A South Bronx Story Image

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'South Bronx Story' is a retrospective of the all-girl funk group from the Bronx. The 16 tracks on this disc span from 1981 to the early 1990's. Although highly influential and well-regarded by critics, ESG is not well known, thanks in large part to the scarcity of their material available. However, many of their songs are recognizable thanks to the fact that they have been sampled by numerous artists (the Beastie Boys and LL Cool J, to name but two) throughout the '90's. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Definitely a treasure to be sought out, A South Bronx Story is essential for any hip-hop head, post-punk connoisseur, dance fanatic, or Luscious Jackson fan.
  2. 90
    ESG's DIY tracks have a raw, unfinished feel--echo-drenched vocals buried deep in the mix, jagged hen-scratch guitar, taut bass lines as infectious as mononucleosis, and reverberating layers of percussion... The group's 1981 debut single, "Moody"... is one of the funkiest songs ever recorded. [Sep 2000, p.181]
  3. ESG may have been heard mostly in other artists' songs, but A South Bronx Story is an impressive attempt to focus attention on the force behind the samples.
  4. ESG remain a no-wave New York group unlike any other.
  5. Yet tracks such as Moody, You're No Good and UFO are far more than mere sample food, and these original recordings recall The Slits given a rudimentary disco makeover. But where their British peers revelled in sloppiness, ESG's rhythm section is as tight as the JBs in bondage gear.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3