• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 8, 2005
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 298 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 298

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobbieC
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Simply stunning.
  2. Filip
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    Aerial isn't magnificent, it's perfect. Just aerial perfect.
  3. ChrisP
    May 19, 2007
    10
    The second CD, a Sky Of Honey, grew and grew on me. and is now one of my very favourite albums. Think of it as a single piece as it's full of cross-references. And it's introspective yet ecstatic, everyday yet transcendent, full of secrets and wonderful from beginning to end.
  4. adama
    Dec 21, 2008
    10
    Hey if you don't "understand" why this album is a brilliant masterpiece maybe you should think about what you're saying. Since when has understanding factored into the enjoyment of getting lost in a magical world that Kate Bush has created for us to explore? Either you give in to the magic or you resist it. Those who resist usually end up with comments like "disappointing" or Hey if you don't "understand" why this album is a brilliant masterpiece maybe you should think about what you're saying. Since when has understanding factored into the enjoyment of getting lost in a magical world that Kate Bush has created for us to explore? Either you give in to the magic or you resist it. Those who resist usually end up with comments like "disappointing" or "some good tunes but a lot of filler" or "I could do without all the bird noises". Come on people, where are your hearts? Your souls? If this album can't touch you I don't think there is any hope for you. Not that it's completely your fault. You've been conditioned to respond only to certain elements of music in a positive way, ususally music that doesn't challenge or offend. God forbid an artist should request your full attention for the duraton of a double album for the sole purpose of transporting you out of your dull but rational existence into a world of adventure, emotion and dreams where anything is possible. God forbid an artist should have the nerve to break all of the rules of music we've wasted our lives creating. Who does Kate Bush think she is anyway? Expand
  5. CarolineB
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    Incredible - atmospheric, thoughtful intelligent and beautiful. Bill M's problem is not the music. He needs to open his ears, mind and heart.
  6. Paolo
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Masterpiece!
  7. MarcB
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Absolutely breathtaking. I'm not the same person anymore.
  8. PhilH
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    In an age of instant idols and music by numbers you are a true artist, and a true artist is always relevant! thanks Kate!
  9. DanielL
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    As a first time Kate Bush listener there's only one thing to say: This is fucking amazing.
  10. AlexJ
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Lovely album, very pure and controlled - a masterpiece!
  11. KaiH
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Genius.....brilliant story telling...in a way only Kate Bush can do it. Good to have her back....and I hope we don't have to wait another 12 years to listen of the wonder that is Kate Bush
  12. AlexB
    Nov 12, 2005
    9
    To hear that voice again in those beautiful intelligent compositions has been worth the 12 year long wait!
  13. ColinO
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    I was a big fan before, and couldn't wait for this to arrive................... sorry just getting up after pasing out, WOW!!!!!!! What an album. Usually takes me a couple of times to like other songs, but loved it first time. Welcome back Kate.
  14. FlemmingF
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    this record makes me explode with sheer exuberance and implode with heartfelt beauty. it plays you like an angel. surely this is the closest you can get to the divine. it's simply quite extraordinary.
  15. MichaelS
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    A small masterpiece.
  16. ToddB
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    One of Kate's best....especially A Sky of Honey...absolutely beautiful. There is nobody like her and her music and it`s wonderful to have her back!!
  17. StephenR
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    GENIUS! Powerful, moving, so refreshing, I am blown away by the power of this album
  18. simong
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    just awesome
  19. HaroldGreen
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    Aerial is simply the best album of 2005.
  20. JariV
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    A masterpiece.
  21. danielc
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    A gem and a masterpiece! Worth every day of the lonnggg wait.
  22. GregG
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    Easily Kate's best since "Hounds of Love." The second CD is amazing, and should be listened to as one, complete, unified piece. "Nocturn" may be one of the greatest songs she's ever written. Kate Bush is one of music's few true originals.
  23. DavidM
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    Beautiful.
  24. ElstonG
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    It's pure art, she is simply fantastic human been with lot of love for all.
  25. RogerS
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    The closest pop music comes to outsider art, and I mean that in a good way. Kate has always followed her own muse, as if the fickle tastes of the mainstream were non-existant, and the result is a double album that works both as ambient background and as a closely-scrutinized, layered work.
  26. JeffR
    Nov 19, 2005
    8
    I have listened to this album obsessively since I first received it in the mail. I had not realized just how much I missed Kate Bush. And it contains material which should be ranked along with her best material, along with a few pieces -- like on all her albums -- that just don't do much for me. But I am not -- repeat, NOT -- complaining.
  27. JarekP.
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    Seductive and magical album, although it often shows common, normal things... I can't stop listening to it. Kate owns my heart.
  28. PSmith
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    This album is a masterpiece...it creeps up on you. Kate Bush is one of a kind.
  29. JamesM
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    Deceptively simple and unimpressive on the first listen...but listen to it a few more times, and the whole thing just overwhelms you. An utterly beautiful album, rivalling Hounds of Love as her masterpiece. She makes you glad to be alive!
  30. EricB
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    This is my top album of the year. Yes i waited a long time for a new CD from Kate. and Yes it was worth it. Beautiful from beginning to end
  31. dirkk
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Unlike almost all other artists, Kate Bush Is afforded a rare luxury . She is never expected to deliver upon past credentials or succumb to retracing former genius to be considered successful or relevent. she is however expected to ........Move you. On this her 8th studio release and 12 years on, she delievers something so intangable, so original you have to question all that has taken up Unlike almost all other artists, Kate Bush Is afforded a rare luxury . She is never expected to deliver upon past credentials or succumb to retracing former genius to be considered successful or relevent. she is however expected to ........Move you. On this her 8th studio release and 12 years on, she delievers something so intangable, so original you have to question all that has taken up space in your ears for the past decade. Start to finish Ms Bush takes you places you haven't been, soars through dreamy landscapes and slays you with craft few possess.......Mesmerising Expand
  32. PeterH
    Nov 30, 2005
    9
    Yes, some of the lyrics are weak, and yes, Joanni and Bertie are really cringe-inducing if you spend a lot of time thinking about them. None of that changes the fact that I've played this over and over and over again since its realease. Just to hear it washing over is reward enough. Unlike The Red Shoes and even The Sensual World, I am not skipping tracks although I confess that King Yes, some of the lyrics are weak, and yes, Joanni and Bertie are really cringe-inducing if you spend a lot of time thinking about them. None of that changes the fact that I've played this over and over and over again since its realease. Just to hear it washing over is reward enough. Unlike The Red Shoes and even The Sensual World, I am not skipping tracks although I confess that King of the Mountain is not all that terrific. But follow it, get to Sunset and Nocturn, and all is very much well with it. I like that she things about mundanity and that she can make me care about things like washing machines. Expand
  33. RachelL
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    Perhaps one of the most well-knit, elegant and sophisticated albums to come out of the new millennium. It is quite distinct and once again pushes the envelope. Both albums are completely cinematic and potent with emotion. Just when you think nothing else can be done musically...Kate comes along and proves you wrong.
  34. ChesterE
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    Completely transporting - Aerial is the bet album of the year and yes, it was worth the 2 year wait!
  35. BrettL
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    I can't imagine a better album from her... more BVs maybe? Oh well, what's there is beautiful, it works wonders.
  36. andyb
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    The most beautiful album ever from the lovely miss Bush. Thankyou Kate.
  37. vr
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    yay kate! it's been worth the wait.... merci!
  38. BarbraL
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    A Kate album for everyone beautiful, accessible and completely inspired. What a gift this is.
  39. FredL
    Nov 9, 2005
    9
    the world is still sensual. I am deeply moved. Thx
  40. JeannineS
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Words cannot do this album enough justice. It is incomparable in its beauty, and makes virtually everything that has preceeded it this decade laughable and even inconsequential in comparison. Stunned....
  41. alexanderj
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Beautiful, moving, funny, thoughtful. Gets inside my head the more often and the closer I listen to it. Kate is in excellent form. Ahh, the great kate. She has always been, and is now especially in our music-lite age, a unique and hugely gifted talent.
  42. MTO
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    ... become panoramic indeed. Positively cinematic. Whether wading in the sea of honey or soaring through the atmosphere of the sky of honey, this is the best album of the year.
  43. NickT
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    12 years and it is worth the wait. And I sincerely hope that a new generation take the time to listen, to discover and to enjoy.
  44. LucE
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    I haven't heard such a perfect album for years. Thank you Kate for being the greatest female singer
  45. josec
    Dec 10, 2005
    10
    the greatest has come back with a vengeance
  46. JyotirmayaD
    Dec 27, 2005
    7
    This is a good double CD but you have to be in the mood for it. The songs sound a little too much the same, and it's too long - kind of what I thought of Tori Amos' latest release "...Bee's" coincidentally and interestingly.
  47. WayneG
    Dec 30, 2005
    9
    Brilliant (aside from 3 songs on the first cd)
  48. cassandram
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    Kate just gets better, she reaches new and different realms. The sound is neither dated nor hackneyed, but beckons one to explore new ways of listening and seeing. She dosnt have to conform to what is considered "cool" because she just inherently is and she can set a mood like none other....
  49. stephan
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    Kate's beautiful Album!!
  50. markn
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    I put both Cd's in my multi disc player in my truck , and as I drove around for the next week here in Hawaii that's all I listened too! The songs matched the wide and changind landscape as if she wrote the songs here. I waited along time for this and I loved it. I love her and anyone who has inspired her to keep her music alive! Please keep writing Kate and don't wait so I put both Cd's in my multi disc player in my truck , and as I drove around for the next week here in Hawaii that's all I listened too! The songs matched the wide and changind landscape as if she wrote the songs here. I waited along time for this and I loved it. I love her and anyone who has inspired her to keep her music alive! Please keep writing Kate and don't wait so long next time. Expand
  51. ChristopherM
    Jun 23, 2006
    9
    Beautiful work from Kate; My rating may be premature, as I am only just listening to it now for the first time, so it may grow on me more...
  52. SteveS
    Jun 24, 2006
    10
    The best album of 2005 and Kate's near best (Hounds of Love still holds that crown). This woman is still astonishingly relevant, despite a 12 year hiatus.
  53. David
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    Simply divine. A true artist at work. Kate's music makes most of today's award noted music pale in comparison. Here here to a truly great double CD.
  54. OlavL
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    Soundscape is like traveling my own country's landscape!
  55. PiyuT.
    Jun 26, 2008
    10
    Simply put, one of the best albums I have ever had the fortune of listening to. Just shows how much KB has matured as an artist and a person.. her vioce is deeper and if it is possible, more mellifluous than it was twelve years ago. Just one thing Kate - please don't go into a sabbatical again, EVER (or atleast not one lasting twelve years)!
  56. KeithD
    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    4 years later and Aerial continues to shine brilliantly, deliriously so.
  57. JoeW
    Nov 11, 2005
    9
    As a long time KB fan who was rather disappointed in her last album, I was skeptical going in and didn't think she had anything left to offer, especially after a 12 year hiatus. But this album is a fantastic return to form. Highly recommended.
  58. erick
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    I love her
  59. rhomasa
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Simply delicious. Kate proves that she is an iconoclastic artist, serving the listner a platter of an incredible feast. This album will immediately be picked up by allof the popular female artists so they can listen and try to catch up to her..
  60. [Anonymous]
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    Throat-gripping, exquisite masterpiece...interesting to note that Kate and Madonna are the same age.....
  61. BrianK
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    10 is nowhere near enough. Apprehensive after her 12 years absence, I am thrilled to hear her once again. "Nocturn" and "Aerial" rank among the best songs she has ever done. This ranks as the best CD to come out by anyone in years.
  62. Brandon
    Nov 12, 2005
    8
    Could have been shaved down to a single album by removing some of the less-than-stellar tracks - still a very fine record, my first Kate Bush purchase and am interested enough to collect more of her albums.
  63. alanc
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    One of her best offerings to date. CD2 excellece in ambience
  64. macky
    Nov 14, 2005
    9
    Great album, her best album since Hounds of love. She is unique and when you hear music as good as this it makes you realise how much un-original junk is coming out at the moment. There is only one Kate!
  65. JimP
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    Much anticipated.....not disappointing. As always, grows effortlessly richer with repeated and close listening.
  66. MichaelK
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    simply wonderful
  67. DaveM
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    In the sea of musical mediocrity that now exists Kate Bush stands out like an island of dreams. Simply staggering piece of work.
  68. TomC
    Nov 19, 2005
    7
    Ahh, fandom. I guess its defined by a lack of detachment from the object of one's desires. And a twelve year dry spell would make the murkiest of waters seem like a '61 Haut Brion. IMHO Pitchfork was pretty much on the mark. This is an unspectacular record, though lightyears ahead of The Red Shoes, which must be tthe most embarrassing carreer-outro ever by a truly brilliant Ahh, fandom. I guess its defined by a lack of detachment from the object of one's desires. And a twelve year dry spell would make the murkiest of waters seem like a '61 Haut Brion. IMHO Pitchfork was pretty much on the mark. This is an unspectacular record, though lightyears ahead of The Red Shoes, which must be tthe most embarrassing carreer-outro ever by a truly brilliant artist. The production is idiosyncratically dated, the songwriting is totally disconnected to anything going on in the music world (suqare this off against, say Radiohead, or Mogwa), so the only proper yardstick is Katie's older work, which is a hard act to follow. My highlight is clearly Mrs. Bartolozzi, which recreates the charm of Kick Inside and Lionheart days, as is Coral Room - notice, its the voice & piano things that work well. "King" earwormy, but ultimately a simple idea stretched too far. This songwriting approach was far better executed in The Sensual World. Pi is an interesting experiment, but doesn't grab, Bertie is a nice nod to Jethro Tull in their Minstrel phase, but too long and lacks stringency. The other songs on the Sea-side are mediocre in the way that (too) much of Sensual World was - she can do so much bette, no? Honey is a pleasant middle-age, easy-listening affair, even if some heavy philosophy might have gone into it. It's better than 90% of the Schlock on Top 40 radio, but that's not the standard KT deserves to be measured by. And she really loses it on the final tracks, that slide off, unexplanably into a parody of the worst kind of 70s AOR. Perhaps I don't get the joke. It's all worth a 7 really, which is fair enough on a scale of 1-10, but disappointing when you consider that The Dreaming and the Ninth Wave are 19.5 on that scale hands down. But I actually expected less and didn't regret spending twenty bucks. Mrs. Bartolozzi alone is easily worth that. Expand
  69. MattD
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    'Hounds' revisited, but with so much happiness. Love it (especially 'sky'), love her
  70. IvoS
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    Beautiful, inspired and inspiring, wacky, incredibly well-crafted and even surprisingly kick-a** in places. Anyone who can sing the digits of pi like that is okay by me. Wonderful album.
  71. MarcusB
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    Side Two - Astonishing In Its Beauty! Fucking Gorgeous. The Woman Has Natural Talent, Her Entire Career Is One Of Unsurpassed Quality.
  72. MichaelJ
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    The muse of modern music, Kate Bush has created a soundscape that is so original and compelling that it really is impossible to review except to say: Thank God for Kate. And we hope that she doesn't wait another 12 years. In this age of unoriginality and amatuerism, she is a beacon of possibilities and sensation that defies labeling. Listening to this record is magical, especially The muse of modern music, Kate Bush has created a soundscape that is so original and compelling that it really is impossible to review except to say: Thank God for Kate. And we hope that she doesn't wait another 12 years. In this age of unoriginality and amatuerism, she is a beacon of possibilities and sensation that defies labeling. Listening to this record is magical, especially "Sky of Honey," the conceptual second CD. From start to finish, it draws us into the dreaming world of Kate Bush, a world and artist like no other. And her passion makes you start right back at the beginning as soon as it finishes. Expand
  73. MICHAELW
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    It's like visiting another planet. No, make that another universe. Kate Bush succeeds in drowning the listener in a tub full of honey. It's not sickening sweet as one would imagine, more softer textures prevail here that resonate like a quick shot to the gut. I confess, I'm hooked. How can something so delicate pack such a powerful punch? Feel as though I've been It's like visiting another planet. No, make that another universe. Kate Bush succeeds in drowning the listener in a tub full of honey. It's not sickening sweet as one would imagine, more softer textures prevail here that resonate like a quick shot to the gut. I confess, I'm hooked. How can something so delicate pack such a powerful punch? Feel as though I've been ambushed by a thousand butterflies. Delicious insanity. Expand
  74. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    This is my all-time favourite record. Once again, Kate Bush proves her genius - the second disc is particularly breathtaking, intertwining birdsong and Rolf Harris effortlessly and flawlessly into a completely different yet completely "Kate Bush" way. Spectacular in every way.
  75. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Tremendous evolution and maturity. I cannot get through A Coral Room without crying, so sad, sonorous and poetic and gorgeous it is. Nocturn is bliss in motion. Aerial is pure flight. The rhythms, nuances, her quirky other worldish voice and its tremendous range all combine to make this album an experience not to miss. In a world filled with ugliness, Kate Bush reminds me that thereTremendous evolution and maturity. I cannot get through A Coral Room without crying, so sad, sonorous and poetic and gorgeous it is. Nocturn is bliss in motion. Aerial is pure flight. The rhythms, nuances, her quirky other worldish voice and its tremendous range all combine to make this album an experience not to miss. In a world filled with ugliness, Kate Bush reminds me that there is tremendous beauty and passion...I hope somehow when I die it is her voice I hear as I set forth on the long journey. Expand
  76. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Incredible album-although kind of grower,need some time to warm up...the second disc is pure masterpiece from start to finish,probably the best thing she ever did.
  77. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    Kate Bush has a career of long thirty years, and even with the big lacks of time between albums, it's always worthy. 'Aerial' is a unique masterpiece of a dream-pop in a league of her own. It's bold songwriting, powerful production and Kate's mature and refined voice, with an atmosphere of happiness in every song. It often sound like a successor to "The Dreaming", but in a most elegantKate Bush has a career of long thirty years, and even with the big lacks of time between albums, it's always worthy. 'Aerial' is a unique masterpiece of a dream-pop in a league of her own. It's bold songwriting, powerful production and Kate's mature and refined voice, with an atmosphere of happiness in every song. It often sound like a successor to "The Dreaming", but in a most elegant way. She never gets old for good music. Expand
  78. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    My all time favourite album, I can't put it into words how much I adore this album. In my opinion this is Kate Bushe's best album, it was most certainly worth the wait. 11/10 AMAZING
  79. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Float away into summery, warm and evocative bliss. A few deterrants (Bertie, Joanni) don't manage to distract with the genious conception of this inviting album. 'An Endless Sky of Honey' is probably the warmest atmosphere ever created on an album and leads up to one of the most hauntingly blissful conclusions in Kate Bush's carreer.
  80. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Aerial has a couple of immensely unwanted moments, (Mrs Bartollozi, a song about a washing machine, and the vocal guest Rolf Harris on disc two) but the fact is, Kate Bush's Aerial is just so magical, so touching, beautiful and innovative in its own creativity, that you simply couldn't care less for what so little of it isn't so good. I dare say this is Kate's most stunning and flawlessAerial has a couple of immensely unwanted moments, (Mrs Bartollozi, a song about a washing machine, and the vocal guest Rolf Harris on disc two) but the fact is, Kate Bush's Aerial is just so magical, so touching, beautiful and innovative in its own creativity, that you simply couldn't care less for what so little of it isn't so good. I dare say this is Kate's most stunning and flawless work since Hounds of Love. Expand
  81. Mar 17, 2016
    10
    Ten years after this amazing gift of an album came out and it still sounds fresh. After such a long lay off I expected the album to be a sad shadow of Kate's earlier music. Instead she produced something different, more mature, more confident, a record that reminded me how much I used to love music. If this album as been on your "maybe I should get around to it" list do yourself a favorTen years after this amazing gift of an album came out and it still sounds fresh. After such a long lay off I expected the album to be a sad shadow of Kate's earlier music. Instead she produced something different, more mature, more confident, a record that reminded me how much I used to love music. If this album as been on your "maybe I should get around to it" list do yourself a favor and make the time. Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. There's no pushing of the envelope because there doesn't need to be. Aerial is rooted in Kate Bush's oeuvre, with grace, flair, elegance, and an obsessive, stubborn attention to detail.
  2. Despite her prolonged absence, Bush sounds as vital as ever.
  3. Like all ambitious double albums, [Aerial] is not without its flaws, but even Bush's moments of failure are much more interesting than those of her contemporaries.