Aaliyah

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Aaliyah Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the third album for Detroit-born Aaliyah, who debuted in 1994 (at the age of 15) with 'Age Ain't Nothing But a Number.' Timbaland produces three tracks. The singer died in a plane crash in August 2001, shortly after the release of the album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Aaliyah isn't just a statement of maturity and a stunning artistic leap forward, it is one of the strongest urban soul records of its time.
  2. Aaliyah only missteps when she tries to stretch outside of her musical comfort zones, indulging in Latin pop and cheesy metal on ''Read Between the Lines'' and ''What If,'' respectively.
  3. Though not as immediate as some of her past mainstream work, Aaliyah's latest has the smoky temptress slowly working her way through R&B, hip-hop and even slightly techno beats...
  4. When it clicks, "Aaliyah" transforms the confusion of young adulthood into exhilarating freedom
  5. What's most pronounced is the subtlety of it all, the tastefulness, the lack of bombast and histrionics.
  6. 70
    At times, Aaliyah's somewhat frail, underpowered vocals seem insufficient to meet the emotional heights she seeks to attain (particularly on the epic ballad "I Refuse"), but simultaneously that's a large part of her appeal.
  7. An album of dull, vocal virtuoso ballads.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. F.F.
    Jan 13, 2002
    10
    "Aaliyah" was a peek into the adult world of Aaliyah, no longer anyone's Babygirl, this cd is worth the cost if only to hear the sensual "Aaliyah" was a peek into the adult world of Aaliyah, no longer anyone's Babygirl, this cd is worth the cost if only to hear the sensual whispers of "It's Whatever". "More than a woman" is a tight groove that from the intro grabs you and makes you want to dance. "I Care 4U" is wonderful, with a final note that bounces around in your head for what seems like moments after the track has ended. "Loose Rap", "Extra Smooth" and "Those were the days" are fun, uptempo fare, and "Rock the Boat" is so "naughty naughty" that the fact that you find yourself blushing as you sing along is not enough to make you find the strength to turn it off. A wonderful cd, with rarely a disappointing moment. "Aaliyah" offers you far more enjoyable tracks than most artists offer on a single disc. Expand
  2. TP
    Sep 8, 2001
    10
    Every track is a winner. I really like the ballad "I Care 4 U". It's hot. "We Need A Resolution" and "Loose Rap" are infectious. Aaliyah Every track is a winner. I really like the ballad "I Care 4 U". It's hot. "We Need A Resolution" and "Loose Rap" are infectious. Aaliyah handles the sultry laid back style that makes her music great. She's not trying to be anyone but Aaliyah. She is true to herself and the music and lyrics that her producers and writers created. I've respected and enjoyed her talent and vocal delivery since her first album. Expand
  3. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    Completando em 2014, 20 anos de carreira, 13 anos de seu último disco e 12 de sua morte, Aaliyah mostra em seu último trabalho o porque deCompletando em 2014, 20 anos de carreira, 13 anos de seu último disco e 12 de sua morte, Aaliyah mostra em seu último trabalho o porque de deter o título de princesa do hip-hop. A jovem cantora e também atriz, vem no seu disco autointitulado ''Aaliyah'' junto com seu time de produtores e compositores Stephen Garret, Eric Seats, Rapture e seus parceiros do seu excelente disco anterior, ''On In A Million'', Missy Elliott e Timbaland.
    Timbaland junto com Aaaliyah, inicia o disco com ''We Need A Resolution'', onde Aaliyah usa todo o seu poder de sedução e sua voz que nos soa a ouvir - ironicamente - como um anjo, a dupla se encontra novamente na excelente ''More Than A Woman'', onde Aaliyah nos deixa mais do que visível que ela é muito mais do que uma mulher e com letra assinada por Missy Elliott nos prende na melancolia de ''I Care 4 U''. O disco ainda nos traz a deliciosa ''Rock the Boat'', a faixa que embalou o verão americano de 2002 e foi o último videoclipe filmado pela eterna Baby Girl. O disco explora sonoridades totalmente ousadas para época e nos prova mais uma vez o porque de Aaliyah ser uma artista totalmente a frente do seu tempo, ''What If'' com seus rifes de guitarra e sua voz hipnotizadora é só mais um dos experimentos consagrados dentro deste. Muito mais que uma mulher, ''Aaliyah'' nos traz todo o poder e maturidade de uma artista que deixou o mundo da música de forma prematura, mas com atitude e poder suficiente para ser lembrada até hoje como um dos nomes que definiu o que o R&B é hoje. Podem se passar mais 12 anos, que o seu disco de capa vermelha ainda nos soará fresco, o R&B te ama, Baby Girl.
    Expand
  4. IanRobinS
    Nov 6, 2002
    10
    I love her 3rd album... My most fave song is: Rock The Boat, What If, Never No More, More Than A Woman, I Care 4 U, We Need A Resolution, I I love her 3rd album... My most fave song is: Rock The Boat, What If, Never No More, More Than A Woman, I Care 4 U, We Need A Resolution, I Refuse, I Can Be, Extra Smooth. I miss you Aaliyah! I thought you could have met me in person again when you're supposed to be back in Melbourne, Australia for promo tour but you're gone! You are too young to die! Thanks for the music and movie biz, Aaliyah! I love you!!! Expand
  5. Lela
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    Aaliyah is an album that embodies the sista of the millenium, sassy, sensual, gentle brash, rebellious and sometimes dark. Her singing was Aaliyah is an album that embodies the sista of the millenium, sassy, sensual, gentle brash, rebellious and sometimes dark. Her singing was even more jazz than before, her silky and snake-like vocals tend to overwhelm the listener. The production of course is top notch ranging from Tim's futurisic, freaky-hip-hop electronica, to the melodic production to the industrial, this album is arguably the most muscially diverse album out. And the thing is, it still stick after 4 years. Whether Aaliyah is trying to love you, seduce, ignore or hate you, this what Urban music is about! GET THIS ALBUM!!! Collapse
  6. Aug 20, 2014
    10
    This album is pure perfection. Aaliyah is confident in her vocal ability. Her self-titled album showed her artistry. Aaliyah knows how to makeThis album is pure perfection. Aaliyah is confident in her vocal ability. Her self-titled album showed her artistry. Aaliyah knows how to make good music. From the futuristic "We Need a Resolution" to the sensual "Rock the Boat" to the classic, emotional ballad of "I Refuse" every song is interesting in every way. When Aaliyah jumped out of her usual R&B roots on "What If" it was like she was comfortable with that genre of music. Aaliyah is and was a true musician. This album showed true musicianship and shows that Aaliyah created a classic not only R&B, but classic album of all time. Expand
  7. MarlinB.
    Aug 9, 2001
    6
    I FELT IT COULD HAVE BEEN A LIL MORE UP BEAT , I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN BY THE FIRST IMPRESSION OF "RESOLUTION" THAT THIS WOULD BE A I FELT IT COULD HAVE BEEN A LIL MORE UP BEAT , I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN BY THE FIRST IMPRESSION OF "RESOLUTION" THAT THIS WOULD BE A "DISSAPOINTING" ALBUM, NOT LIKE HER PAST WORK WITH ONE IN A MILLION DID SHE SEARVE THE SAME LOVE THAT SHE LACKED 2 SONGS OUT OF THIS WHOLE ALBUM, WELL 3 WITH "RESOLUTION" WHATS YOUR PROBLEM AALIYAH, CAN WE HELP YOU RESOLVE IT. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews