Acid Rap Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 157 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second mixtape for the Chicago rapper features guest appearances from Action Bronson, Ab-Soul, BJ The Chicago Kid, and Childish Gambino.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Amusing though he and his yelp can be, I like him best when anxiety is a mood rather than a subject.
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    90
    There is no denying that with his knack for catchy melodies, descriptive songwriting, and excellent beat selection, Chance displays qualities on Acid Rap that have the potential to catapult him into superstardom. As a project itself, Acid Rap is one sweet, smooth musical journey that grapples with some serious topics in a pleasing manner.
  3. Jun 7, 2013
    85
    It is Chance’s ability to transition fluidly between self-imaginings that makes him such an impressive and likeable rapper. It’s also part of what will make Acid Rap one of the major hip-hop releases of this year.
  4. Jun 7, 2013
    80
    While the mixtape features strong guest spots from Ab-Soul, Action Bronson and a rare appearance by veteran Twista, none of them overshadow Chance, whose distinctive drawl, rapid-fire delivery and keen ear for experimental beats--ranging from hometown-grown juke to piano jazz--will have a bunch of labels tripping over themselves to sign him.
  5. Jun 7, 2013
    80
    The record is engineered so that he never has to. Listen past the last track and be introduced to Acid Rap all over again as a voice promises on loop that it’ll be “Even better than the last time.”
  6. Jun 7, 2013
    80
    Ultimately, Acid Rap’s biggest victory is living up to it’s own hype and Chance’s careful packaging of his artistry.
  7. Jun 7, 2013
    70
    With simple rhyme schemes, by no means is Chance an incredible rapper, but he is true to his artistry, the person he's growing into and is becoming a force in the new age rap realm.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    The joy of being a fan of a particular artist is watching that artist develop, to evolve their music while keeping /growing what made us loveThe joy of being a fan of a particular artist is watching that artist develop, to evolve their music while keeping /growing what made us love them in the first place. Why love Chance? He is crazy, goofy, and funny, but also introspective, value oriented, and deeply caring of what happens to his family and the community he is apart of. He's the type of rapper to talk about how its been a "long time" since he's seen his grandmother smile, then turn around and ask the "f*!# you talm bout" if you come at him the wrong way because of what his city has taught him. That's a little of what we get from #10Day, which I believe deserves at least a 7 out of 10 due to its sheer amount of different from what the mainstream provides. Then he gives us Acid Rap. As the title suggests, its a little bit trippy, but not in a negative way. On this mixtape, Chance fans should immediately notice the increased level of production, a slightly more mature Chance since high school evidenced by songs like "Paranoia(second half of Pusha Man), "Lost," "Everybody's Something", and "Acid Rain", and a rapper that still lets us know he's down to party and have fun on songs like "Juice," "Smoke Again," "Nana," and "Favorite Song." We even get a bit of both on the songs "Cocoa Butter Kisses" and "Chain Smoker." The order of the mixtape is well put together, beginning with a hyped kind of intro and ending with a mellowed out, yet slightly hyped outro. Fitting, because that fits the mood of how the tracks transition in the order of the tape. He's in your face. He wants to be your hero because he's worried problems of a troubled community, and he's both, an aspiring "Captain-save-a-hood" indeed. Although his voice is quite different from most of the mainstream, perhaps it needs to be to catch the average listeners attention, maybe not. He is defiantly an artist that does take adjustment to, so that his always present signature high pitched screech of a voice may be enjoyed. Once the voice barrier is passed, its then all about his lyrics and the beats, both appropriately placed on "Acid Rap." He successfully gives the listener a clear picture of growing up in a troubled Chicago community, presenting a scared but nevertheless caring young man that wants everyone to know his story, and hopefully create some change. So. Good message. Not overly simplistic, developed beats. And lyrics that can alternately fit at a party or a deep thinking session. Sounds like a top-notch mixtape to me Collapse
  2. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Feel-good Music
    Amazing I just heard this today and i gotta say best Mixtape of 2013. The production is great and his style is very original
    Feel-good Music
    Amazing I just heard this today and i gotta say best Mixtape of 2013. The production is great and his style is very original almost every song is cohesive and that's whats makes a good project.
    Expand
  3. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    Easily one of the best albums/mixtapes of the year. I had not listened to great amounts of Chance's work before Acid Rap, but this tapeEasily one of the best albums/mixtapes of the year. I had not listened to great amounts of Chance's work before Acid Rap, but this tape definitely made me an instant fan. Full of variety and Chance definitely has a whole lot of potential. Considering how young he is, I wouldn't be surprised if Chance controlled this genre of rap sometime in the future. Expand
  4. Jul 30, 2014
    9
    It's Lil Wayne meets MGMT meets Kid Cudi. Acid Rap beautifully portrays Chance the Rapper's trippy, acid-fueled (he says he rapped 30-40% ofIt's Lil Wayne meets MGMT meets Kid Cudi. Acid Rap beautifully portrays Chance the Rapper's trippy, acid-fueled (he says he rapped 30-40% of it on LSD) world. "Sometimes the truth don't rhyme, Sometimes the lies get millions of views" is the best line from the album and sums up Chance's view of the industry. The most impressive aspect of the album is how he creates his own unique style in an industry filled with posers. It'd be easy (and pretty ignorant) to say "well his voice is annoying", but I don't think there's any doubt that Chance the Rapper has a bright future ahead of him in the rap game. ~ 8.8/10

    Best track: "Acid Rain" -- This track really demonstrates his potential. Most of the album is bright and fun, but this song shows what he's capable of if he focuses on the message instead of the method.

    Other notable tracks: "Cocoa Butter Kisses", "Juice", "Favorite Song" & "NaNa"
    Expand
  5. Feb 17, 2015
    9
    An experimental album with a unique style in Chance's flow alongside the production of Chance's choice. It may not be everyone's cup of music,An experimental album with a unique style in Chance's flow alongside the production of Chance's choice. It may not be everyone's cup of music, but the more you listen to the project, the more you will enjoy it. It took me a few listens since its release for me to appreciate it the way I do today. Chance comes with a wacky, fun, and eccentric sense of character in his flow and style (similar to some early Danny Brown) , but does not let down in capturing the emotion in each track whether it be fun (for example Juice and Favorite Song), or thoughtful and mellow (Example Acid Rain and Everybody's Something). If you want a something a bit different and unique in your hip hop, this would be an ideal project to listen to. Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The ever eccentric Chance the Rapper delivers satisfactorily with his new tape. Chance has a unique, wild, and just strange delivery style and voice. With those things shows heaping amounts of creativity and expression. With this he fills an unappreciated void in current hip-hop that a lot of rappers don’t explore. This would explain why he’s been so popular lately.

    The first thing to take into contexts is Chance’s skills on the mic. Chance has a dynamic rhythm with his rapping that’s upbeat and jazzy, which you notice right away in the intro. The first tracks presents an amazing ability to spit in a near instrumental type of way, all while retaining flow and having great synergy with the beat. On top of all this great technical ability he can also sing quite well, a skillset in hip-hop that is only really matched by Layzie Bone and Z-ro. This results in an amazing sonic experience with this album vocally.

    Chan-o is hella creative like I said before. His distinctive ad-libs are entertaining and well-placed despite how obnoxious they are. He comes up with awesome melodies that are present in the majority of his hooks and even his verses; which he himself say “are sounding less verse-y.” The rapper also has a lot of unexpected lines and lines that break the fourth wall like “Her **** like me, her heart like f*ckit” and

    “All this medicine in me hoping I don’t get sick

    Making all of this money, hoping I don’t get benched

    Cuz n*ggas still gettin bodied for foams.

    Sometimes the truth don’t rhyme”

    A counterargument to his creativity is the lack of variety in his sound sometimes. Too many of these songs have this Wyclef-esque, reggae-inspired style of crooning, and it starts to wear on you by about the halfway mark of the album.

    As far as lyrics there’s the creative and artistic moments like those I stated before. Then, less impressively, there’s some clever-but-simple punchlines, and under that there are the times when he’s not really talking about anything at all. He does have a few song subjects floating around, but they aren’t super focused. In fact, they’re kinda jittery and make it apparent that this guy really is on drugs. Sometimes he’s actually reminiscent of Lil B with his eccentric and random lyrics. He especially sounds like the based god when he is being overly optimistic or talking about cheesy love stuff like the interlude.

    I don’t feel this mixtape is meant to have a lyrical focus, though.

    Features on here are pretty well-placed for the most part. It’s not really important to the worth of the project, but I had to address them. The singers in “Good *ss Intro” are lovely and formulate a great collective sound. “Cocoa Butter Kisses” features help balance and focus the song a little bit more than I think Chance would’ve on his own. In “Lost”, Gypsy fits and complements the song with her female perspective. Gambino fits well with Chance due to their shared awkwardness and sort of comedic rapping styles. “Nana” sounds like an instrumental that Bronson would be on in the first place. As a comical spitter he pairs well, but it feels like he tried to hard to match the whimsicality of Chance. “Smoke Again” is probably the most non-acclaimed album on this whole thang, but still is quite entertaining. The beat is a hella simple and cliche trap beat, and trap beats are starting to go out of style fast. Chance added a fun spin to it with his random yelps over the track, though. Ab-Soul’s verse had very low lows, but I can’t hate on it.

    It just feels wrong to take Acid Rap and Soulo’s verse too seriously.

    Acid Rap is a project of abounding eccentrics and creativity. From that perspective it is indeed a “breath of fresh air”. Chance excels in delivery in a way few other rappers can, including the greats. Chance isn’t quite a great himself, but has potential to be if he cleans up and focuses his lyricism. Good job, Chance the Rapper.

    Frosted like flakes.

    My Favorites: “Good *ss Intro” “Pusha Man”

    Songs That Blew Me: No whole songs blew me but overuse of that reggae-ish style blew me along with some songs leaving more to be desired.

    itzdadiabolical.com
    Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2013
    3
    I am a huge hip hop head. But I'm older now (36), so I need both beats and rhymes. Beats this had...rhymes and voice I didn't get. LyricsI am a huge hip hop head. But I'm older now (36), so I need both beats and rhymes. Beats this had...rhymes and voice I didn't get. Lyrics were nto that good. Dude is average but his voice IMO is awful. Couldn't listen to this dude spit for 10+ songs. My choice is to stay away. Many better albums to pick up. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.
  2. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.
  3. Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2013
    We reveal the top 25 albums of the first half of 2013. While the list includes rare releases from the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Daft Punk, and Boards of Canada, it's a metal band that tops our chart.