Absolution

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 290 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 290

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2015
    9
    Absolution is literally Origin of Symmetry 2.0

    It starts off with a killer track (in the same spirit that In The Flesh? kicks off The Wall) and only rollercoasters through talking about the end of the world and, like most of Muse, motifs of broken relationships, salvation, and panic.

    It's still their best album to date, on par with OoS.
  2. Jun 26, 2015
    10
    And don't know what more you can possible ask to a rock album. This is a MasterPiece. Creative, different styles and sounds between songs...and all just fit perfect togheter
  3. Jun 9, 2015
    8
    A great record from what was probably the golden age of this (still) amazing rock band. Many incredible tunes and some true amazing pieces of work (Hysteria, Stockholm Syndrome, Sing for Absolution). Not every track is memorable, but they still managed to craft great follow-up to Origins of Symmetry. Still, I think Muse proved their greatness much better with the next LP, the beautifulA great record from what was probably the golden age of this (still) amazing rock band. Many incredible tunes and some true amazing pieces of work (Hysteria, Stockholm Syndrome, Sing for Absolution). Not every track is memorable, but they still managed to craft great follow-up to Origins of Symmetry. Still, I think Muse proved their greatness much better with the next LP, the beautiful Black Holes & Revelations. Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2015
    7
    Excelente Álbum mesmo sendo mais fraco. Apocalipse Please,Sing For Absolution,Ruled By Secrecy,Blackout são meio fracas. Mas tem a clássica Hysteria
    Top 5 Absolution 2003
    1-Hysteria
    2-The Small Print
    3-Time It's Running Out
    4-Falling Away With You
    5-Stockholm Syndrome And Butterflies And Hurricanes
  5. Dec 1, 2014
    6
    Absolution is one of those records that aims for grandiose but for the most part falls short. While "Absolution" is a very listenable and at times enjoyable record, at times Muse are just overly dramatic and it can get a bit trying. There are plenty of nice little hooks and lines on the record but the operatic vocals and apocalyptic lyrics take themselves a bit too seriously in places. ForAbsolution is one of those records that aims for grandiose but for the most part falls short. While "Absolution" is a very listenable and at times enjoyable record, at times Muse are just overly dramatic and it can get a bit trying. There are plenty of nice little hooks and lines on the record but the operatic vocals and apocalyptic lyrics take themselves a bit too seriously in places. For me, Muse records always have killer singles which bring their albums up a few notches - "Time is Running Out" a great example of this on "Absolution". Unfortunately the other singles from this album are pretty average but overall we are left with a solid, if not terribly exciting album. Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    My second favourite album from Muse after Hullabaloo.

    Every track is amazing, nearly every song in here is 10/10 IMO. The amount of emotion in this album is just mind-blowing. This album really reached my core. Many sad songs in here
  7. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Remember Showbiz... Who would've thought that a band who made a album so down to earth with it's alt rock could make something sound so extraterrestrial. Origin of symmetry just opened a gate for us, but as it ends we were disabled to enter, kind of like an ending to an episode of a show which continues to the beginning of the next one. So with absolution muse have not only continued theirRemember Showbiz... Who would've thought that a band who made a album so down to earth with it's alt rock could make something sound so extraterrestrial. Origin of symmetry just opened a gate for us, but as it ends we were disabled to enter, kind of like an ending to an episode of a show which continues to the beginning of the next one. So with absolution muse have not only continued their work they've previously set up on OoS but they added so much on it. Guitars are so heavy that they could recreate the effect of a Moses stick, the melodies are layered perfectly and the album itself is nothing short of a classic. The grandiosity of muses music only adds to the curiosity of whether all those themes could be applied to the world we currently live in, that is, are those lyrics used as a metaphor describing our surroundings covering us so tight. Political songs like time is running out drain from the usual muse theme well of political corruption and brainwashing while other apocalypse invocating songs are doing their job too good that they make you question whether you can take muse seriously. Apocalypse please, an art rock song with a mind dementia inducing piano work that would postpone a true apocalypse until the songs end at least. But muse don't stop here, they make a ironic, even sarcastic, tribute to the underground society (let's call them underground) with ruled by secrecy, they question current beliefs in the unnatural (that is they question the perspective in which we see god and religion) with thoughts of a dying atheist and even pay attention to the human mind and thought and the way they provide as a muse for creating. All of these themes put together on a same record are a bit too much to take and digest, but once they lay down and insert themselves in your head you will be one lucky bastard (of course if you allow them to). Bringing new philosophical foundations to life has never been so much fun, just remember to close that gate until the next release. Expand
  8. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    The best CD so far with Muse, also the Showbiz that is not in the Metacritic database, pure 10, perfect. If you are feeling down, listen to this. The grand piano is the perfection in my opinion.
  9. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    Muse is a great, great band. Absolution is my favorite by them. The instrumentation, lyrics, and singing is all worthwhile. I don't understand how people say they copy Radiohead. Two completely different bands. Some of the songs are so energetic, which is awesome! Even the sad songs are good too!!!!!
  10. j30
    Jan 30, 2012
    9
    Absolution is the turning point for Muse both creatively and musically. It's epic, grandeur sound is a bit corny in some places, but effective none the less. Just a fantastic listen.
  11. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    Great album . Perfect songwriting , it´s very clear , Muse it does not sounds like Radiohead. Amazing songs , a great balance between heavy songs and not so heavy.
  12. Nov 6, 2011
    6
    While Absolution is not a bad record by any means, it exemplifies the 'rage against the machine' meets 'radiohead' criticisms. The album features plenty of good songs, but fails to find a footing and sounds disjointed at times. Still a solid effort with some great, climactic songs.
  13. Aug 5, 2011
    8
    Great album by Muse, not as good as their masterpiece "Origin of Symmetry" but still shows Muse's alternative rock/progressive rock/punk rock/classical music approach (which would then switch to electronica/pop metal in the next album "black holes...") that has made this band so well-known. However this album isn't as consistent as Origin of Symmetry.My favourites? Well, Hysteria and RuledGreat album by Muse, not as good as their masterpiece "Origin of Symmetry" but still shows Muse's alternative rock/progressive rock/punk rock/classical music approach (which would then switch to electronica/pop metal in the next album "black holes...") that has made this band so well-known. However this album isn't as consistent as Origin of Symmetry.My favourites? Well, Hysteria and Ruled by Secrecy are fantastic songs and others like Apocalypse Please or Sing for Absolution are also great. Expand
  14. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    One of the best rock-albums of the last decade coming from one of the best bands of our time. Powerful, melodic and deep. Butterflies&Hurricanes, Ruled by Secrecy, Sing for Absolution are standouts, but there is not a bad song here. 10
  15. May 31, 2011
    10
    "Absolution" is an absolute masterpiece by Muse. We could tell they had the potential to pull out something great from their first album "Showbiz", but they eclipsed even my highest expectations with this work. Every track seemed to have the caliber to be a top 40 hit, with "Time Is Running Out" proving to be a timeless classic. A brilliant album from a brilliant band
  16. Apr 27, 2011
    3
    Muse desperately need to learn some restraint. Compositionally, their music has promise, but they ruin it with overwrought melodrama. Most of the songs contain an over-the-top swell or outburst and quite a bit of over-emoting from Matt Bellamy; this is frustrating enough in any individual song, but the cumulative effect of an entire album of this extravagance is absolutely maddening.
  17. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    One of the best albums of the past decade.
    As for haters who give it 0. Really? If you hate it so much why do you bother to visit this page at all? That's what I cannot get.
  18. Feb 25, 2011
    7
    Now, considering i'm a die hard Muse fan (i tend to annoy people at how often i go on about them, in my personal life) this album is not my favourite, although most other Muse fans tend to say this is mostly on a par with Origin or Symmetry - but i disagree. This album is VERY good, don't get me wrong - but to me it took them away from the Alternative genre, Origin was an album of genius -Now, considering i'm a die hard Muse fan (i tend to annoy people at how often i go on about them, in my personal life) this album is not my favourite, although most other Muse fans tend to say this is mostly on a par with Origin or Symmetry - but i disagree. This album is VERY good, don't get me wrong - but to me it took them away from the Alternative genre, Origin was an album of genius - and as i say i don't like to compare albums, but again, i can't help it. This album has come incredible rock tracks - 'Hysteria', 'The Small Print' 'Time is Running Out' and 'Stockholm Syndrome' as well as stunning progressive tracks like 'Sing For Albsolution' and 'Butterflies and Hurricanes' - but i just missed the weird and wonderful sounds of Origin, i felt this album just went west, not in a particually bad way, but somthing was missing for me. So when BHAR came out i was once again happy, wierd and wonderful sounds came back, that 'Desert Music' sound returned. But all in all - a good rock album that will live for forever. Expand
  19. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    Best muse album
    absolutely flawless and all songs are beautiful
    it has either slow sad ballads like blackout, falling away with you or endlessly, but also great powerful rock songs like stockolm syndrome, hysteria and time is running out
  20. Dec 4, 2010
    9
    Absolution is a great rock album. It really showed that Muse is a band to take very seriously. The lyrics are what really make this album. And the guitar is soaring. This album just sounds so good. Great tracks from this album is Apocalypse Please, Stockholm Syndrome, and Butterflies and Hurricanes. All In All, Absolution is Muse's best album yet. A-
  21. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Another masterpiece by Muse, following the amazing Origin of Symmetry. Every song on the album is great, with the top 3 being Hysteria, Butterflies & Hurricanes, and Stockholm Syndrome.
  22. Sep 11, 2010
    8
    Though it has songs that represents what's so good about Muse, the album suffers from how incoherent it is. Sure, each songs are fantastic and awesome but it sounds like they are out of place but it is Muse's most eccentric, energetic and varied album and is worth checking out.
  23. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    A simply stunning album, where I think the Radiohead-mimics criticism becomes completely unjustified. Muse truely become their own unique band in 'Absolution'. Most people seem to insult Muse by calling them over the top and pretentious, but if the crashing piano chords of Apocalypse Please, the pulsing, distorted bass of Hysteria and the superb piano solo and final chorus to ButterfliesA simply stunning album, where I think the Radiohead-mimics criticism becomes completely unjustified. Muse truely become their own unique band in 'Absolution'. Most people seem to insult Muse by calling them over the top and pretentious, but if the crashing piano chords of Apocalypse Please, the pulsing, distorted bass of Hysteria and the superb piano solo and final chorus to Butterflies and Hurricanes are over the top then so be it, but does that make it not amazing music? Seems to me calling something 'over the top' isn't an insult, it's more a sit on the fence statement; neither negative nor positive. And as for the lack of genius some people (mostly Radiohead fans) seem to talk about...my favourite band is Radiohead and there is no piano work in any of Radiohead's music that is anywhere near as technically difficult as the piano solo in Butterflies and Hurricanes. So yes, perhaps it is over the top, but in my opinion that is the best thing about this album, because Muse tried and experimented as hard as they could to make an utterly unique sound Expand
  24. conorzxzxz
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    Great album, they just haven't managed to recreate the awesomeness, though the resistance was a fair attempt. I wish more modern albums were like this.
  25. AaronJ
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Rock opera in the truest sense -- rife with such deep emotions that no real, sane person could ever sustain them, but that are perfect for an art masterpiece.
  26. TimiM
    Aug 16, 2009
    10
    One of the best Album all Time! Every Song of the Album is a masterpiece!
  27. cms
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    If you gave this album below a 6 or 7, I hope to god I'm never at a party where you have control of the music. It doesn't have to be your thing, but a 3??? GTFOH, this is some of the best music in our generation.
  28. Karolina
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    The second best album they ever made.
  29. AaronM
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    A great album.
  30. TomH
    Sep 16, 2008
    10
    One of the best albums in history.
  31. FrancoisB
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    MUSE is my favorite band of all time! Mat. Bellamy has so much talent and skill, and writes absolutely astonishing music. The stupid people who rate this album(or any of their albums) badly are just sad loners who are musically braindead and probably only listen to RAVE or DANCE music, which is technical poo. MUSE is music at its best
  32. Dimas
    Jun 28, 2008
    10
    Amazing!
  33. Mark
    Jun 24, 2008
    3
    Warning! Contains self-indulgent wankery. Very lame album, save for 'Hysteria', which is actually quite good.
  34. RoadLord
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    This is Muse's best album yet. It's not that all the songs are perfect, it's the fact that this album has the most insanely-awesome songs out of each of their albums.
  35. RickyJ
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    This is a rather good album. But it has zero flow. On one track, it rocks out and makes you wanna nod your head. But the very next track is slow and very melancholy. If it had been arranged a little different, it would have been so much better. But other than that, almost every song is simply great.
  36. Paul
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    Muse, just seen them again live and they blew the stage apart, great album, amazing band.
  37. SamS
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    This is Muse's masterpiece. I for the life of me cannot understand how most of the critics prefer "Black Holes and Revelations." Sure it is epic and at times over the top, but the craftsmanship of the songs and Costey's production are brilliant. Muse shows some serious range on this one, kicking it into high gear with super-charged rock songs like "Stockholm Syndrome," and This is Muse's masterpiece. I for the life of me cannot understand how most of the critics prefer "Black Holes and Revelations." Sure it is epic and at times over the top, but the craftsmanship of the songs and Costey's production are brilliant. Muse shows some serious range on this one, kicking it into high gear with super-charged rock songs like "Stockholm Syndrome," and Hysteria." and then settling down nicely with "Blackout," and "Falling Away With You." Expand
  38. Enzo
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Wow.....This is a true masterpiece.
  39. EricaB.
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    Astonishing.
  40. ScottW.
    Aug 19, 2007
    8
    Great rockin time. Full of energy and fast past tunes. Not the best from the band for sure, but still a album any hard rocker shoud have, not just muse fans. Just like the past albums they show that they are one of the best at making load music have melody.
  41. thomas
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    real emotional content, yet able to be taken seriously or with your tongue in your cheek. Creative and and at times sublime... but not as honest as muse's earlier albums. Not as honest but more potent, more accomplished and more enjoyable. radiohead plus keane equals muse.
  42. AliB
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    This album is amazing. IMO MUSE's best. it has many great songs and is definately a classic.
  43. EmilyH
    May 25, 2007
    10
    A truly FANTASTIC work of art. The blends of experimental-rock with soft instrumentals on one disc cannot be pulled off quite like how Muse do it. A array of beautifully written songs with both soft and raw vocal harmonizing make this my favorite rock album of all time and in general my favorite album of all time. Hats off to Muse. No other band could pull something off quite like how they do.
  44. JohnnyR
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    This album is briliant.
  45. IanB
    Mar 13, 2007
    9
    This is quite possibly the best rock record of the 21st century.
  46. PJ
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    A mind-boggling, earth shattering, apocalyptic piece of sheer artwork, causing a rush of emotions so incredibe that you don't care one bit that this album is far too over-the-top. From beginning to end you are in a state of awe and wonder, and only after the final chime of the clock in 'Ruled By Secrecy' do you realise the crazy and awesome jounrey Muse have just taken you on.
  47. TimS
    Jan 2, 2007
    3
    After the amazing first two albums Muse have changed, they are now a different band - a much more commercial group. Their first albums contained a lot more obscure darkness and was much more intense. While I can listen to most of the track (except "Sing for Absolution" which is a terrible track) it is not even decent ambient music. I was very disappointed - some songs are good though but After the amazing first two albums Muse have changed, they are now a different band - a much more commercial group. Their first albums contained a lot more obscure darkness and was much more intense. While I can listen to most of the track (except "Sing for Absolution" which is a terrible track) it is not even decent ambient music. I was very disappointed - some songs are good though but the not-good out-weighs the good (the good being "Hysteria", "Stockholm Syndrome" and "Time is running out". Expand
  48. EricU
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    A truly fantastic cd in a growing masterpiece of a discography by Muse. The vocals are strong and meaningful, the instrumentation a creative and refreshing sound compared to today's modern rock. There is pretty much nothing to complain about with Absolution (or even their other cd's), in my boo, the entire discography is at the top of my charts.
  49. GraemeM
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Quite frankly one of the best albums of the new millenium.
  50. kylef
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    truly outstanding album like some1 else said a brilliant beginning for 1 of britains best "new" bands
  51. StefanS
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    Immense. Genius. Listen to it. I can understand why some may be off-put by the large apocalyptic focus, or the traditional 'Radioohead comparisons'. But screw em, this is great.
  52. daven
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    Showbiz and Origin of Symmetry were both fantastic records, but couldn't prepare you for the brilliance of Absolution. As soon as the minor chords on the piano chime in on "Apocalypse Please" its clear how fantastic of a record this is. There is not a single bad track and "Butterflies and Hurricanes" is not only the best Muse song ever released, but is just downright astonishing. A Showbiz and Origin of Symmetry were both fantastic records, but couldn't prepare you for the brilliance of Absolution. As soon as the minor chords on the piano chime in on "Apocalypse Please" its clear how fantastic of a record this is. There is not a single bad track and "Butterflies and Hurricanes" is not only the best Muse song ever released, but is just downright astonishing. A masterpiece. Expand
  53. jacksparrow
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    incredible
  54. georgel
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    brilliant in every aspect.
  55. sallyj
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    awesome album. radiohead suck
  56. ethanc
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    it is the best album of 04 and even 05 if you dont have it get it
  57. SteveW
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    The best album of 2004, and the true introduction to one of Britain's best "new" bands.
  58. LoganM
    Jun 29, 2006
    9
    this would definately be a ten if it werent for the fact that this band sounds like a mimic of Radiohead
  59. PhengY
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    These guys produced music at another level versus most of the bands out there... It's surreal when you try to compare and contrast them with other bands because these guys transcend boundaries and sounds. How do we label and categorize them. We don't. Like Radiohead they stretch and stretch their musical scope every new album they produce. I hope in the future they start from These guys produced music at another level versus most of the bands out there... It's surreal when you try to compare and contrast them with other bands because these guys transcend boundaries and sounds. How do we label and categorize them. We don't. Like Radiohead they stretch and stretch their musical scope every new album they produce. I hope in the future they start from scratch and create all over again as a testament to how they brilliant they are at producing genre bending music. Expand
  60. gonza
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    Awesome
  61. valenb
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    A worthy successor to their excellent second album Origin of Symmetry. These are three very talented guys who will leave you breathless on your stereo as well as on a stage. Sure, there may be some Radiohead, Queen, and even Rage Against the Machine similarities, but isn't the best music supposed to draw on the things that came before it? Whatever they've taken, they've A worthy successor to their excellent second album Origin of Symmetry. These are three very talented guys who will leave you breathless on your stereo as well as on a stage. Sure, there may be some Radiohead, Queen, and even Rage Against the Machine similarities, but isn't the best music supposed to draw on the things that came before it? Whatever they've taken, they've made their own. Collapse
  62. sachinp
    May 24, 2006
    10
    Perfect album for the end of the world - press play on your CD player and let Muse take you to the apocalypse! Just the first song encapsulates most of Muse's tricks in three minutes - outrageously showy piano, 50,000 harmonies, impressive fretwork, the voice of God on helium. Can't wait for Black Holes And Revelations!
  63. AndyY
    May 9, 2006
    5
    Radiohead-lite, minus the abstract creativity.
  64. MartinS
    May 6, 2006
    8
    I had heard Time Is Running Out and Hysteria and they were brilliant so I got this album and was not dissapointed. They do not have the widest range of vocals so perform to what they are good at. Muse music contains brilliant guitars and lyrics that you will be singing whenever you hear the song start. Not always in the mood for Muse but sometimes I play it and realise, Hey I should I had heard Time Is Running Out and Hysteria and they were brilliant so I got this album and was not dissapointed. They do not have the widest range of vocals so perform to what they are good at. Muse music contains brilliant guitars and lyrics that you will be singing whenever you hear the song start. Not always in the mood for Muse but sometimes I play it and realise, Hey I should listen to them more often! Expand
  65. GregK
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    The first time I listed to this album, I didn't like it... however, as I re-listened to it I was able to discover the brilliance of this album and what it has accomplished musically.
  66. MattF.
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    Outstanding album. Very highly recommended.
  67. claudiom
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    There best album ever!!!!!!!!
  68. MattC
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    An outstanding album, better even than Origin of Symmetry. Only lazy journalists can possibly compare their sound to Radiohead, their music is utterly unique and raising the standard for all the big names such as Coldplay. Amazing vocals, driving bass and drums, lightning guitars, dreamy piano and doomsday lyrics make this one of the best albums of the millenium so far. Catch their live An outstanding album, better even than Origin of Symmetry. Only lazy journalists can possibly compare their sound to Radiohead, their music is utterly unique and raising the standard for all the big names such as Coldplay. Amazing vocals, driving bass and drums, lightning guitars, dreamy piano and doomsday lyrics make this one of the best albums of the millenium so far. Catch their live show if you can, it will change your world. All other bands have now to play catch up. Expand
  69. KartikS
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    Absolution could be called one of the best albums ever made and it wouldn't be an exaggeration.The heart and soul that Muse have put into it is simply mindblowing. From the captivatin piano arpeggios of apocalypse please,to the fast and furious stockholm syndrome and to the romantic falling away with you.This album has a little something for fans of every genre of music and whole Absolution could be called one of the best albums ever made and it wouldn't be an exaggeration.The heart and soul that Muse have put into it is simply mindblowing. From the captivatin piano arpeggios of apocalypse please,to the fast and furious stockholm syndrome and to the romantic falling away with you.This album has a little something for fans of every genre of music and whole loads more for people who are open minded towards all type of music. Riffjamming trcks include Hysteria,Stockholm Syndrome.I really thought it would be difficult for Muse to create a riff to rival Plug in baby(in Origin of Symmetry) but they outdid themselves wih riff of hysteria and SS. Muse have a double thumbs up from an ardent rock fan.Keep rocking Muse. Expand
  70. LuisS
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    The best album ever!!!!
  71. ScottV
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    Absolutely bl**dy brilliant, one of the best 10 or so albums ever easily
  72. MarcoM
    Nov 15, 2005
    4
    Nothing new or interesting...
  73. saras
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    I love Muse! Nothing is the same, but yet it's all dramatic and just makes your heart beat fast! This is the best music to sing your heart out & release all that ails you.
  74. JonR
    Sep 29, 2005
    9
    This album is an immersive wonderland that is clearly too deep for some to handle but for me it's nearly perfect. Those who complain of intencity overload must have much lower tolerences than I since nearly half of the material here is softer and slower. Sing for Absolution, Falling Away With You, Blackout and Endlessly are all beautiful ballads that simply could have never been This album is an immersive wonderland that is clearly too deep for some to handle but for me it's nearly perfect. Those who complain of intencity overload must have much lower tolerences than I since nearly half of the material here is softer and slower. Sing for Absolution, Falling Away With You, Blackout and Endlessly are all beautiful ballads that simply could have never been created by any other band. Stockholm Syndrome is one of the hardest rocking tunes of the last decade and it's backed up well with Hysteria and Time is Running out. Though there is one track that properly sums up the album all at once (for me). That song is Butterfies and Hurricanes. Sure it's overblown and bombastic, so what!? It's beautiful, powerful, hard and yet filled with melody. Definently the best album of the new millennium so far. Expand
  75. MarcosF
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    This album is the culmination of hundrets of concerts and the high level of development in their music style, I think everybody that loves english pop-rock should have it.
  76. SusanaS
    Sep 6, 2005
    10
    Just.. brilliant.
  77. SimonA
    Jul 17, 2005
    10
    kicks ass
  78. joank
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    This is the best CD I've bought in a long time and one of the few that I love every single song.
  79. MAbs
    Jun 26, 2005
    0
    Muse are the worst band ever. That is all.
  80. TomerR
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    This is the best music around in the mainstream market (there r just toooo many artists in the indie/underground so it just can't be comparble). The core of the songs is wonderful (chack those acousic versions running around the net); the sound is MASSIVE and the arrangments are heart-stompping! No other famous band nowdays produce such a strong music experience and also so This is the best music around in the mainstream market (there r just toooo many artists in the indie/underground so it just can't be comparble). The core of the songs is wonderful (chack those acousic versions running around the net); the sound is MASSIVE and the arrangments are heart-stompping! No other famous band nowdays produce such a strong music experience and also so "musically". a pleasure to the ears, brain and heart. Expand
  81. NofsGrrl
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Thank you, God, for this album. From the crunching piano in the beginning to the softness of the end and everything in between, this album is a breath of fresh air in the world of stale rock. I knew the critics would compare it to Coldplay and Radiohead (and to me, Bellamy's voice sounds like Jimmy Gnecco from Ours). But so what? Those bands are great, and to be put in any category Thank you, God, for this album. From the crunching piano in the beginning to the softness of the end and everything in between, this album is a breath of fresh air in the world of stale rock. I knew the critics would compare it to Coldplay and Radiohead (and to me, Bellamy's voice sounds like Jimmy Gnecco from Ours). But so what? Those bands are great, and to be put in any category with them is tell tale. Please check out this amazing album if you haven't yet. Expand
  82. JamesN
    May 21, 2005
    9
    An excellent album, the only reason i give this a 9 is because Origin of Symmetry was better. It would have been worthy of a ten if it didnt have origin of symmetry to live up to. Most of the songs are quality, the lyrics are very strong and once you listen to this you will realise why you want to see them live.
  83. TomG
    May 7, 2005
    10
    Freddie Mercury and Queen INCARNATE!
  84. JonG
    May 4, 2005
    10
    This is quite possibly the greatest album I've ever heard. The sheer scope of the musical genius completely blows my mind. From the orchestral arpeggios submersing Bellamy's voice on Blackout, to the piano codenza on Butterflies and Hurricanes, to the absolute insanity of The Small Print, it truly proves a musical achievement, almost astonishing when compared to the records This is quite possibly the greatest album I've ever heard. The sheer scope of the musical genius completely blows my mind. From the orchestral arpeggios submersing Bellamy's voice on Blackout, to the piano codenza on Butterflies and Hurricanes, to the absolute insanity of The Small Print, it truly proves a musical achievement, almost astonishing when compared to the records released today. This is truly a must have in any collection. The comparisons to Radiohead are small; the vocals sound a bit alike, though not so much when Bellamy sings in falsetto. All in all, this is one emotional album, and will lift you up just as soon as it drops you on the floor and kicks you, before climbing and ending in fireworks. This album is not to be left on the shelves- let it be sold. Expand
  85. bernardodc
    Apr 11, 2005
    9
    this albuum is a lot softer than muse's second (origin of symmetry), but it is allso very heartfelt and nostalgic. This is the way that new rock should sound
  86. gonza
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    Awesome
  87. amandar
    Mar 8, 2005
    10
    love it love it love it!
  88. Matt
    Mar 2, 2005
    9
    Very good album. None of the songs are bad, but a few stand out more than others (The Small Print, Stockholm Syndrome, Hysteria). I loved it.
  89. PhilA
    Jan 30, 2005
    6
    Agree with Paul F. I have been a long time Muse fan, so I know my stuff. This album is just wrong - some of the tracks are downright boring and uninventive. Where is that bold and innovative Muse we came to love with Showbiz and OoS? + All the ingenious b-sides. I do thank them VERY VERY much for "Hysteria" though. That song is worthy of comparison with Bliss, musically - not lyrically.
  90. KerryT
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    Muse are absolutly amazing both in this album and live. My favourite tracks are the small print and stockholme syndrome. I don't understand how anyone could give this album or any of there's a low rating. Stylus magazine for example "just compiling bits of 'music' then sticking them together" I resent that comment, to me Muse have put a lot of effort into this album, Muse are absolutly amazing both in this album and live. My favourite tracks are the small print and stockholme syndrome. I don't understand how anyone could give this album or any of there's a low rating. Stylus magazine for example "just compiling bits of 'music' then sticking them together" I resent that comment, to me Muse have put a lot of effort into this album, it all flows very well, with unique guitar riffs unheard of before. Muse are brilliant! Expand
  91. Petri
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    It's impossible to choose a favourite song on this CD because, quite simply, each one is perfect in its own way. Not just the lyrics or orchestration, but everything - including the solos, presentation, and ideas behind the songs. There is a serious lack of original, thought-provoking music that you can get lost in out there today, but Muse manage to do that. What more could one It's impossible to choose a favourite song on this CD because, quite simply, each one is perfect in its own way. Not just the lyrics or orchestration, but everything - including the solos, presentation, and ideas behind the songs. There is a serious lack of original, thought-provoking music that you can get lost in out there today, but Muse manage to do that. What more could one expect from a lead singer that was classically trained in opera? Matt Bellamy's voice brings back powerful memories of Freddie Mercury of Queen's voice. Queen, in my humble opinion, is the greatest band of all time, but Muse are rapidly approaching that awe-inspiring status. If they keep coming out with albums like Absolution, they will certainly overtake Queen in my mind. Excellent job, boys. And congratulations on the 2 EMAs! Expand
  92. annei
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    I think it's a F*cking great album, I immediately fell in love with it and with muse. Now I possess all there albums and they stills suprise me like on werchter this year , they were fantastic!
  93. KieranW
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    All official review ppl who compare Muse with Radiohead is just lazy and a sheep. Muse need to taken seriously. You don't JUST listen to this album and and review who or what Muse are all about. You buy the other two albums, you buy the DVD (which is amazing by the way) and then you read interviews with Matt and the band. You will see that Matt, Dom and Chris are wierd and wonderful All official review ppl who compare Muse with Radiohead is just lazy and a sheep. Muse need to taken seriously. You don't JUST listen to this album and and review who or what Muse are all about. You buy the other two albums, you buy the DVD (which is amazing by the way) and then you read interviews with Matt and the band. You will see that Matt, Dom and Chris are wierd and wonderful and their views on the world and what's going to happen are fantastic! Matt should really write a book on what each song is about. Do all that and then come back to me with a review that's worth reading and believe me when i say that you won't compare them to Radiohead anymore. Expand
  94. PaulF
    Oct 12, 2004
    7
    Good. But lacks the greatness and experimentalism of Origin of Symmetry. In my opinion, muse have taken a step back rather than a step forward.
  95. JesseS
    Sep 23, 2004
    10
    This album is astonishing perfection. The skewing Stylus and Mojo reviews are unfair and abysmal;you cannot criticize music for being a specific genre you don't happen to favor. The writing is seamless, not fragmented, as the rather fragmented review in Stylus ludicrously suggests. Any band that can achieve a moshing audience with classical chord structures gets a 10 in my book. All This album is astonishing perfection. The skewing Stylus and Mojo reviews are unfair and abysmal;you cannot criticize music for being a specific genre you don't happen to favor. The writing is seamless, not fragmented, as the rather fragmented review in Stylus ludicrously suggests. Any band that can achieve a moshing audience with classical chord structures gets a 10 in my book. All hail MUSE, the best band of the decade. Expand
  96. donniedarko
    Sep 23, 2004
    10
    for these official reviewers who gave low scores, they always try to find something of nonsense to decrease their score, have they listened to the album, anyone who listens to it will give it 100 because it is purely great in everyway, it is not a math hard problem ok!
  97. Beercan
    Sep 17, 2004
    9
    Okay. Picture Radiohead, right? Okay. Now imagine Radiohead if they ROCKED. Hard. You're right, that WOULD be awesome! It just so happens I know where you can hear such an album. Go to your record store and find Absolution, by Muse. No, dude, don't download it - it's actually worth the money. Put it in and go to track 5, "Stockholm Syndrome". Pretty awesome, right? Wait Okay. Picture Radiohead, right? Okay. Now imagine Radiohead if they ROCKED. Hard. You're right, that WOULD be awesome! It just so happens I know where you can hear such an album. Go to your record store and find Absolution, by Muse. No, dude, don't download it - it's actually worth the money. Put it in and go to track 5, "Stockholm Syndrome". Pretty awesome, right? Wait until you hear the rest! What's that? Yeah, dude, you're right - Stylus magazine totally sucks! I wish I were payed to be pretentious too! Anyway, enjoy! Expand
  98. ChristineA
    Sep 6, 2004
    10
    I Absolutley LOVE this CD.. Muse is awesome .. and i love Matt Bellamy i think he is HOT!! as ever
  99. John
    Aug 18, 2004
    10
    this is so great, it's the passion...of the muse
  100. ashKon
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    I have bought 30 albums so far this year including, Postal Service, Modest Mouse, Iron and wine, Shins, Radiohead, kings of leon, strokes, all night radio, secret machines, Air, streets, interpol, Grand national, walkmen, wilco. Muse - Absolution is my favourite
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Filter
    90
    A massive concept album that is so gluttonously huge-sounding that it makes The Wall sound like a Sebadoh record. [#10, p.94]
  2. Despite the daunting Radiohead-colored cloud that hangs heavy over Muse, the band pushes the limits of its slick, pre-apocalyptic rock with a self-assured strut.
  3. Mojo
    30
    Pushes the trio's grandiose delusions onto new levels of interpretative-dancing, mirror-cracking excess. [Oct 2003, p.107]