A Thing Called Divine Fits Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Britt Daniel of Spoon, Dan Boeckner of Wolf Parade, and Sam Brown of the New Bomb Turks releases their debut album as the Divine Fits.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. In short, this rocks differently in a year when it's been hard to use that verb without reflecting on the mortality of all things.
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    85
    Each track stands on its own; there is no filler, and it highlights each musician's strengths.
  3. Sep 28, 2012
    80
    A Thing Called Divine Fits is a seemingly rare thing; a really good, life-affirming rock record that just works, and gets better and better the more time you spend with it.
  4. Aug 28, 2012
    76
    A Thing Called Divine Fits might seem the Platonic ideal of indie rock collaboration, but the most memorable moments have Boeckner's signature.
  5. 70
    Each man delivers touches that are downright unique to their brand of music, but together, they carry a strong penchant for the greatness of indie rock. It's never groundbreaking, but it doesn't have to be either – A Thing Called Divine Fits celebrates music with terrific, yet humble, results.
  6. Aug 29, 2012
    70
    It's an excellent record--one that sounds both classic and unmistakably contemporary--but, for the most part, it still sounds like the meeting of two disparate halves.
  7. Aug 28, 2012
    50
    As a set of songs, though, Divine Fits' debut feels pretty process-oriented, more workbook than showpiece.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    This is an excellent release! Favorite tracks: The Salton Sea and Like Ice Cream. All the tracks reward repeat listening. It definitely feels like a Spoon release. Expand
  2. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    I absolutely love Spoon so I was both excited and skeptical to give this a listen. Sure, it is only a side-project, but what if it gave me a sour taste on the musical magic that Britt often creates? As it would turn out, I am upset at myself for waiting this long to give it a shot. It is fantastic. It has a real 80's groove / vibe to it and it suits the musicians perfectly. After listening to the album the entire way through twice, back-to-back, there is only one song that I do not care for and sounds out of place - "What Gets You Alone". It is a rare thing to say that I enjoy an entire album from start to finish and this one almost achieved that feat. I would liken it to the Postal Service side-project Ben Gibbard had from Death Cab, only Postal Service was better than any Death Cab release on a whole, while the Divine Fits is a snug accomplice to the Spoon catalogue. Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    9
    As a Spoon afficianado, this album is terrific and the influences of Spoon and Wolf Parade are pretty clear on many of the songs (Would that Not Be Nice and Like Ice Cream are Britt's for sure). I really liked the electronic pop on several songs (a la Drive Sountrack), but, they definitely made it their own. Overall, very groovy and relevant album - better than other recent collaborations. Collapse
  4. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    Electric, cool and buzzworthy. Divine Fits isn't just a supergroup band, it's an attempt to revive alternative rock and of course, they're going on the right direction. Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    8
    As soon I started listening to this record, I was instantly hooked. Each track is consistently infectious and very catchy. It's a great collaboration between Britt Daniel and Dan Boeckner. All In All, Divine Fits is a great side-project from two great musicians. One of the best of the year. B+ Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    8
    Well-produced, cathartic, and jam-packed with tight, catchy hooks, 'A Thing Called Divine Fits' is a real winner that feels like Spoon if it were a dance band in the 80's. In a good way. Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    [8.4] While clearly an experiment, it is a successful one. Its style is so wonderfully unusual, a style which not many musicians can pull off. It matches the description of art rock more than Spoon does, but doesn't sacrifice melody for glamorous production. It sounds very much like an electronic version of Spoon, being both clean sounding with some kind of punk-psychedelic atmosphere that I wouldn't usually expect to like. I wouldn't say that Divine Fits have much of a future, but experiments like this are much more accessible, and honestly, much steadier than the synthesizer-bloated Merriweather Post Pavilion. I much prefer Spoon, but this is a great record for an experimental group. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews