ErwinK.
    Sep 30, 2002
    2
    Yes. Music for bedwetters.
  12. Bk
    Jan 3, 2005
    0
    over rated!
  13. SusanB
    Sep 13, 2005
    3
    Mediocre at best, dull and lifeless at worst. The occasional good track, i.e. The Scientist, is cancelled out by the overwhelming blandness of the album as a whole. Uninventive, unemotional and overated
  14. Jazzy
    Nov 12, 2002
    2
    Comparisons to U2 and Radiohead are bound to happen when you have fans that have their head stuck that far up their arses. Every song on this album sounds like it has been created through some Let's-try-and-sound-like-Radiohead-but-with-a-bit-of-Jeff-Buckley-thrown-in-but-lets-try-not-to-be-so-self-conscious-about-it-formula. Lyrically piss-weak, Martin has nothing interesting to Comparisons to U2 and Radiohead are bound to happen when you have fans that have their head stuck that far up their arses. Every song on this album sounds like it has been created through some Let's-try-and-sound-like-Radiohead-but-with-a-bit-of-Jeff-Buckley-thrown-in-but-lets-try-not-to-be-so-self-conscious-about-it-formula. Lyrically piss-weak, Martin has nothing interesting to say. Yyyyaaawwwnnn!!!! Expand
  15. VinceP.
    Sep 16, 2002
    5
    I gave it a 5 only to don't give him a 0. Hated it. How can bands like Flaming Lips, Primal Scream, The Bees...., be considered worst then this guys. Forget this guys. Listen to The Bees, I am Kloot, etc.
  16. Melissa
    Sep 4, 2002
    0
    100% facade.
  17. DaveD.
    Sep 8, 2002
    4
    I'm a huge fan of brit-pop and of Coldplay's former album, "Parachute", but I just can't understand the universal acclaim of this album. I bought it before I read any reviews, and I thought it was a horribly repetitive, inspireless work. The lyrics are incredibly tepid and sound like a singer whose just filling in repetitive rhythms with cliched lyrics and spoiled imagery. I'm a huge fan of brit-pop and of Coldplay's former album, "Parachute", but I just can't understand the universal acclaim of this album. I bought it before I read any reviews, and I thought it was a horribly repetitive, inspireless work. The lyrics are incredibly tepid and sound like a singer whose just filling in repetitive rhythms with cliched lyrics and spoiled imagery. It sounds as if they're trying to sound like Doves's "Lost Souls", creating pop music that builds upon sonic landscapes, but can't find enough interesting ideas that can fill out a four minute song. Listening to this album back to back with Radiohead's past few sonic excursions, I realized Coldplay really is just a wannabe in every respect. I now know that I shouldn't have expected as much from their last meisterwork, "Parachutes". Coldplay is little more than Oasis deciding to steal the sound of Radiohead and Jeff Buckley instead of The Beatles, and the day will come when they matter just as little to the current pop landscape as the horrid imitative brats Oasis. A year ago I was hoping for only the best for Coldplay, but they have lost one fan because of this album. Hopefully next time, they'll write some songs that were created from inspired imagination instead of the awkward formulas that dominate this album. Expand
  18. DomS.
    Aug 10, 2003
    5
    When it's good, it's pretty mediocre. When it's bad, it's still pretty mediocre. P.S. Ignore the lyrics. They will induce seizures. it makes you wonder how Gwyneth Paltrow can handle Chris Martin's "sweet little nothings" in her out-of-his-league ear.
  19. OsaA
    Dec 9, 2006
    0
    I bought this album because it won a Grammy for album of the year so I thought it most be good and decided to by it at Best Buy. The album sounded good at first, but then I realised that is album was not that great and cannot believe it won a Grammy because it was so safe with not too many great songs. The only song that was most appealing and radio friendly was Clocks, which was about I bought this album because it won a Grammy for album of the year so I thought it most be good and decided to by it at Best Buy. The album sounded good at first, but then I realised that is album was not that great and cannot believe it won a Grammy because it was so safe with not too many great songs. The only song that was most appealing and radio friendly was Clocks, which was about it. I was so disappointed that I sold it on Amazon. If you a person who likes poems and deep storyline music that makes you think this album is for you, but not for me unfortunately. Expand
  20. DR
    Feb 15, 2009
    4
    I remember buying this album when it came out after thoroughly enjoying parachutes and being underwhelmed. Very bland radio friendly stuff. No wonder the backlash against these guys; it started with this album.
  21. ShawnT
    Feb 27, 2003
    0
    worst band and album ever. The songs are sooooo boring!!!!!!!!!
  22. Jan 19, 2011
    0
    Its incredible how the people who give Coldplay zeros give absolutly no reason or justification behind their score, at least no descriptive enough, how about going into detail? Boring? Thats it? You have yet to learn about what it means to grade music, this album is Pink Floyd reincarnate. 473rd greatest album of all time, Too low. These critics are reliable people but people evenIts incredible how the people who give Coldplay zeros give absolutly no reason or justification behind their score, at least no descriptive enough, how about going into detail? Boring? Thats it? You have yet to learn about what it means to grade music, this album is Pink Floyd reincarnate. 473rd greatest album of all time, Too low. These critics are reliable people but people even discredit them without any evidence, so why do we even have a user score if 90% of them are completly bias. Expand
  23. RickS
    Aug 11, 2003
    9
    I must say i have to agree with Matthew S, when people talk and compare bands to zepplin or floyd, they come off sounding as if they know nothing about music... I don't think people understand coldplay's music, in this time of nu-metal, where the only on thats seen is the screaming singer, people forgot what a band sounds like as a whole....Coldplay does this.Plain and simple I must say i have to agree with Matthew S, when people talk and compare bands to zepplin or floyd, they come off sounding as if they know nothing about music... I don't think people understand coldplay's music, in this time of nu-metal, where the only on thats seen is the screaming singer, people forgot what a band sounds like as a whole....Coldplay does this.Plain and simple everyone gets the spotlight.. The guitar is not over done like so many bands but it goes along with a certain mood(something like fleetwood mac). The bass goes quite good with martin's voice.. I did however find the drums to be a little boring, i'll agree with Ali M on that...But overall Coldplay is one of the most talented and unique bands out there....... Expand
  24. DaveV.
    Sep 10, 2002
    10
    God put a smile upon your face - More like Coldplay put a smile on my face. Outstanding
  25. IreneL.
    Sep 2, 2002
    10
    "A Rush of Blood..." prove Coldplay's prowess and seemingly unlimited talent. Truly hummable and accessable melodies serve as a facade to a much more thoughtful and tension-filled core.
  26. scottg
    Jan 7, 2003
    10
    this is a truly superb follow up to parachutes. the album takes coldplay to another level this album will rock any venue in the uk but may find it hard in the states. keep up the good work lads
  27. TomM
    Aug 10, 2004
    10
    Great album. As good as parachutes. Very pleasantly surprised
  28. BujarR
    May 14, 2005
    10
    Well....shortly.BEST ALBUM OF ALL TIMES!
  29. JackMB
    Jun 6, 2005
    9
    This is a great album, which will grown on you with time. It's different if not better to Parachutes. However, this can only be given a 9, as after listening to X&Y this is clearly inferior.
  30. EshopjV.
    Jul 17, 2007
    7
    In retrospect, looking back from '07 gives enough hindsight that Coldplay's second effort with "A Rush Of Blood to the Head", is nothing more than just lush-laden melodies akin to eating flavoring, in that while they are by all means delicious, they lack much nutritional value to actually be considered "good". Now by all means that dosen't mean this album is just another In retrospect, looking back from '07 gives enough hindsight that Coldplay's second effort with "A Rush Of Blood to the Head", is nothing more than just lush-laden melodies akin to eating flavoring, in that while they are by all means delicious, they lack much nutritional value to actually be considered "good". Now by all means that dosen't mean this album is just another piece of garbage to be cast aside. With the opening track "Politik", we are cast into a dense world of alternating loud and quiet. "Clocks" cyclic nature and hypnotic tune, does a comendable job of yanking in the listener. "The Scientist", as aft-mentioned, is probably one of the most well-constructed pop songs of our time so far thanks to its simplistic yet yearning tune. However, when one is confronted to actually "look deeper" into the album, it is akin to diving off a twelve foot. platform to a two foot pool. Most of the lyrics are about love, which is however trite in its usage, still a comendable subject. If only it weren't the same story for almost every single track on the whole damn album. Even "Politik"'s meaning is almost misguided and hazy unless you bothered to read the CD booklet, at which point it becomes rather banal in its execution. Previous comments comparing this to "Floyd" are probably the most jarring comparrisons I have ever heard. (With the exception of the penultimate title track, which is one of the best off the album.) If anything they are more akin to later Supertramp, with a little bit of both the world of electic and conventional. (With a more obvious lean to pop.) In closing, while this album is far from the supposed "holy grail" of music that is proponents claim it to be, it is no where near the almost slanderous comments of its detractors. (With the exception that it sounds/tastes like "Radiohead" lite.) With the state that the current trend pop music is in, albums like these while far from what can be considered "great", are still in rather short supply to conventional audiences. With a fourth album due out in '08 headed by Brian Eno, (After the meh-ish nature of "X & Y", a good thing.) we can hope for maybe a slightly brighter future judging from its past. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Without the emotional resonance of Martin's voice at its most free, Coldplay's brilliantly minimal musical foundation has nothing to support. So it falters.
  2. Coldplay's new record is a little edgier, trancier, and more conversational than their last. It is called A Rush of Blood to the Head, and in waves and swells of major tunes and frisky then looping time signatures, that's just about the effect it has.
  3. But while the sound of this album is more expansive, the influences a bit less obvious, and the approach more varied, the guys forgot to tote along their initial strength: the songs.