Abnormally Attracted To Sin

Abnormally Attracted To Sin Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest release for the singer-songwriter is her first independent album after ending her contract with Epic Records.

Top Track

Welcome to England
Do a dance for me, baby, it is late still you pour me A tall one, go on, let the liquid take off what you're on You've been down before, boy, not... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. The songs in between are the exploration of the journey from that dark, quiet beginning to that beautifully indulgent conclusion, and boy are there some twists and turns along the way.
  2. Her 12th studio release, Abnormally Attracted to Sin, finds her in full command of her expanded arsenal, creating an overall sound that's as psychedelic as it is classic.
  3. A 17-song steam trunk of an album, the new collection strikes a canny balance between Victorian-inspired decadence, mythical pathos and arch camp.
  4. Q Magazine
    60
    Abnormally Attracted To Sin is a long haul, but among these 18 songs ate some of the best Amos has written. [Jun 2009, p.123]
  5. Abnormally Attracted To Sin turns out to be a collection of tracks that simply doesn't work as a whole because it can't properly be listened to in one go. Pity, for somewhere in amongst it all Tori proves that she's still capable of producing a storming album.
  6. 50
    Unfortunately, these hook-starved arrangements tend toward a static brand of ambient cabaret, which makes Amos' lyrics easy to tune out. Too many little earthquakes, not enough seismic jolts.
  7. Uncut
    40
    Toris 10th refuses to gel into anything illuminating. [Jun 2009, p.83]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    I have been listening to Tori Amos for almost 20 years now. I have experienced her evolution over time. Like anybody, we go throughI have been listening to Tori Amos for almost 20 years now. I have experienced her evolution over time. Like anybody, we go through transitions. Abnormally Attracted to Sin is by far my favorite transformation she has shared with her audience. AAtS is not instant gratification, you must research it's origins and listen for musical signals in each Sin based song. It's a beautiful collection of electric gothic inspired tunes surely that will stand the test of time. Once you get it, you won't let go. Start with the title track, examine the subtext, concentrate on the layers of sounds, from there work your way out..... There's a key hole on the back of the cd for a reason. Mmm Expand
  2. ShaneK
    May 20, 2009
    10
    Yes, this album is long, but even the few songs that would've been B-sides have a certain charm, and I'm glad they are on the disc. Yes, this album is long, but even the few songs that would've been B-sides have a certain charm, and I'm glad they are on the disc. I have been a fan for 15 years, and this is her most impressive effort in quite a while. Lush electronics and vocals, all beautifully wrapped up in trademark Tori weirdness. This album exceeded all my expectations! Expand
  3. JulioA
    May 29, 2009
    10
    The more i listen to this album the more i like it... thats the good thing about Tori, she creates songs 4 a lifetime not for 2 weeks or 2 The more i listen to this album the more i like it... thats the good thing about Tori, she creates songs 4 a lifetime not for 2 weeks or 2 months. I still love and listen Little earthquakes, the Beekepper and all of her albums as if they came out 4 sale yesterday... AATS is a rare and dark masterpiece...hard at first but beautiful and captivating then, just like its creator. Expand
  4. Lori
    May 20, 2009
    8
    A bit on the long side, but for the most part very enjoyable. I skip past 3 or 4 songs that seem like filler or b-side material, but I find A bit on the long side, but for the most part very enjoyable. I skip past 3 or 4 songs that seem like filler or b-side material, but I find myself really loving a lot of the songs more than I did her previous album American Doll Posse. Expand
  5. ripv
    Jul 4, 2009
    8
    Yes it's not as good as the early stuff, but I feel it's better than the last two albums, it's more interesting and easily Yes it's not as good as the early stuff, but I feel it's better than the last two albums, it's more interesting and easily more listenable, less irritating. Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2014
    6
    I find this album slightly tedious. It's better than Beekeeper, A LITTLE, maybe.... but some of these songs are just embarrassing. Not evenI find this album slightly tedious. It's better than Beekeeper, A LITTLE, maybe.... but some of these songs are just embarrassing. Not even cute. What is going on with her sometimes? lol Flavor, Curtain Call, and Fast Horse are brilliant songs. There are always at least a handful with Amos. This is only her second mediocre record. Expand
  7. Sep 19, 2017
    3
    Probably Tori Amos's worst studio album. The overwhelming number of tracks (17) would not be a problem if they were actually great: both "BoysProbably Tori Amos's worst studio album. The overwhelming number of tracks (17) would not be a problem if they were actually great: both "Boys for Pele" and "Scarlet's Walk" are long albums, but they never feel as lengthy as "Abnormally Attracted to Sin" does. The issue dwells in the music itself: too many songs in this album sound uninspired, emotionless and bland. The few standout songs ("Flavor", "Starling", "Fast Horse", "Ophelia", "Lady in Blue") lose their shine when paired with mediocre tracks such as "Strong Black Vine", "Fire to Your Plain", "Police Me", "500 Miles" or the embarrassing "Not Dying Today": this latter could be the most obvious candidate for "Worst Tori Amos song ever". The production, based on a mixture of live band and synthesisers "à la Choirgirl Hotel", fails to create an attractive atmosphere, and most of the time the music sounds terribly generic. Besides, unlike her previous and following albums, her voice sounds surprisingly flat and strained here. There are some interesting tracks in "Abnormally Attracted to Sin", but this is a tedious, disappointing album. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews