Absolution

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 323 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 323

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Another masterpiece by Muse, following the amazing Origin of Symmetry. Every song on the album is great, with the top 3 being Hysteria, Butterflies & Hurricanes, and Stockholm Syndrome.
  2. valenb
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    A worthy successor to their excellent second album Origin of Symmetry. These are three very talented guys who will leave you breathless on your stereo as well as on a stage. Sure, there may be some Radiohead, Queen, and even Rage Against the Machine similarities, but isn't the best music supposed to draw on the things that came before it? Whatever they've taken, they've A worthy successor to their excellent second album Origin of Symmetry. These are three very talented guys who will leave you breathless on your stereo as well as on a stage. Sure, there may be some Radiohead, Queen, and even Rage Against the Machine similarities, but isn't the best music supposed to draw on the things that came before it? Whatever they've taken, they've made their own. Expand
  3. JesseS
    Sep 23, 2004
    10
    This album is astonishing perfection. The skewing Stylus and Mojo reviews are unfair and abysmal;you cannot criticize music for being a specific genre you don't happen to favor. The writing is seamless, not fragmented, as the rather fragmented review in Stylus ludicrously suggests. Any band that can achieve a moshing audience with classical chord structures gets a 10 in my book. All This album is astonishing perfection. The skewing Stylus and Mojo reviews are unfair and abysmal;you cannot criticize music for being a specific genre you don't happen to favor. The writing is seamless, not fragmented, as the rather fragmented review in Stylus ludicrously suggests. Any band that can achieve a moshing audience with classical chord structures gets a 10 in my book. All hail MUSE, the best band of the decade. Expand
  4. joank
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    This is the best CD I've bought in a long time and one of the few that I love every single song.
  5. MarcosF
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    This album is the culmination of hundrets of concerts and the high level of development in their music style, I think everybody that loves english pop-rock should have it.
  6. StefanS
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    Immense. Genius. Listen to it. I can understand why some may be off-put by the large apocalyptic focus, or the traditional 'Radioohead comparisons'. But screw em, this is great.
  7. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    The best CD so far with Muse, also the Showbiz that is not in the Metacritic database, pure 10, perfect. If you are feeling down, listen to this. The grand piano is the perfection in my opinion.
  8. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Remember Showbiz... Who would've thought that a band who made a album so down to earth with it's alt rock could make something sound so extraterrestrial. Origin of symmetry just opened a gate for us, but as it ends we were disabled to enter, kind of like an ending to an episode of a show which continues to the beginning of the next one. So with absolution muse have not only continued theirRemember Showbiz... Who would've thought that a band who made a album so down to earth with it's alt rock could make something sound so extraterrestrial. Origin of symmetry just opened a gate for us, but as it ends we were disabled to enter, kind of like an ending to an episode of a show which continues to the beginning of the next one. So with absolution muse have not only continued their work they've previously set up on OoS but they added so much on it. Guitars are so heavy that they could recreate the effect of a Moses stick, the melodies are layered perfectly and the album itself is nothing short of a classic. The grandiosity of muses music only adds to the curiosity of whether all those themes could be applied to the world we currently live in, that is, are those lyrics used as a metaphor describing our surroundings covering us so tight. Political songs like time is running out drain from the usual muse theme well of political corruption and brainwashing while other apocalypse invocating songs are doing their job too good that they make you question whether you can take muse seriously. Apocalypse please, an art rock song with a mind dementia inducing piano work that would postpone a true apocalypse until the songs end at least. But muse don't stop here, they make a ironic, even sarcastic, tribute to the underground society (let's call them underground) with ruled by secrecy, they question current beliefs in the unnatural (that is they question the perspective in which we see god and religion) with thoughts of a dying atheist and even pay attention to the human mind and thought and the way they provide as a muse for creating. All of these themes put together on a same record are a bit too much to take and digest, but once they lay down and insert themselves in your head you will be one lucky bastard (of course if you allow them to). Bringing new philosophical foundations to life has never been so much fun, just remember to close that gate until the next release. Expand
  9. masterd.
    Apr 7, 2004
    10
    I can't stop listening this! Suddenly I started to like " Plug in baby", and now, well, can't push stop.
  10. KelseyL
    Jul 8, 2004
    10
    EXCELLENT!!!
  11. Nov 6, 2011
    6
    While Absolution is not a bad record by any means, it exemplifies the 'rage against the machine' meets 'radiohead' criticisms. The album features plenty of good songs, but fails to find a footing and sounds disjointed at times. Still a solid effort with some great, climactic songs.
  12. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    Best muse album
    absolutely flawless and all songs are beautiful
    it has either slow sad ballads like blackout, falling away with you or endlessly, but also great powerful rock songs like stockolm syndrome, hysteria and time is running out
  13. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    One of the best albums of the past decade.
    As for haters who give it 0. Really? If you hate it so much why do you bother to visit this page at all? That's what I cannot get.
  14. Mark
    Jun 24, 2008
    3
    Warning! Contains self-indulgent wankery. Very lame album, save for 'Hysteria', which is actually quite good.
  15. AdamX
    Apr 20, 2004
    0
    dreadful
  16. DaveC
    Apr 15, 2004
    4
    Overblown, pretentious, samey and at times unlistenable, although there are some passable highlights, including the title track.
  17. MarkM
    May 22, 2004
    4
    Muse are to Radiohead what Creed is to Peral Jam, what Bud Light is to Guinness...
  18. AndyY
    May 9, 2006
    5
    Radiohead-lite, minus the abstract creativity.
  19. TimS
    Jan 2, 2007
    3
    After the amazing first two albums Muse have changed, they are now a different band - a much more commercial group. Their first albums contained a lot more obscure darkness and was much more intense. While I can listen to most of the track (except "Sing for Absolution" which is a terrible track) it is not even decent ambient music. I was very disappointed - some songs are good though but After the amazing first two albums Muse have changed, they are now a different band - a much more commercial group. Their first albums contained a lot more obscure darkness and was much more intense. While I can listen to most of the track (except "Sing for Absolution" which is a terrible track) it is not even decent ambient music. I was very disappointed - some songs are good though but the not-good out-weighs the good (the good being "Hysteria", "Stockholm Syndrome" and "Time is running out". Expand
  20. MarcoM
    Nov 15, 2005
    4
    Nothing new or interesting...
  21. MAbs
    Jun 26, 2005
    0
    Muse are the worst band ever. That is all.
  22. Apr 27, 2011
    3
    Muse desperately need to learn some restraint. Compositionally, their music has promise, but they ruin it with overwrought melodrama. Most of the songs contain an over-the-top swell or outburst and quite a bit of over-emoting from Matt Bellamy; this is frustrating enough in any individual song, but the cumulative effect of an entire album of this extravagance is absolutely maddening.
  23. JamesN
    May 21, 2005
    9
    An excellent album, the only reason i give this a 9 is because Origin of Symmetry was better. It would have been worthy of a ten if it didnt have origin of symmetry to live up to. Most of the songs are quality, the lyrics are very strong and once you listen to this you will realise why you want to see them live.
  24. sallyj
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    awesome album. radiohead suck
  25. SamS
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    This is Muse's masterpiece. I for the life of me cannot understand how most of the critics prefer "Black Holes and Revelations." Sure it is epic and at times over the top, but the craftsmanship of the songs and Costey's production are brilliant. Muse shows some serious range on this one, kicking it into high gear with super-charged rock songs like "Stockholm Syndrome," and This is Muse's masterpiece. I for the life of me cannot understand how most of the critics prefer "Black Holes and Revelations." Sure it is epic and at times over the top, but the craftsmanship of the songs and Costey's production are brilliant. Muse shows some serious range on this one, kicking it into high gear with super-charged rock songs like "Stockholm Syndrome," and Hysteria." and then settling down nicely with "Blackout," and "Falling Away With You." Expand
  26. Karolina
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    The second best album they ever made.
  27. MacM
    Mar 29, 2004
    10
    Nothing short of astonishing.
  28. DaveL
    Apr 26, 2004
    10
    Truly amazing
  29. ErwinK
    Apr 5, 2004
    9
    Hadn't really paid that much attention to Muse in the past. But then I saw them at The Big Day Out in Melbourne and I was blown away. My only criticism about the album is that it is too intense.
  30. [Anonymous]
    May 10, 2004
    10
    compared to muse most of the other "music" we get to hear is just crap
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Filter
    90
    A massive concept album that is so gluttonously huge-sounding that it makes The Wall sound like a Sebadoh record. [#10, p.94]
  2. Despite the daunting Radiohead-colored cloud that hangs heavy over Muse, the band pushes the limits of its slick, pre-apocalyptic rock with a self-assured strut.
  3. Mojo
    30
    Pushes the trio's grandiose delusions onto new levels of interpretative-dancing, mirror-cracking excess. [Oct 2003, p.107]