A Weekend In The City

  • Record Label: Vice
  • Release Date: Feb 6, 2007
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 304 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 304

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JasonP
    Mar 1, 2007
    8
    I think the reason most people don't like this album is they haven't heard in conjunction with the "special" other album. What most people don't realize is that Bloc Party released two albums. There's an internet only album with 11 unreleased tracks that you can find if you scroung hard enough. This was officially sanctioned by the band and purposely done. The album is I think the reason most people don't like this album is they haven't heard in conjunction with the "special" other album. What most people don't realize is that Bloc Party released two albums. There's an internet only album with 11 unreleased tracks that you can find if you scroung hard enough. This was officially sanctioned by the band and purposely done. The album is called "Another Weekend in the City." The second album is more in the style of Silent Alarm and makes for the perfect companion to the AWITC. Seek it out. It will change your mind about the band. Expand
  2. MichaelW
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    Feels like the thought in your mind before a Saturday night in town. Full of hope, anxiety, excitement.
  3. JeffV
    Mar 6, 2007
    9
    Better than Silent Alarm in every possible way.
  4. ErwinK.
    Aug 7, 2007
    10
    Great record. Would give it a 8, but giving it a 10 because of some troll giving about 15 zeros in a row. You can't honestly believe that those comments with all the zeros are from different people.
  5. JR
    Aug 8, 2007
    8
    one of those albums where i was initially underwhelmed, but eventually really got into it. I'd say it's as good as their first album. best songs: "the prayer" "I still remember" "uniform" "hunting for witches." to be honest there are a few forgettable tracks on this album but most of it's good stuff. The quality of the best songs on this album are easily as good as the best one of those albums where i was initially underwhelmed, but eventually really got into it. I'd say it's as good as their first album. best songs: "the prayer" "I still remember" "uniform" "hunting for witches." to be honest there are a few forgettable tracks on this album but most of it's good stuff. The quality of the best songs on this album are easily as good as the best songs on the first in my opinion. I'm not sure where all these negative reviews are coming from. have a listen, you just might like it. Expand
  6. xcellntM
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    Critics awful. One of the best album in '07. Just listen It several times. Album is hypnotizing. Bloc Party very talanted, this album show that.
  7. BrandonA.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    Critics will be critics. A Weekend In A City was an absolute masterpiece. The band themselves work so amazing together. Personally I love how Kele articulates his aspects on the modernity state of Britain. Could not have been expressed better.
  8. AlexS
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    The first time i listened to it, i felt in love with it straight away. Don't know why, but i like it much better than 'Silent Alarm'.
  9. TimothyH
    Feb 10, 2007
    9
    Most critics seem put-off by Bloc Party's somewhat pretentious appearance. Being someone who listens to music for what it is and not for what people tell me, I can tell you that this is an album that surpasses Silent Alarm in every category. The lyrics are more mature and honest. The music is more ambient and catchy. The beats are more complex and contagious. They don't miss a Most critics seem put-off by Bloc Party's somewhat pretentious appearance. Being someone who listens to music for what it is and not for what people tell me, I can tell you that this is an album that surpasses Silent Alarm in every category. The lyrics are more mature and honest. The music is more ambient and catchy. The beats are more complex and contagious. They don't miss a beat in this one. Don't miss this if you enjoyed Silent Alarm! Expand
  10. NaveenP
    Feb 6, 2007
    8
    Its always hard to follow up a debut like Silent Alarm, but this album , although its not as raw, does have its moments. "The Prayer" is probably the best song on the album, followed by the radio friendly "I still remember"
  11. Paolo
    Feb 6, 2007
    9
    Give this album a chance and it'll conquer your heart and mind. One full listening is not enough to capture the beauty that lies over each track. Though partially different from the previous (louder in all terms) record, this one is some kind of an echo of Silent Alarm, more focused on feelings and emotions, and is more complex in the sound, less direct, I'd say. In the end, not Give this album a chance and it'll conquer your heart and mind. One full listening is not enough to capture the beauty that lies over each track. Though partially different from the previous (louder in all terms) record, this one is some kind of an echo of Silent Alarm, more focused on feelings and emotions, and is more complex in the sound, less direct, I'd say. In the end, not the perfect sequel to the debut album, but definitely a great one! Expand
  12. Steve
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    Bloc Party are one of those bands that are always reliable to produce excellent music. This album is no exception. They never dissapoint. There are only a handful of bands that do that for me. I highly recommend this. I think I even like it better than their debut album.
  13. MattJ
    Feb 7, 2007
    8
    Simply put, most of the critics have misjudged this, maybe its due to its nature, as i wasn't instantly took with it, but it definately rewarded further listening, and as time grows so does the music. Each song offers something different while still having bloc party's trademark sound, brilliant
  14. DamianM
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    These negative critics have got it all wrong. Musically this album is as tight as your going to hear this year. Vocally its superb too, Kele is Bloc Party's secret weapon, he set's them apart from other British bands with his speaker piercing voice. Lyrically you could pick holes in it. Maybe they are trying too hard to make a big bold statement, and maybe these critics have These negative critics have got it all wrong. Musically this album is as tight as your going to hear this year. Vocally its superb too, Kele is Bloc Party's secret weapon, he set's them apart from other British bands with his speaker piercing voice. Lyrically you could pick holes in it. Maybe they are trying too hard to make a big bold statement, and maybe these critics have heard it all before. But this is going to be a god-send to many teenagers, those who are fed up with racism, terrorism and the drug culture of London (not just East but all parts). Every generation needs a record that actually speaks to them, a London Calling, an OK computer, a calling for change or a revolution. I expect their 3rd to be the revolution itself. Expand
  15. MichaelS
    Feb 7, 2007
    8
    It's hard to imagine how someone would listen to this album and rank it with anything below 6 other then if they just wanted silent alarm repackaged and regurgitated on them and anything less wouldn't do. This album is an extremely powerful evolution of sound that blew me away the first time I heard it. And while it doesn't have the quality of silent alarm (that was one of It's hard to imagine how someone would listen to this album and rank it with anything below 6 other then if they just wanted silent alarm repackaged and regurgitated on them and anything less wouldn't do. This album is an extremely powerful evolution of sound that blew me away the first time I heard it. And while it doesn't have the quality of silent alarm (that was one of the best albums of the decade afterall), it is still an essential addition to anyone's collection today. One critic said it best in that there is no other album out today that better captures what it means to be young and alive in the indie scene today. It has its problems being 1) too much singing and not enough punking by Okereke 2) not enough of the jarring post-punk guitar rifts that made the first album a landmark 3) their best musician (drummer) being moved to the background on most tracks on not given a chance to rock out. However, most of these are creative decisions that fans and critics just have to deal with. Expand
  16. MikeM
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    Instant Classic.... well not instant, it took me a good 3 or 4 listens to actually "get" this album. But when i finally did I was blown away. This album really is a fine wine, its going to remembered far more fondly in 10 years than right now, kinda like Aeroplane Over the Sea, or Hotel California, or Doolitle. As a fan of music believe me...Do Not Listen to the Critics on this one!!!!!!!!!!
  17. RickX
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    so much better than Silent Alarm
  18. Adam
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    Most of the critics are way off base here. This is a definite progression from their first album, and is a true stunner.
  19. idouboidres
    Mar 26, 2007
    9
    no comment
  20. TresT
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    I think that most people rated this album before letting the songs "grown" on them, which is the only time after which one can can truly see how good or bad the music really is. great album.
  21. MichelleK
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    Great album. Not as good as Silent Alarm but i guess you an't really compare the 2 as they are quite different. Bloc Party are going in the right direction in becoming the best (not nessasarily comercially)' British Alternative band out there (behind Kasabian)
  22. MarshallM
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    I'm going to give it a ten because i can't listen a single track on this album where Bloc Party isn't getting across some message while making captivating music. Even if I don't get it, they do a great job of getting the emotions across. And know, this isn't emo, they just sing emotionally. As if pop and R&B singers never sing with emotion-yet we don't call them emo.
  23. pierreb
    Feb 11, 2007
    7
    It's like sex and like pizza. Even if it's bad, it's still pretty good. I agree with a lot of listeners: the production is rubbish. I think the album is a mix of Bloc Party B-sides, the weakest album of U2 and the least tracks on the Silent Alarm remix album. Further it contains 2 or three tracks that outstand. But hey, that;s still pretty good!
  24. JoeK
    Feb 12, 2007
    9
    With such an amazing debut in Silent Alarm it was always going to be difficult to follow it with something which would be as widely received. This album is great. It's an advancement in Bloc Party's sound, still maintaining the energy and power of Silent Alarm, but with more concise lyrics and a wider vocal range. It is less accessable but after a few listens it really acheives With such an amazing debut in Silent Alarm it was always going to be difficult to follow it with something which would be as widely received. This album is great. It's an advancement in Bloc Party's sound, still maintaining the energy and power of Silent Alarm, but with more concise lyrics and a wider vocal range. It is less accessable but after a few listens it really acheives a perfect representation of 'A Weekend In The City.' Expand
  25. LincolnW
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    simply awesome!
  26. Me
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    I personally think this is an incredible album. The album truly encapsulates the insanity and confusion of the modern city. But the latter half, full of introspective, often melancholy looks on life, is sheer genius. In my opinion, the whole album is a masterpiece. Every song holds its own and truly adds to the rest of them. This is certainly an album where the whole is better than the I personally think this is an incredible album. The album truly encapsulates the insanity and confusion of the modern city. But the latter half, full of introspective, often melancholy looks on life, is sheer genius. In my opinion, the whole album is a masterpiece. Every song holds its own and truly adds to the rest of them. This is certainly an album where the whole is better than the sum of its parts. While I can understand why people are upset that this isn't "Silent Alarm II" but I am very happy they went in a new direction. One that they will hopefully stick with. This is an empowering achievement in modern music. Expand
  27. PhilB
    Feb 13, 2007
    8
    I think Bloc Party are suffering from their stellar - and probably overhyped, that's how these things go - debut, as the field balances and the backlash hits this album. It's a great album. Yes, less of the raw energy of the first one; but this is no longer the band's debut, they couldn't possibly get away with raw, rough music - the very same critics saying this album I think Bloc Party are suffering from their stellar - and probably overhyped, that's how these things go - debut, as the field balances and the backlash hits this album. It's a great album. Yes, less of the raw energy of the first one; but this is no longer the band's debut, they couldn't possibly get away with raw, rough music - the very same critics saying this album is boring would be lambasting Bloc Party for being too unadventurous, or worse, faking rawness if they'd gone for Silent Alarm II Expand
  28. george
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    james if you didn't like the first why did you buy the second album? :s album is excellent by the way..
  29. PaulF
    Feb 26, 2007
    9
    An awesome return and refreshingly different sound to Silent Alarm. Understandably it has its critics due to it being so different to their first outing but I actually prefer this album - much darker and epic.
  30. MihaiV
    Feb 3, 2007
    9
    Again, like on the CYHSY new album, I don't get the critics. A brilliant album. Kele is a genius.
  31. MikeC
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    I really liked this album. I felt The Prayer is thier best song.
  32. gregor
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    Mesmerising.
  33. nickp
    Feb 5, 2007
    8
    I really enjoy listening to this album. I have had an advance copy for a little while now, and the songs are only getting better. The beats and vocals are consistent with the debut album, but as a whole the album is a step in another direction I only wish the tempo wouldn't drop off after the 6th track.
  34. JesseH
    Feb 5, 2007
    8
    Don't listen to the critical backlash going on, this album is great. Bloc Party is evolving and growing and this album is a terrific next step. Not the revelation that their debut was but a very solid follow-up full of great new stylistic tricks and sincere emotion.
  35. yorick
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    Oh man, this album might be as good as the previous one... it is catchy, the lyrics are deep and heartfelt, it just takes a little while longer to concquer the record.... its less accessable
  36. GunterGrass
    Feb 6, 2007
    8
    Good energy, nice lyrics and a fine unity is realy all you can ask of a album.
  37. LeoP
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    Fabulous. Congratulations to Kele Okereke,with this bunch of fine songs, you can be proud at your second. Welcome at the festivals this summer
  38. Stephen
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    in a way i'm kinda disappointed by the reviews, but it's also satisfying that they've completely missed the point and that way its easier to really enjoy. Like Frank Turners 'Sleep is for the week', Kele has produced a collection of songs which sum up our society; their conclusion; how the hell did we become so apathetic; alcohol is all well and good but in a way i'm kinda disappointed by the reviews, but it's also satisfying that they've completely missed the point and that way its easier to really enjoy. Like Frank Turners 'Sleep is for the week', Kele has produced a collection of songs which sum up our society; their conclusion; how the hell did we become so apathetic; alcohol is all well and good but aren't we forgetting about something? Expand
  39. davidm
    Feb 8, 2007
    8
    This record is not as immediately memorable as Silent Alarm. But it's a real grower and the more critical reviews are very superficial. This is serious music and as good as anything this year.
  40. TimM
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    I've cried twice in my life after i heard the song for the first time. "Ballad of a So Called Friend" by Okkervil RIver, and "Kreuzberg" on Bloc Party's stunning new cd. I've never heard a song that I connect with sooo much...thank you Kele, for helping me through a confusing time : )
  41. GuyH
    Feb 8, 2007
    8
    Silent Alarm was a strong album - an adrenaline shot delivered with precision. This album is quite different - if I had to describe it in 2 words I'd use 'subtle' and 'heartfelt'. I have a horrible feeling that this album will stiff commercially and the reviews seem to be backing this up. It took me 7 listens to even start enjoying this album. Before then I found Silent Alarm was a strong album - an adrenaline shot delivered with precision. This album is quite different - if I had to describe it in 2 words I'd use 'subtle' and 'heartfelt'. I have a horrible feeling that this album will stiff commercially and the reviews seem to be backing this up. It took me 7 listens to even start enjoying this album. Before then I found it dull, samey and lifeless compared to its predecessor. It is only after the 7th listen that some of the beautiful phrases and heartbreaking vocal delivery started to stand out. This is what eventually defines the album - and athough some songs don't work perfectly - I still feel this album is a big step forward and I will be fascinated watching the future progression of this band. Excellent. Expand
  42. RoryB
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    This album has got mixed reviews from critics ranging from the great to the very average. I believe that the critics slating it however have not listened to it enough though. Give it a while and you will realise what a great album it is. Exhilarating music and interesting lyrics.
  43. SteveO
    Feb 9, 2007
    7
    Bloc Party's freshman effort, Silent Alarm, set the bar very high. It's not to say that we, the listening public, couldn't hope for more greatness from the promising Brit indie/pop group, but it's certainly unfair to expect it. By comparison, A Weekend in the City is not nearly as good as its predecessor, but when judged on the same scale as other albums, and not Bloc Party's freshman effort, Silent Alarm, set the bar very high. It's not to say that we, the listening public, couldn't hope for more greatness from the promising Brit indie/pop group, but it's certainly unfair to expect it. By comparison, A Weekend in the City is not nearly as good as its predecessor, but when judged on the same scale as other albums, and not merely compared with Silent Alarm, it still stands out as a solid effort. What's even more commendable is that Bloc Party weren't trying to create a continuation of their first effort as so many other bands are guilty of doing. Kele and company instead set out to make a fresh sound while not alienating the following they had earned from Silent Alarm. The new album is at times energetic, anthemic, and contemplative. But to be fair, the second half loses the youthfulness and a lot of the egde for which we love Bloc Party. In the end, Bloc Party should get a pat on the back for trying a different direction and for creating a good, if not great, album. Expand
  44. joris
    Feb 9, 2007
    7
    Good but a disappointment after Silent Alarm. Standouts are the beautiful KREUZBERG, THE PRAYER, UNIFORM and SONG FOR CLAY. While I wasn't expecting a Silent Alarm II, this just lacks the energy, creativity and the excitement of its predeccesor. It's almost Bloc Party goes U2 sometimes and that's definitely not meant as a compliment... HUNTING FOR WITCHES is the only Silent Good but a disappointment after Silent Alarm. Standouts are the beautiful KREUZBERG, THE PRAYER, UNIFORM and SONG FOR CLAY. While I wasn't expecting a Silent Alarm II, this just lacks the energy, creativity and the excitement of its predeccesor. It's almost Bloc Party goes U2 sometimes and that's definitely not meant as a compliment... HUNTING FOR WITCHES is the only Silent Alarm-esque song, but is only half as good as let's say Heliopter, Like Eating Glass or Banquet in my opinion... I find the first 8 tracks varying from very good to great, but quite boring ballad-like songs as Sunday and I Still Remember should have been replaced by something more energetic, again that's what this album misses. SXRT however is a good one, kind of Bloc Party goes Elbow... 7,5/10 Expand
  45. JFPrieur
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    a solid followup to Silent Alarm, second albums are difficult and this is a band that wants to have a career insteat of a single hit. Also one of the best live bands, so tight for being just kids, mean that out of all the current crop of 'new' bands, Bloc Party will be the one to remember.
  46. MW
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    Where is all this emo comments comment coming from? have some people actually listened to the album. Weekend in the City is amazing, I must admit on initial listens i was disapointed but give it a chance and you will realize what an amazing album it actually is. This is the type of album that seperates them from bands such as Kaiser Chiefs, Snor Patrol and Razorlight; where as those bands Where is all this emo comments comment coming from? have some people actually listened to the album. Weekend in the City is amazing, I must admit on initial listens i was disapointed but give it a chance and you will realize what an amazing album it actually is. This is the type of album that seperates them from bands such as Kaiser Chiefs, Snor Patrol and Razorlight; where as those bands made carear move and are happy to make popular albums without much depth (not saying there is anything wrong with that) Bloc Party have made an album that shows how talented they are. If u just want a nice guitar album with some fun tunes then look elsewhere to the bands previously mentioned; if u actually want to get something more from the music you listen too then Weekend in the City is the album for you. Expand
  47. RogierA
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    This album grows on you. The reviewers that trashed it can't have listened to it more than once. Don't listen to them, this is a great album.
  48. TroyP
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    The rating says it all. This is a young band coming into its own, and giving the audience both inspiration and something to dance and march to. The lyrical component of the album is going to strike those who find any deep meaning in rock to be "over-reaching" well, overought. Those however, who find rock a place to get out the demons of modern life, will find much to cheer about, both The rating says it all. This is a young band coming into its own, and giving the audience both inspiration and something to dance and march to. The lyrical component of the album is going to strike those who find any deep meaning in rock to be "over-reaching" well, overought. Those however, who find rock a place to get out the demons of modern life, will find much to cheer about, both musically and thematically. A great record. Tracks to overplay: Prayer, Uniform, I still remember, and Waiting for the 7:18. Expand
  49. JustinS
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    Awesome
  50. TimF
    May 23, 2007
    9
    More consistant than Silent Alarm and DOESN'T sound like Coldpaly in parts, more like Radiohead in parts. Yeah some of the lyrics aren't that great and the vocals may be a bit too high up in the mix but it is generally a brilliant record. Top banana.
  51. BenS
    May 20, 2007
    7
    The previous reviewer claims that Bloc Party fans merely represent those who have grown out of Blink 182, is there any truth in this statement? Blink 182, let's not forget, were a truly hideous band, releasing album after album of puerile immaturity, and then suddenly becoming serious in the apex of their career. Sadly, when they realised that their fanbase was moving on, they The previous reviewer claims that Bloc Party fans merely represent those who have grown out of Blink 182, is there any truth in this statement? Blink 182, let's not forget, were a truly hideous band, releasing album after album of puerile immaturity, and then suddenly becoming serious in the apex of their career. Sadly, when they realised that their fanbase was moving on, they released their eponymous album, a collection of dirges that managed to wipe away all the dregs of fun that may have once clung to them. This, of course, left Blink 182 fans slightly confused. Adolescent teenagers the lot of them, they were undergoing the tortous effects of muddled hormones and youthful alienation, but could not connect with middle aged men whining about ghosts, tidal waves and broken relationships. Where now do they go? Well, maybe they would hear a Bloc Party song; full of the melody and longing, and yet blessed with intelligence, musicianship and true passion. These teenagers have grown up with Blink 182, and have found their adolescent fantasies crushed, and therefore the confusion and alienation would connect with them. Here, truly, was a band for them. Then comes 'A Weekend In The City', an album with a wider scope, one that moves their perspectives from themselves and onto the wider world, a place of similar confusion. It is not all alienation and world-wearyness however, as songs such as the glorious 'I Still Remember' give a true anthem of love and longing, that is poignant but hopeful, and will move a generation weaned on pranks and bestiality onto genuine emotion..........of course, that may all be rubbish but it's interesting to speculate. Expand
  52. TomB
    May 8, 2007
    9
    If I'd reviewed this after my first few listens, I would've given it around 4, but like many others have said, it gets better with time. Not just saying that as a lie but it's true. Some of the lyrics are a bit cack now and then (eg "stamp on the feet of every ballerina") but they're generally pretty good and make for a great social commentary (but i won't go into If I'd reviewed this after my first few listens, I would've given it around 4, but like many others have said, it gets better with time. Not just saying that as a lie but it's true. Some of the lyrics are a bit cack now and then (eg "stamp on the feet of every ballerina") but they're generally pretty good and make for a great social commentary (but i won't go into the whole 'meerr merr meer you only get it if you're from england' thing). Basically, it's good, just not as accessible as their debut.. Expand
  53. matta.
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    So Bloc Party changes their sound a little bit and everyone starts saying they're shit. Well fuck them. The band definitely seems to reaching out to a wider audience with this production, but the songs are still gorgeous (sometimes even moreso than Silent Alarm). While that album is still better, this is by no means a sophomore slump. People need to get past their weird and sick So Bloc Party changes their sound a little bit and everyone starts saying they're shit. Well fuck them. The band definitely seems to reaching out to a wider audience with this production, but the songs are still gorgeous (sometimes even moreso than Silent Alarm). While that album is still better, this is by no means a sophomore slump. People need to get past their weird and sick obsession with panning anything that sounds even slightly mainstream and actually start enjoying good music. Expand
  54. NickM.
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    While this albums lyrical focus is reigned in, less vague, and somewhat London-centric it doesn't stop the music or the mood from being superb. Even when the lyrics are overbearingly focused onto London it's not totally unbearable Sure you may not live in London, but really it's not London thats important for the mood of the album. London is just the big city of choice for While this albums lyrical focus is reigned in, less vague, and somewhat London-centric it doesn't stop the music or the mood from being superb. Even when the lyrics are overbearingly focused onto London it's not totally unbearable Sure you may not live in London, but really it's not London thats important for the mood of the album. London is just the big city of choice for the band. Musically the album continues in mostly the same vein as Silent Alarm, Tong's impeccable rythym (though at times it feels very repetitive) Lissack's sharp playing, and good use of effects. Moake's basswork is rather sparse, moreso than on Silent Alarm, but he picks up two other instruments to make up for it (glockenspiel on 'Waiting for the 7.18' and 'SRXT' and additional drums on 'Sunday') Kele's vocals are forced at times, but rarely does it detract from the quality of the songs, for me at least. Actually, my largest complaint with the album is the sequencing. The first four tracks are bursting with energy, 'Uniform' is not shabby it self (and is my second favorite song off the album, behind 'Song for Clay') but after 'Uniform' we're lead into a series of mid to low tempo ballad-esque songs. 'On', 'Kreuzberg', 'Sunday', 'SRXT' and the greater portion of 'Where is Home?' are not bad, but they lack the energy that permeates the first 5 tracks. The songs are beautiful but could have been sequenced differently, perhaps to show a greater contrast with the uptempo, more abrasive 'Song for Clay', 'Hunting for Witches', 'The Prayer' and 'Uniform' The album is not going to be Bloc Party's best but it is still a wonderful album that shows Bloc Party is no one-trick pony Expand
  55. DaveH.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    Quite apart from being a truly great album musically; this is a fantastic social commentary on life in a War on Terror.
  56. FrancisR.
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    Its less pop but its wayyyyyyyy better for it.
  57. AnnikaR
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    Absolutely lovely album. Iit requires a couple of times listening
  58. DLG
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    This is wonderful album from start to finish. They're amazing band where the group as a whole work perfect together.
  59. Cyrone
    Nov 30, 2007
    9
    The reason I'm rating this is cause it's been hated on SO badly by the critics. Honestly this is an amazing album, it grows on you BIG time and eventually is better than their debut. I was never a big Bloc Party fan until this 2nd album so urge everyone to get it.
  60. DB
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Amazing Album. I`ve listened to it everyday since it came out. Now I want to be a music critic someday and I wanna say that the pro critics on this site suck. I`m not saying this because I adore the album but because a band can do nothing but change. For all who say, "this dosen`t sound like their prevoius work." You guys suck. Get a new job. If a band did sound the same all the time, Amazing Album. I`ve listened to it everyday since it came out. Now I want to be a music critic someday and I wanna say that the pro critics on this site suck. I`m not saying this because I adore the album but because a band can do nothing but change. For all who say, "this dosen`t sound like their prevoius work." You guys suck. Get a new job. If a band did sound the same all the time, they`d be really predictable and boring. Bloc Party takes the step and makes the change flawlessly. D Expand
  61. RayF
    Feb 11, 2007
    8
    Not as immediately engaging as Silent Alarm, but after repeated listenings you come to realize it's still a very, very good album.
  62. LloydB
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    Upon first listen A Weekend in The City was horrible, in my opinion. But the lyrics are the defintion of our generation. We are all lukewarm and monochrome. We waste out lives with alcohaul and chemicals. Kele has taken the frustration of society and funneled it into 11 beautiful songs. This cd takes a couple of listens but it will take a well deserved spot on everyone's top 20 Upon first listen A Weekend in The City was horrible, in my opinion. But the lyrics are the defintion of our generation. We are all lukewarm and monochrome. We waste out lives with alcohaul and chemicals. Kele has taken the frustration of society and funneled it into 11 beautiful songs. This cd takes a couple of listens but it will take a well deserved spot on everyone's top 20 albums if you give it a chance. Expand
  63. philg
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    better than silent alarm, a beautiful album that jumps at your after listening a few times 10/10
  64. mikeb
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    One of the better cds out.
  65. evan
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    I love it, every second
  66. paulcupboard
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    Excelent and appealing, it is not Silent |Alarm and thats what fans should want. It contains some old familiar haunts and some new corners to explore, if your not scared. If your hating this album cause it isnt enough like the old one then you'rea lost cause. BlocParty already made Silent Alarm twice do you need it again.
  67. JackPunk
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    I think it's superb, the music is exciting and leaps out at you, and the downtrodden atmosphere is subtle and exquisite. My one complaint: not a single cogent rhyme on the entire record. Otherwise, I think it's brilliant.
  68. Bezus
    Feb 13, 2007
    7
    good album..i agree with most..not as good as the first album but still alot of fun....a little over produced....kinda like the rough sound of the first album....gives it charecter...but overal the lyrics are lacking but the music is still jsut as jumpy.....would recomend hearing for yourself before purchase.
  69. deanc
    Feb 13, 2007
    9
    The first album this year that I've been able to listen to repeatedly. Incredibly strong musical backing that encompasses a range of styles. more dance orientated and funkier than any of the so called nu-rave bands. Not as dark as some reviewers have made out, but does deal with a wider range of issues than the usual indie fair.
  70. pislice
    Feb 14, 2007
    9
    At first I thought, ew, it's a little too Coldplayish/U2, but I've listened to it a few times and actually: it's a really solid, well executed album and some of the tracks are pretty slamming, realized and wicked. Not sure why people have problems with the lyrics, they seem right to me. The critics are being pretty severe with these guys. It's a great record.
  71. LukeT
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    It's Bloc Party not doing Silent Alarm again, which is a good thing. This is so much more epic, artistic, it's almost completely perfect for what it is.
  72. JImC
    Feb 18, 2007
    9
    Dont trust the bad reviews... the thing is that this isnt SILENT ALARM,, this is their evolution to something different, not better or worse just differenet.. listen to the prayer,uniform and others and you will realise that you're in front of a masterpiece
  73. MattD.
    Feb 22, 2007
    8
    The PopMatters review makes no sense. There is plenty of the more hard-edged Duran Duran style they are known for, and the softer songs sound pleasantly U2-like.
  74. Davd
    Feb 25, 2007
    9
    i can't believe there are so many negative reviews of this album. the first time i heard it i was bitterly disappointed. then as soon as i put it on again it all sounded completely different. finally an overly-hyped indie band has come out with a second album that isn't exaclty the same as the first. theres something so emotional about weekend in the city, its tense and i can't believe there are so many negative reviews of this album. the first time i heard it i was bitterly disappointed. then as soon as i put it on again it all sounded completely different. finally an overly-hyped indie band has come out with a second album that isn't exaclty the same as the first. theres something so emotional about weekend in the city, its tense and important, they aren't just playing dancey music anymore because its fun to do ( but of course silent alarm is a great album). they just seem to have matured and found their own style writing original, epic and honest music. give this album a chance, however if you're only a top forty fan i'm afraid this might fly right past you, as most decent music would. Expand
  75. KrisG
    Feb 25, 2007
    9
    It's really intense. One of the best critical and political records in years.
  76. Jeremy
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    every song is a winner. stunning.
  77. RobertB
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    Everyone should read about this album before they listen to it. The theme behind it is very powerful and Bloc Party's music prowess is make extremely obvious.
  78. MattS
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    This is an utter masterpiece. I'm quite disappointed with the reviews, and usually I agree whole heartedly with this site, but it's a truly great work of music. There are the occasional lyrical blunders, but it never brings down the songs. Iff you've heard the instrumental version of this album you'll know how detailed and layered it is, and that if this album had no This is an utter masterpiece. I'm quite disappointed with the reviews, and usually I agree whole heartedly with this site, but it's a truly great work of music. There are the occasional lyrical blunders, but it never brings down the songs. Iff you've heard the instrumental version of this album you'll know how detailed and layered it is, and that if this album had no singing in it, it would still work wondefully. SRXT is THE best closer to an album. Expand
  79. SethH
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    Bloc Party's "A Weekend In the City" is an album that epitomizes the popular, artistic result of modern calamities. From the conforming of the indiviuals to the judgement by modern society, Bloc Party touch issues that haunt our world. Kele Okereke's lyrics and melodies stick in listeners brain for days on end.
  80. jeffs
    Feb 5, 2007
    7
    More like a 6.5, but it's way way better than the leaked version. Unfortunately it's too often sappy and sentimental, like most of these reviews will tell you, but when it gets its groove.. it's like we're right back in 2004.
  81. JohnB
    Feb 5, 2007
    8
    The first half of A Weekend in the City is better in every aspect compared to the second half. Lyrically, I hear honesty coming from Kele and that is something I can really sympathize with. His words will hit a core with the targeted age group even though they may seem overly simplistic and not so interesting at times. Lyrically and musically Bloc Party tries to create a concept of every The first half of A Weekend in the City is better in every aspect compared to the second half. Lyrically, I hear honesty coming from Kele and that is something I can really sympathize with. His words will hit a core with the targeted age group even though they may seem overly simplistic and not so interesting at times. Lyrically and musically Bloc Party tries to create a concept of every day life in the UK and for that they deserve credit as well as exploring different sounds, leaving behind the dance punk so prevalent on Silent Alarm. This album really shows how far Bloc Party has progressed as well as its beauty with multiple listenings. A Weekend in the City may be overproduced and several songs are misfires, but it is not a failure by any means and it deserves its due respect. Expand
  82. WiebeB
    Feb 5, 2007
    9
    I needed to hear this album a few times before I started enjoying it. The music is good but it's Okereke's lyrics and philosophical theme that blows you away. My favorite is "hunting for witches".
  83. matta
    Feb 6, 2007
    9
    The critics are pretty off base here. I can see some of their complaints (Uniform and Where is Home? are both pretty weak), but overall, this is a solid sophomore album. I would compare the relationship between this album and it's predecessor to Coldplay's Parachutes and A Rush of Blood. Parachutes was an exciting debut from a promising British band, and their sophomore album The critics are pretty off base here. I can see some of their complaints (Uniform and Where is Home? are both pretty weak), but overall, this is a solid sophomore album. I would compare the relationship between this album and it's predecessor to Coldplay's Parachutes and A Rush of Blood. Parachutes was an exciting debut from a promising British band, and their sophomore album was nearly as good, but more accessible. That is how I see A Weekend In The City. It might not be quite as strong as Silent Alarm (a very high standard, indeed), but it is still very good, and shows Bloc Party moving in a different, slightly more accessible but still exciting direction. Frankly, I'm glad they didn't just do Silent Alarm II; it's nice to hear them try something new. As for the negative reviews, again, some are merited, but the cokemachineglow one in particular is just unfair. They guy is reading way too far into what Okereke was trying to say with his lyrics. When it comes down to it, it really doesn't matter that much when the music sounds this good. Expand
  84. feder
    Feb 6, 2007
    9
    AMAZING!!! At the beginning it doesn't grip you, to be honest, but listening after listening you cannot stay without!
  85. AndréL
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    Those awful bad critics are not to be trusted. Silent Alarm was a great album and the expectation was fairly high for this one. And it does get its way. The album might sound not-so-good at the beginning , but when you listen to it you'll see that it's still Bloc Party top-nocht , just in a different music theme. Awesome indeed.
  86. JoeyK
    Feb 6, 2007
    9
    Not being a big fan of the first cd (a lot of hype, with a lot of fluff), this cd came out and has completely surprised me. The catchy choruses and driving verses paired with meaningful lyrical stories pushes the album to a new level. Bloc Party have arrived, no longer the party band pardon the pun, but a serious band to be reckoned with. Every listen the songs grow stronger, the cd more Not being a big fan of the first cd (a lot of hype, with a lot of fluff), this cd came out and has completely surprised me. The catchy choruses and driving verses paired with meaningful lyrical stories pushes the album to a new level. Bloc Party have arrived, no longer the party band pardon the pun, but a serious band to be reckoned with. Every listen the songs grow stronger, the cd more cohesive. Expand
  87. chrisL
    Feb 6, 2007
    9
    almost as good as silent alarm, but still really good
  88. mark
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    On the first few listens I was pretty disappointed, the prayer was the only track that really stood out for me, but by the 4th time i was completely hooked. It doesn't have the same spiky pop of banquet or helicopter that grabbed me on silent alarm, but it's got a depth and ambition that's admirable as well as well executed. I haven't listened to anything else all On the first few listens I was pretty disappointed, the prayer was the only track that really stood out for me, but by the 4th time i was completely hooked. It doesn't have the same spiky pop of banquet or helicopter that grabbed me on silent alarm, but it's got a depth and ambition that's admirable as well as well executed. I haven't listened to anything else all week. I love every track and think Uniform, Hunting for Witches, the Prayer and Kreuzberg are at least as good as anything they've ever done. Expand
  89. [Anonymous]
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    Much better than their last record. Although that's not saying much.
  90. WillO
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    Bloc Party is simply the best. Ignore the critics, they know nothing about this one. This is an album you need to listen to a few times and give your full attention to in order to appreciate it. Don't give up on it. This has it all, catchy upbeat dance songs, and then those sad serious songs. I Still Remember is an epic track. Don't trash this album without giving it the time it Bloc Party is simply the best. Ignore the critics, they know nothing about this one. This is an album you need to listen to a few times and give your full attention to in order to appreciate it. Don't give up on it. This has it all, catchy upbeat dance songs, and then those sad serious songs. I Still Remember is an epic track. Don't trash this album without giving it the time it deserves. These guys are amazing. God bless Bloc Party! Expand
  91. EricC
    Mar 1, 2007
    9
    Wow. What's up with everyone? Why am I the only one who really had a good time with this cd? And don't call it emo rock, for chris' sake. I hate the whole emo crowd. They tackle the problem of a decaying urban world, and they did it almost perfectly. How many other people can do that and still maintain a mainstream sound? It's energetic, meaningful, and mature. True, I Wow. What's up with everyone? Why am I the only one who really had a good time with this cd? And don't call it emo rock, for chris' sake. I hate the whole emo crowd. They tackle the problem of a decaying urban world, and they did it almost perfectly. How many other people can do that and still maintain a mainstream sound? It's energetic, meaningful, and mature. True, I did start wanting them to stop mourning for the "city" and just have fun, but still, I appreciate what they're doing. Expand
  92. alanl
    Mar 14, 2007
    8
    Evolution might bother some poeple but for some of us it's fresh air after a long time in the darkness. Bloc Party shows they are more than just a band with dull riffs. A great sentimental album
  93. SimonD
    Mar 14, 2007
    9
    At first, i was quite dissapointed with this album. It didn't sound like Silent Alarm, and the songs seemed somewhat weak and uninspired. After a few listenings, i really started to like it. Songs like Kreuzberg and SRXT, i didn't like them first, have become favourites now. A great second album and a huge promise for an even better third. I understand why people'd dislike At first, i was quite dissapointed with this album. It didn't sound like Silent Alarm, and the songs seemed somewhat weak and uninspired. After a few listenings, i really started to like it. Songs like Kreuzberg and SRXT, i didn't like them first, have become favourites now. A great second album and a huge promise for an even better third. I understand why people'd dislike it, but listen to it more, and you might start loving it. I think it's a great achievement in alternative rock these days, this album. And underrated, when i look at the ratings. Bloc Party's certainly become one of the best bands i know. Favourites: Song For Clay, Kreuzberg and I Still Remember. Expand
  94. wrsgujwrsguj
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    This album stands by itself. Unfortunately, all those that want another "Silent Alarm" (even in their subconsciousness) will be disappointed. Good for Bloc Party in trying to be creative and record something that matters. And yes, while there is much more production in this album, it is by no means a sell out or even radio pop.
  95. BintangP
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    agree with clark. the more i listen to it, the more i like it. we cant compare it with silent alarms, since they are different. yet, its the best album i heard this year. and the leading british alternative rock band..
  96. MCF
    Apr 28, 2007
    7
    Slightly dissapointed, but it is better than any other crap out there. Silent Alarm set the bar way too high. This album has "Cabernet" potential and can improve over time. Still one of the best live acts to emerge in the last few years.
  97. AlanE
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    65? the critics have got it wrong here. one of the albums of the year. 'i love u in the morning, when ur still hungover'. brilliant stuff.
  98. PhilDoc
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    I cannot stop listening to this cd, It is simply perfect!
  99. KateN.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Brilliant album. Listen to it everyday on the tube. Cannnot understand why people are slating it. The album reminds me my university days.
  100. AndrewE
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    I can't think of an album where every note is milked for every ounce of emotion possible like this one. Even when some of their ideas or songwriting falls flat, the weight of it all makes the album as a whole incredibly resonant. It's a year later, and it still invokes every kind of emotion when I listen to it.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Those hoping to be converted are likely still to doubt the 'voice of a generation' tag.
  2. Under The Radar
    80
    It's a given that some people will miss the raucous Bloc Party, but there are enough in-your-face moments and hidden gems to keep A Weekend In The City on regular rotation. [#16, p.90]
  3. Urb
    70
    A post-electronica, post-rave production that jettisons genres and cherishes uncut creativity. [Jan/Feb 2007, p.77]