Accelerando - Vijay Iyer Trio

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Mar 16, 2012
    Accelerando is a rambunctious yet nimble celebration of the groove that turns as much on the fulcrum of drummer Marcus Gilmore and bassist Stephan Crump as it does on Iyer's restlessly inventive piano.
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    As its title suggests, Accelerando provides plenty of speed and also a very real adrenaline rush.
  3. Jun 21, 2012
    Interspersed in between the renditions throughout the course of Accelerando... are five outstanding Iyer-penned performances.
  4. Mar 16, 2012
    This album is a gift from Vijay Iyer.
  5. Apr 12, 2012
    From the first shudder of the keyboard and crack of drums to that last, celebratory walk through the village of the virgins, Iyer, Crump and Gilmore keep things spellbinding.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    Although the new album from Vijay Iyer Trio - "Accelerando" largely is an avant-garde, compositions present very specific instrumental parts thank to whom art pieces are easily memorable. Worth mentioning are at least conductive parts of drums in "The Star Of A Story" or heavily accented bridges in the "Mmmhmm". Full Review »