A Time To Love - Stevie Wonder
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. The melodies don't falter, and Wonder's unexpectedly and perhaps unfortunately influential vocal attack is as mellifluous as ever.
  2. A Time to Love finds the two halves of Wonder's adult career finally coming to home to roost in peaceful harmony with one another, and it's one of the finest records he has done in decades.
  3. 80
    Closer in quality to [his] five immeasurably influential '70s standard-bearers than anything from Wonder's '80s or '90s catalogue. [Dec 2005, p.102]
  4. 80
    Wonder has a genius for... emotional openness. [Dec 2005, p.157]
  5. A welcome return. [22 Oct 2005]
  6. Wonder's delivery never stumbles. His earnestness carries even the least successful of his numbers (except "Raindrops" and probably "Positivity") by being so convincing.
  7. Most the songs feel like they should have come out around the same time Clinton moved into the White House.
  8. As long as Wonder is producing and laying down basic arrangements himself, he’ll never be awful, which is a shame: like any lifelong charmer, he can stand to be more vulgar, or show some teeth, damn it.
  9. As always, his heart's in the right place, but his pop brilliance has dimmed to the level of mere mortals. [16 Oct 2005]
  10. Almost half of the fifteen songs recall Wonder at his prime.
  11. 60
    Good enough that you barely notice Macca, Prince and the other obligatory guests. [Dec 2005, p.100]
  12. There are moments on the album with too many bland and anonymous pop chord progressions...Yet here and there the idiosyncratic, headstrong musician emerges. [17 Oct 2005]
  13. These toothless, '80s-embalmed tracks... are the aural equivalent of Sleepytime tea. [28 Oct 2005, p.87]
  14. It sounds better than any album that begins with background vocalists crooning "Moooo…moo-moo-moooo" probably has any right to, and contains at least a couple lo-fi AC ballad keepers.
  15. This is more a marketing plan than an album.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. jyotirmayad
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    I don't know what the Los Angeles Times and the New York Times mean when they say his "brilliance has dimmed" or that his new CD "sounds I don't know what the Los Angeles Times and the New York Times mean when they say his "brilliance has dimmed" or that his new CD "sounds bland" -- maybe THEY have been in dim and bland offices, in front of the computer for too long unable to recognize good pop/soul music when they hear it? Stevie has some songs here that I think, dare I say it?, sound BETTER than a few on Talking Book. So stop being so mental and just kick back and groove to Stevie's renewed life, soulful voice, romantic grooves and melodies and be glad for it! Full Review »
  2. T
    Jan 15, 2006
    0
    people even consider this "music" ?
  3. Jay
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    This album has some of the most wonderful heartfelt lyrics I have ever heard a person sing, the songs are truly wonderful, its well on par to This album has some of the most wonderful heartfelt lyrics I have ever heard a person sing, the songs are truly wonderful, its well on par to be his best album and is far too under-rated, All my family have gone and bought this listening to it at my house. Thank goodness this truly wonderful singer, songwriter, artist was part of my generation. There is not one song on this album that is poor and Id rather my children and myself for the matter listen to a heartfelt album about love than these rap artists breeding hate songs. You name me an artist who can write hit songs, play the drums, keyboard, harmonica etc and give outthe right message? My main man Stevie Full Review »