Acid Rap - Chance the Rapper
Acid Rap Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 131 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second mixtape for the Chicago rapper features guest appearances from Action Bronson, Ab-Soul, BJ The Chicago Kid, and Childish Gambino.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Amusing though he and his yelp can be, I like him best when anxiety is a mood rather than a subject.
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    90
    There is no denying that with his knack for catchy melodies, descriptive songwriting, and excellent beat selection, Chance displays qualities on Acid Rap that have the potential to catapult him into superstardom. As a project itself, Acid Rap is one sweet, smooth musical journey that grapples with some serious topics in a pleasing manner.
  3. Jun 7, 2013
    85
    It is Chance’s ability to transition fluidly between self-imaginings that makes him such an impressive and likeable rapper. It’s also part of what will make Acid Rap one of the major hip-hop releases of this year.
  4. Jun 7, 2013
    80
    It’s the density of wit, ideas, and verbal invention that makes this one of the year’s defining hip-hop releases, whether Chance is rapping about God’s cell phone battery, racial politics, or merely unleashing thick clusters of rhymes.
  5. Jun 7, 2013
    80
    The record is engineered so that he never has to. Listen past the last track and be introduced to Acid Rap all over again as a voice promises on loop that it’ll be “Even better than the last time.”
  6. Jun 7, 2013
    80
    Ultimately, Acid Rap’s biggest victory is living up to it’s own hype and Chance’s careful packaging of his artistry.
  7. Jun 7, 2013
    70
    With simple rhyme schemes, by no means is Chance an incredible rapper, but he is true to his artistry, the person he's growing into and is becoming a force in the new age rap realm.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    The joy of being a fan of a particular artist is watching that artist develop, to evolve their music while keeping /growing what made us loveThe joy of being a fan of a particular artist is watching that artist develop, to evolve their music while keeping /growing what made us love them in the first place. Why love Chance? He is crazy, goofy, and funny, but also introspective, value oriented, and deeply caring of what happens to his family and the community he is apart of. He's the type of rapper to talk about how its been a "long time" since he's seen his grandmother smile, then turn around and ask the "f*!# you talm bout" if you come at him the wrong way because of what his city has taught him. That's a little of what we get from #10Day, which I believe deserves at least a 7 out of 10 due to its sheer amount of different from what the mainstream provides. Then he gives us Acid Rap. As the title suggests, its a little bit trippy, but not in a negative way. On this mixtape, Chance fans should immediately notice the increased level of production, a slightly more mature Chance since high school evidenced by songs like "Paranoia(second half of Pusha Man), "Lost," "Everybody's Something", and "Acid Rain", and a rapper that still lets us know he's down to party and have fun on songs like "Juice," "Smoke Again," "Nana," and "Favorite Song." We even get a bit of both on the songs "Cocoa Butter Kisses" and "Chain Smoker." The order of the mixtape is well put together, beginning with a hyped kind of intro and ending with a mellowed out, yet slightly hyped outro. Fitting, because that fits the mood of how the tracks transition in the order of the tape. He's in your face. He wants to be your hero because he's worried problems of a troubled community, and he's both, an aspiring "Captain-save-a-hood" indeed. Although his voice is quite different from most of the mainstream, perhaps it needs to be to catch the average listeners attention, maybe not. He is defiantly an artist that does take adjustment to, so that his always present signature high pitched screech of a voice may be enjoyed. Once the voice barrier is passed, its then all about his lyrics and the beats, both appropriately placed on "Acid Rap." He successfully gives the listener a clear picture of growing up in a troubled Chicago community, presenting a scared but nevertheless caring young man that wants everyone to know his story, and hopefully create some change. So. Good message. Not overly simplistic, developed beats. And lyrics that can alternately fit at a party or a deep thinking session. Sounds like a top-notch mixtape to me Expand
  2. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Feel-good Music
    Amazing I just heard this today and i gotta say best Mixtape of 2013. The production is great and his style is very original
    Feel-good Music
    Amazing I just heard this today and i gotta say best Mixtape of 2013. The production is great and his style is very original almost every song is cohesive and that's whats makes a good project.
    Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Very unique and talented rapper. He shows lyrical ability and one of the most unique flows I have heard in a number of years. Cocoa butterVery unique and talented rapper. He shows lyrical ability and one of the most unique flows I have heard in a number of years. Cocoa butter kisses is one of my favourite tracks on the mixtape and this guy has a bright future ahead of him in hip hop. Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    I used to this album was terrible then I realized I was an idiot after I saw him live. I am now amending my review. Cocoa Butter Kisses isI used to this album was terrible then I realized I was an idiot after I saw him live. I am now amending my review. Cocoa Butter Kisses is awesome. Goodbye. Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2014
    9
    I will admit, this album took more than one listen for me to enjoy, but once I began to get past Chance's admittedly grating voice and lack ofI will admit, this album took more than one listen for me to enjoy, but once I began to get past Chance's admittedly grating voice and lack of melodic finesse, I began to see the genius behind it. The album has a good balance of hype and reflective tracks. I seriously recommend listening to the album with genius.com 's lyrics open in front of you. Drug use is obviously a big focus of the album, but rather than using it to hype himself up, Chance tends to reflect on why he uses drugs, and even begins to delve into his self-hate for going down that path. Ludwig Gorrannson knocks it out of the park as always with the production. And the ballad "Lost" always gives me shivers. The one critique I have of the album is his choice in collaborative artists, specifically Action Bronson and Childish Gambino. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy both of them, but I felt that their verses (on "NaNa" and "Favorite Song", respectively) don't live up to how good we know they are as writers.

    Favorite track: "Paranoia", because of its truly chilling explanation of the PTSD that inner-city kids grow up with, and its suggestion that violence and drug use are reactions to having to watch those very things take your loved ones away.
    Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2014
    8
    The first half of the mix-tape is absolutely phenomenal and is some of the best music I’ve heard so far this year. The second half splits intoThe first half of the mix-tape is absolutely phenomenal and is some of the best music I’ve heard so far this year. The second half splits into half not good and half great. Acid Rap is one mix-tape any rap fan has to listen to. It’s inventive. It’s abstract. It’s something new. Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2013
    3
    I am a huge hip hop head. But I'm older now (36), so I need both beats and rhymes. Beats this had...rhymes and voice I didn't get. LyricsI am a huge hip hop head. But I'm older now (36), so I need both beats and rhymes. Beats this had...rhymes and voice I didn't get. Lyrics were nto that good. Dude is average but his voice IMO is awful. Couldn't listen to this dude spit for 10+ songs. My choice is to stay away. Many better albums to pick up. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.
  2. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.
  3. Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2013
    We reveal the top 25 albums of the first half of 2013. While the list includes rare releases from the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Daft Punk, and Boards of Canada, it's a metal band that tops our chart.