Acid Tongue

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AllisonS.
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    This is a solid album from start to finish. A great follow-up to Rabbit Furcoat.
  2. Dan
    Sep 26, 2008
    9
    This is a really great album, surprised it's not in the 80's on here. Definitely worth checking out.
  3. DarkMule
    Dec 12, 2008
    8
    Some of the songs on this record are really amazing. I love Acid Tongue (the song), it caught me by surprise.
  4. RobertB.
    Oct 6, 2008
    9
    Wow! This is one of those albums that you just want to turn off the lights and let the artist's voice flow over you.
  5. Allan
    Sep 26, 2008
    7
    More like 6.5-7.. She doesn't reach her full potential on this album, and Rabbit Fur Coat is certainly the superior album. I'll always buy and listen to anything Jenny ever does though. Best track is Godspeed.
  6. ToddG.
    Sep 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing cd. The more you listen to it the better it gets.
  7. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Jenny Lewis has one of the most beautiful voice I've ever heard. That alone makes me praise this album. But even apart from her amazing voice, the songs are really great. "Acid Tongue" is the standout song on this album. "Godspeed" is another great song. The production is smooth and crystal clear. The lyrics are really pretty and then there's Jenny Lewis. What's not to love about her. AllJenny Lewis has one of the most beautiful voice I've ever heard. That alone makes me praise this album. But even apart from her amazing voice, the songs are really great. "Acid Tongue" is the standout song on this album. "Godspeed" is another great song. The production is smooth and crystal clear. The lyrics are really pretty and then there's Jenny Lewis. What's not to love about her. All In All, Acid Tongue is a wonderful solo album by the amazing Jenny Lewis. A- Expand
  8. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    In this marvellous album we can see all the different sides of Jenny Lewis: the country one in "San Fernando", the sorrowful one in "Trying My Best To Love You", the fun one in "Carpetbagger" (a song with a contribution from Elvis Costello), and also the nostalgic one in "Acid Tongue". But in all the songs we can hear two things: she has grown, (but that doesn't mean she isn't lovelyIn this marvellous album we can see all the different sides of Jenny Lewis: the country one in "San Fernando", the sorrowful one in "Trying My Best To Love You", the fun one in "Carpetbagger" (a song with a contribution from Elvis Costello), and also the nostalgic one in "Acid Tongue". But in all the songs we can hear two things: she has grown, (but that doesn't mean she isn't lovely anymore, on the contrary, you'll fall in love with her again and again while listening to this album), and the other thing is that in all the tracks there's a Californian atmosphere that gives the album an homogeneous sound Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Acid Tongue is where Lewis finally pulls it all together and delivers one killer of a record.
  2. Simple piano/bass head-bob 'Sing a Song' closes, reaffirming that Jenny Lewis' tongue lashings can't be matched for cheap thrills.
  3. There’s quite a supporting cast on Jenny Lewis’s second LP. Elvis Costello makes an appearance, Zooey Deschanel, Jonathan Rice and M Ward all pop by.