• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
A Rush Of Blood To The Head Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 455 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The UK quartet follows the critical and commercial success of their 2000 debut album 'Parachutes' with this long-awaited follow-up release, which the band has suggested may be their last.

Top Track

The Scientist
Come up to meet you, tell you I'm sorry You don't know how lovely you are I had to find you, tell you I need you Tell you I set you apart Tell me... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Displaying a cohesion rarely heard in albums these days, ''A Rush of Blood'' bobs from one majestic little high to another.
  2. Uncut
    100
    May well come to be regarded as the best British rock album since OK Computer. [Sep 2002, p.118]
  3. It recalls U2's The Joshua Tree, and not just for its stunning guitar work but for its wild passion and spiraling tension-and-release dynamics.
  4. The sound is fuller, the arrangements more complex; most importantly, the songs are just a whole lot better [than Parachutes'].
  5. A Rush of Blood to the Head might not instantly grab listeners, but it's not tailored that way. It pushes you to look beyond dreamy vocals for a musical inner core.
  6. Spin
    70
    A guitar record equally suitable for a lost weekend or a good cry. [Sep 2002, p.125]
  7. It's Coldplay's lack of humor, the very straightness of its lyrics, that makes the dourness so detestable. And where miserabilists past had a strong pop sensibility, Coldplay is content to create directionless palettes of sound.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 137
  1. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    For me, the greatest Coldplay album and one of the best of the decade. Possibly the coldplay album with the most piano. Songs like "GreenFor me, the greatest Coldplay album and one of the best of the decade. Possibly the coldplay album with the most piano. Songs like "Green eyes", "clocks", "a rush of blood to the head", "the scientist" or "politik" are top class melodic rock. I would only delete the song "god put a smile up on your face". Here they don't sound like first era Radiohead at all as they did on their fantastic first album. Collapse
  2. JoelW
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    This was the album that made me stop. 'The Scientist' is magnificent, musical genius, while 'Clocks' was the single that This was the album that made me stop. 'The Scientist' is magnificent, musical genius, while 'Clocks' was the single that attracted me. There are few who are so undeniably and potentially talented as Martin, Berryman, Buckland and Champion. Everyone knows them. They will go on to become one of the greatest bands of their time. I have little doubt. Expand
  3. AndreeC.
    Sep 5, 2002
    10
    Gorgeous songs!!! Fantastic Album!!!
  4. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    This album is fantastic!!!! It's just an absolutely timeless classic, you can immerse yourself in their music and there are so many memorableThis album is fantastic!!!! It's just an absolutely timeless classic, you can immerse yourself in their music and there are so many memorable tracks. Coldplay are an AWESOME group. Expand
  5. JasonB.
    Sep 27, 2002
    9
    Fantastic! This album is great. Its about 13 times better than parachutes.
  6. Apr 19, 2014
    9
    A Rush of Blood to the Head is without a doubt one of Coldplay's crowing achievements. It features some excellent music, some of the bestA Rush of Blood to the Head is without a doubt one of Coldplay's crowing achievements. It features some excellent music, some of the best we've ever heard from Coldplay. I don't know if I would say this is my absolute favorite Coldplay album, it is one of the best of course, but one thing that puts me off about this album is that I am not a big fan of the album cover, I think it looks a bit bland, however I am not hear to judge the cd by it's cover, I am here to judge it by it's contents. AROBTTH is a excellent album and I think even non-Coldplay fans can enjoy it. My favorite tracks are "Politik", "God put a Smile Upon Your Face", "The Scientist", "Clocks" (This is actually one of my favorite songs of all time), "Warning Sign" and "A Rush of Blood to the Head" (the song). Expand
  7. Melissa
    Sep 4, 2002
    0
    100% facade.

See all 137 User Reviews