A Woman, A Man, Walked By - PJ Harvey & John Parish
A Woman, A Man, Walked By Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PJ Harvey and her producer John Parish team up again with a new album produced by Flood.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. In the wake of three questionable albums, shtick is a relief, not just because it's really great shtick but because after all these years we're happy to be clear about whether she's performing or expressing herself.
  2. 80
    Together, Harvey and Parish sound confidently experimental, like two soldiers daring each other to ever more stupendous feats of history.
  3. On A Woman, A Man Walked By, they create a world both beautiful and depraved, an unhinged record heavy on heartache and bristling with aggression.
  4. It's clear that this is Harvey and Parish unpredictably unhinged. If there's one thing that you can't do with PJ Harvey is pigeonhole her. And why the hell would you want to?
  5. 70
    For their second album as a duo, longtime collaborator John Parish gave Harvey finished songs to write lyrics for, and his sometimes brittle, sometimes thundering guitar work provides the skeleton for an array of fleshly narrators.
  6. Though A Woman a Man Walked By does have strong moments with longtime collaborator Parish, exercises in atonality like 'Pig Will Not' feel less womanly than regressively adolescent.
  7. A Woman A Man Walked By is a side project in the worst sense of the term; a slight diversion that's really for Harvey completists only. [Spring 2009, p.66]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. HannahM
    Apr 27, 2009
    absolutely wonderfully fantastic
  2. gabrielg
    Apr 1, 2009
    I love Polly!
  3. JaredJ
    Apr 13, 2009
    "Black Hearted Love" is a high quality song. After that, it's just noise. I know these two have talent, but on this one, they were just trying to be weird. Expand