Acid Rap

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 277 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 277

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Very unique and talented rapper. He shows lyrical ability and one of the most unique flows I have heard in a number of years. Cocoa butter kisses is one of my favourite tracks on the mixtape and this guy has a bright future ahead of him in hip hop.
  2. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    Easily one of the best albums/mixtapes of the year. I had not listened to great amounts of Chance's work before Acid Rap, but this tape definitely made me an instant fan. Full of variety and Chance definitely has a whole lot of potential. Considering how young he is, I wouldn't be surprised if Chance controlled this genre of rap sometime in the future.
  3. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    Chance the Rapper has brought something new to the table, a feat which is more or less essential for new faces in hip-hop and rap who want to survive.

    I have a lot to say on Acid Rap, but I think this one is best experienced first-hand. If you dig originality and can appreciate an emerging artist with great flow, Chance is your guy.

    Top tracks: Cocoa Butter Kisses, Juice.
  4. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    Shaping up to be one of my favorite albums of the year, Acid Rap takes the new directions of the Black Hippy boys and turns it up to 11. The production is amazing and the lyrics capture a certain feeling I have not had outside of listening to this album, but hope to find again.
  5. Nov 30, 2013
    9
    Rap nowadays is starting to evolve out of a dark era where MC's did not say anything important and instead rapped about getting or partying. Chance is part of this evolution as he clearly has a lot of important things to say from his life. In this regard he is similar to somebody like Kendrick, but even so he creates his own identity with his humorous voice and his lyrics. Also, the beatsRap nowadays is starting to evolve out of a dark era where MC's did not say anything important and instead rapped about getting or partying. Chance is part of this evolution as he clearly has a lot of important things to say from his life. In this regard he is similar to somebody like Kendrick, but even so he creates his own identity with his humorous voice and his lyrics. Also, the beats he raps to do not sound like they should be rap beats at all; something which seems odd, but only proves his originality even further!!! Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2014
    9
    I will admit, this album took more than one listen for me to enjoy, but once I began to get past Chance's admittedly grating voice and lack of melodic finesse, I began to see the genius behind it. The album has a good balance of hype and reflective tracks. I seriously recommend listening to the album with genius.com 's lyrics open in front of you. Drug use is obviously a big focus of theI will admit, this album took more than one listen for me to enjoy, but once I began to get past Chance's admittedly grating voice and lack of melodic finesse, I began to see the genius behind it. The album has a good balance of hype and reflective tracks. I seriously recommend listening to the album with genius.com 's lyrics open in front of you. Drug use is obviously a big focus of the album, but rather than using it to hype himself up, Chance tends to reflect on why he uses drugs, and even begins to delve into his self-hate for going down that path. Ludwig Gorrannson knocks it out of the park as always with the production. And the ballad "Lost" always gives me shivers. The one critique I have of the album is his choice in collaborative artists, specifically Action Bronson and Childish Gambino. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy both of them, but I felt that their verses (on "NaNa" and "Favorite Song", respectively) don't live up to how good we know they are as writers.

    Favorite track: "Paranoia", because of its truly chilling explanation of the PTSD that inner-city kids grow up with, and its suggestion that violence and drug use are reactions to having to watch those very things take your loved ones away.
    Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2015
    8
    This is one of the most enjoyable collections of music I've heard. Chance brings a unique style and sound that is refreshing to hear. The kid is a real lyricist and the production of the mixtape is great. Looking forward to what he puts out next.
  8. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    The joy of being a fan of a particular artist is watching that artist develop, to evolve their music while keeping /growing what made us love them in the first place. Why love Chance? He is crazy, goofy, and funny, but also introspective, value oriented, and deeply caring of what happens to his family and the community he is apart of. He's the type of rapper to talk about how its been aThe joy of being a fan of a particular artist is watching that artist develop, to evolve their music while keeping /growing what made us love them in the first place. Why love Chance? He is crazy, goofy, and funny, but also introspective, value oriented, and deeply caring of what happens to his family and the community he is apart of. He's the type of rapper to talk about how its been a "long time" since he's seen his grandmother smile, then turn around and ask the "f*!# you talm bout" if you come at him the wrong way because of what his city has taught him. That's a little of what we get from #10Day, which I believe deserves at least a 7 out of 10 due to its sheer amount of different from what the mainstream provides. Then he gives us Acid Rap. As the title suggests, its a little bit trippy, but not in a negative way. On this mixtape, Chance fans should immediately notice the increased level of production, a slightly more mature Chance since high school evidenced by songs like "Paranoia(second half of Pusha Man), "Lost," "Everybody's Something", and "Acid Rain", and a rapper that still lets us know he's down to party and have fun on songs like "Juice," "Smoke Again," "Nana," and "Favorite Song." We even get a bit of both on the songs "Cocoa Butter Kisses" and "Chain Smoker." The order of the mixtape is well put together, beginning with a hyped kind of intro and ending with a mellowed out, yet slightly hyped outro. Fitting, because that fits the mood of how the tracks transition in the order of the tape. He's in your face. He wants to be your hero because he's worried problems of a troubled community, and he's both, an aspiring "Captain-save-a-hood" indeed. Although his voice is quite different from most of the mainstream, perhaps it needs to be to catch the average listeners attention, maybe not. He is defiantly an artist that does take adjustment to, so that his always present signature high pitched screech of a voice may be enjoyed. Once the voice barrier is passed, its then all about his lyrics and the beats, both appropriately placed on "Acid Rap." He successfully gives the listener a clear picture of growing up in a troubled Chicago community, presenting a scared but nevertheless caring young man that wants everyone to know his story, and hopefully create some change. So. Good message. Not overly simplistic, developed beats. And lyrics that can alternately fit at a party or a deep thinking session. Sounds like a top-notch mixtape to me Expand
  9. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    In this new era of hip-hop we strain to see variety. This album is quite different. Acid Rap is packed with personality and variety and it's exactly what we need to help push hip-hop forward. Compared to 10 Day this is better recorded. It also has catchier songs and better beats as well. Chance is finally blowing up with this great mixtape leading him to success
  10. N10
    Jun 28, 2013
    10
    He sure has a funny voice, and he sure is funny with it. His flow's are beyond the most out, his wordplays are clever and the production is really fitting to Chance The Rapper's style! One of the best hip hop releases, and a favourite mixtape in my book. Maybe the best release so far this year. Hip Hop nerd's and oldies (me) need to get of the comfort zone, this is a creative project.He sure has a funny voice, and he sure is funny with it. His flow's are beyond the most out, his wordplays are clever and the production is really fitting to Chance The Rapper's style! One of the best hip hop releases, and a favourite mixtape in my book. Maybe the best release so far this year. Hip Hop nerd's and oldies (me) need to get of the comfort zone, this is a creative project. Originality is what hip hop would bring, this is it. Yeah it's trippy but songs like Paranoia (the hidden track at the end of Pusha Man) are so meaningful, real, sad and wonderful to hear. In this dude, I see greatness and with a record deal he has the potential to accomplish big things in the mainstream scene, maybe a game changer album. One word to rap this up, I love it. Expand
  11. Jul 25, 2013
    8
    Chance The Rapper is a talented artist. The sound of this album is phenomenal and innovative that reminds the early Outkast. Acid Rap is one of the best albums of the year.
  12. Jul 23, 2013
    8
    The first half of the mix-tape is absolutely phenomenal and is some of the best music I’ve heard so far this year. The second half splits into half not good and half great. Acid Rap is one mix-tape any rap fan has to listen to. It’s inventive. It’s abstract. It’s something new.
  13. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Although at times unintelligble, if you sit down and truly listen to Acid Rap, the 20 year old chicago native really delivers in the lyric department. He is let down by some of his features (one of the worst verses I've ever heard by Childish Gambino), but Acid Rap is an amazingly original mixtape that listeners can not only jam to, but can relate to as well. Considering how it is a freeAlthough at times unintelligble, if you sit down and truly listen to Acid Rap, the 20 year old chicago native really delivers in the lyric department. He is let down by some of his features (one of the worst verses I've ever heard by Childish Gambino), but Acid Rap is an amazingly original mixtape that listeners can not only jam to, but can relate to as well. Considering how it is a free downloadable mixtape that was illegally sold and broke out on the billboard album sales chart is a testament to the piece of wokr young Chancelor put together Expand
  14. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    I used to this album was terrible then I realized I was an idiot after I saw him live. I am now amending my review. Cocoa Butter Kisses is awesome. Goodbye.
  15. Feb 9, 2014
    7
    Though including a multitude of prominent feature guests, upcoming Chicago rapper Chancelor Bennett, more widely known as Chance The Rapper, is still the major reason you should listen to Acid Rap, his second mixtape. It would be exaggeration to call his drug-influenced, humorous, and fast rapping a singularity, but the 20-year-old is definitely one of the most talented artists having thisThough including a multitude of prominent feature guests, upcoming Chicago rapper Chancelor Bennett, more widely known as Chance The Rapper, is still the major reason you should listen to Acid Rap, his second mixtape. It would be exaggeration to call his drug-influenced, humorous, and fast rapping a singularity, but the 20-year-old is definitely one of the most talented artists having this style. Via a great flow, approaches to more serious topics such as Chicago street violence, beloved times past with his family, or loving the things that are bound to hurt you, and a congenial nature, Bennett makes himself one of the most interesting new acts in hip hop. Because of this, he can afford one or two quality aberrations and sustain an entertaining record, best with “Juice”, a hilarious display of how good meaningless rapping can be, and “Acid Rain”, a more sophisticated pondering about life in general. And while the ten featured artists may seem to be an awful lot at first glance, they do fitting and qualitative additions to the 13 tracks without seeming like unnecessary fill-ins. The end result is outstanding for a mixtape, but in comparison to more complex and multifaceted albums, it’s merely good, while there is quite a lot of potential to be seen in the newcomer. Expand
  16. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    One of the best albums that I have listened to. Chance's voice may take some getting used to but the execution of the songs are really good. AOTY.....
  17. Jul 30, 2014
    9
    It's Lil Wayne meets MGMT meets Kid Cudi. Acid Rap beautifully portrays Chance the Rapper's trippy, acid-fueled (he says he rapped 30-40% of it on LSD) world. "Sometimes the truth don't rhyme, Sometimes the lies get millions of views" is the best line from the album and sums up Chance's view of the industry. The most impressive aspect of the album is how he creates his own unique style inIt's Lil Wayne meets MGMT meets Kid Cudi. Acid Rap beautifully portrays Chance the Rapper's trippy, acid-fueled (he says he rapped 30-40% of it on LSD) world. "Sometimes the truth don't rhyme, Sometimes the lies get millions of views" is the best line from the album and sums up Chance's view of the industry. The most impressive aspect of the album is how he creates his own unique style in an industry filled with posers. It'd be easy (and pretty ignorant) to say "well his voice is annoying", but I don't think there's any doubt that Chance the Rapper has a bright future ahead of him in the rap game. ~ 8.8/10

    Best track: "Acid Rain" -- This track really demonstrates his potential. Most of the album is bright and fun, but this song shows what he's capable of if he focuses on the message instead of the method.

    Other notable tracks: "Cocoa Butter Kisses", "Juice", "Favorite Song" & "NaNa"
    Expand
  18. Feb 24, 2017
    9
    This is one of the greatest mixtapes to ever be released. A perfect album to do acid to and a wonderful blend of gospel and trap that defines Chance as one of the best.
  19. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    By far the best mixtape of 2013 and better than most albums released this year. Chance the Rapper is an amazing artist who has been rapidly growing in the past year. I am excited to see what else he has to bring to the game.
  20. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Feel-good Music
    Amazing I just heard this today and i gotta say best Mixtape of 2013. The production is great and his style is very original almost every song is cohesive and that's whats makes a good project.
  21. Jul 15, 2014
    8
    The first half of the mix-tape is absolutely phenomenal and is some of the best music I’ve heard so far this year. The second half splits into half not good and half great. Acid Rap is one mix-tape any rap fan has to listen to. It’s inventive. It’s abstract. It’s something new.
  22. Jan 22, 2015
    9
    Acid Rap is a mixtape that seems to only grow better with age. When I first heard this I thought "This kid's flow is sloppy his ad-libs are stupid" but then I realized that's what makes Chance such a great unique MC. He managed to make experimental hip-hop catchy. He is one of the best new school artists for hooks. (with fellow Chicago MC Mick Jenkins) The guest features are great until weAcid Rap is a mixtape that seems to only grow better with age. When I first heard this I thought "This kid's flow is sloppy his ad-libs are stupid" but then I realized that's what makes Chance such a great unique MC. He managed to make experimental hip-hop catchy. He is one of the best new school artists for hooks. (with fellow Chicago MC Mick Jenkins) The guest features are great until we get to Ab-Soul. Who seems to jump on any B grade rappers mixtape/album to attempt to catch up to the shine that other TDE powerhouses are achieving with their own projects. Ab-Soul delivers one of the weakest verses from a respectable lyrical MC of 2013. A shame. At almost every opportunity Chance shines on Acid Rap. Expand
  23. Dec 30, 2014
    8
    The beats are so refreshing! Chance the Rapper's latest mixtape, "Acid Rap," shows that Chance has a unique and energizing flow. My personal favorites: "Pusha Man", "Favorite Song" "Smoke Again", and "Acid Rain." The thing I love about Chance the Rapper is his ability to change moods. I am excited to see Chance succeed and evolve.
  24. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    A must have album for all the true fans of hip-hop. Every track gives you a glimpse of Chance the Rapper's personality; goofy yet cool; funny and deep. Its uniqueness is guaranteed to blow your mind as this is not quite your typical hip-hop album.
  25. Jan 27, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The ever eccentric Chance the Rapper delivers satisfactorily with his new tape. Chance has a unique, wild, and just strange delivery style and voice. With those things shows heaping amounts of creativity and expression. With this he fills an unappreciated void in current hip-hop that a lot of rappers don’t explore. This would explain why he’s been so popular lately.

    The first thing to take into contexts is Chance’s skills on the mic. Chance has a dynamic rhythm with his rapping that’s upbeat and jazzy, which you notice right away in the intro. The first tracks presents an amazing ability to spit in a near instrumental type of way, all while retaining flow and having great synergy with the beat. On top of all this great technical ability he can also sing quite well, a skillset in hip-hop that is only really matched by Layzie Bone and Z-ro. This results in an amazing sonic experience with this album vocally.

    Chan-o is hella creative like I said before. His distinctive ad-libs are entertaining and well-placed despite how obnoxious they are. He comes up with awesome melodies that are present in the majority of his hooks and even his verses; which he himself say “are sounding less verse-y.” The rapper also has a lot of unexpected lines and lines that break the fourth wall like “Her **** like me, her heart like f*ckit” and

    “All this medicine in me hoping I don’t get sick

    Making all of this money, hoping I don’t get benched

    Cuz n*ggas still gettin bodied for foams.

    Sometimes the truth don’t rhyme”

    A counterargument to his creativity is the lack of variety in his sound sometimes. Too many of these songs have this Wyclef-esque, reggae-inspired style of crooning, and it starts to wear on you by about the halfway mark of the album.

    As far as lyrics there’s the creative and artistic moments like those I stated before. Then, less impressively, there’s some clever-but-simple punchlines, and under that there are the times when he’s not really talking about anything at all. He does have a few song subjects floating around, but they aren’t super focused. In fact, they’re kinda jittery and make it apparent that this guy really is on drugs. Sometimes he’s actually reminiscent of Lil B with his eccentric and random lyrics. He especially sounds like the based god when he is being overly optimistic or talking about cheesy love stuff like the interlude.

    I don’t feel this mixtape is meant to have a lyrical focus, though.

    Features on here are pretty well-placed for the most part. It’s not really important to the worth of the project, but I had to address them. The singers in “Good *ss Intro” are lovely and formulate a great collective sound. “Cocoa Butter Kisses” features help balance and focus the song a little bit more than I think Chance would’ve on his own. In “Lost”, Gypsy fits and complements the song with her female perspective. Gambino fits well with Chance due to their shared awkwardness and sort of comedic rapping styles. “Nana” sounds like an instrumental that Bronson would be on in the first place. As a comical spitter he pairs well, but it feels like he tried to hard to match the whimsicality of Chance. “Smoke Again” is probably the most non-acclaimed album on this whole thang, but still is quite entertaining. The beat is a hella simple and cliche trap beat, and trap beats are starting to go out of style fast. Chance added a fun spin to it with his random yelps over the track, though. Ab-Soul’s verse had very low lows, but I can’t hate on it.

    It just feels wrong to take Acid Rap and Soulo’s verse too seriously.

    Acid Rap is a project of abounding eccentrics and creativity. From that perspective it is indeed a “breath of fresh air”. Chance excels in delivery in a way few other rappers can, including the greats. Chance isn’t quite a great himself, but has potential to be if he cleans up and focuses his lyricism. Good job, Chance the Rapper.

    Frosted like flakes.

    My Favorites: “Good *ss Intro” “Pusha Man”

    Songs That Blew Me: No whole songs blew me but overuse of that reggae-ish style blew me along with some songs leaving more to be desired.

    itzdadiabolical.com
    Expand
  26. Feb 17, 2015
    9
    An experimental album with a unique style in Chance's flow alongside the production of Chance's choice. It may not be everyone's cup of music, but the more you listen to the project, the more you will enjoy it. It took me a few listens since its release for me to appreciate it the way I do today. Chance comes with a wacky, fun, and eccentric sense of character in his flow and styleAn experimental album with a unique style in Chance's flow alongside the production of Chance's choice. It may not be everyone's cup of music, but the more you listen to the project, the more you will enjoy it. It took me a few listens since its release for me to appreciate it the way I do today. Chance comes with a wacky, fun, and eccentric sense of character in his flow and style (similar to some early Danny Brown) , but does not let down in capturing the emotion in each track whether it be fun (for example Juice and Favorite Song), or thoughtful and mellow (Example Acid Rain and Everybody's Something). If you want a something a bit different and unique in your hip hop, this would be an ideal project to listen to. Expand
  27. Jun 19, 2017
    9
    Acid Rap is constantly unique and interesting, while never going over the top. With catchy beats that perfectly set the mood, and an excellent flow from Chance, this mixtape is a sure go. Great success!
  28. Oct 10, 2015
    8
    I have known about Chance the Rapper for a few years now, mainly because of his weird Rap Genius annotation on Chief Keef's "Love Sosa" and his Justin Bieber and Madonna collaborations. I had also heard a lot of praise for this mixtape too, but I looked it up on YouTube, listened to some of "NaNa" and just didn't get it (what an annoying hook!). but one day a few months ago I decided toI have known about Chance the Rapper for a few years now, mainly because of his weird Rap Genius annotation on Chief Keef's "Love Sosa" and his Justin Bieber and Madonna collaborations. I had also heard a lot of praise for this mixtape too, but I looked it up on YouTube, listened to some of "NaNa" and just didn't get it (what an annoying hook!). but one day a few months ago I decided to give it a try and I kind of vibed with it a little bit ("Paranoia" was so relaxing!) but still didn't get the intense praise, as Chance's voice kind of put me off a bit. I had put it on my future listening list, and eventually downloaded it and enjoyed it a lot more. I began to appreciate the uniqueness and charisma of his flow and delivery and I liked the hard-hitting production and Chance's wordplay a lot. And I just like it even more now. The only glaring faults with the album were the average "Smoke Again" and the hook on "NaNa". But Acid Rap is overall a pleasant listening experience, and it's recommended listening from me.

    8.4/10 (B+)

    Highlights: "Paranoia" (very chill and interesting), "Cocoa Butter Kisses" (I just love it so much for some reason), "Acid Rain" (perhaps the best display of Chance's lyrical ability), "Everything's Good (Good Ass Outro)" (emotional)
    Worst song: "Smoke Again" (Sounds like a sellout attempt with a mediocre Ab-Soul verse. But still wasn't a bad song)
    Expand
  29. Apr 28, 2015
    10
    With his unique yelps, ingenious album composition, and smooth yet somehow stuttering flow; Chance has created possibly one of the best composed musical journeys of the decade.
  30. Apr 5, 2016
    8
    78/100. A lot of people, it seems, overrate this album AS A WHOLE. There are some songs on here that can be considered classics, like "Cocoa Butter Kisses", "Acid Rain", "Chain Smoker", etc. However there are some songs on the mix that bring it down. Overall, still one of the better mixtapes that have ever been released in the current era.
  31. May 23, 2017
    8
    Such a great mixtape. I honestly like it much better than Coloring Book. I was so close to giving it a 9 but I decided some of the songs toward the end drop the score just a bit. Still great though.

    Best songs: Cocoa Butter Kisses / Pusha Man / That's Love
  32. Jul 18, 2017
    7
    good album............................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    80
    Acid Rap succeeds for all the right reasons a mixtape should, finely balancing an idiosyncratic style, taught rhymes, emotional sincerity and rich production.
  2. The Wire
    Jul 3, 2013
    70
    It's far from perfect record--the guests are phoned in, the beats sometime out-cheese pre-breakdown Kanye at his cheesiest--but it has more than a few perfect moments. [Jul 2013, p.68]
  3. Amusing though he and his yelp can be, I like him best when anxiety is a mood rather than a subject.