• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Aug 27, 2002
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 455 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 455

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 3, 2017
    10
    One of biggest achievements of british band commanded by Chris Martin in this new millenium. In shortly words is charming from A to Z. Particullarly in songs like The scientist, Yellow and Clocks.
  2. Aug 16, 2017
    10
    es un buen álbum, agradable de inicio a fin, te puede acompañar a donde vayas y jamás te cansarás de escucharlo, porque es perfecto para cualquier ocasión.
  3. Aug 8, 2017
    10
    One of the best albums of 2000s and of all time. It's definetely Coldplay's best album, also, singles from the album are just perfect. That piano easily brings you memories.
  4. Aug 8, 2017
    10
    Easily the best Coldplay album, which defined the band as we remember it. Have to mention the beautiful composition of an album with In My Place being a fantastic #2 song and Amsterdam being a great closing song for this legendary record
  5. Aug 4, 2017
    10
    A pure masterpiece. This has to be considered as one of the greatest albums of all time in a couple of years. Why? Because when everything had been said and done in the history of music, Coldplay came up with.. the truth. Especially "The Scientist", which is a top ten song of all times, where Martin softly and unconditionally sings "Come up to meet you / To tell you I'm Sorry / You don'tA pure masterpiece. This has to be considered as one of the greatest albums of all time in a couple of years. Why? Because when everything had been said and done in the history of music, Coldplay came up with.. the truth. Especially "The Scientist", which is a top ten song of all times, where Martin softly and unconditionally sings "Come up to meet you / To tell you I'm Sorry / You don't know how lovely you are" represent how most of us actually feel dealing with lovely memories of the past – something every human being will do at some point in life. The rest of the album is as dynamic as a morning when sun's shining, breakfast tastes fantastic and the traffic light shows green light until you get to work where you finally get to know you're promoted.

    Best tracks: The Scientist, In My Place, Green Eyes, Clocks
    Worst: Daylight
    Expand
  6. Jan 23, 2017
    10
    Easily one of their top three albums, a big contender for best album, and one of the best albums of the decade. This is when they hit it big and showed the world their creativity. They didn't seem to be trying to be a 'pop' band and while there were hints of other greats (like U2) in their music, they made their own style and showed who they would be for the next 10 years in this great.
  7. Aug 12, 2016
    10
    Since they released Parachutes, everyone's waiting for new album from Coldplay. Finally, waiting is over and they released this (a rush of blood to the head). This album is become bigger, better than Parachutes. The Scientist, In My Place, Clocks are best songs of 2002 and maybe 2000s and 21st century. But on this albums have so many hidden gems including A Rush of Blood to The Head, GreenSince they released Parachutes, everyone's waiting for new album from Coldplay. Finally, waiting is over and they released this (a rush of blood to the head). This album is become bigger, better than Parachutes. The Scientist, In My Place, Clocks are best songs of 2002 and maybe 2000s and 21st century. But on this albums have so many hidden gems including A Rush of Blood to The Head, Green Eyes, Politik etc. If you don't know Coldplay, and interested on this album. You should've listen. You're not disappoint Expand
  8. Jul 17, 2016
    7
    Quite good album!, "The Scientist" and "Clocks" are the best songs out of this album. The others songs are kinda meh. It's not really worthy for me. :
  9. Jul 8, 2016
    9
    This is, in my opinion, Coldplay's second best album. After I listened to A Head Full Of Dreams, I decided to go back and listen to Coldplay's other albums. On my first listen through, the only album that struck me was A Rush Of Blood to the Head. The album is a fantastic culmination of everything that makes Coldplay amazing.
    it is an example of Coldplay at their best, and is well worth
    This is, in my opinion, Coldplay's second best album. After I listened to A Head Full Of Dreams, I decided to go back and listen to Coldplay's other albums. On my first listen through, the only album that struck me was A Rush Of Blood to the Head. The album is a fantastic culmination of everything that makes Coldplay amazing.
    it is an example of Coldplay at their best, and is well worth the listen.
    Expand
  10. Jun 14, 2016
    10
    This is another amazing Coldplay album!!!
    I love all the songs

    This album is even better than parachutes
    It feels like they evolved and the sound is phenomenal

    This and Maroon 5's Songs About Jane are the best albums of 2002
  11. May 12, 2016
    10
    Almost a decade and a half since it came out, "A Rush of Blood To The Head" has stood up to the test of time and remains one of the best albums of the 00's. A fantastic follow up to their classic debut, this cemented Coldplays reputation as one of the most consistent bands of the first decade of the 21st century. With 11 tracks on show, the majority of them are true anthems. It starts offAlmost a decade and a half since it came out, "A Rush of Blood To The Head" has stood up to the test of time and remains one of the best albums of the 00's. A fantastic follow up to their classic debut, this cemented Coldplays reputation as one of the most consistent bands of the first decade of the 21st century. With 11 tracks on show, the majority of them are true anthems. It starts off with the brooding Politik, banging piano's, bass guitars and drums present in the chorus contrast perfectly with the quiet chorus. This brilliant opener is followed by a string of hit singles - "In My Place", "God Put A Smile Upon Your Face", "The Scientist" and "Clocks" all got massive airplay back in 2002 and still do today. They remain staples of the bands live show. The beautiful Green Eyes is at the heart of the record while the dark and soaring title track brings things crashing towards an end before the gentle Amsterdam sees us off. Everything about this record is reaching for brilliance, production, songwriting, musicianmanship, running time. Even if your one of those people who hate the b(r)and because thats the trendy thing to do, you can't help but love this record if your a fan of pop music. Expand
  12. Feb 23, 2016
    10
    One of the greatest albums of all time by one of the greatest bands of all time. A Rush of Blood to the Head goes from gentle piano ballads to harder rock/alternative. The album carries beautiful melodies and thoughtful lyrics. A true classic!
  13. Nov 15, 2015
    9
    Parecido com ''Parachutes'', mas ainda assim se distanciando mais de Radiohead e criando uma própria personalidade a banda, ''A Rush of Blood to the Head'' vem todo lapidado por vocais melancólicos, versos de fácil acesso e detalhes pequenos e transformações ao longo de cada canção que prendem o ouvinte até ao fim de cada faixa.
    ''A Rush of Blood to the Head'' vem com papel fundamental,
    Parecido com ''Parachutes'', mas ainda assim se distanciando mais de Radiohead e criando uma própria personalidade a banda, ''A Rush of Blood to the Head'' vem todo lapidado por vocais melancólicos, versos de fácil acesso e detalhes pequenos e transformações ao longo de cada canção que prendem o ouvinte até ao fim de cada faixa.
    ''A Rush of Blood to the Head'' vem com papel fundamental, não só de firmar a banda dentro da indústria musical, mas de firmar o disco como um dos mais influentes e aclamados deste século.
    Expand
  14. Jun 11, 2015
    9
    This record is the best from Coldplay. It has catchy melodies, great songs that are moving in their simplicity and unique vocals. A rush of blood to the head is the portrait of a band at the top of their game, a band that thanks to this record will start to be a worldwide famous act.
  15. Apr 27, 2015
    9
    Often rocking and always filled with energy, strong lyrics, and emotion: Coldplay's 2nd album "A Rush Of Blood To The Head" is timeless and memorable unlike many of the albums released around this time period
  16. Oct 14, 2014
    8
    A pretty good album, not as good as Parachutes, but still good enough for me. It just bothers me that an album that seems so conceptual from the outside has no real theme or message running through it, but it's fun to listen to nonetheless. Some musical choices also confused me, such as the tracks Clocks and Daylight. They are both great songs, but they are consecutive on the album and useA pretty good album, not as good as Parachutes, but still good enough for me. It just bothers me that an album that seems so conceptual from the outside has no real theme or message running through it, but it's fun to listen to nonetheless. Some musical choices also confused me, such as the tracks Clocks and Daylight. They are both great songs, but they are consecutive on the album and use the same drum rhythm for their duration. I just didn't get that. Overall, great style and some tracks are great. Favorite track: A Rush of Blood to the Head Expand
  17. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    Beautiful. Simply beautiful. Chris Martin, although slightly unadept in writing lyrics, and his band of musicians, never fails to amuse and amaze for the second time. The best album of Coldplay, behind it is Viva La Vida.
  18. Apr 19, 2014
    9
    A Rush of Blood to the Head is without a doubt one of Coldplay's crowing achievements. It features some excellent music, some of the best we've ever heard from Coldplay. I don't know if I would say this is my absolute favorite Coldplay album, it is one of the best of course, but one thing that puts me off about this album is that I am not a big fan of the album cover, I think it looks aA Rush of Blood to the Head is without a doubt one of Coldplay's crowing achievements. It features some excellent music, some of the best we've ever heard from Coldplay. I don't know if I would say this is my absolute favorite Coldplay album, it is one of the best of course, but one thing that puts me off about this album is that I am not a big fan of the album cover, I think it looks a bit bland, however I am not hear to judge the cd by it's cover, I am here to judge it by it's contents. AROBTTH is a excellent album and I think even non-Coldplay fans can enjoy it. My favorite tracks are "Politik", "God put a Smile Upon Your Face", "The Scientist", "Clocks" (This is actually one of my favorite songs of all time), "Warning Sign" and "A Rush of Blood to the Head" (the song). Expand
  19. Feb 4, 2014
    9
    Born in 1996, Coldplay didn’t mess around. They got right down to business making music and building a fan base that would continue to flourish more than a decade after first sitting down in Parlophone Studios to record their journey through powerful piano ballads and haunting hi-hats.
    From their signature paint-splattered piano to lead singer Chris Martin’s British charm, Coldplay
    Born in 1996, Coldplay didn’t mess around. They got right down to business making music and building a fan base that would continue to flourish more than a decade after first sitting down in Parlophone Studios to record their journey through powerful piano ballads and haunting hi-hats.
    From their signature paint-splattered piano to lead singer Chris Martin’s British charm, Coldplay stepped into the spotlight in 2000 with the release of their single “Yellow.” If you weren’t able to see past the pantsuits and razor scooters of the early 2000s, you may have missed the early days of Coldplay. Not only did they cultivate their talents early, but they incubated ideas for years to come.
    Let’s take a look at their second album ever released, A Rush Of Blood To The Head. Opening with the track “Politik,” we can assume from the raging pulse of the drums and guitar that this album has a statement to make. The song begs its listener to “open up your eyes.” Sounding almost mechanical, this intense song is a change in sound from Coldplay’s previous album.
    As the album progresses, we move from eager rhythms to a more relaxed sound, a characteristic of Coldplay’s mellow yellow soul. Things slow down with the quixotic tune, “Clocks,” where Chris flexes his vocal chords to hit the higher notes. Again, there is a very distinct, driving rhythm that keeps you grounded in the song.
    By the time we get to “Green Eyes,” we’re more than half way through this eleven-track album. Coldplay couldn’t help but go back to their heart-warming roots. “Green Eyes” is a sincere acoustic ballad with subtle yet effective harmonies. It’s a nice break from the first few in-your-face tracks, but it’s also the turning point of the album.
    A Rush Of Blood To The Head is almost an emotional journey, laced with love, confusion and introspection. Once we’ve passed the emerald gem that is “Green Eyes,” things slow down even more with the echoing riffs of “Warning Sign,” which has a nostalgic sound we haven’t yet encountered in the album. “Warning Sign” pairs gentle riffs with a roaring truth, “I miss you.”
    The tracks from here on out are much more intimate and heart wrenching. The title track, “A Rush Of Blood To The Head,” rings with longing and desire. The song and album title itself are a good summary for the over-all effect of the album: a rush of blood to the head, an epiphany, an intensity.
    A Rush of Blood To The Head is more mechanical sounding than Coldplay’s first album, Parachutes. The golden-lit spinning globe on the album cover is a good indication of Parachutes’ warm acoustic sounds and dreamy melodies. Their first album was a great start to building their image as a British rock band, and it was almost more inviting in sound than A Rush Of Blood To The Head-— but I think that’s the point.
    While “Parachutes” is comparable to a dimly-lit café with the faint sounds of Sinatra drifting under the smell of freshly baked croissants, A Rush Of Blood To The Head is more like sitting in a fluorescently lit room in a mass-produced, lightly padded chair. While this may sound a little uncomfortable, it has impact, and that is the point of the album. Being cozy has its perks, but being uncomfortable can provoke important questions and evoke a whole new set of emotions.
    If you enjoyed the emotional progressions of A Rush Of Blood To The Head, I encourage you to listen to their other five, start to finish, and marvel at the emotional and mental journey they will take you on.
    Expand
  20. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Coldplay surpasses Parachutes with a bold, determined, and flawless album, A Rush of Blood to the the Head. The Scientist, Clocks, In My Place, A Whisper, and a Rush of Blood to the head are the frontrunners in this race and the rest are close behind. This race being musical greatness.
  21. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    A simply amazing album filled with tons of great songs. It's songs have variety, the lyrics are emotional, and all the songs are well balanced. This is an album that nearly anyone can enjoy and that I always enjoy singing along with. I would highly recommend it!
  22. Dec 9, 2012
    8
    Not completely flawless but definitely Coldplay's finest album to date. Some of Coldplay's classics such as "Clocks" are in here amongst other tracks that are meaningful and sound great. Rush of Blood to the Head also finishes the album off wonderfully with the conclusive "Amsterdam".
  23. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    I don't even know hot describe how much I love this record. This album is the sole reason I started listening to Coldplay as a serious listener and even considering them as one of my favourite bands. Chris Martin's vocals and Jonny Buckland's electric guitar are terrific. Whenever I listen to the title track of the album, I always feel like I'm climbing a hill and it's so cold and I needI don't even know hot describe how much I love this record. This album is the sole reason I started listening to Coldplay as a serious listener and even considering them as one of my favourite bands. Chris Martin's vocals and Jonny Buckland's electric guitar are terrific. Whenever I listen to the title track of the album, I always feel like I'm climbing a hill and it's so cold and I need to make some decisions. Believe me, but I actually used to be a Coldplay hater but that's before I listened to songs like "In My Place", "Politik", "A Rush of Blood to the Head", "Green Eyes" and "Warning Sign". I can easily call it my most favourite Coldplay album. Expand
  24. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    This is Coldplay's masterpiece. "Politik" and "God Put A Smile Upon Your Face" are quality rock songs, the "The Scientist" and "Warning Sign" are some of the best melancholic songs you will hear, the sophisticated indie tracks, "Daylight" and "Whisper", are addictive, however, the best song on here is "Clocks". The hypnotic piano riff is heavenly. Breathtaking.
  25. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    A great album with great, relaxing songs on it, makes you just want to put it on repeat. I do find these songs catchy, and 'A Rush of Blood to the Head' may just be Coldplay's defining album. Key tracks: "In My Place", "The Scientist", "Clocks", "Warning Sign"
  26. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    Lyrically, "A Rush of Blood..." isn't too far ahead of "Parachutes," but its composition is nearly flawless. With marvelous guitar riffs and great piano melodies, there is a depth to this album that isn't present in any of their other studio records. This is the closest a Brit album from the 2000s ever came to comparing to the epic rock motifs of Britain in the 1990s, namely Oasis, Blur,Lyrically, "A Rush of Blood..." isn't too far ahead of "Parachutes," but its composition is nearly flawless. With marvelous guitar riffs and great piano melodies, there is a depth to this album that isn't present in any of their other studio records. This is the closest a Brit album from the 2000s ever came to comparing to the epic rock motifs of Britain in the 1990s, namely Oasis, Blur, and early Radiohead, though in the end it does fall well short of those bands' works. Solid album however. Expand
  27. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Best album by Coldplay to this day. Its the best tracks are "A Rush of Blood to the Head," "Green Eyes," "Scientist," and "Clocks." I recommend this masterpiece to anyone who wants to hear good music.
  28. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    This album is certainly Coldplay's best in my opinion. It is full of masterpieces and has a great mood to it. Best songs are "God Put A Smile Upon Your Face", "In My Place, "The Scientist", "Green Eyes" and "Politik".
  29. Oct 18, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This puts all their other albums to shame. It starts off really good, but fades out a little towards the end. Improves upon 'Parachutes' in most aspects. Best songs: 'The Scientist', 'In My Place', 'Green Eyes'. Expand
  30. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    This album is fantastic!!!! It's just an absolutely timeless classic, you can immerse yourself in their music and there are so many memorable tracks. Coldplay are an AWESOME group.
  31. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    For me, the greatest Coldplay album and one of the best of the decade. Possibly the coldplay album with the most piano. Songs like "Green eyes", "clocks", "a rush of blood to the head", "the scientist" or "politik" are top class melodic rock. I would only delete the song "god put a smile up on your face". Here they don't sound like first era Radiohead at all as they did on their fantasticFor me, the greatest Coldplay album and one of the best of the decade. Possibly the coldplay album with the most piano. Songs like "Green eyes", "clocks", "a rush of blood to the head", "the scientist" or "politik" are top class melodic rock. I would only delete the song "god put a smile up on your face". Here they don't sound like first era Radiohead at all as they did on their fantastic first album. Expand
  32. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    By far Coldplay's greatest work, beautiful, melancholy art rock from the mid of a mind who in no way sounds like Radiohead (as many assume) this album saved my life and brought me into the world of music
  33. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    Absolutely fantastic masterpiece
    probably the best album of the whole decade
    not a single bad or weak song even "A Whisper" is amazing

    and those who keep comparing Coldplay and Radiohead should shut up
  34. Jan 19, 2011
    0
    Its incredible how the people who give Coldplay zeros give absolutly no reason or justification behind their score, at least no descriptive enough, how about going into detail? Boring? Thats it? You have yet to learn about what it means to grade music, this album is Pink Floyd reincarnate. 473rd greatest album of all time, Too low. These critics are reliable people but people evenIts incredible how the people who give Coldplay zeros give absolutly no reason or justification behind their score, at least no descriptive enough, how about going into detail? Boring? Thats it? You have yet to learn about what it means to grade music, this album is Pink Floyd reincarnate. 473rd greatest album of all time, Too low. These critics are reliable people but people even discredit them without any evidence, so why do we even have a user score if 90% of them are completly bias. Expand
  35. AdrianN
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    The album was probably the greatest I ever heard of. It also show you that alternative rock doesn't have to be loud with some of their songs that a mellow and slow. It was obviously best when it was recorded after 9/11 that gave them asome good ideas that they can record. One of my favourites was "God Put A Smile Upon your face" which is like a revenge song but with lots of warnings. The album was probably the greatest I ever heard of. It also show you that alternative rock doesn't have to be loud with some of their songs that a mellow and slow. It was obviously best when it was recorded after 9/11 that gave them asome good ideas that they can record. One of my favourites was "God Put A Smile Upon your face" which is like a revenge song but with lots of warnings. It then. Expand
  36. DR
    Feb 15, 2009
    4
    I remember buying this album when it came out after thoroughly enjoying parachutes and being underwhelmed. Very bland radio friendly stuff. No wonder the backlash against these guys; it started with this album.
  37. AaronM
    Nov 15, 2008
    9
    The band's best work. An essential album. My only complaint is that many of the songs are about the same subject. Other than that, it's great.
  38. JoshJ
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    This album was the best Coldplay album ever. It is exciting and intelligent from start to finish. Impressive accomplishment.
  39. HC
    Feb 20, 2008
    7
    Luckily, since the good songs are all in the first half, you can delete the second. They're a singles band, but the singles are good.
  40. PaulM
    Jan 1, 2008
    9
    A Rush of Blood to the Head is, without doubt, a fantastic achievement. But for me, that's not the point. People can rave about the album's sales, or maybe complain about the band drawing heavy influences and therefore coming of as unoriginal. But its how the music makes you feel, how it reaches you, that matters. That, to me, is more important than anything. A Rush of Blood is, A Rush of Blood to the Head is, without doubt, a fantastic achievement. But for me, that's not the point. People can rave about the album's sales, or maybe complain about the band drawing heavy influences and therefore coming of as unoriginal. But its how the music makes you feel, how it reaches you, that matters. That, to me, is more important than anything. A Rush of Blood is, a beautifully compelling album, with a variety of songs that evoke different emotions from me every time I listen to them. What more can I say? Its an incredible album, and no matter what, nothing anyone says will dissuade me from that notion. The quality of the music is refined and stupendous, with songs like Clocks and In My Place transporting you to another place, affecting you in a way that I can't describe. The Scientist, which makes me close my eyes for just a moment, and listen to the beauty of music, and of lyrics that surpass most songwriters who have been writing for years. Politik, which brings about a certain inner rage, and reaches you in a different way that the rest of Coldplay's songs, is definitely worth listening too. God Put a Smile Upon Your Face is a song that makes you question everything you know, but brings an inner sense of peace. The only negative of this album is that the songs I've mentioned overshadow the album's other tracks; while good in quality, I often find myself skipping them to listen to those that are stunning in quality. But beside that, i think this album is a great collaboration of songs that range from phenomenal to good; not one song can be rated as bad. Expand
  41. ScottW.
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Truly a beautifully cold album.The sound of coldplay is perfect in this second album. A classic and one of the the best albums ever made.
  42. EshopjV.
    Jul 17, 2007
    7
    In retrospect, looking back from '07 gives enough hindsight that Coldplay's second effort with "A Rush Of Blood to the Head", is nothing more than just lush-laden melodies akin to eating flavoring, in that while they are by all means delicious, they lack much nutritional value to actually be considered "good". Now by all means that dosen't mean this album is just another In retrospect, looking back from '07 gives enough hindsight that Coldplay's second effort with "A Rush Of Blood to the Head", is nothing more than just lush-laden melodies akin to eating flavoring, in that while they are by all means delicious, they lack much nutritional value to actually be considered "good". Now by all means that dosen't mean this album is just another piece of garbage to be cast aside. With the opening track "Politik", we are cast into a dense world of alternating loud and quiet. "Clocks" cyclic nature and hypnotic tune, does a comendable job of yanking in the listener. "The Scientist", as aft-mentioned, is probably one of the most well-constructed pop songs of our time so far thanks to its simplistic yet yearning tune. However, when one is confronted to actually "look deeper" into the album, it is akin to diving off a twelve foot. platform to a two foot pool. Most of the lyrics are about love, which is however trite in its usage, still a comendable subject. If only it weren't the same story for almost every single track on the whole damn album. Even "Politik"'s meaning is almost misguided and hazy unless you bothered to read the CD booklet, at which point it becomes rather banal in its execution. Previous comments comparing this to "Floyd" are probably the most jarring comparrisons I have ever heard. (With the exception of the penultimate title track, which is one of the best off the album.) If anything they are more akin to later Supertramp, with a little bit of both the world of electic and conventional. (With a more obvious lean to pop.) In closing, while this album is far from the supposed "holy grail" of music that is proponents claim it to be, it is no where near the almost slanderous comments of its detractors. (With the exception that it sounds/tastes like "Radiohead" lite.) With the state that the current trend pop music is in, albums like these while far from what can be considered "great", are still in rather short supply to conventional audiences. With a fourth album due out in '08 headed by Brian Eno, (After the meh-ish nature of "X & Y", a good thing.) we can hope for maybe a slightly brighter future judging from its past. Expand
  43. garym
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    I'm a hard rock/hip-hop fan, so I don't listen to "make out" music all that much. But even I can say this album is awesome. When its all said and done, this will go down as the album of the decade because of its universal likability.
  44. OsaA
    Dec 9, 2006
    0
    I bought this album because it won a Grammy for album of the year so I thought it most be good and decided to by it at Best Buy. The album sounded good at first, but then I realised that is album was not that great and cannot believe it won a Grammy because it was so safe with not too many great songs. The only song that was most appealing and radio friendly was Clocks, which was about I bought this album because it won a Grammy for album of the year so I thought it most be good and decided to by it at Best Buy. The album sounded good at first, but then I realised that is album was not that great and cannot believe it won a Grammy because it was so safe with not too many great songs. The only song that was most appealing and radio friendly was Clocks, which was about it. I was so disappointed that I sold it on Amazon. If you a person who likes poems and deep storyline music that makes you think this album is for you, but not for me unfortunately. Expand
  45. daven
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    When Coldplay burst out onto mainstream radio with "Parachutes" it was clear that this was a band ready-made for stardom. Parachutes had the perfect indie appeal while showcasing their ability to perfect pop songs. This great CD was in no way a preperation for the brilliant "A Rush of Blood to the Head". From beginning to end, every song is a gem. Politik sucks you in with its intense When Coldplay burst out onto mainstream radio with "Parachutes" it was clear that this was a band ready-made for stardom. Parachutes had the perfect indie appeal while showcasing their ability to perfect pop songs. This great CD was in no way a preperation for the brilliant "A Rush of Blood to the Head". From beginning to end, every song is a gem. Politik sucks you in with its intense string section and leaves you there the entire time. Coldplay has already reached their masterpiece 2 CDs in and there is no way to go now except down. Expand
  46. Myles#13
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    Quite simply... fantastic album. This is the album that put Coldplay on the top of the rock and roll (albeit lite) world. Those who don't like Coldplay... give them a bloody chance, they are a GREAT band! Personal fav's are 'God Put A Smile Upon Your Face', 'Scientist', 'Green Eyes' and the title track.
  47. SkyNight
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    this c.d. is great from start to finish. the powerful music and soothing voice give this albuman edge. i still enjoy this album to this day and it makes me feel every emotion in my body!
  48. JoeyC
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    Certain albums are timeless, this is one. I;ll never forget the first time i heard 'clocks' it hit me then that coldplay was a band that was gonna leave an impression on music lovers abroad. This album will go down in history as one of the greatest.
  49. TyeN.
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    This is my favorite album of all-time. I cannot give it enough praise. Coldplay made good on their early potential from "Parachutes" and delivered a masterpiece. "X&Y" may be better sonically, but this album has everything. Although I suggest listening to every single track, the big stand-outs are "Politik", "In My Place", "God Put A Smile Upon Your Face", "The Scientist", "Clocks" (my This is my favorite album of all-time. I cannot give it enough praise. Coldplay made good on their early potential from "Parachutes" and delivered a masterpiece. "X&Y" may be better sonically, but this album has everything. Although I suggest listening to every single track, the big stand-outs are "Politik", "In My Place", "God Put A Smile Upon Your Face", "The Scientist", "Clocks" (my favorite song ever, by the way), and the gorgeous "Amsterdam." This album desrves to be recognized for what it truly is: a once in a lifetime masterpiece of epic proportions. I can't wait to hear album number four. Expand
  50. JennaP
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    It saddens me to see such acerbic reviews-particulary from Pitchfork and New York Magazine-for what is certainly one of the best records of the (middle-aged) decade. This is Coldplay at the top of their game--Parachutes was a bit too sleepy and X+Y a bit too hollow. Chris Martin's piano is an integral part to breathing life into cascading songs like Politik and Clocks while Jonny It saddens me to see such acerbic reviews-particulary from Pitchfork and New York Magazine-for what is certainly one of the best records of the (middle-aged) decade. This is Coldplay at the top of their game--Parachutes was a bit too sleepy and X+Y a bit too hollow. Chris Martin's piano is an integral part to breathing life into cascading songs like Politik and Clocks while Jonny Buckland's guitar melodies elevates In My Place and God Put A Smile Upon Your Face into bona fide anthems. Even the 'filler' songs (Daylight, A Whisper) have something inherently unique and special about them. And must I even mention the ballad The Scientist which Coldplay manages to get more than right---hard to come by these days. Wow I love this record. You need it in your life. Expand
  51. JohnK
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    One of the albums that will truly change your life, all of these songs are ones that you can listen to over and over and never get tired of.......personal favorites include God Put a Smile Upon Your Face [one of the best musically done songs in a long time] The Scientist [amazingly beautiful] and Amsterdam [incomparable]
  52. MarkH
    May 16, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums of the decade! Contemplative... but not overly deep, this album will not disappoint.
  53. KyleighH
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    I love this album. I used to have it, but now I don't anymore. I love the songs "Clocks" and "The Scientist." Coldplay's "A Rush Of Blood To the Head" album is good as their "Parachutes" album. I even heard the song "Clocks" on ER during the 2002-03 season. This is a good album.
  54. ColdplayFan
    Jan 23, 2006
    9
    AROBBTH starts off with a great 5 songs, and continues to produce after that. Politik has great driving guitar, In my place is a great supporter, GPASUYF is incredible, etc. etc. All the way to Amsterdam. That has to be the best song ever recorded.
  55. JonR
    Nov 19, 2005
    8
    Less consistant than Parachutes, but the highlights (In My Place, God Put A Smile On Your Face, The Scientist and Clocks) are far more stunning than those of the 1st album. From there on I find it hard to listen to the rest since it's all pretty much acoustic guitar or piano with some gental leads and uninteresting lyrics. The Scientist may be one of the best songs ever though and Less consistant than Parachutes, but the highlights (In My Place, God Put A Smile On Your Face, The Scientist and Clocks) are far more stunning than those of the 1st album. From there on I find it hard to listen to the rest since it's all pretty much acoustic guitar or piano with some gental leads and uninteresting lyrics. The Scientist may be one of the best songs ever though and easily remains Coldplays best and most richly emotional, atmospheric and honest song. Clocks immerses you in a wave of bulding energy before crashing away to the valley of sound making up the remainder of the ablum. A perfect EP's worth of material here that's unfortuently dragged down by the other not so worthy tracks. Expand
  56. JonathanZ
    Oct 3, 2005
    8
    I've been dusting off some old classics this summer (figuratively, since I get most of my music from the iTunes music store), and so after picking up the newest Coldplay album during the Korea trip, I bought their other two albums when I got back to the States. A Rush of Blood to the Head was released in 2002, and I can still remember listening to it countless times on the way to I've been dusting off some old classics this summer (figuratively, since I get most of my music from the iTunes music store), and so after picking up the newest Coldplay album during the Korea trip, I bought their other two albums when I got back to the States. A Rush of Blood to the Head was released in 2002, and I can still remember listening to it countless times on the way to school. I never got tired of it, though; the tracks are just that durable. Sure, everybody has heard the two singles, "Clocks" and "In My Place." I'm not saying they aren't quality songs, there just a little typical. Some of the other stuff on the album, however, is nothing short of brilliance. "The Scientist" achieves the same greatness of "Yellow," and "A Rush of Blood to the Head" channels a marvelous Pink Floyd vibe. Unlike the overtly mellow Parachutes, this album is mellow with an agenda; edgy, even. There's a thread of bemoaning lost love that runs throughout the entire affair, as well a track or two focused on war and dying. I don't mind this, somehow, so well is everything put together. When I need to escape into a soundscape of soulful vocals and some masterful guitar-work, I know what to listen to. Expand
  57. BT
    Sep 27, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best Albums ever made. Coldplay have a great sound, and great lyrics. I read that somebody put "did people forget about Oasis". Im guessing this person didnt realize that Oasis said Coldplay is the best new band out, and Oasis is great too. This album has no end to great songs, and is good from start to end.
  58. SusanB
    Sep 13, 2005
    3
    Mediocre at best, dull and lifeless at worst. The occasional good track, i.e. The Scientist, is cancelled out by the overwhelming blandness of the album as a whole. Uninventive, unemotional and overated
  59. DavidP
    Jul 29, 2005
    9
    The best Coldplay album. Very different from Parachutes, their first album and also a great one. The sound is darker, it is a more complex work, and it takes several listens to appreciate it. If you have not listened any of their albums, I recommend you to listen Parachutes first.
  60. JoelW
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    This was the album that made me stop. 'The Scientist' is magnificent, musical genius, while 'Clocks' was the single that attracted me. There are few who are so undeniably and potentially talented as Martin, Berryman, Buckland and Champion. Everyone knows them. They will go on to become one of the greatest bands of their time. I have little doubt.
  61. BenB
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    Wow....it dosn't get any better than this. A masterpiece
  62. TylerD
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    The first time I heard "Clocks", I fell in love with it. The CD is no different. Am I a hardcore Coldplay fan? No, definately not. But it's no doubt they have talent. Lots of talent.
  63. JackMB
    Jun 6, 2005
    9
    This is a great album, which will grown on you with time. It's different if not better to Parachutes. However, this can only be given a 9, as after listening to X&Y this is clearly inferior.
  64. BujarR
    May 14, 2005
    10
    Well....shortly.BEST ALBUM OF ALL TIMES!
  65. Bk
    Jan 3, 2005
    0
    over rated!
  66. John
    Aug 17, 2004
    10
    Beautiful, Sublime, Intellectual, Literate, and Perfect: all words that come to mind when I think of this cd
  67. TomM
    Aug 10, 2004
    10
    Great album. As good as parachutes. Very pleasantly surprised
  68. eidoro
    Jul 17, 2004
    9
    I was waiting for some new band that has the potential to become a second Pink Floyd to appear. Radiohead being a good experience, but still rather not having the "je ne sais quoi" of what's needed to someday become the Floyd of this century, still lacks energy. Instead here come Coldplay. True potential, refined sound, more then decent lyrics. It deserves a 9, as the only album that I was waiting for some new band that has the potential to become a second Pink Floyd to appear. Radiohead being a good experience, but still rather not having the "je ne sais quoi" of what's needed to someday become the Floyd of this century, still lacks energy. Instead here come Coldplay. True potential, refined sound, more then decent lyrics. It deserves a 9, as the only album that deservers a 10 is, in my humble opinion, "Amused To Death", by Roger Waters. Expand
  69. SavannahT
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    When Coldplay's first album, Parachutes, came out I was stunned. They are a terrific band. A lot of bands will put out their first record and be awesome but their music tends to get boring with the up and coming albums. Coldplay really knows how to overcome that. A Rush of Blood to the Head is a terrific CD and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great band.
  70. [Anonymous]
    Jun 19, 2004
    10
    Awesome. Usually, I like harder music, but this is an exception.
  71. Chris
    Jun 17, 2004
    9
    This is a great album, full stop.
  72. BenjaminBunny
    Jun 8, 2004
    6
    Damn. Just when I thought I found a new band to hate ("Parachutes," the worst album Catherine Wheel never recorded) this album comes along and makes me like them. Well, in the same way I like 80s-era U2, which is to say it's listenably pretty--as long as you don't pay too much attention to the lyrics it sounds okay. Not that I'd actually own it.
  73. LizB
    Mar 29, 2004
    10
    The entire album is great. The song 'The Scientist' has a special meaning to me and it is amazing. Warning Sign is great too!
  74. JonardV
    Feb 10, 2004
    10
    If I could, I would give this album a 20. Those who rated this album under 5 need to stop sniffing the nose candy. I'm sick and tired of hearing comparisons with Radiohead, especially since Thom Yorke looks like Clay Aiken. Music is not meant to be "complicated", rather it is meant to ease the drive home...
  75. bsaint
    Dec 24, 2003
    10
    this might possibly be the best band of all time. this cd is so awesome. its puts you in a chill mode
  76. AlexP
    Dec 6, 2003
    10
    coldplay kicks ass. screw all of you who think otherwise. especially all you britney spears fans...
  77. IsaiahW
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    Coldplay is a very talented band. This cd has very good music. Alot soft bands are hated but this band has skill and knows how to make soft music good even though it is soft. Both CD'S by Coldplay kick.
  78. RamF
    Nov 13, 2003
    9
    In a word brilliant. This is one of those albums that takes multiple listens. I wasn't terribly fons of it on first listen, but the more I listen to it he more I like it. I have had the opposite reaction with some Albums. I have really liked them a lot almost instantly, only to grow bored pretty quickly. I'll take the one with lasting appeal everytime.
  79. MikeC
    Sep 19, 2003
    10
    I cant believe how people have come out and given this album and the band absolute shit. This album would have to be one of the greatest of my time and if people cant recognise that then they should go back to listening to Britney Spears, Eminem and all that other crap because that is about the limit of their musical intelligence.
  80. DomS.
    Aug 10, 2003
    5
    When it's good, it's pretty mediocre. When it's bad, it's still pretty mediocre. P.S. Ignore the lyrics. They will induce seizures. it makes you wonder how Gwyneth Paltrow can handle Chris Martin's "sweet little nothings" in her out-of-his-league ear.
  81. celestem
    Aug 1, 2003
    10
    It is a wonderful piece of artsmanship from Coldplay.
  82. calvini
    May 19, 2003
    8
    i once previously rated this cd with a ten stating "even if the last 5 songs are crap i'll still give this a ten", well, they're not crap, just not brilliant. the album is clearly divided into two halves, one experimental, one decent brit pop and that reall kiss this album's score as a whole. but it's still more consistant and better than parachutes, just not as connected.
  83. scottm
    May 6, 2003
    10
    relaxing and talented. this band is a true band and real songs on their albums.
  84. BitBurn
    Apr 28, 2003
    9
    At last! Here's the rock album I wanted to hear for years!!! Simple, no fanfare, no sparkles, no bulls**t but plain rock. But what makes the record even more captivating is the beautiful voice of Chris Martin. Powerful yet sensible. Buy this record!
  85. RodG.
    Apr 22, 2003
    9
    Not as good as playin' live concerts, but they just turned my favourite band.
  86. VERVE.M
    Apr 19, 2003
    10
    Maturity in both Lyrics and Tunes is Definetly present. A Psychadelic and Multi-Layered experience. This album can be classified under "Acquired Taste" Music. Something I see as absolutely positive. This is because the second you feel your humming a tune or predicting lyrics of a new album, then chances are the tunes and lyrics are cliches! Something this album overbridged........COLDPLAY Maturity in both Lyrics and Tunes is Definetly present. A Psychadelic and Multi-Layered experience. This album can be classified under "Acquired Taste" Music. Something I see as absolutely positive. This is because the second you feel your humming a tune or predicting lyrics of a new album, then chances are the tunes and lyrics are cliches! Something this album overbridged........COLDPLAY did an OUTSTANDING job...I'm proud to be a fan. Expand
  87. DavidJ
    Mar 26, 2003
    10
    That anyone actually gave this album a "0" is just sad. This is without doubt the strongest album of 2002!
  88. Araelp
    Mar 23, 2003
    9
    Bassist & drummer could put more emphasis on key rhythms musically speaking; 'sure is soothing to my soul though. thanks Coldplay
  89. MaryS
    Mar 9, 2003
    10
    This album is amazing. You have to listen to it a few times, but after that I was hooked and Coldplay has become one of my favorite bands!
  90. MitchH.
    Mar 4, 2003
    10
    This is one of the best CD's I have. All the songs on the CD are either as good as the one before or better. Music at it's best.
  91. ShawnT
    Feb 27, 2003
    0
    worst band and album ever. The songs are sooooo boring!!!!!!!!!
  92. Brian
    Feb 16, 2003
    10
    By far the best album I've heard in quite a long time. The first time I listened to the CD, I was dumbfounded. It's amazing. Chris Martin is a phenomenal pianist and vocalist, and that alone compensates for the ocassional repition. Then the video for "The Scientist" officially did it. I fell in love with the band. They're awesome!
  93. paul
    Feb 13, 2003
    10
    a classic album
  94. TracyG
    Jan 8, 2003
    10
    This Album is Great. The Group is awesome. I have never heard music like this before. This group has me in a trance. I love them, Tracy, 25, San Diego
  95. scottg
    Jan 7, 2003
    10
    this is a truly superb follow up to parachutes. the album takes coldplay to another level this album will rock any venue in the uk but may find it hard in the states. keep up the good work lads
  96. nickco
    Nov 29, 2002
    10
    The best album i've ever listened to. Chris Martin is a lyrical genious and the sound is awesome.
  97. Jazzy
    Nov 12, 2002
    2
    Comparisons to U2 and Radiohead are bound to happen when you have fans that have their head stuck that far up their arses. Every song on this album sounds like it has been created through some Let's-try-and-sound-like-Radiohead-but-with-a-bit-of-Jeff-Buckley-thrown-in-but-lets-try-not-to-be-so-self-conscious-about-it-formula. Lyrically piss-weak, Martin has nothing interesting to Comparisons to U2 and Radiohead are bound to happen when you have fans that have their head stuck that far up their arses. Every song on this album sounds like it has been created through some Let's-try-and-sound-like-Radiohead-but-with-a-bit-of-Jeff-Buckley-thrown-in-but-lets-try-not-to-be-so-self-conscious-about-it-formula. Lyrically piss-weak, Martin has nothing interesting to say. Yyyyaaawwwnnn!!!! Expand
  98. musicLover
    Oct 17, 2002
    0
    Bought the album - Can I get a refund ???
  99. DoronH
    Oct 10, 2002
    10
    very touching lyrics and music
  100. MichaelE.
    Oct 7, 2002
    9
    Seems pretty boring and mediocre at first, and the lyrics certainly aren't much of an artistic statement, but 'round about 1:00 AM on the fifth or sixth listen it suddenly becomes exquisitely, breathtakingly GORGEOUS.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Without the emotional resonance of Martin's voice at its most free, Coldplay's brilliantly minimal musical foundation has nothing to support. So it falters.
  2. Coldplay's new record is a little edgier, trancier, and more conversational than their last. It is called A Rush of Blood to the Head, and in waves and swells of major tunes and frisky then looping time signatures, that's just about the effect it has.
  3. But while the sound of this album is more expansive, the influences a bit less obvious, and the approach more varied, the guys forgot to tote along their initial strength: the songs.