A Sleep & a Forgetting

Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
Buy On
  1. Feb 22, 2012
    80
    Thorburn anchors every note, every contribution with a personal outpouring of emotion and heartbreak, the likes of which we've never seen from him before.
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    79
    It's the most cohesive-- and, possibly, the out-and-out strongest-- Islands record yet.
  3. Feb 15, 2012
    76
    The album is a bit of a departure for Islands in sound and even more so in content, but rather than a misstep, A Sleep & A Forgetting fits neatly within the band's catalog.
  4. While A Sleep & A Forgetting is a bold new statement for the band, the album occasionally treads on the mundane level, due to its similarly-orchestrated tracks.
  5. Feb 29, 2012
    70
    Simplicity is A Sleep's best value.
  6. Feb 14, 2012
    70
    [Maybe for] the first time, A Sleep And A Forgetting gets at the heart of an artist who, over years of project changes and name switches, has remained frustratingly opaque.
  7. Feb 14, 2012
    70
    Their brand of quirky indie pop runs throughout, but the slower numbers are as effective as the upbeat tunes.
  8. Feb 14, 2012
    70
    Anyone with a little distance from their own pain will find much to admire in the honesty and craft of the album.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    6
    The fourth LP of Canadian indie rock Islands group has kept a lethargic mood which can clearly indicate the evocative name of album. We haveThe fourth LP of Canadian indie rock Islands group has kept a lethargic mood which can clearly indicate the evocative name of album. We have here a typical acoustic playing: "Oh Mary" or "Do I Love You" assisted with accents of electric guitars and gentle synthesizers. We'll also find little blues "No Crying" or reminiscent of indie rock ballad - "Cold Again", which does not mean that there wasn't more energetic compositions such as the Beatles styled "Never Go Solo" or "Hallways". Full Review »