• Record Label: Motown
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2005
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 2 out of 18

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jyotirmayad
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    I don't know what the Los Angeles Times and the New York Times mean when they say his "brilliance has dimmed" or that his new CD "sounds bland" -- maybe THEY have been in dim and bland offices, in front of the computer for too long unable to recognize good pop/soul music when they hear it? Stevie has some songs here that I think, dare I say it?, sound BETTER than a few on Talking I don't know what the Los Angeles Times and the New York Times mean when they say his "brilliance has dimmed" or that his new CD "sounds bland" -- maybe THEY have been in dim and bland offices, in front of the computer for too long unable to recognize good pop/soul music when they hear it? Stevie has some songs here that I think, dare I say it?, sound BETTER than a few on Talking Book. So stop being so mental and just kick back and groove to Stevie's renewed life, soulful voice, romantic grooves and melodies and be glad for it! Expand
  2. MikeH
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    His best album since the 70's.
  3. StevenC
    Nov 14, 2005
    9
    A "must have" album for anyone who likes Stevie Wonder music. A number of songs on thiis album stand up and may be favorably compared to his best works. The album is eminently listenable as a whole and gets better with repeated play.
  4. KerryH
    Oct 26, 2005
    9
    I found the collection beautiful in some surprising, almost retrospective ways. I love the way the guest artists were used to embellish Stevie, not to prop him up or create an excuse for Pop airplay. My greatest disappointment with this album is that there was not enough blues refrain in "Please Don't Hurt My Baby". His voice on that one phrase took me all the way back to Billie I found the collection beautiful in some surprising, almost retrospective ways. I love the way the guest artists were used to embellish Stevie, not to prop him up or create an excuse for Pop airplay. My greatest disappointment with this album is that there was not enough blues refrain in "Please Don't Hurt My Baby". His voice on that one phrase took me all the way back to Billie Holiday. The man's voice should be preserved forever in the Smithsonian Expand
  5. WillB
    Oct 27, 2005
    9
    How can anyone, given the screwed up world we live in, not like this record? Stevie's optimistic take on life, and his unparalleled ability to turn that optimism into such beautiful music is what has kept me comin' back for nearly 35 years.
  6. Stan
    Oct 29, 2005
    9
    At first, this sounded a little too polished...but these are great songs and nearly all of them win you over in the end. Favorites: "My Love is On Fire", "A Time To Love", "Positivity", "So What the Fuss". I'm a Stevie fan from way back (70's), and maybe this isn't Innvervisions...but what is? Great stuff!!!
  7. Jay
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    This album has some of the most wonderful heartfelt lyrics I have ever heard a person sing, the songs are truly wonderful, its well on par to be his best album and is far too under-rated, All my family have gone and bought this listening to it at my house. Thank goodness this truly wonderful singer, songwriter, artist was part of my generation. There is not one song on this album that is This album has some of the most wonderful heartfelt lyrics I have ever heard a person sing, the songs are truly wonderful, its well on par to be his best album and is far too under-rated, All my family have gone and bought this listening to it at my house. Thank goodness this truly wonderful singer, songwriter, artist was part of my generation. There is not one song on this album that is poor and Id rather my children and myself for the matter listen to a heartfelt album about love than these rap artists breeding hate songs. You name me an artist who can write hit songs, play the drums, keyboard, harmonica etc and give outthe right message? My main man Stevie Expand
  8. AlexD
    Nov 12, 2005
    9
    I enjoyed all of the songs...Tell Your Heart I Love You and If Your Love Cannot Be Moved were standout songs for me. The Other continue to grow on me each time I listen to the CD. It's great to have new Stevie Wonder music!!!
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Almost half of the fifteen songs recall Wonder at his prime.
  2. A Time to Love finds the two halves of Wonder's adult career finally coming to home to roost in peaceful harmony with one another, and it's one of the finest records he has done in decades.
  3. A welcome return. [22 Oct 2005]