Afrodisiac

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Jun 29, 2004
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Brandy's meatiest album to date. [9 Jul 2004, p.85]
  2. New Musical Express (NME)
    80
    A superbly impertinent set. [10 Jul 2004, p.48]
  3. Recalls Janet Jackson at her best.
  4. Afrodisiac is Brandy's fourth consecutive durable showing, fluffed out with a few innocuous — if still very listenable — filler moments, but it is stocked with a number of spectacular -- and emotionally resonant -- singles that wind up making for her most accomplished set yet.
  5. Vibe
    70
    A far cry from the pleasing pubescent fluff of her formative years. [Aug 2004, p.139]
  6. It's beat-filled melancholy, an affirmation wrapped in a lament, it's the Coldplay record that the R&B set have never had.
  7. Ultimately we can’t get a bead on Brandy precisely because she hasn’t yet figured it out herself.... Which is exactly what makes Afrodisiac such a fascinating exercise.
  8. Afrodisiac teases more than tantalizes.
  9. Brandy has always tended toward blandness and is either unequipped or too restrained to unleash the soulful vocal flights that give R&B its distinctive stamp. [11 Jul 2004]
  10. "Afrodisiac" is Brandy’s most personally revealing album to date and her least lyrically fluffy, but its intimacy is hamstrung by the MTV-flavoured, formulaic gloop with which most contemporary, American R&B now seems to be contaminated.
  11. Blender
    60
    Feels like an episode of her growing-pains TV show Moesha. [Aug 2004, p.130]
  12. What gives Afrodisiac its allure are the confident club jams that mask B-Rocka’s vocal limitations without overpowering her.
  13. Analbum that flirts with the mundane just enough to tease out moments of brilliance.
  14. Paint-by-number grooves, coupled with nonexistent hooks and forgettable melodies, do not result in an album that requires repeated plays; that is unfortunate, since a few Timbaland-produced tracks demand just that.
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Oct 6, 2015
    10
    I had to come and write up on my favorite album from my favorite artist. If there ever was an album that was ever truly UNDER appreciated, itI had to come and write up on my favorite album from my favorite artist. If there ever was an album that was ever truly UNDER appreciated, it is "Afrodisiac". Every vocal, lead and especially background, is perfectly placed and sung. The emotion let out into these songs whether it was having fun, being a little sexy, or pouring her heart out about her personal life and her career, was truly felt down to the core of my soul. There is no other artist with the "Brandy sound", she is clearly in a league of her own. If you are someone reading this, looking to get into Brandy, start here. Full Review »
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing album! Brandy blew it out of the water! I love the way she used her voice to flow with the beats. Her vocals are out ofThis is an amazing album! Brandy blew it out of the water! I love the way she used her voice to flow with the beats. Her vocals are out of this world. The album so very creative! It's a must have! Full Review »
  3. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    Brandy's best album! My favoprite ont he albun is "Who I Am"...Ever song is something everyone can relate to and is most likely going to beBrandy's best album! My favoprite ont he albun is "Who I Am"...Ever song is something everyone can relate to and is most likely going to be talked about for a long time!!! Full Review »