A Weekend In The City

  • Record Label: Vice
  • Release Date: Feb 6, 2007
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 304 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 304

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2016
    8
    A loose concept album based on life in London, this is a solid follow up to their excellent debut Silent Alarm, showing lots of ambition and progress but still packing in the tunes. "A Weekend In The City" has all the ingredients that made the bands debut so enjoyable, and in many places expands and improves on it. Having said this, while Kele's vocals have improved, his lyrics here areA loose concept album based on life in London, this is a solid follow up to their excellent debut Silent Alarm, showing lots of ambition and progress but still packing in the tunes. "A Weekend In The City" has all the ingredients that made the bands debut so enjoyable, and in many places expands and improves on it. Having said this, while Kele's vocals have improved, his lyrics here are at times cringeworthy. Sometimes they work and to be fair they do sound very personal and you have to give credit to him for attempting to wear his heart on his sleeve, but most of the time it's close to poor teenage poetry. On the surface they are fine and probably dont take away from the record, unfortunately I listened a bit too carefully. Musically excellent though and a record that has aged well especially when stood next to their later material. Expand
  2. May 12, 2015
    7
    If you are able to detach your preconceptions about Bloc Party based on Silent Alarm, this emerges as an imaginative, attention-grabbing and genuinely strong release.
  3. May 2, 2015
    6
    For Bloc Party, following up their seminal debut album 'Silent Alarm' was always going to be a challenge. After only two years out of the limelight, 'A Weekend in The City' was released in early 2007. The album definitely sees a progression in Bloc Party's music. It's quite impressive how much they matured musically in just a two year period, with a much more electronically driven soundFor Bloc Party, following up their seminal debut album 'Silent Alarm' was always going to be a challenge. After only two years out of the limelight, 'A Weekend in The City' was released in early 2007. The album definitely sees a progression in Bloc Party's music. It's quite impressive how much they matured musically in just a two year period, with a much more electronically driven sound than 'Silent Alarm'. Despite some notable high points with the music however, it's certainly the lyrics that let this album down. Kyle Okereke trying to be almost too realistic in a lot of these songs, and almost comes across as cringeworthy at times. After getting off to a fairly reasonable start with 'Songs for Clay (Disappear Here)', 'Hunting for Witches' and 'Uniform', the album is somewhat let down by a collection of very weak songs towards its latter stages such as 'Where Is Home', 'Kreuzberg' and 'Sunday'.

    One particular bright spark; the single 'Flux' which was part of the re-release is one of the best songs Bloc Party ever produced. An electronically driven indie classic. Unfortunately, the same can't be said for the entire album, but writing another album which was up to the standards of 'Silent Alarm' was always going to be a challenge in itself.
    Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    A great follow up from their first album Silent Alarm. A Weekend In The City is a lot different sounding from Silent Alarm. The lyrics are a lot more in depth and it sounds a little more mature. The vocals are better, the lyrics are good, everything just sounds great. All In All, A Weekend In The City is just as good, if not better, than Silent Alarm. A-
  5. MarkG.
    Sep 15, 2008
    0
    Horrible, emo album!!!!!!
  6. LeroyB.
    Aug 15, 2008
    4
    Kele's vocals have been brought to the forefront of the arrangements....... big mistake! , the guy cant sing particularly well and his lyrics are laughable. When Kele's not singing the band are at their best. Awesome drummer , great lead guitarist , why aren't they building they're songs around these things?
  7. BrandonA.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    Critics will be critics. A Weekend In A City was an absolute masterpiece. The band themselves work so amazing together. Personally I love how Kele articulates his aspects on the modernity state of Britain. Could not have been expressed better.
  8. DLG
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    This is wonderful album from start to finish. They're amazing band where the group as a whole work perfect together.
  9. KateN.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Brilliant album. Listen to it everyday on the tube. Cannnot understand why people are slating it. The album reminds me my university days.
  10. PhilDoc
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    I cannot stop listening to this cd, It is simply perfect!
  11. AnnikaR
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    Absolutely lovely album. Iit requires a couple of times listening
  12. xcellntM
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    Critics awful. One of the best album in '07. Just listen It several times. Album is hypnotizing. Bloc Party very talanted, this album show that.
  13. AndrewE
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    I can't think of an album where every note is milked for every ounce of emotion possible like this one. Even when some of their ideas or songwriting falls flat, the weight of it all makes the album as a whole incredibly resonant. It's a year later, and it still invokes every kind of emotion when I listen to it.
  14. HugoF
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    The first time Iheard this album I hated it, yet on the second or third time round I began to appreciate what the band was trying to get across and also the use of music. This an amazing album and my favourite band. I want to know why everyone bashes Kele as without his voice Bloc Party wouldn't be half the band they are. Stop the Bloc bashing!!!!
  15. Cyrone
    Nov 30, 2007
    9
    The reason I'm rating this is cause it's been hated on SO badly by the critics. Honestly this is an amazing album, it grows on you BIG time and eventually is better than their debut. I was never a big Bloc Party fan until this 2nd album so urge everyone to get it.
  16. AlexS
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    The first time i listened to it, i felt in love with it straight away. Don't know why, but i like it much better than 'Silent Alarm'.
  17. MarkS.
    Nov 6, 2007
    0
    The worst record of the decade.
  18. DB
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Amazing Album. I`ve listened to it everyday since it came out. Now I want to be a music critic someday and I wanna say that the pro critics on this site suck. I`m not saying this because I adore the album but because a band can do nothing but change. For all who say, "this dosen`t sound like their prevoius work." You guys suck. Get a new job. If a band did sound the same all the time, Amazing Album. I`ve listened to it everyday since it came out. Now I want to be a music critic someday and I wanna say that the pro critics on this site suck. I`m not saying this because I adore the album but because a band can do nothing but change. For all who say, "this dosen`t sound like their prevoius work." You guys suck. Get a new job. If a band did sound the same all the time, they`d be really predictable and boring. Bloc Party takes the step and makes the change flawlessly. D Expand
  19. AlanE
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    65? the critics have got it wrong here. one of the albums of the year. 'i love u in the morning, when ur still hungover'. brilliant stuff.
  20. MarshallM
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    I'm going to give it a ten because i can't listen a single track on this album where Bloc Party isn't getting across some message while making captivating music. Even if I don't get it, they do a great job of getting the emotions across. And know, this isn't emo, they just sing emotionally. As if pop and R&B singers never sing with emotion-yet we don't call them emo.
  21. FrancisR.
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    Its less pop but its wayyyyyyyy better for it.
  22. DaveH.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    Quite apart from being a truly great album musically; this is a fantastic social commentary on life in a War on Terror.
  23. ChrisT.
    Aug 29, 2007
    2
    The Prayer = 8 The Rest = 1
  24. JR
    Aug 8, 2007
    8
    one of those albums where i was initially underwhelmed, but eventually really got into it. I'd say it's as good as their first album. best songs: "the prayer" "I still remember" "uniform" "hunting for witches." to be honest there are a few forgettable tracks on this album but most of it's good stuff. The quality of the best songs on this album are easily as good as the best one of those albums where i was initially underwhelmed, but eventually really got into it. I'd say it's as good as their first album. best songs: "the prayer" "I still remember" "uniform" "hunting for witches." to be honest there are a few forgettable tracks on this album but most of it's good stuff. The quality of the best songs on this album are easily as good as the best songs on the first in my opinion. I'm not sure where all these negative reviews are coming from. have a listen, you just might like it. Expand
  25. ErwinK.
    Aug 7, 2007
    10
    Great record. Would give it a 8, but giving it a 10 because of some troll giving about 15 zeros in a row. You can't honestly believe that those comments with all the zeros are from different people.
  26. EE
    Jul 16, 2007
    0
    The biggest disappointments of the year. Very, very boring and forgettable.
  27. NickM.
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    While this albums lyrical focus is reigned in, less vague, and somewhat London-centric it doesn't stop the music or the mood from being superb. Even when the lyrics are overbearingly focused onto London it's not totally unbearable Sure you may not live in London, but really it's not London thats important for the mood of the album. London is just the big city of choice for While this albums lyrical focus is reigned in, less vague, and somewhat London-centric it doesn't stop the music or the mood from being superb. Even when the lyrics are overbearingly focused onto London it's not totally unbearable Sure you may not live in London, but really it's not London thats important for the mood of the album. London is just the big city of choice for the band. Musically the album continues in mostly the same vein as Silent Alarm, Tong's impeccable rythym (though at times it feels very repetitive) Lissack's sharp playing, and good use of effects. Moake's basswork is rather sparse, moreso than on Silent Alarm, but he picks up two other instruments to make up for it (glockenspiel on 'Waiting for the 7.18' and 'SRXT' and additional drums on 'Sunday') Kele's vocals are forced at times, but rarely does it detract from the quality of the songs, for me at least. Actually, my largest complaint with the album is the sequencing. The first four tracks are bursting with energy, 'Uniform' is not shabby it self (and is my second favorite song off the album, behind 'Song for Clay') but after 'Uniform' we're lead into a series of mid to low tempo ballad-esque songs. 'On', 'Kreuzberg', 'Sunday', 'SRXT' and the greater portion of 'Where is Home?' are not bad, but they lack the energy that permeates the first 5 tracks. The songs are beautiful but could have been sequenced differently, perhaps to show a greater contrast with the uptempo, more abrasive 'Song for Clay', 'Hunting for Witches', 'The Prayer' and 'Uniform' The album is not going to be Bloc Party's best but it is still a wonderful album that shows Bloc Party is no one-trick pony Expand
  28. matta.
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    So Bloc Party changes their sound a little bit and everyone starts saying they're shit. Well fuck them. The band definitely seems to reaching out to a wider audience with this production, but the songs are still gorgeous (sometimes even moreso than Silent Alarm). While that album is still better, this is by no means a sophomore slump. People need to get past their weird and sick So Bloc Party changes their sound a little bit and everyone starts saying they're shit. Well fuck them. The band definitely seems to reaching out to a wider audience with this production, but the songs are still gorgeous (sometimes even moreso than Silent Alarm). While that album is still better, this is by no means a sophomore slump. People need to get past their weird and sick obsession with panning anything that sounds even slightly mainstream and actually start enjoying good music. Expand
  29. JordanH.
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    Fuck you Jerm this gets a 0. Maybe a 10 if I was trying to wean myself from bestiality.
  30. CharlieH.
    May 25, 2007
    0
    It gets a zero because it sucks you troll!
  31. JermA
    May 25, 2007
    4
    Who the fuck are these 10's? People are really rating this album 10/10? On the flip side this album is shitty, but it doesn't deserve a 0/10. I would rate it a 5 or maybe even a 6 because the music is decent. Unfortunately Bloc Party's last album was so great that in comparison A Weekend in The City gets a 4.
  32. TimF
    May 23, 2007
    9
    More consistant than Silent Alarm and DOESN'T sound like Coldpaly in parts, more like Radiohead in parts. Yeah some of the lyrics aren't that great and the vocals may be a bit too high up in the mix but it is generally a brilliant record. Top banana.
  33. BenS
    May 20, 2007
    7
    The previous reviewer claims that Bloc Party fans merely represent those who have grown out of Blink 182, is there any truth in this statement? Blink 182, let's not forget, were a truly hideous band, releasing album after album of puerile immaturity, and then suddenly becoming serious in the apex of their career. Sadly, when they realised that their fanbase was moving on, they The previous reviewer claims that Bloc Party fans merely represent those who have grown out of Blink 182, is there any truth in this statement? Blink 182, let's not forget, were a truly hideous band, releasing album after album of puerile immaturity, and then suddenly becoming serious in the apex of their career. Sadly, when they realised that their fanbase was moving on, they released their eponymous album, a collection of dirges that managed to wipe away all the dregs of fun that may have once clung to them. This, of course, left Blink 182 fans slightly confused. Adolescent teenagers the lot of them, they were undergoing the tortous effects of muddled hormones and youthful alienation, but could not connect with middle aged men whining about ghosts, tidal waves and broken relationships. Where now do they go? Well, maybe they would hear a Bloc Party song; full of the melody and longing, and yet blessed with intelligence, musicianship and true passion. These teenagers have grown up with Blink 182, and have found their adolescent fantasies crushed, and therefore the confusion and alienation would connect with them. Here, truly, was a band for them. Then comes 'A Weekend In The City', an album with a wider scope, one that moves their perspectives from themselves and onto the wider world, a place of similar confusion. It is not all alienation and world-wearyness however, as songs such as the glorious 'I Still Remember' give a true anthem of love and longing, that is poignant but hopeful, and will move a generation weaned on pranks and bestiality onto genuine emotion..........of course, that may all be rubbish but it's interesting to speculate. Expand
  34. DaBears
    May 10, 2007
    2
    I don
  35. BoM
    May 10, 2007
    4
    What happened guys? Silent alarm was right on the mark: energetic, powerful, and crisp. Weekend in the City is boring, self-important, and whiny. Where did the simplistic genius go? Why does this new album remind me of 9th grade? When was the turning point where Okereke decided that he would strain his voice beyond hideous IN EVERY FREEKIN SONG!?! If he wanted his vocals to sound like What happened guys? Silent alarm was right on the mark: energetic, powerful, and crisp. Weekend in the City is boring, self-important, and whiny. Where did the simplistic genius go? Why does this new album remind me of 9th grade? When was the turning point where Okereke decided that he would strain his voice beyond hideous IN EVERY FREEKIN SONG!?! If he wanted his vocals to sound like hoobastank, then I guess he made it to the big leagues Expand
  36. TomB
    May 8, 2007
    9
    If I'd reviewed this after my first few listens, I would've given it around 4, but like many others have said, it gets better with time. Not just saying that as a lie but it's true. Some of the lyrics are a bit cack now and then (eg "stamp on the feet of every ballerina") but they're generally pretty good and make for a great social commentary (but i won't go into If I'd reviewed this after my first few listens, I would've given it around 4, but like many others have said, it gets better with time. Not just saying that as a lie but it's true. Some of the lyrics are a bit cack now and then (eg "stamp on the feet of every ballerina") but they're generally pretty good and make for a great social commentary (but i won't go into the whole 'meerr merr meer you only get it if you're from england' thing). Basically, it's good, just not as accessible as their debut.. Expand
  37. MCF
    Apr 28, 2007
    7
    Slightly dissapointed, but it is better than any other crap out there. Silent Alarm set the bar way too high. This album has "Cabernet" potential and can improve over time. Still one of the best live acts to emerge in the last few years.
  38. MusicNut
    Apr 25, 2007
    5
    Doesn't touch Silent Alarm...
  39. BintangP
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    agree with clark. the more i listen to it, the more i like it. we cant compare it with silent alarms, since they are different. yet, its the best album i heard this year. and the leading british alternative rock band..
  40. MichelleK
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    Great album. Not as good as Silent Alarm but i guess you an't really compare the 2 as they are quite different. Bloc Party are going in the right direction in becoming the best (not nessasarily comercially)' British Alternative band out there (behind Kasabian)
  41. JC
    Apr 4, 2007
    3
    Loved the first album - was one of the best of 2005 but this is awful. Upon the first few listens I hoped it might grow on me but it is just as cack now as it was then. A poor follow-up full of it's own self-importance.
  42. Jahar
    Mar 28, 2007
    2
    Blah blah blah. This singer has some serious vocal issues. Not enjoyable to listen to at all. The only thing keeping this band afloat is the sound of the guitars.
  43. idouboidres
    Mar 26, 2007
    9
    no comment
  44. CLClark
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    I believe this record will get more respect once the knee-jerk backlash dies down. More mature and thought-out than Silent Alarm... Some lyrical stumbles but the honesty is refreshing. With each listen, I like it a little more. This is the best "whole" album I have heard in years.
  45. wrsgujwrsguj
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    This album stands by itself. Unfortunately, all those that want another "Silent Alarm" (even in their subconsciousness) will be disappointed. Good for Bloc Party in trying to be creative and record something that matters. And yes, while there is much more production in this album, it is by no means a sell out or even radio pop.
  46. amelia
    Mar 22, 2007
    8
    excellent follow up to silent alarm. some fans may feel its too different - less of the rock sound that penetrated silent alarm. i however love to see a band experiment and grow, as bloc party clearly has. love it. hope you all do too!
  47. JFPrieur
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    a solid followup to Silent Alarm, second albums are difficult and this is a band that wants to have a career insteat of a single hit. Also one of the best live bands, so tight for being just kids, mean that out of all the current crop of 'new' bands, Bloc Party will be the one to remember.
  48. VincentH
    Mar 19, 2007
    2
    I tried...dammit I tried, but this album just doesn't have the tunes to stand the test of time. I hoped that maybe it would get better with repeated listenings (like the new Shins or Of Montreal LP's), but unfortunately that's not the case. Even after one accepts the fact that this is not going to be anything similar to "Silent Alarm", and opens his/her mind totally to the I tried...dammit I tried, but this album just doesn't have the tunes to stand the test of time. I hoped that maybe it would get better with repeated listenings (like the new Shins or Of Montreal LP's), but unfortunately that's not the case. Even after one accepts the fact that this is not going to be anything similar to "Silent Alarm", and opens his/her mind totally to the new sounds and directions of the band, the songs still just don't stick. The album is not without its singular values (interesting variety of subjects, much more ambitious and spacey production, denser lyrics, etc.), but none of that really matters if you are not writing good songs. And Bloc Party is not writing good songs right now. I honestly am very saddened by this record because it makes me think that perhaps this band was just a one-album wonder, a group of guys who really only had one great album in them, and nothing more to offer. That may sound harsh, but this album really has nothing to offer listeners. It is a chore to sit through and like the new Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, it shows a once-great band trying new things and (seemingly) forgetting what made them great in the first place. Silent Alarm will be a masterpiece forever though. Expand
  49. matt
    Mar 14, 2007
    4
    so disappointing after their first record, typicl sophomore screw ups - over produced, etc...
  50. SimonD
    Mar 14, 2007
    9
    At first, i was quite dissapointed with this album. It didn't sound like Silent Alarm, and the songs seemed somewhat weak and uninspired. After a few listenings, i really started to like it. Songs like Kreuzberg and SRXT, i didn't like them first, have become favourites now. A great second album and a huge promise for an even better third. I understand why people'd dislike At first, i was quite dissapointed with this album. It didn't sound like Silent Alarm, and the songs seemed somewhat weak and uninspired. After a few listenings, i really started to like it. Songs like Kreuzberg and SRXT, i didn't like them first, have become favourites now. A great second album and a huge promise for an even better third. I understand why people'd dislike it, but listen to it more, and you might start loving it. I think it's a great achievement in alternative rock these days, this album. And underrated, when i look at the ratings. Bloc Party's certainly become one of the best bands i know. Favourites: Song For Clay, Kreuzberg and I Still Remember. Expand
  51. alanl
    Mar 14, 2007
    8
    Evolution might bother some poeple but for some of us it's fresh air after a long time in the darkness. Bloc Party shows they are more than just a band with dull riffs. A great sentimental album
  52. AlexD
    Mar 13, 2007
    3
    A huge disappointment. Kele tries too hard for a Bono persona, and the end result is an overly pretentious set of sub-par songs. I loved Silent Alarm, but this album doesn't do it for me.
  53. DecepticonPom
    Mar 12, 2007
    6
    Musically, it's like one of those dreams where - BRILLIANT! - you're Superman. But you can't actually fly properly or take off...
  54. RobertW
    Mar 7, 2007
    0
    It's dull, annoying, pretentious and full of histrionics. Bloc Party are the worst band in the world, and they've lowered the bar yet again for the endless wave of talentless bands-for-the-sake-of-being-in-a-band.
  55. AndyC
    Mar 7, 2007
    5
    A massive dissappointment - rather than build on the promise of Silent Alarm, Bloc Party have come back with an album that for the most part is a dour, self-indulgent, unlistenable shambles.
  56. JustinS
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    Awesome
  57. TroyP
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    The rating says it all. This is a young band coming into its own, and giving the audience both inspiration and something to dance and march to. The lyrical component of the album is going to strike those who find any deep meaning in rock to be "over-reaching" well, overought. Those however, who find rock a place to get out the demons of modern life, will find much to cheer about, both The rating says it all. This is a young band coming into its own, and giving the audience both inspiration and something to dance and march to. The lyrical component of the album is going to strike those who find any deep meaning in rock to be "over-reaching" well, overought. Those however, who find rock a place to get out the demons of modern life, will find much to cheer about, both musically and thematically. A great record. Tracks to overplay: Prayer, Uniform, I still remember, and Waiting for the 7:18. Expand
  58. JeffV
    Mar 6, 2007
    9
    Better than Silent Alarm in every possible way.
  59. RogierA
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    This album grows on you. The reviewers that trashed it can't have listened to it more than once. Don't listen to them, this is a great album.
  60. MW
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    Where is all this emo comments comment coming from? have some people actually listened to the album. Weekend in the City is amazing, I must admit on initial listens i was disapointed but give it a chance and you will realize what an amazing album it actually is. This is the type of album that seperates them from bands such as Kaiser Chiefs, Snor Patrol and Razorlight; where as those bands Where is all this emo comments comment coming from? have some people actually listened to the album. Weekend in the City is amazing, I must admit on initial listens i was disapointed but give it a chance and you will realize what an amazing album it actually is. This is the type of album that seperates them from bands such as Kaiser Chiefs, Snor Patrol and Razorlight; where as those bands made carear move and are happy to make popular albums without much depth (not saying there is anything wrong with that) Bloc Party have made an album that shows how talented they are. If u just want a nice guitar album with some fun tunes then look elsewhere to the bands previously mentioned; if u actually want to get something more from the music you listen too then Weekend in the City is the album for you. Expand
  61. TresT
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    I think that most people rated this album before letting the songs "grown" on them, which is the only time after which one can can truly see how good or bad the music really is. great album.
  62. EricC
    Mar 1, 2007
    9
    Wow. What's up with everyone? Why am I the only one who really had a good time with this cd? And don't call it emo rock, for chris' sake. I hate the whole emo crowd. They tackle the problem of a decaying urban world, and they did it almost perfectly. How many other people can do that and still maintain a mainstream sound? It's energetic, meaningful, and mature. True, I Wow. What's up with everyone? Why am I the only one who really had a good time with this cd? And don't call it emo rock, for chris' sake. I hate the whole emo crowd. They tackle the problem of a decaying urban world, and they did it almost perfectly. How many other people can do that and still maintain a mainstream sound? It's energetic, meaningful, and mature. True, I did start wanting them to stop mourning for the "city" and just have fun, but still, I appreciate what they're doing. Expand
  63. MikeW
    Mar 1, 2007
    0
    The worst and pretentious album of the year, they now forget your indie roots and wanna be Coldplay or any Panic at The disco kind emo band. To the garbage.
  64. JasonP
    Mar 1, 2007
    8
    I think the reason most people don't like this album is they haven't heard in conjunction with the "special" other album. What most people don't realize is that Bloc Party released two albums. There's an internet only album with 11 unreleased tracks that you can find if you scroung hard enough. This was officially sanctioned by the band and purposely done. The album is I think the reason most people don't like this album is they haven't heard in conjunction with the "special" other album. What most people don't realize is that Bloc Party released two albums. There's an internet only album with 11 unreleased tracks that you can find if you scroung hard enough. This was officially sanctioned by the band and purposely done. The album is called "Another Weekend in the City." The second album is more in the style of Silent Alarm and makes for the perfect companion to the AWITC. Seek it out. It will change your mind about the band. Expand
  65. GigiL
    Feb 26, 2007
    3
    Was really looking forward to this album as I loved Silent Alarm. There are absolutely no stand out songs on the album and lyrically is far weaker than it's predecessor. They seem to have lost the sound that made them endearing in the first place.
  66. JamesW
    Feb 26, 2007
    0
    Not necessary to release this crap, Kaiser Chiefes did much better than this horrible emo brit record.
  67. PaulF
    Feb 26, 2007
    9
    An awesome return and refreshingly different sound to Silent Alarm. Understandably it has its critics due to it being so different to their first outing but I actually prefer this album - much darker and epic.
  68. KrisG
    Feb 25, 2007
    9
    It's really intense. One of the best critical and political records in years.
  69. Davd
    Feb 25, 2007
    9
    i can't believe there are so many negative reviews of this album. the first time i heard it i was bitterly disappointed. then as soon as i put it on again it all sounded completely different. finally an overly-hyped indie band has come out with a second album that isn't exaclty the same as the first. theres something so emotional about weekend in the city, its tense and i can't believe there are so many negative reviews of this album. the first time i heard it i was bitterly disappointed. then as soon as i put it on again it all sounded completely different. finally an overly-hyped indie band has come out with a second album that isn't exaclty the same as the first. theres something so emotional about weekend in the city, its tense and important, they aren't just playing dancey music anymore because its fun to do ( but of course silent alarm is a great album). they just seem to have matured and found their own style writing original, epic and honest music. give this album a chance, however if you're only a top forty fan i'm afraid this might fly right past you, as most decent music would. Expand
  70. AlanB
    Feb 24, 2007
    9
    THe first few listens I admit I was unsure. But as I listened more I started to appreciate the significance of the lyrics. The album provides some insightful commentary on life in contemporary England, while at times musically echoing album one. But there's plenty of originality here. Recommended.
  71. AdamF
    Feb 22, 2007
    1
    What an utter disappointment. Perhaps it's unfair to compare this effort to Silent Alarm, but this is such a step back for a great band. You keep waiting for the punch that never comes. "I Still Remember" is the only decent track on this album. I can't believe I waited two years for this.
  72. MattD.
    Feb 22, 2007
    8
    The PopMatters review makes no sense. There is plenty of the more hard-edged Duran Duran style they are known for, and the softer songs sound pleasantly U2-like.
  73. JustinS
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    Awesome
  74. ScottI
    Feb 21, 2007
    4
    The album is either too quiet or too bombastic. I personally can't find much beauty in Okereke's voice either - he doesn't enunciate or have much eloquence/subtlety. Their louder, more intense tracks work for the most part. Hunting for Witches is a highlight and there are some other songs that have a nice driving riff. But this is a very inconsistent and a sloppy second The album is either too quiet or too bombastic. I personally can't find much beauty in Okereke's voice either - he doesn't enunciate or have much eloquence/subtlety. Their louder, more intense tracks work for the most part. Hunting for Witches is a highlight and there are some other songs that have a nice driving riff. But this is a very inconsistent and a sloppy second outing for Bloc Party. Expand
  75. JImC
    Feb 18, 2007
    9
    Dont trust the bad reviews... the thing is that this isnt SILENT ALARM,, this is their evolution to something different, not better or worse just differenet.. listen to the prayer,uniform and others and you will realise that you're in front of a masterpiece
  76. JustinF
    Feb 18, 2007
    0
    Creepy emo album.
  77. luiggi
    Feb 17, 2007
    3
    im disappointed. Silent Alarm was much better. I'm just sad right now.
  78. LukeT
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    It's Bloc Party not doing Silent Alarm again, which is a good thing. This is so much more epic, artistic, it's almost completely perfect for what it is.
  79. RaffW
    Feb 17, 2007
    0
    An Emo Album, this album is ridiculous and pose.
  80. LukeM
    Feb 15, 2007
    6
    I was a huge fan and consider this album a big disappointment. The first album was fun, catchy, and different - this one's just different. Except for "Hunting for Witches" this album is a inundated with the slow/mysterious whiny-voiced ballads that only took up a couple tracks on the debut (and were a welcome change of pace). This album strives to be more serious - "hey lets start I was a huge fan and consider this album a big disappointment. The first album was fun, catchy, and different - this one's just different. Except for "Hunting for Witches" this album is a inundated with the slow/mysterious whiny-voiced ballads that only took up a couple tracks on the debut (and were a welcome change of pace). This album strives to be more serious - "hey lets start the song slow for 3 minutes, and then suddenly pick up the pace!" - but falls flat. Expand
  81. george
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    james if you didn't like the first why did you buy the second album? :s album is excellent by the way..
  82. RaphaelE
    Feb 15, 2007
    5
    Very average album, couple of good songs but rest are instantly forgettable. Not one I'll copy for the car, probably one for ebay!
  83. LINDONK
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    luv it! their best !
  84. pislice
    Feb 14, 2007
    9
    At first I thought, ew, it's a little too Coldplayish/U2, but I've listened to it a few times and actually: it's a really solid, well executed album and some of the tracks are pretty slamming, realized and wicked. Not sure why people have problems with the lyrics, they seem right to me. The critics are being pretty severe with these guys. It's a great record.
  85. fredh
    Feb 14, 2007
    2
    poor record. very disappointing.
  86. Bezus
    Feb 13, 2007
    7
    good album..i agree with most..not as good as the first album but still alot of fun....a little over produced....kinda like the rough sound of the first album....gives it charecter...but overal the lyrics are lacking but the music is still jsut as jumpy.....would recomend hearing for yourself before purchase.
  87. MattZ
    Feb 13, 2007
    0
    The worst album of the decade.
  88. James
    Feb 13, 2007
    0
    Even worse than their first. Their first had a few good tracks, this is even more flat. Avoid!
  89. PhilB
    Feb 13, 2007
    8
    I think Bloc Party are suffering from their stellar - and probably overhyped, that's how these things go - debut, as the field balances and the backlash hits this album. It's a great album. Yes, less of the raw energy of the first one; but this is no longer the band's debut, they couldn't possibly get away with raw, rough music - the very same critics saying this album I think Bloc Party are suffering from their stellar - and probably overhyped, that's how these things go - debut, as the field balances and the backlash hits this album. It's a great album. Yes, less of the raw energy of the first one; but this is no longer the band's debut, they couldn't possibly get away with raw, rough music - the very same critics saying this album is boring would be lambasting Bloc Party for being too unadventurous, or worse, faking rawness if they'd gone for Silent Alarm II Expand
  90. deanc
    Feb 13, 2007
    9
    The first album this year that I've been able to listen to repeatedly. Incredibly strong musical backing that encompasses a range of styles. more dance orientated and funkier than any of the so called nu-rave bands. Not as dark as some reviewers have made out, but does deal with a wider range of issues than the usual indie fair.
  91. MusicMaven
    Feb 12, 2007
    8
    Bloc Party have lost some of the crackling, live-wire energy displayed on Silent Alarm, but they make up for it with craftsmanship and skill. The songs strike a balance between direct political broadsides and introspective personal reflections. The album as a whole takes a few listens to really appreciate, which may be why the initial reaction has been mixed. While this may not be the Bloc Party have lost some of the crackling, live-wire energy displayed on Silent Alarm, but they make up for it with craftsmanship and skill. The songs strike a balance between direct political broadsides and introspective personal reflections. The album as a whole takes a few listens to really appreciate, which may be why the initial reaction has been mixed. While this may not be the near-masterpiece Silent Alarm was, it's a fine album in its own right, and miles ahead of most of their contemporaries. It would definitely have made my top ten albums list for last year -- and I'm guessing it probably will this year, too. Expand
  92. JammyS
    Feb 12, 2007
    0
    There are not the same band, horrible record.
  93. LincolnW
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    simply awesome!
  94. Sean
    Feb 12, 2007
    8
    This is good. Different from Silent Alarm... but still good. As another reviewer said, it has great energy. I can't understand the negative reviewers, either. Listen for yourself and I think you'll be pleased.
  95. evan
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    I love it, every second
  96. Me
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    I personally think this is an incredible album. The album truly encapsulates the insanity and confusion of the modern city. But the latter half, full of introspective, often melancholy looks on life, is sheer genius. In my opinion, the whole album is a masterpiece. Every song holds its own and truly adds to the rest of them. This is certainly an album where the whole is better than the I personally think this is an incredible album. The album truly encapsulates the insanity and confusion of the modern city. But the latter half, full of introspective, often melancholy looks on life, is sheer genius. In my opinion, the whole album is a masterpiece. Every song holds its own and truly adds to the rest of them. This is certainly an album where the whole is better than the sum of its parts. While I can understand why people are upset that this isn't "Silent Alarm II" but I am very happy they went in a new direction. One that they will hopefully stick with. This is an empowering achievement in modern music. Expand
  97. JackPunk
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    I think it's superb, the music is exciting and leaps out at you, and the downtrodden atmosphere is subtle and exquisite. My one complaint: not a single cogent rhyme on the entire record. Otherwise, I think it's brilliant.
  98. aliciam
    Feb 12, 2007
    3
    I hated this album.
  99. paulcupboard
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    Excelent and appealing, it is not Silent |Alarm and thats what fans should want. It contains some old familiar haunts and some new corners to explore, if your not scared. If your hating this album cause it isnt enough like the old one then you'rea lost cause. BlocParty already made Silent Alarm twice do you need it again.
  100. BettyK
    Feb 12, 2007
    0
    the worst record of the year.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Those hoping to be converted are likely still to doubt the 'voice of a generation' tag.
  2. Under The Radar
    80
    It's a given that some people will miss the raucous Bloc Party, but there are enough in-your-face moments and hidden gems to keep A Weekend In The City on regular rotation. [#16, p.90]
  3. Urb
    70
    A post-electronica, post-rave production that jettisons genres and cherishes uncut creativity. [Jan/Feb 2007, p.77]