• Record Label: Vice
  • Release Date: Feb 6, 2007
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 296 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 296

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JasonP
    Mar 1, 2007
    8
    I think the reason most people don't like this album is they haven't heard in conjunction with the "special" other album. What most people don't realize is that Bloc Party released two albums. There's an internet only album with 11 unreleased tracks that you can find if you scroung hard enough. This was officially sanctioned by the band and purposely done. The album is I think the reason most people don't like this album is they haven't heard in conjunction with the "special" other album. What most people don't realize is that Bloc Party released two albums. There's an internet only album with 11 unreleased tracks that you can find if you scroung hard enough. This was officially sanctioned by the band and purposely done. The album is called "Another Weekend in the City." The second album is more in the style of Silent Alarm and makes for the perfect companion to the AWITC. Seek it out. It will change your mind about the band. Expand
  2. PG
    Feb 12, 2007
    3
    This album is awful, totally overhyped by the NME as usual, its good to see such a low rating on here, its no more than it deserves. The lyrics make me cringe, both guitarist are cheap jonny greenwood rip offs. Argh, english music is so poor at the moment
  3. CharlesB
    Feb 10, 2007
    3
    A deception follow-up.
  4. CarlJ
    Feb 10, 2007
    0
    The worst album of the year, horrible.
  5. MarkW
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    The worst album of the year, Bloc Party turns to a Emo band now, unfortunately.
  6. MaxC
    Feb 8, 2007
    2
    Just two songs are good in this record, Hunting for the Witches and On, the rest is rubbish.
  7. CarlosV
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    Their effort went for nothing. Wait their third album, horrible record, I didn't recommend to my worst enemy. This sux a lot.
  8. AleonM
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    Maybe the worst record of 2007 so far.
  9. KristinW
    Feb 9, 2007
    0
    bad energy, dull lyrics and a horrible unity.
  10. MichaelW
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    Feels like the thought in your mind before a Saturday night in town. Full of hope, anxiety, excitement.
  11. JeffV
    Mar 6, 2007
    9
    Better than Silent Alarm in every possible way.
  12. ErwinK.
    Aug 7, 2007
    10
    Great record. Would give it a 8, but giving it a 10 because of some troll giving about 15 zeros in a row. You can't honestly believe that those comments with all the zeros are from different people.
  13. JR
    Aug 8, 2007
    8
    one of those albums where i was initially underwhelmed, but eventually really got into it. I'd say it's as good as their first album. best songs: "the prayer" "I still remember" "uniform" "hunting for witches." to be honest there are a few forgettable tracks on this album but most of it's good stuff. The quality of the best songs on this album are easily as good as the best one of those albums where i was initially underwhelmed, but eventually really got into it. I'd say it's as good as their first album. best songs: "the prayer" "I still remember" "uniform" "hunting for witches." to be honest there are a few forgettable tracks on this album but most of it's good stuff. The quality of the best songs on this album are easily as good as the best songs on the first in my opinion. I'm not sure where all these negative reviews are coming from. have a listen, you just might like it. Expand
  14. xcellntM
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    Critics awful. One of the best album in '07. Just listen It several times. Album is hypnotizing. Bloc Party very talanted, this album show that.
  15. BrandonA.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    Critics will be critics. A Weekend In A City was an absolute masterpiece. The band themselves work so amazing together. Personally I love how Kele articulates his aspects on the modernity state of Britain. Could not have been expressed better.
  16. LeroyB.
    Aug 15, 2008
    4
    Kele's vocals have been brought to the forefront of the arrangements....... big mistake! , the guy cant sing particularly well and his lyrics are laughable. When Kele's not singing the band are at their best. Awesome drummer , great lead guitarist , why aren't they building they're songs around these things?
  17. AlexS
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    The first time i listened to it, i felt in love with it straight away. Don't know why, but i like it much better than 'Silent Alarm'.
  18. NancyP
    Feb 11, 2007
    0
    Bloc EMO Party
  19. BettyK
    Feb 12, 2007
    0
    the worst record of the year.
  20. aliciam
    Feb 12, 2007
    3
    I hated this album.
  21. celsos
    Feb 10, 2007
    1
    Where is the Bloc Party from Silent Alarm?? This cd is boring....sorry
  22. JackK
    Feb 10, 2007
    0
    waste of money and time.
  23. TimothyH
    Feb 10, 2007
    9
    Most critics seem put-off by Bloc Party's somewhat pretentious appearance. Being someone who listens to music for what it is and not for what people tell me, I can tell you that this is an album that surpasses Silent Alarm in every category. The lyrics are more mature and honest. The music is more ambient and catchy. The beats are more complex and contagious. They don't miss a Most critics seem put-off by Bloc Party's somewhat pretentious appearance. Being someone who listens to music for what it is and not for what people tell me, I can tell you that this is an album that surpasses Silent Alarm in every category. The lyrics are more mature and honest. The music is more ambient and catchy. The beats are more complex and contagious. They don't miss a beat in this one. Don't miss this if you enjoyed Silent Alarm! Expand
  24. NaveenP
    Feb 6, 2007
    8
    Its always hard to follow up a debut like Silent Alarm, but this album , although its not as raw, does have its moments. "The Prayer" is probably the best song on the album, followed by the radio friendly "I still remember"
  25. Alex
    Feb 6, 2007
    5
    This is absolute bordedom compared to Silent Alarm. Nothing Impressive.
  26. Paolo
    Feb 6, 2007
    9
    Give this album a chance and it'll conquer your heart and mind. One full listening is not enough to capture the beauty that lies over each track. Though partially different from the previous (louder in all terms) record, this one is some kind of an echo of Silent Alarm, more focused on feelings and emotions, and is more complex in the sound, less direct, I'd say. In the end, not Give this album a chance and it'll conquer your heart and mind. One full listening is not enough to capture the beauty that lies over each track. Though partially different from the previous (louder in all terms) record, this one is some kind of an echo of Silent Alarm, more focused on feelings and emotions, and is more complex in the sound, less direct, I'd say. In the end, not the perfect sequel to the debut album, but definitely a great one! Expand
  27. Steve
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    Bloc Party are one of those bands that are always reliable to produce excellent music. This album is no exception. They never dissapoint. There are only a handful of bands that do that for me. I highly recommend this. I think I even like it better than their debut album.
  28. JustinW
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    The most disappointed album of the year, they turns an EMO band, that is horrrible.
  29. AmandaC
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    Don't wast your money in this album, is a waste of time, I'l sell mine after the deception emo album.
  30. MattJ
    Feb 7, 2007
    8
    Simply put, most of the critics have misjudged this, maybe its due to its nature, as i wasn't instantly took with it, but it definately rewarded further listening, and as time grows so does the music. Each song offers something different while still having bloc party's trademark sound, brilliant
  31. DamianM
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    These negative critics have got it all wrong. Musically this album is as tight as your going to hear this year. Vocally its superb too, Kele is Bloc Party's secret weapon, he set's them apart from other British bands with his speaker piercing voice. Lyrically you could pick holes in it. Maybe they are trying too hard to make a big bold statement, and maybe these critics have These negative critics have got it all wrong. Musically this album is as tight as your going to hear this year. Vocally its superb too, Kele is Bloc Party's secret weapon, he set's them apart from other British bands with his speaker piercing voice. Lyrically you could pick holes in it. Maybe they are trying too hard to make a big bold statement, and maybe these critics have heard it all before. But this is going to be a god-send to many teenagers, those who are fed up with racism, terrorism and the drug culture of London (not just East but all parts). Every generation needs a record that actually speaks to them, a London Calling, an OK computer, a calling for change or a revolution. I expect their 3rd to be the revolution itself. Expand
  32. MichaelS
    Feb 7, 2007
    8
    It's hard to imagine how someone would listen to this album and rank it with anything below 6 other then if they just wanted silent alarm repackaged and regurgitated on them and anything less wouldn't do. This album is an extremely powerful evolution of sound that blew me away the first time I heard it. And while it doesn't have the quality of silent alarm (that was one of It's hard to imagine how someone would listen to this album and rank it with anything below 6 other then if they just wanted silent alarm repackaged and regurgitated on them and anything less wouldn't do. This album is an extremely powerful evolution of sound that blew me away the first time I heard it. And while it doesn't have the quality of silent alarm (that was one of the best albums of the decade afterall), it is still an essential addition to anyone's collection today. One critic said it best in that there is no other album out today that better captures what it means to be young and alive in the indie scene today. It has its problems being 1) too much singing and not enough punking by Okereke 2) not enough of the jarring post-punk guitar rifts that made the first album a landmark 3) their best musician (drummer) being moved to the background on most tracks on not given a chance to rock out. However, most of these are creative decisions that fans and critics just have to deal with. Expand
  33. WallyM
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    Bloc Party lost one more fan with this horrible album
  34. RobbieW
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    We don't need this album! For what? Only to put in the garbage.
  35. MikeM
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    Instant Classic.... well not instant, it took me a good 3 or 4 listens to actually "get" this album. But when i finally did I was blown away. This album really is a fine wine, its going to remembered far more fondly in 10 years than right now, kinda like Aeroplane Over the Sea, or Hotel California, or Doolitle. As a fan of music believe me...Do Not Listen to the Critics on this one!!!!!!!!!!
  36. ToddRundgren
    Feb 8, 2007
    1
    "A Weekend in the City"s got nothing on "Bert's Blockbusters."
  37. MarciaI
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    I'm very disappointed with this record, silent alarm is much better. Not even one good song in the record.
  38. RickX
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    so much better than Silent Alarm
  39. EmilyH
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    I liked "Silent Alarm" but the last record is the worst thing I've ever heard in my life. Terrible.
  40. RachelE
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    The worst effort of Bloc Party until now.
  41. Adam
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    Most of the critics are way off base here. This is a definite progression from their first album, and is a true stunner.
  42. BernardH
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    They had the ambitions to be huge and bigger with this album like U2 and Coldplay, though they didn't good enough to reach the rock stars. Dull songs and Tracks. They appear to reach an EMO status.
  43. DP
    Feb 8, 2007
    4
    Gone are the visceral guitar riffs, explosive drums and Keles' uplifting stream of consciousness lyrics. In come a pedestrian pace and overwrought lyrical musings. RIP Helicopter, Banquet, She's hearing voices.
  44. ClaudeM
    Feb 9, 2007
    3
    I didn't like the way the they turns on.
  45. RickA
    Feb 9, 2007
    0
    A disappointed new album.
  46. FredM
    Feb 9, 2007
    2
    This album really has a serious problem of listen to.
  47. DecepticonPom
    Mar 12, 2007
    6
    Musically, it's like one of those dreams where - BRILLIANT! - you're Superman. But you can't actually fly properly or take off...
  48. MikeW
    Mar 1, 2007
    0
    The worst and pretentious album of the year, they now forget your indie roots and wanna be Coldplay or any Panic at The disco kind emo band. To the garbage.
  49. idouboidres
    Mar 26, 2007
    9
    no comment
  50. TresT
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    I think that most people rated this album before letting the songs "grown" on them, which is the only time after which one can can truly see how good or bad the music really is. great album.
  51. AndyC
    Mar 7, 2007
    5
    A massive dissappointment - rather than build on the promise of Silent Alarm, Bloc Party have come back with an album that for the most part is a dour, self-indulgent, unlistenable shambles.
  52. MichelleK
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    Great album. Not as good as Silent Alarm but i guess you an't really compare the 2 as they are quite different. Bloc Party are going in the right direction in becoming the best (not nessasarily comercially)' British Alternative band out there (behind Kasabian)
  53. JC
    Apr 4, 2007
    3
    Loved the first album - was one of the best of 2005 but this is awful. Upon the first few listens I hoped it might grow on me but it is just as cack now as it was then. A poor follow-up full of it's own self-importance.
  54. BoM
    May 10, 2007
    4
    What happened guys? Silent alarm was right on the mark: energetic, powerful, and crisp. Weekend in the City is boring, self-important, and whiny. Where did the simplistic genius go? Why does this new album remind me of 9th grade? When was the turning point where Okereke decided that he would strain his voice beyond hideous IN EVERY FREEKIN SONG!?! If he wanted his vocals to sound like What happened guys? Silent alarm was right on the mark: energetic, powerful, and crisp. Weekend in the City is boring, self-important, and whiny. Where did the simplistic genius go? Why does this new album remind me of 9th grade? When was the turning point where Okereke decided that he would strain his voice beyond hideous IN EVERY FREEKIN SONG!?! If he wanted his vocals to sound like hoobastank, then I guess he made it to the big leagues Expand
  55. MarshallM
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    I'm going to give it a ten because i can't listen a single track on this album where Bloc Party isn't getting across some message while making captivating music. Even if I don't get it, they do a great job of getting the emotions across. And know, this isn't emo, they just sing emotionally. As if pop and R&B singers never sing with emotion-yet we don't call them emo.
  56. pierreb
    Feb 11, 2007
    7
    It's like sex and like pizza. Even if it's bad, it's still pretty good. I agree with a lot of listeners: the production is rubbish. I think the album is a mix of Bloc Party B-sides, the weakest album of U2 and the least tracks on the Silent Alarm remix album. Further it contains 2 or three tracks that outstand. But hey, that;s still pretty good!
  57. JoeK
    Feb 12, 2007
    9
    With such an amazing debut in Silent Alarm it was always going to be difficult to follow it with something which would be as widely received. This album is great. It's an advancement in Bloc Party's sound, still maintaining the energy and power of Silent Alarm, but with more concise lyrics and a wider vocal range. It is less accessable but after a few listens it really acheives With such an amazing debut in Silent Alarm it was always going to be difficult to follow it with something which would be as widely received. This album is great. It's an advancement in Bloc Party's sound, still maintaining the energy and power of Silent Alarm, but with more concise lyrics and a wider vocal range. It is less accessable but after a few listens it really acheives a perfect representation of 'A Weekend In The City.' Expand
  58. LincolnW
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    simply awesome!
  59. Me
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    I personally think this is an incredible album. The album truly encapsulates the insanity and confusion of the modern city. But the latter half, full of introspective, often melancholy looks on life, is sheer genius. In my opinion, the whole album is a masterpiece. Every song holds its own and truly adds to the rest of them. This is certainly an album where the whole is better than the I personally think this is an incredible album. The album truly encapsulates the insanity and confusion of the modern city. But the latter half, full of introspective, often melancholy looks on life, is sheer genius. In my opinion, the whole album is a masterpiece. Every song holds its own and truly adds to the rest of them. This is certainly an album where the whole is better than the sum of its parts. While I can understand why people are upset that this isn't "Silent Alarm II" but I am very happy they went in a new direction. One that they will hopefully stick with. This is an empowering achievement in modern music. Expand
  60. PhilB
    Feb 13, 2007
    8
    I think Bloc Party are suffering from their stellar - and probably overhyped, that's how these things go - debut, as the field balances and the backlash hits this album. It's a great album. Yes, less of the raw energy of the first one; but this is no longer the band's debut, they couldn't possibly get away with raw, rough music - the very same critics saying this album I think Bloc Party are suffering from their stellar - and probably overhyped, that's how these things go - debut, as the field balances and the backlash hits this album. It's a great album. Yes, less of the raw energy of the first one; but this is no longer the band's debut, they couldn't possibly get away with raw, rough music - the very same critics saying this album is boring would be lambasting Bloc Party for being too unadventurous, or worse, faking rawness if they'd gone for Silent Alarm II Expand
  61. george
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    james if you didn't like the first why did you buy the second album? :s album is excellent by the way..
  62. RaphaelE
    Feb 15, 2007
    5
    Very average album, couple of good songs but rest are instantly forgettable. Not one I'll copy for the car, probably one for ebay!
  63. luiggi
    Feb 17, 2007
    3
    im disappointed. Silent Alarm was much better. I'm just sad right now.
  64. AdamF
    Feb 22, 2007
    1
    What an utter disappointment. Perhaps it's unfair to compare this effort to Silent Alarm, but this is such a step back for a great band. You keep waiting for the punch that never comes. "I Still Remember" is the only decent track on this album. I can't believe I waited two years for this.
  65. PaulF
    Feb 26, 2007
    9
    An awesome return and refreshingly different sound to Silent Alarm. Understandably it has its critics due to it being so different to their first outing but I actually prefer this album - much darker and epic.
  66. MihaiV
    Feb 3, 2007
    9
    Again, like on the CYHSY new album, I don't get the critics. A brilliant album. Kele is a genius.
  67. MikeC
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    I really liked this album. I felt The Prayer is thier best song.
  68. JasonC.
    Feb 5, 2007
    5
    I realize that they have to "mature" and that some people think that any objections to this album are ignorant because they don't recognize some sort of growth. I'm all for maturing but this is just boring. The melodies are unbelievably similar from song to song and the energy of classics like "Positive Tension" is nowhere to be found. There are definitely redeeming moments, in I realize that they have to "mature" and that some people think that any objections to this album are ignorant because they don't recognize some sort of growth. I'm all for maturing but this is just boring. The melodies are unbelievably similar from song to song and the energy of classics like "Positive Tension" is nowhere to be found. There are definitely redeeming moments, in which the epic brit-pop sound works somehow, but this is generally a really dragging bunch of songs that is only made cohesive by the fact that they all sound the same. Expand
  69. gregor
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    Mesmerising.
  70. nickp
    Feb 5, 2007
    8
    I really enjoy listening to this album. I have had an advance copy for a little while now, and the songs are only getting better. The beats and vocals are consistent with the debut album, but as a whole the album is a step in another direction I only wish the tempo wouldn't drop off after the 6th track.
  71. JesseH
    Feb 5, 2007
    8
    Don't listen to the critical backlash going on, this album is great. Bloc Party is evolving and growing and this album is a terrific next step. Not the revelation that their debut was but a very solid follow-up full of great new stylistic tricks and sincere emotion.
  72. Pfttt
    Feb 5, 2007
    5
    I can't "fail" Bloccers for this because Silent Alarm was so good...but when I heard that poxy bonus track after SA's intial release "Two More Years " I became very worried about the production values of AWITC. Sure enough, from Kele's contrived vocal intro on Song for Clay...my stomach churned. This is U2-esque overproduced pap; any goodness is completely overshadowed by I can't "fail" Bloccers for this because Silent Alarm was so good...but when I heard that poxy bonus track after SA's intial release "Two More Years " I became very worried about the production values of AWITC. Sure enough, from Kele's contrived vocal intro on Song for Clay...my stomach churned. This is U2-esque overproduced pap; any goodness is completely overshadowed by Kele's inability to sing well and what has to be the most pretentious bag of lyrics I've ever hear. They even voxed some of the lyrics for crying out loud. Whereas I waited until U2's "All That You Can't Leave Behind" (which turned out be everything!) to switch them off, I get the feeling it may start here with Bloc Party - no longer my beloved Bloccers! They'll probably have a best of out next year!!! Expand
  73. yorick
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    Oh man, this album might be as good as the previous one... it is catchy, the lyrics are deep and heartfelt, it just takes a little while longer to concquer the record.... its less accessable
  74. GunterGrass
    Feb 6, 2007
    8
    Good energy, nice lyrics and a fine unity is realy all you can ask of a album.
  75. LeoP
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    Fabulous. Congratulations to Kele Okereke,with this bunch of fine songs, you can be proud at your second. Welcome at the festivals this summer
  76. RogerM
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    I'm very disappoint with this album, the look likes another band, I don't know what happened to them. Boring songs, long lyrics about her sexual life. Who cares? I like Bloc Party like in Silence Alarm, dance and party, listen just once and I forget it. Worst album of 2007.
  77. ZekeM
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    There isn't a good song in the album, ridiculous.
  78. MarkS
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    I Hated this album, just crappy songs and dull lyrics. They're not an indie band anymore, now they are an EMO band.
  79. PeteU
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    Bloc Party is another band, the worst album of the year so far.
  80. RobertS
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    They don't dance anymore, slow album, ambitious and dull songs.
  81. Stephen
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    in a way i'm kinda disappointed by the reviews, but it's also satisfying that they've completely missed the point and that way its easier to really enjoy. Like Frank Turners 'Sleep is for the week', Kele has produced a collection of songs which sum up our society; their conclusion; how the hell did we become so apathetic; alcohol is all well and good but in a way i'm kinda disappointed by the reviews, but it's also satisfying that they've completely missed the point and that way its easier to really enjoy. Like Frank Turners 'Sleep is for the week', Kele has produced a collection of songs which sum up our society; their conclusion; how the hell did we become so apathetic; alcohol is all well and good but aren't we forgetting about something? Expand
  82. Andy
    Feb 7, 2007
    4
    So disappointing. The lyrics are just downright cheesy at some points and evey song sounds like they're trying to create some sort of epic masterpiece. It comes off pretentious and dull. What happened to their pop sensibilities?
  83. davidm
    Feb 8, 2007
    8
    This record is not as immediately memorable as Silent Alarm. But it's a real grower and the more critical reviews are very superficial. This is serious music and as good as anything this year.
  84. TimM
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    I've cried twice in my life after i heard the song for the first time. "Ballad of a So Called Friend" by Okkervil RIver, and "Kreuzberg" on Bloc Party's stunning new cd. I've never heard a song that I connect with sooo much...thank you Kele, for helping me through a confusing time : )
  85. GuyH
    Feb 8, 2007
    8
    Silent Alarm was a strong album - an adrenaline shot delivered with precision. This album is quite different - if I had to describe it in 2 words I'd use 'subtle' and 'heartfelt'. I have a horrible feeling that this album will stiff commercially and the reviews seem to be backing this up. It took me 7 listens to even start enjoying this album. Before then I found Silent Alarm was a strong album - an adrenaline shot delivered with precision. This album is quite different - if I had to describe it in 2 words I'd use 'subtle' and 'heartfelt'. I have a horrible feeling that this album will stiff commercially and the reviews seem to be backing this up. It took me 7 listens to even start enjoying this album. Before then I found it dull, samey and lifeless compared to its predecessor. It is only after the 7th listen that some of the beautiful phrases and heartbreaking vocal delivery started to stand out. This is what eventually defines the album - and athough some songs don't work perfectly - I still feel this album is a big step forward and I will be fascinated watching the future progression of this band. Excellent. Expand
  86. PattiH
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    a disaster.
  87. FaniM
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    Odiei o album, achei uma porcaria! A trash!
  88. RoryB
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    This album has got mixed reviews from critics ranging from the great to the very average. I believe that the critics slating it however have not listened to it enough though. Give it a while and you will realise what a great album it is. Exhilarating music and interesting lyrics.
  89. RobertN
    Feb 9, 2007
    2
    what ever happened to bloc party? Hard to swallow.
  90. BryanW
    Feb 9, 2007
    4
    Serious disappointment, esp. after seeing them absolutely kill it at McCarren Pool in Bklyn this summer.
  91. SteveO
    Feb 9, 2007
    7
    Bloc Party's freshman effort, Silent Alarm, set the bar very high. It's not to say that we, the listening public, couldn't hope for more greatness from the promising Brit indie/pop group, but it's certainly unfair to expect it. By comparison, A Weekend in the City is not nearly as good as its predecessor, but when judged on the same scale as other albums, and not Bloc Party's freshman effort, Silent Alarm, set the bar very high. It's not to say that we, the listening public, couldn't hope for more greatness from the promising Brit indie/pop group, but it's certainly unfair to expect it. By comparison, A Weekend in the City is not nearly as good as its predecessor, but when judged on the same scale as other albums, and not merely compared with Silent Alarm, it still stands out as a solid effort. What's even more commendable is that Bloc Party weren't trying to create a continuation of their first effort as so many other bands are guilty of doing. Kele and company instead set out to make a fresh sound while not alienating the following they had earned from Silent Alarm. The new album is at times energetic, anthemic, and contemplative. But to be fair, the second half loses the youthfulness and a lot of the egde for which we love Bloc Party. In the end, Bloc Party should get a pat on the back for trying a different direction and for creating a good, if not great, album. Expand
  92. MattH
    Feb 9, 2007
    6
    To be honest, I think it's the users here who've gone off-base and the critics who've got it right. The album might be a change in direction, sure, but it's just not interesting. Whilst there are good songs (I particularly enjoy Song For Clay, The Prayer and Uniform), the rest of the bunch are fairly weak by comparison and some - Waiting For The 7:18, Sunday and SXRT - To be honest, I think it's the users here who've gone off-base and the critics who've got it right. The album might be a change in direction, sure, but it's just not interesting. Whilst there are good songs (I particularly enjoy Song For Clay, The Prayer and Uniform), the rest of the bunch are fairly weak by comparison and some - Waiting For The 7:18, Sunday and SXRT - are nothing but dull-as-dishwater album filler materlal. The thing that made Silent Alarm great was that it bristled with energy and anger. The way Helicopter, Banquet, Positive Tension and Luno built up and exploded was fantastic. Only in sparse moments does A Weekend In The City match that kind of energy, and it's no coincidence that those moments are the ones fans seem to be enjoying the most. I would agree with it being a grower, and it grew on me. This time last week I would have given it a 4. Despite the good moments though, I can't help but be seriously disappointed by an album which should have been much better. Expand
  93. FaniO
    Feb 9, 2007
    0
    One word: Deception
  94. JamieN
    Feb 9, 2007
    0
    Klaxons give us what the Bloc Party did not do this year. Tedious sound, I don't care about her sexual life, I wanna Party!!
  95. joris
    Feb 9, 2007
    7
    Good but a disappointment after Silent Alarm. Standouts are the beautiful KREUZBERG, THE PRAYER, UNIFORM and SONG FOR CLAY. While I wasn't expecting a Silent Alarm II, this just lacks the energy, creativity and the excitement of its predeccesor. It's almost Bloc Party goes U2 sometimes and that's definitely not meant as a compliment... HUNTING FOR WITCHES is the only Silent Good but a disappointment after Silent Alarm. Standouts are the beautiful KREUZBERG, THE PRAYER, UNIFORM and SONG FOR CLAY. While I wasn't expecting a Silent Alarm II, this just lacks the energy, creativity and the excitement of its predeccesor. It's almost Bloc Party goes U2 sometimes and that's definitely not meant as a compliment... HUNTING FOR WITCHES is the only Silent Alarm-esque song, but is only half as good as let's say Heliopter, Like Eating Glass or Banquet in my opinion... I find the first 8 tracks varying from very good to great, but quite boring ballad-like songs as Sunday and I Still Remember should have been replaced by something more energetic, again that's what this album misses. SXRT however is a good one, kind of Bloc Party goes Elbow... 7,5/10 Expand
  96. JFPrieur
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    a solid followup to Silent Alarm, second albums are difficult and this is a band that wants to have a career insteat of a single hit. Also one of the best live bands, so tight for being just kids, mean that out of all the current crop of 'new' bands, Bloc Party will be the one to remember.
  97. MW
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    Where is all this emo comments comment coming from? have some people actually listened to the album. Weekend in the City is amazing, I must admit on initial listens i was disapointed but give it a chance and you will realize what an amazing album it actually is. This is the type of album that seperates them from bands such as Kaiser Chiefs, Snor Patrol and Razorlight; where as those bands Where is all this emo comments comment coming from? have some people actually listened to the album. Weekend in the City is amazing, I must admit on initial listens i was disapointed but give it a chance and you will realize what an amazing album it actually is. This is the type of album that seperates them from bands such as Kaiser Chiefs, Snor Patrol and Razorlight; where as those bands made carear move and are happy to make popular albums without much depth (not saying there is anything wrong with that) Bloc Party have made an album that shows how talented they are. If u just want a nice guitar album with some fun tunes then look elsewhere to the bands previously mentioned; if u actually want to get something more from the music you listen too then Weekend in the City is the album for you. Expand
  98. RogierA
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    This album grows on you. The reviewers that trashed it can't have listened to it more than once. Don't listen to them, this is a great album.
  99. TroyP
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    The rating says it all. This is a young band coming into its own, and giving the audience both inspiration and something to dance and march to. The lyrical component of the album is going to strike those who find any deep meaning in rock to be "over-reaching" well, overought. Those however, who find rock a place to get out the demons of modern life, will find much to cheer about, both The rating says it all. This is a young band coming into its own, and giving the audience both inspiration and something to dance and march to. The lyrical component of the album is going to strike those who find any deep meaning in rock to be "over-reaching" well, overought. Those however, who find rock a place to get out the demons of modern life, will find much to cheer about, both musically and thematically. A great record. Tracks to overplay: Prayer, Uniform, I still remember, and Waiting for the 7:18. Expand
  100. JustinS
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    Awesome
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Those hoping to be converted are likely still to doubt the 'voice of a generation' tag.
  2. It's a given that some people will miss the raucous Bloc Party, but there are enough in-your-face moments and hidden gems to keep A Weekend In The City on regular rotation. [#16, p.90]
  3. 70
    A post-electronica, post-rave production that jettisons genres and cherishes uncut creativity. [Jan/Feb 2007, p.77]