• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 8, 2005
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 300 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 300

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ElC
    Mar 24, 2009
    10
    Frankly speaking, I did not like it too much the first time I have listened. Yet, with every time I listened it sort of opened up more and more. It is so rich that it unfolds and unfolds and unfolds, presenting each time with more, even when you thought you have it all. Kate must be a real witch, there is an incredible amount of "force" in this album. She is a very wise and mature person Frankly speaking, I did not like it too much the first time I have listened. Yet, with every time I listened it sort of opened up more and more. It is so rich that it unfolds and unfolds and unfolds, presenting each time with more, even when you thought you have it all. Kate must be a real witch, there is an incredible amount of "force" in this album. She is a very wise and mature person in sense of understanding the world and stuff, too - her songs prove it. Practically all songs on this album are charged with very deep emotions, and some are so much, that you can not hold tears listening. In short, this is an amazing, incredible album, one of the real treasures I have pleasure to listen to, ever. Expand
  2. RasmaryC
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    As a musician all i can say is, this is stunning!
  3. RachelD
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    What a trip. This gets right inside, heals your heart and lifts your spirits. Gorgeous.
  4. DaveC
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    One of the defining albums of the 21st century, in the same way Hounds of Love was a defining moment in late 20th century popular music.
  5. TimothyG
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Very few albums surprise me, this one did... Having only started listening to Kate about 4 years ago, it was cool to see a new album emerge abd hearing her voice with more modern day production.. Also, the thought that went into everything is staggering... even the artwork with double CD case where laundry turns to birds..... I'm glad I own this one...
  6. MintyZ
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Most excellent. Makes every other purchase in the past two years seem frivolous by comparison. Oh, if only the other 99.9999% of artists had the vision to make a disc like this. . . .
  7. AdanR
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    I don't know how this woman does it...with an album that focuses on domestic life and urges the listening to concentrate on the small things in life (birdsong, the changing light of the day, domestic chores, the smile of a child), she has ended up creating a mind blowing album. Amazing. Listen with an open mind and be swept away...
  8. JohnI
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    While Kate Bush is a big star in the EU and Japan, here in the USA, she has only had a cult following. I am a happy member of this cult. Aerial is not an album that will yield hit singles, but Bush's complex, almost hypnotic songs grabbed my soul after a couple of listens. This is the work of a true, popular music genius!
  9. Reedman
    Feb 6, 2006
    10
    Kate is GREAT WORLD ARTIST.
  10. LeeB
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    I doubt that there is or ever was a musician as unique as Kate Bush.Her music takes me away to another world.Aerial is one of her best(The Dreaming is still,for me,the best album ever made at any time by any artist).Let's hope that she records another well before twelve more years have passed!
  11. TakisS
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    A real experimental masterpiece! Only Kate can make songs like Aerial Prologue or Prelude in that Age. The album is the successor of Hounds of Love! A masterpiece!
  12. PW
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    An amazing album that gets better with each subsequent listen. Hands down the best album that I have heard all year. And frankly, I'm not even that much of a fan of Kate Bush!
  13. gregi
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    By modern standards it should get 11. Really. Even though it's not perfect, even the failing points have so many redeeming qualities that it is way beyond the sum of it's parts. It gives many a contemporary musician a worthwhile goal: personal, experimental, daring, beautiful, emotional and against the grain. Not many can pull that off successfully in this world of By modern standards it should get 11. Really. Even though it's not perfect, even the failing points have so many redeeming qualities that it is way beyond the sum of it's parts. It gives many a contemporary musician a worthwhile goal: personal, experimental, daring, beautiful, emotional and against the grain. Not many can pull that off successfully in this world of same-o-same-o. And for the listner: countless of hours of listening, finding and enjoyment. Expand
  14. JasperPo
    Nov 27, 2005
    10
    Just fantastic!
  15. WaltonS
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    An album that has genuinely touched me, and I dare say may be one of the finest I've ever heard. From anyone.
  16. ArchwayJack
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    A tremendous return, especially after the slightly disappointing Red Shoes album.
  17. josk
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    astonishing! magical!
  18. Greg
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Pure Magic. Well worth the wait we have had to endure. Perhaps not as great as hounds of love but defintley a masterpiece. Grammy will be singing areials toon.
  19. ChrisB
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Back and better than ever!
  20. NeilB
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Worth every year. Worth every damn second.
  21. billl
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    We are so not worthy. Would have waited 50 years for this album, and it would have been worth it. Aerial is stunning. Joy and beauty on A Sky of Honey; 7 diamonds on a Sea of Honey. mesmerizing and tear-inducing.
  22. JonathanM
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Wow, I've been a Kate fan for several years now and after The Red Shoes being such an overcooked record I really wasn't expecting anything as beatiful and beguling as this. Nearly 30 years on she still manages to be one of the most essential artists around.
  23. LeonardoF
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    cd1 is great, cd2 is perfect and when it ends, it makes you want to listen to a cd3. aerial is the kind of album that gets better and better with each listen. hope we don't have to wait another 12 years for more.
  24. MichaelB.
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    This is what genius sounds like... A simply amazing and accessible work from an incredibly talented artist.
  25. enricob
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Absolutely superb...it gets better and better and better with each playfrom the Lemon Jelly-styled paean to numbers which is "Pi", moody rocker "How To Be Invisible", the tearjerking "A Coral Room" (worth the price alone) to the gorgeous "Sky of Honey" suite. This album will make you feel delirious and slightly high after listening to it!
  26. LloydC
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Kate's back and better than ever. Aerial is her most cohesive and fully realized album thus far.
  27. JamieH
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    My god, what a comeback. Every moment of the album is perfection. "How to be Invisible" is the catchiest song she's done since the HOL era, "Pi" makes numbers sexy, "Mrs. B" and "A Coral Room" show off Kate's piano ballads, and the entirety of the concept album is filled with lush, stunning arrangements. It's another fantastic album from a fantastic artist.
  28. fredn
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    Brilliant - anything that you like the first listen is crap. It took a few listens to discover how unashamedly brilliant this recording is!
  29. GC
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    An outstanding album by anyone's standards. Some of the most beautiful music she has ever recorded. One to treasure for many years to come.
  30. Paolo
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    Masterpiece!
  31. IANB
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    Beautiful. Thought provoking. Genius
  32. nicka
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    Well after a 12 year gap the question everyone wants answered is has it been worth the wait? Most definitely yes, Kate makes the album shes always wanted to and her genius is let loose completely on this double album. The first cd titled A Sea Of Honey is typical Kate with perhaps the best ever song about numbers, as with any Kate album she does take alot of risks but even when she Well after a 12 year gap the question everyone wants answered is has it been worth the wait? Most definitely yes, Kate makes the album shes always wanted to and her genius is let loose completely on this double album. The first cd titled A Sea Of Honey is typical Kate with perhaps the best ever song about numbers, as with any Kate album she does take alot of risks but even when she occasionally becomes a bit too self indulgent or takes a risk too far musically shes still wonderfully eccentric. The second cd titled A Sky Of Honey is where she lets it all out and brings together things that you think how does she make that work? the sound of birdsong, and especially wood pigeons are all brought together beautifully to give an organic start to some of the songs, in a sense this grounds the listener. Although the second cd is quite conceptual in nature there are some wonderful songs and beautiful choruses, after the first listen you want to go back and listen again to check you didnt miss something, theres so much going on here and most of it is beautifully drawn together. This album takes to you to far away places in your mind, at times haunting, beautiful, eccentric, innovative,it takes chances, it pushes the listener and rewards them. Simply put this album is like a snow capped mountain rising above the clouds,it leaves the majority of todays so called music deep in the valley below! A wonderful return from Kate, its great to have you back but please dont make us wait another 12 years. Expand
  33. imkros
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    musica e poesia si fondono per dar voce a kate bush...un album meraviglioso ricco di sorprese e di tesori da scoprire
  34. DanielR
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    Many fans expect to be challenged by Kate Bush, but this isn't that kind of album at all. It's simply beautiful, pulling on many of the best elements of her past music. I have listened to this perhaps a hundred time (honestly) -- especially the second disc, the "concept album" -- and don't tire of it. I bought it for my mom, and she loves it too. The appeal is broad and Many fans expect to be challenged by Kate Bush, but this isn't that kind of album at all. It's simply beautiful, pulling on many of the best elements of her past music. I have listened to this perhaps a hundred time (honestly) -- especially the second disc, the "concept album" -- and don't tire of it. I bought it for my mom, and she loves it too. The appeal is broad and universal, easily Kate's most accessible effort. Expand
  35. Delysid
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    Oh yes! It's so sweet to have a great musician in the rock/pop world come back with a stroke of genius like this, and it happens so seldom. Bowie pretty much redeemed himself after his long fallow period, McCartney is a sadly lost cause, ditto Elton John, the Rolling Stones, and too many others to mention. Then there are some who never hit the duldrums but keep putting out excellence Oh yes! It's so sweet to have a great musician in the rock/pop world come back with a stroke of genius like this, and it happens so seldom. Bowie pretty much redeemed himself after his long fallow period, McCartney is a sadly lost cause, ditto Elton John, the Rolling Stones, and too many others to mention. Then there are some who never hit the duldrums but keep putting out excellence through decades: David Byrne, Neil Young, Tom Waits. Kate doesn't quite make that grade for me -- "Sensual World" and "Red Shoes", while they have their moments, pale in comparison to the brilliance of all her preceding work. And now Aerial is right back up there in the same hallowed heights as the best of her pre-Sensual World material. Some reviewers say her sound hasn't changed, implying she hasn't kept up with the times. But Kate was never with the times -- despite her huge popularity, she carves a unique path and has inspired more than she has influenced, with the singular exception I'm aware of being early Tori Amos, which is great in its own way but still kind of Kate Lite. Aerial sounds exactly like Kate Bush and nothing else, and nothing else sounds like prime Kate Bush. Take all the time you need, Kate, before your next album, and I will await with all the patient devotion of the truly faithful, grateful for the granting of such divine grace whenever it comes. Expand
  36. JulianC
    Mar 20, 2006
    10
    An album of happiness, comfort and warmth with a nocturne as one of the highlights.
  37. KenL
    May 10, 2006
    10
    It's like saying hello to an old friend. Welcome back Kate Bush
  38. barbrad
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    Forget the therapist - listen to this. Stunning
  39. AnyaZ.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Buying this album was best spending of money ever!!! Aerial is amazing album, great work of art and music. One of Bush's best.
  40. CarolG
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Leave it to the too cool for the school Pitchfork review to bring down the average, eh? This is pure art. Nothing else. Awesome. Beautiful. Spectacular. Get me my thesarus.
  41. JoshH
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    This is an absolutely stellar album. I am thrilled to have Kate back.
  42. alexn
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    This is a masterpiece; only for those willing to open their ears... Thank you Kate! And you thought we might not remember you... The question is how can we ever forget you?
  43. TorbenP
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Perfect!
  44. NancyC
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Kate's new album is a potent brew.
  45. orc
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Her master work. That voice and piano...that voice and piano.
  46. ChristineE
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Aerial is another masterpiece from Kate and is comparable to Hounds of Love in it's imagination. The track Aerial is a total belter! Those reviewers criticising the album just don't get it; and they are poorer for that.
  47. KrisH
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    In an era of Bad Bushes - we get the Great Kate Bush back! What a pleasure; listening to Kate Bush is like reading a good book -
  48. McTaffish
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    Stunning. A truly beautiful album. Thanks Kate.
  49. LynM
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    Kate is better than ever. As I have said in other reviews, Aerial is a shameless and glorious expression of adoration. Absolutely enchanting!
  50. MichaelT
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Some of the best music heard this year so far
  51. ninab
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    Once in a while an absoluetly pure, sensitive CD comes along which touches deeply. Did not know what to expect with this new one, but figured I could'nt go wrong with Kate. Put it on and was totally captivated, it pulls you in quickly and does not let go. Its rich in sound, beautiful but simple in songwriting and emotionally moving. Absence really does make the heart grow fonder, Once in a while an absoluetly pure, sensitive CD comes along which touches deeply. Did not know what to expect with this new one, but figured I could'nt go wrong with Kate. Put it on and was totally captivated, it pulls you in quickly and does not let go. Its rich in sound, beautiful but simple in songwriting and emotionally moving. Absence really does make the heart grow fonder, glad to have Kate back. Expand
  52. EdwardH
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    I love the lyrics so much... so different from the current pop-rape songs... The album shows so many different aspect of her life, love of her son, and the rumours. She might not be the most shi-shi looking and glamourous artist, but that's what's so good about her... finally true talent.
  53. DmitriR
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Sky of Honey is stunning. The best music created by Kate. 12 year wait well worth it.
  54. RayH
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    A magnificent, emotionally overwhelming piece of music. I think the second disc will become recognised as her best work. Who else could have made this record?
  55. RB
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    astounding
  56. BexF
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Well worth the wait.
  57. DavidS
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    How is it her music can still touch us this deeply after all of these years?
  58. ChristopherT
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    Beauty, love, magic, emotion distillied into binary code, reproduce as if handling a priceless work of art -your stereo should be worthy - then be transported. The greatest recording ever made by a human(s) Thanks Kate
  59. SamL
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Incomparable.
  60. SimonD
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    Stunning! I have loved kate's music since 1978, she moves me like no other artist, and Aerial has the same effect on me. I wept the first time I heard Coral Room. And the joy in the Sky of Honey suite is equally emotionally. Everyone on this planet should buy this CD!
  61. MicheleM
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    It's Fantastic. It should be listened to as a whole, not piece by piece.
  62. Paolo
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Masterpiece!
  63. TomaszS
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. Now I am rwady to wait another 12 years for another piece like this...
  64. Leven
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    simply amazing. kate bush is truly one of a kind... and she's made me see that once again.
  65. JohnK
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Definitely worth every second we had to wait... about 400 million of them...
  66. FinnFreak
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Most amazing album since 1985. The woman is a genius... really: she is.
  67. andyj
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    What can you say? Beautiful album. Beautiful lady. Welcome back Kate.
  68. DavidH
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    If you only buy one album this decade, it's gotta be Aerial. Do yourself a favour. : )
  69. GuyB
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Sublime! I'll have to give it some more listening time, but as of now, I'll have to say this is Kate's best album yet. Definitely the highlight of 1995!
  70. EddyS
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    This album is a masterpiece of intense and touching music. She was, she is and she will be the best artist of the planet.
  71. NickS
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Wow... Just wow... Never heard of her before this. Usually takes a while for things to grow on me, but this is perhaps the most consistent album i've ever heard. There are no throwaway tracks, nothing to skip over... Just amazingingly beautiful music.
  72. janl
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    After 12 years of absence, Kate Bush moved my again with nice intimate songs.The only track which decived me is ..."King og the mountain".
  73. bscott
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Aerial was worth the wait! This album is a triumph, and more importantly, a celebration of life. Music like this just isn't made anymore, thankfully, we still have Kate Bush.
  74. HelenC
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Kate's back and has nothing to declare but her genius. Stunning album, comprising one disc of intimate songs mostly revolving around characters real, fictional and historical, and one disc of breathtaking sonic vistas depicting the tranistion from night into day, taking in flamenco, disco and the recurring motif of birdsong.
  75. lièsT
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    TRULY a MASTERPIECE!!!! Let's dare it: ALBUM OF THE YEAR (sorry Antony & Sufjan).The queen is back with such a class....
  76. humberto
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    Brilliant. I waited 12 long years for this. Sky of Honey is a masterpiece.
  77. SheilaS
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Although her earlier 80's insanity will never unfortuneatley be repeated, I wouldn't expect it to. This is Kate Bush all grown up, still with her quirkiness, and equally as unique as she has always been. It was worth the 12 year wait!
  78. SylvainV
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    Kate Bush is a genius and probably the most interesting artist over the past 2 decades. Aerial is the album of maturity and serenity. Welcome back Kate!
  79. MarkusF.
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    This is a masterpiece. Just beautiful.
  80. JayD
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    It is wonderful to once again experience a new Kate album. After all these years away from the limeloight, Kate returns with another stellar classic.
  81. SimonS
    Jan 30, 2006
    10
    Subtley GENIUS
  82. HappyM.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    It took a few listens to "get it'. As a mega KT fan I was initially put on the spot - it seemingly wasn't worth a 12 year wait! ...But after a few spins it really stuck with me. Hell, I even love the washing machine song!
  83. Dennism
    Mar 12, 2006
    10
    This is an emotionally transforming experience. Like anyone or thing that is alive you have to spend time to get to know it, and you have to be willing to let it in, to affect you. Meet Aerial. Each song takes on a life of its own and there is such a buoyancy, an ebb and flow that gets embedded in your nervous system. Emotionally complex, and holistic in its approach , these songs have a This is an emotionally transforming experience. Like anyone or thing that is alive you have to spend time to get to know it, and you have to be willing to let it in, to affect you. Meet Aerial. Each song takes on a life of its own and there is such a buoyancy, an ebb and flow that gets embedded in your nervous system. Emotionally complex, and holistic in its approach , these songs have a unique form, some have careful strokes and others have moments that are wonderful accidents; a theme outlined in the song 'An Architect's Dream'. Kate even has a song written for her son hoping for 3 wishes. Brilliantly, she has sections in 3/4 time and notes in couplets of three. This is a technique that the composer Bach often employed, with the number 3 symbolizing the trinity. Not only did Kate birth this wonderful album, she nurtured it and raised it with a gentle wisdom we should all aspire. Expand
  84. nickelb
    Mar 12, 2006
    10
    wow yo!
  85. calinv
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    sunset is the best. she sings like did it in 80 years. a very deep emotion, an graceless introspective of soul-bird.
  86. PhilipH
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    A beautiful and enigmatic creation from a super, super talent
  87. RobbieC
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Simply stunning.
  88. Filip
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    Aerial isn't magnificent, it's perfect. Just aerial perfect.
  89. ChrisP
    May 19, 2007
    10
    The second CD, a Sky Of Honey, grew and grew on me. and is now one of my very favourite albums. Think of it as a single piece as it's full of cross-references. And it's introspective yet ecstatic, everyday yet transcendent, full of secrets and wonderful from beginning to end.
  90. adama
    Dec 21, 2008
    10
    Hey if you don't "understand" why this album is a brilliant masterpiece maybe you should think about what you're saying. Since when has understanding factored into the enjoyment of getting lost in a magical world that Kate Bush has created for us to explore? Either you give in to the magic or you resist it. Those who resist usually end up with comments like "disappointing" or Hey if you don't "understand" why this album is a brilliant masterpiece maybe you should think about what you're saying. Since when has understanding factored into the enjoyment of getting lost in a magical world that Kate Bush has created for us to explore? Either you give in to the magic or you resist it. Those who resist usually end up with comments like "disappointing" or "some good tunes but a lot of filler" or "I could do without all the bird noises". Come on people, where are your hearts? Your souls? If this album can't touch you I don't think there is any hope for you. Not that it's completely your fault. You've been conditioned to respond only to certain elements of music in a positive way, ususally music that doesn't challenge or offend. God forbid an artist should request your full attention for the duraton of a double album for the sole purpose of transporting you out of your dull but rational existence into a world of adventure, emotion and dreams where anything is possible. God forbid an artist should have the nerve to break all of the rules of music we've wasted our lives creating. Who does Kate Bush think she is anyway? Expand
  91. CarolineB
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    Incredible - atmospheric, thoughtful intelligent and beautiful. Bill M's problem is not the music. He needs to open his ears, mind and heart.
  92. Paolo
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Masterpiece!
  93. MarcB
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Absolutely breathtaking. I'm not the same person anymore.
  94. PhilH
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    In an age of instant idols and music by numbers you are a true artist, and a true artist is always relevant! thanks Kate!
  95. DanielL
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    As a first time Kate Bush listener there's only one thing to say: This is fucking amazing.
  96. AlexJ
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Lovely album, very pure and controlled - a masterpiece!
  97. KaiH
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Genius.....brilliant story telling...in a way only Kate Bush can do it. Good to have her back....and I hope we don't have to wait another 12 years to listen of the wonder that is Kate Bush
  98. ColinO
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    I was a big fan before, and couldn't wait for this to arrive................... sorry just getting up after pasing out, WOW!!!!!!! What an album. Usually takes me a couple of times to like other songs, but loved it first time. Welcome back Kate.
  99. FlemmingF
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    this record makes me explode with sheer exuberance and implode with heartfelt beauty. it plays you like an angel. surely this is the closest you can get to the divine. it's simply quite extraordinary.
  100. MichaelS
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    A small masterpiece.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. There's no pushing of the envelope because there doesn't need to be. Aerial is rooted in Kate Bush's oeuvre, with grace, flair, elegance, and an obsessive, stubborn attention to detail.
  2. Despite her prolonged absence, Bush sounds as vital as ever.
  3. Like all ambitious double albums, [Aerial] is not without its flaws, but even Bush's moments of failure are much more interesting than those of her contemporaries.