Accelerate

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 131

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JonG.
    Apr 8, 2008
    5
    Sounds like 1988... Very boring for the 21 century.
  2. JeffK.
    Apr 1, 2008
    5
    I totally agree with Taylor H. on this one. This album doesn't even come close to Up, Adventures in Hi-Fi, or Around The Sun. There is no Electrolite, At Most Beautiful, Daysleeper, or Leaving New York. Too many songs have no hooks, they are just fast to start and end without leaving anything memorable. I pretty much forgot how every song sounded except I'm Gonna DJ, which I totally agree with Taylor H. on this one. This album doesn't even come close to Up, Adventures in Hi-Fi, or Around The Sun. There is no Electrolite, At Most Beautiful, Daysleeper, or Leaving New York. Too many songs have no hooks, they are just fast to start and end without leaving anything memorable. I pretty much forgot how every song sounded except I'm Gonna DJ, which technically could be called an Around The Sun song since it is about 5 years old. Lastly the political overtones of this album really were not necessary. We get it Michael, you don't like George Bush, and to include it on just about every song made it almost unbearable. I don't see this album expanding their fan base without any songs that sound like singles. As a fan since Reckoning came out, this one is truly disappointing. Expand
  3. O.Gawd
    Apr 2, 2008
    6
    All of you giving R.E.M.'s latest a 10 need to stop playing with your mouses and climb out of your cellars. Daylight beckons. This offering is merely fine; it's not the second coming of 'Life's Rich Pageant.' It's not even in league with 'New Adventures in Hi-Fi,' the last great R.E.M. album. There are some transcendent moments, particularly All of you giving R.E.M.'s latest a 10 need to stop playing with your mouses and climb out of your cellars. Daylight beckons. This offering is merely fine; it's not the second coming of 'Life's Rich Pageant.' It's not even in league with 'New Adventures in Hi-Fi,' the last great R.E.M. album. There are some transcendent moments, particularly 'Until the Day is Done.' Much of the rest of the album is littered with Michael Stipe trying way too hard to mine his depleted mind in an accelerated grasp at relevancy. If I hear him say the words 'Wow' or 'Electron Blue' one more time, I won't pick up album number 15. Expand
  4. Jo
    Apr 2, 2008
    5
    Around The Sun still had some brilliant gems straight from the heart (the title track, Final straw, ascent of man, electron blue...), Accelerate is a mere radiofriendly directionless powerpop/rock album trying to hit the charts again. Some good songs, some shivering moments of awfulness (I'm gonna DJ, Man-sized Wreath), and only Houston and maybe Hollow Man (although very commercial) Around The Sun still had some brilliant gems straight from the heart (the title track, Final straw, ascent of man, electron blue...), Accelerate is a mere radiofriendly directionless powerpop/rock album trying to hit the charts again. Some good songs, some shivering moments of awfulness (I'm gonna DJ, Man-sized Wreath), and only Houston and maybe Hollow Man (although very commercial) save it from mediocricity. Expand
  5. JohnB.
    Apr 5, 2008
    5
    Episode #14: In which Michael Stipe enlists the Gin Blossoms to help him announce his discovery that George W. Bush, and George W. Bush, alone is responsible for all the world's ills.
  6. DejanSt.
    Apr 8, 2008
    6
    A return to form? No way. It's nice one, but I've heard it all before.
  7. JBilchak
    Apr 1, 2008
    6
    I listened to it 4 times now, and maybe my tastes have changed, but this is not a 4 or 5 star record. Yes, it's better than "Around the Sun" and "Reveal", but what isn't? This doesn't even come close to "new adventures in hi fi", which is underated in my opinion. This album is no where near close to classic early R.E.M., or even the most excellent "Automatic for the People."I listened to it 4 times now, and maybe my tastes have changed, but this is not a 4 or 5 star record. Yes, it's better than "Around the Sun" and "Reveal", but what isn't? This doesn't even come close to "new adventures in hi fi", which is underated in my opinion. This album is no where near close to classic early R.E.M., or even the most excellent "Automatic for the People." a lot of the songs sound the same to me. good album, not great. Expand
  8. KevinL.
    Apr 24, 2008
    6
    I've nicknamed this one "Green Monster" for its attempts (calculated or not) to capture the politics of the former and the swagger of the latter. I don't much care for the self-indulgent "Sing For the Submarine" or for duds like "Hollow Man," "Mr. Richards," "Houston" and the title track. And I'm troubled by the notion that a band making music together since 1981 felt the I've nicknamed this one "Green Monster" for its attempts (calculated or not) to capture the politics of the former and the swagger of the latter. I don't much care for the self-indulgent "Sing For the Submarine" or for duds like "Hollow Man," "Mr. Richards," "Houston" and the title track. And I'm troubled by the notion that a band making music together since 1981 felt the solution to their studio funk was to speed things up a bit; that's what punk bands do to disguise their lack of songwriting talent. I think most of the praise heaped on this record is solely because it has a pulse that was sorely lacking from everything else they've done post-Berry. As any band historian will tell you, R.E.M. originally vowed to disband if one of the founding members decided to call it quits. While Accelerate is not the catastrophe that Around The Sun was, it still doesn't convince me that pressing on without Bill Berry was a wise choice. After all, ask Led Zeppelin and The Who how important a drummer can be to preserving the essence of what makes a band so special in the first place. Expand
  9. PaulC.
    Apr 3, 2008
    4
    I wanted to like it, but frankly it's pretty boring. Better than what they've churned out recently, but certainly not as good as their earlier work. Another sub-par record from a band that's moment in the sun passed over a decade ago.
  10. TaylorH.
    Mar 31, 2008
    5
    Do not be deceived by the "critics." This album comes nowhere near the previous 4. It's their weakest since Monster and maybe even besides Monster, both lyrically and musically. The reviewers are obviously not real listeners of REM's music. Maybe half the songs are memorable at best.
  11. SteveO
    May 31, 2008
    4
    When I found out Stippe was gay, it kinda ruined the whole R.E.M. thing for me.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Accelerate is patchy at best, with only the blaring finale, ‘I’m Gonna DJ’, really catching the attention.
  2. Accelerate is by some considerable distance REM’s best and most cohesive album since Berry left, and crucially echoes a time when they made their best music, if not necessarily their biggest-selling.
  3. There are a few jangly throwbacks for nostalgia’s sake interspersed throughout Accelerate, but they’re overshadowed by blustery guitar blather that shouts “anachronism” at every turn.