Aaliyah

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Aaliyah Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the third album for Detroit-born Aaliyah, who debuted in 1994 (at the age of 15) with 'Age Ain't Nothing But a Number.' Timbaland produces three tracks. The singer died in a plane crash in August 2001, shortly after the release of the album.

Top Track

Rock The Boat
Boy you know you make me float Boy you really get me high, hoo I feel like I'm on dope 'Cause you, you serve me on a regular Boy we need to tie this... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Aaliyah isn't just a statement of maturity and a stunning artistic leap forward, it is one of the strongest urban soul records of its time.
  2. Aaliyah only missteps when she tries to stretch outside of her musical comfort zones, indulging in Latin pop and cheesy metal on ''Read Between the Lines'' and ''What If,'' respectively.
  3. Though not as immediate as some of her past mainstream work, Aaliyah's latest has the smoky temptress slowly working her way through R&B, hip-hop and even slightly techno beats...
  4. When it clicks, "Aaliyah" transforms the confusion of young adulthood into exhilarating freedom
  5. What's most pronounced is the subtlety of it all, the tastefulness, the lack of bombast and histrionics.
  6. 70
    At times, Aaliyah's somewhat frail, underpowered vocals seem insufficient to meet the emotional heights she seeks to attain (particularly on the epic ballad "I Refuse"), but simultaneously that's a large part of her appeal.
  7. An album of dull, vocal virtuoso ballads.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. F.F.
    Jan 13, 2002
    10
    "Aaliyah" was a peek into the adult world of Aaliyah, no longer anyone's Babygirl, this cd is worth the cost if only to hear the sensual "Aaliyah" was a peek into the adult world of Aaliyah, no longer anyone's Babygirl, this cd is worth the cost if only to hear the sensual whispers of "It's Whatever". "More than a woman" is a tight groove that from the intro grabs you and makes you want to dance. "I Care 4U" is wonderful, with a final note that bounces around in your head for what seems like moments after the track has ended. "Loose Rap", "Extra Smooth" and "Those were the days" are fun, uptempo fare, and "Rock the Boat" is so "naughty naughty" that the fact that you find yourself blushing as you sing along is not enough to make you find the strength to turn it off. A wonderful cd, with rarely a disappointing moment. "Aaliyah" offers you far more enjoyable tracks than most artists offer on a single disc. Expand
  2. TP
    Sep 8, 2001
    10
    Every track is a winner. I really like the ballad "I Care 4 U". It's hot. "We Need A Resolution" and "Loose Rap" are infectious. Aaliyah Every track is a winner. I really like the ballad "I Care 4 U". It's hot. "We Need A Resolution" and "Loose Rap" are infectious. Aaliyah handles the sultry laid back style that makes her music great. She's not trying to be anyone but Aaliyah. She is true to herself and the music and lyrics that her producers and writers created. I've respected and enjoyed her talent and vocal delivery since her first album. Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2017
    10
    O “Aaliyah” de 2001 é o último disco em vida de uma das mais influentes artistas de r&b. Em seu registro final, um álbum intitulado, com umaO “Aaliyah” de 2001 é o último disco em vida de uma das mais influentes artistas de r&b. Em seu registro final, um álbum intitulado, com uma capa vermelha fotografada por David LaChapelle, que a cantora descreve como o seu próprio “Control” - álbum de Janet onde a artista assumiu o autonomia e poder criativo de sua carreira - a cantora aposta em seus já consagrados parceiros - que ela tem o mérito de ter descoberto - Timbaland e Missy Eliott, que aqui são coadjuvantes das produções e composições de Stephen Garrett (Static Major), Eric Seats e Rapture. A cantora que aqui é mais sexy e madura que em seus trabalhos anteriores, tem a ousadia de deixar Missy Eliott e Timbaland que eram apostas fáceis de sucesso com apenas 3 das 15 faixas de sua edição normal. O álbum traz uma sonoridade sem compromisso com os charts da época, apesar de “Try Again” - trilha sonora de seu filme auto-estrelado “Romeu Tem Quem Morrer” - ter sido um grande hit que alcançou o topo do Hot 100 da Billboard e deu a Aaliyah prêmios como o MTV VMA. A artista traz sua modéstia em faixas de R&B como “Extra Smooth” que teriam chances tranquilas de serem grandes hits do gênero na época. Diferente de suas concorrentes da época, Aaliyah consegue ser mais variada que Alicia Keys, mais autêntica que Beyoncé e experimentar muito mais que Janet tenha neste século XXI. A artista sabe muito bem como alocar suas influências e até nos surpreende com faixas que mesclam o r&b com o rock como em “What It”, faixa que tem Nine Inch Nails - um de seus artistas favoritos - como inspiração.
    “Aaliyah” não é só um álbum bom, por méritos de uma produção polida, ele é um disco que consegue vencer o tempo, tem qualidade, vence obviedade e tem além da modéstia, a ousadia. As letras do disco são um verdadeiro grito de independência, autoconfiança e maturidade. Em sua maioria das faixas, a cantora transmite um discurso de sempre estar no controle de suas relações. “What If”, faixa já citada, tem uma letra que fala sobre quebrar esteriótipos femininos, assim como “Never No More” - uma das baladas do disco - trata de uma relação abusiva, que a cantora luta contra.
    Quase 16 anos depois, “Aaliyah” permanece como um clássico do gênero, um álbum que redefiniu conceitos, que inspirou toda a geração atual - artistas como o rapper Drake se inspiram nela - e que hoje, é um trabalho que encontra poucos concorrentes à sua altura.
    Quando muitos diziam que a artista teria um futuro brilhante não só na música, como no cinema, era a certeza de observar que Aaliyah deixou em vida trabalhos que ainda hoje soam frescos e que vários de hoje tentam refazer. Uma artista com personalidade e sempre à frente do seu tempo, Aaliyah é firmemente a eterna princesa do r&b.
    Expand
  4. IanRobinS
    Nov 6, 2002
    10
    I love her 3rd album... My most fave song is: Rock The Boat, What If, Never No More, More Than A Woman, I Care 4 U, We Need A Resolution, I I love her 3rd album... My most fave song is: Rock The Boat, What If, Never No More, More Than A Woman, I Care 4 U, We Need A Resolution, I Refuse, I Can Be, Extra Smooth. I miss you Aaliyah! I thought you could have met me in person again when you're supposed to be back in Melbourne, Australia for promo tour but you're gone! You are too young to die! Thanks for the music and movie biz, Aaliyah! I love you!!! Expand
  5. Lela
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    Aaliyah is an album that embodies the sista of the millenium, sassy, sensual, gentle brash, rebellious and sometimes dark. Her singing was Aaliyah is an album that embodies the sista of the millenium, sassy, sensual, gentle brash, rebellious and sometimes dark. Her singing was even more jazz than before, her silky and snake-like vocals tend to overwhelm the listener. The production of course is top notch ranging from Tim's futurisic, freaky-hip-hop electronica, to the melodic production to the industrial, this album is arguably the most muscially diverse album out. And the thing is, it still stick after 4 years. Whether Aaliyah is trying to love you, seduce, ignore or hate you, this what Urban music is about! GET THIS ALBUM!!! Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2014
    10
    This album is pure perfection. Aaliyah is confident in her vocal ability. Her self-titled album showed her artistry. Aaliyah knows how to makeThis album is pure perfection. Aaliyah is confident in her vocal ability. Her self-titled album showed her artistry. Aaliyah knows how to make good music. From the futuristic "We Need a Resolution" to the sensual "Rock the Boat" to the classic, emotional ballad of "I Refuse" every song is interesting in every way. When Aaliyah jumped out of her usual R&B roots on "What If" it was like she was comfortable with that genre of music. Aaliyah is and was a true musician. This album showed true musicianship and shows that Aaliyah created a classic not only R&B, but classic album of all time. Expand
  7. MarlinB.
    Aug 9, 2001
    6
    I FELT IT COULD HAVE BEEN A LIL MORE UP BEAT , I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN BY THE FIRST IMPRESSION OF "RESOLUTION" THAT THIS WOULD BE A I FELT IT COULD HAVE BEEN A LIL MORE UP BEAT , I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN BY THE FIRST IMPRESSION OF "RESOLUTION" THAT THIS WOULD BE A "DISSAPOINTING" ALBUM, NOT LIKE HER PAST WORK WITH ONE IN A MILLION DID SHE SEARVE THE SAME LOVE THAT SHE LACKED 2 SONGS OUT OF THIS WHOLE ALBUM, WELL 3 WITH "RESOLUTION" WHATS YOUR PROBLEM AALIYAH, CAN WE HELP YOU RESOLVE IT. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews