Afrodisiac - Brandy
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Afrodisiac is Brandy's fourth consecutive durable showing, fluffed out with a few innocuous — if still very listenable — filler moments, but it is stocked with a number of spectacular -- and emotionally resonant -- singles that wind up making for her most accomplished set yet.
  2. It's beat-filled melancholy, an affirmation wrapped in a lament, it's the Coldplay record that the R&B set have never had.
  3. Recalls Janet Jackson at her best.
  4. A superbly impertinent set. [10 Jul 2004, p.48]
  5. Analbum that flirts with the mundane just enough to tease out moments of brilliance.
  6. Brandy's meatiest album to date. [9 Jul 2004, p.85]
  7. 60
    Feels like an episode of her growing-pains TV show Moesha. [Aug 2004, p.130]
  8. Paint-by-number grooves, coupled with nonexistent hooks and forgettable melodies, do not result in an album that requires repeated plays; that is unfortunate, since a few Timbaland-produced tracks demand just that.
  9. "Afrodisiac" is Brandy’s most personally revealing album to date and her least lyrically fluffy, but its intimacy is hamstrung by the MTV-flavoured, formulaic gloop with which most contemporary, American R&B now seems to be contaminated.
  10. Ultimately we can’t get a bead on Brandy precisely because she hasn’t yet figured it out herself.... Which is exactly what makes Afrodisiac such a fascinating exercise.
  11. Brandy has always tended toward blandness and is either unequipped or too restrained to unleash the soulful vocal flights that give R&B its distinctive stamp. [11 Jul 2004]
  12. Afrodisiac teases more than tantalizes.
  13. What gives Afrodisiac its allure are the confident club jams that mask B-Rocka’s vocal limitations without overpowering her.
  14. 70
    A far cry from the pleasing pubescent fluff of her formative years. [Aug 2004, p.139]
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing album! Brandy blew it out of the water! I love the way she used her voice to flow with the beats. Her vocals are out ofThis is an amazing album! Brandy blew it out of the water! I love the way she used her voice to flow with the beats. Her vocals are out of this world. The album so very creative! It's a must have! Full Review »
  2. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    Brandy's best album! My favoprite ont he albun is "Who I Am"...Ever song is something everyone can relate to and is most likely going to beBrandy's best album! My favoprite ont he albun is "Who I Am"...Ever song is something everyone can relate to and is most likely going to be talked about for a long time!!! Full Review »
  3. MarioA
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    This CD was Truth, truth made into kool songs