Achtung Baby [Super Deluxe]

by U2
  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Nov 1, 2011
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 97
  2. Negative: 13 out of 97
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 30, 2013
    5
    What a bore. I can't think of anything, besides the shoegaze influence that The Edge brought in here, that can justify the claim that U2 made a huge comeback in quality with this. Even with the one strength this LP had, there was already a way better shoegaze album released in the same year, from the same country My Bloody Valentine's "Loveless".

    I imagine that Rattle and Hum wasn't
    What a bore. I can't think of anything, besides the shoegaze influence that The Edge brought in here, that can justify the claim that U2 made a huge comeback in quality with this. Even with the one strength this LP had, there was already a way better shoegaze album released in the same year, from the same country My Bloody Valentine's "Loveless".

    I imagine that Rattle and Hum wasn't gold, but this can't possibly be that much better. Half the tracks on here are just a bore to me. There's little to no variation within the album, and only a few tracks I really enjoyed. It's all painfully slow, with The Edge and Adam Clayton spinning up a few cool concoctions only to have Bono bring them down with his surprisingly poor singing voice (he sounded awesome on The Joshua Tree!).

    The tracks that I did like unfortunately did not contribute to my enjoyment of the album, the reason being that they sound so helplessly out of place. "One" doesn't have the guitar work or the compositions of the other tracks. I would enjoy some variation within this album especially considering how bland it is, but when this is pretty much the ONLY track that stands out, it seems like it belongs on a different record.

    I'm sorry, I can't like this at all. I feel a strong 4 to a light 5 on this. Even their later efforts, like All That You Can't Leave Behind and How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb, did a better job at making good music than this dead-as-a-rock excuse for a comeback album.

    STANDOUT TRACKS: ONE, WHO'S GONNA RIDE YOUR WILD HORSES, FLY
    Expand
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    If you know the importance of this album to the alternative rock music scene, you know what it is capable of. If you don't, you have a lot to learn. Start by playing the whole album and reading its importance (Wikipedia if you will). Give it a time, then play it again while reading its lyrics. You're done! I don't need to say no more about it because, if you do what I advised you to do,If you know the importance of this album to the alternative rock music scene, you know what it is capable of. If you don't, you have a lot to learn. Start by playing the whole album and reading its importance (Wikipedia if you will). Give it a time, then play it again while reading its lyrics. You're done! I don't need to say no more about it because, if you do what I advised you to do, you'll already know everything I have to say. Expand
  3. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    This is a great album, as a U2 fanatic (I'm a fanatic for many things that you wouldn't believe) This is great I love the original album but this is almost it's equal as this has some remixes that are good and a few track extra than the original but nonetheless it is one of the best albums ever made but it doesn't beat the original. This was way ahead of it's time as well as Zooropa andThis is a great album, as a U2 fanatic (I'm a fanatic for many things that you wouldn't believe) This is great I love the original album but this is almost it's equal as this has some remixes that are good and a few track extra than the original but nonetheless it is one of the best albums ever made but it doesn't beat the original. This was way ahead of it's time as well as Zooropa and it was a good change and I am glad they did this quick transition. But as you all know after Zooropa they returned to their original roots which I like better just because that was what U2 was all about and yes they have remixed or brought back this and Zooropa elements into their later albums which made them good as well. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Surely only those who have deeper knowledge knows the importance of this monumental album. Beginning with such classics as One and Mysterious Ways, and other gems like Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses and Love Is Blindness, the disc wraps up as one of the greatest 90s. Surely without this album U2 would never be the great band it is today, and would have stopped his career with one last greatSurely only those who have deeper knowledge knows the importance of this monumental album. Beginning with such classics as One and Mysterious Ways, and other gems like Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses and Love Is Blindness, the disc wraps up as one of the greatest 90s. Surely without this album U2 would never be the great band it is today, and would have stopped his career with one last great album, which was Joshua Tree. Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    Recognised as U2's masterpiece, it's certainly includes their finest moments. One, The Fly, Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses, Even Better than the Real Thing and Acrobat would all be in my 10 U2 tracks. Not only does it have great songs but it's also innovative and not just for its time. If U2 brought this record out now I believe it would still be seen and received in the same way.
  6. Jun 7, 2012
    9
    An amazing album that can also be a marking post in the evolution of rock. Released the same year as Nirvana "Nevermind", Achutun Baby marks the end of emotional, uplifting pop rock, giving way to angst riddled, heroine music. Both were brilliant albums of 1991, but Achtung Baby gets extra credit for being their 7th album, and still sounded fresh as air.
  7. May 29, 2012
    8
    U2's album 'Achtung Baby' is pretty good to be honest. It has some very good songs like The Fly, One, Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses and Ultra Violet. The sound on the album may be repeatiting and some songs like Zoo Station and Love is Blindness can he skipped but overall the album is quite amazing for the originality of sound and introspective lyrics by Bono.
  8. Apr 21, 2012
    8
    Great album with an insane sound. The Fly has one of the greatest guitar riffs I've ever heard in a song and I've never heard the Edge play better before or since. It's definitely not U2's best album, but it is a great album and shouldn't be passed on.
  9. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    Great reedition of a great album, One, Mysterious Ways, Even Better than Real Thing, The Fly, Until the End of the World, etc. The bonus tracks alsoare masterpieces.
  10. Jan 19, 2012
    8
    While 'Achtung Baby' was highly ridiculed by some reviewers (Most of which I doubt even listened to the entire album), I will give you the short answer to whether or not it's the best album by U2. And to be honest: it's not their best album, but certainly a pleasing one. But the one thing that really makes this album stand out are the B-Sides, which I will get into later in the review. TheWhile 'Achtung Baby' was highly ridiculed by some reviewers (Most of which I doubt even listened to the entire album), I will give you the short answer to whether or not it's the best album by U2. And to be honest: it's not their best album, but certainly a pleasing one. But the one thing that really makes this album stand out are the B-Sides, which I will get into later in the review. The music that makes this album really define who U2 really are, at the roots of the band. Their music has turned into more of a indie-rock and pop-themed music, but the real rock-hard U2, as seen in Achtung Baby, really put the line down on the identity of the band. Their rich, borderline music really drives the album. It certainly is a marvel to behold, but some of the songs just don't fit well with the message that U2 tries to send in the album. But overall, the songs are great. Now, let's get into the B-sides. These songs really send the album home, with it's authentic styles. I was skeptical about the B-Sides when getting the 'Super Deluxe' version, but I haven't regretted it yet. One of my favorites is, "Alex Descends into Hell for a Bottle of Milk/Korova 1." This B-Side really sends the defining message of this album, that U2 is a rock band to it's roots, throughout the elegance and beauty they seemed to pick up throughout the years. The message stands firm to most of U2's biggest fans to this day, and it will certainly stay like that for years to come. I recommend 'Achtung Baby' if you have been a long-time fan of U2. If not, you might be in for a surprise. Whether the be a good or bad one, that's up to you to find out. Expand
  11. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    This album is off da chain. The new mixes sound awesome and the extras in the box are awesome. This isn't my favorite U2 album but it's definitely in the top three. If you consider yourself a U2 superfan, you should get this box set (then again, you probably already have it).
  12. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    U2's best album, has a unique sound that is only in this album, it's unique in its own way, with many of their singles such as one, mysterious ways, and So cruel, this reboot is amazing, if you like a mixture of 80's and 90's garage band, and a touch of alternative you will love this.
  13. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    As an owner of the Uber Deluxe (not Super Deluxe), i was startled at the price when pre ordering via amazon. When I unpacked the Box Set all my concerns were put aside. Amazing. Its a time capsule of 1991, a place where this boxset will take us back to time and time again. U2 will never create a sound like this again. The rich details and high quality of the contents of this huge box setAs an owner of the Uber Deluxe (not Super Deluxe), i was startled at the price when pre ordering via amazon. When I unpacked the Box Set all my concerns were put aside. Amazing. Its a time capsule of 1991, a place where this boxset will take us back to time and time again. U2 will never create a sound like this again. The rich details and high quality of the contents of this huge box set is mind blowing! NO boxset comes close to this, Fact. Highlights would be the Baby Achtung Baby disc, the vinyl singles, the unique magnetic choose your own tiles album cover and of course the Italian made The Fly Glasses. So kitsch, so U2. I am going to replace this with a second box as i intend to use and abuse this one, just love it all!!! Expand
  14. Nov 12, 2011
    8
    A classic album that was to be the 2nd and last great album (the other being the immaculate and far superior Joshua Tree) from U2. U2 have ridden on the wave of this albums success ever since and have produced little to like since (unless you write for Q magazine). Nevertheless U2 were well on top of the game here, "The Fly" is a demonstration of harmonious melodies entwined withA classic album that was to be the 2nd and last great album (the other being the immaculate and far superior Joshua Tree) from U2. U2 have ridden on the wave of this albums success ever since and have produced little to like since (unless you write for Q magazine). Nevertheless U2 were well on top of the game here, "The Fly" is a demonstration of harmonious melodies entwined with breathtaking guitar rifts and "One" is a soundtrack song for anyone with a heart while "Even Better Than the Real Thing" sounds like a dream come true for the band. Expand
  15. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    Some of the reviews on here are slightly ridiculous. This was a great album, possibly their best. I remember the controversy when The Fly was released and was one of the weakest selling singles to get to number one. "One" is for me the best song of the 90s. The album has a few mediocre tracks so how can you give it a 10? However, the Zoo tv tour for me is the greatest of all time andSome of the reviews on here are slightly ridiculous. This was a great album, possibly their best. I remember the controversy when The Fly was released and was one of the weakest selling singles to get to number one. "One" is for me the best song of the 90s. The album has a few mediocre tracks so how can you give it a 10? However, the Zoo tv tour for me is the greatest of all time and can't wait to see who can top that. Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Q Magazine
    Dec 15, 2011
    100
    This reissue underlines how much Achtung Baby's high-wire triumph owed to an era in flux and it's as excessive as it needs to be. [Dec. 2011 p. 138]
  2. Dec 8, 2011
    20
    An alternate and/or nascent mix of Achtung Baby not only doesn't add to the dialog, it perhaps subtracts from it.
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    100
    Since that time in 1991, U2 has had other weighty tracks, sensualist personal soliloquies and dense production - but nothing better than this truly real thing.