• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Jun 29, 2004
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 49
  2. Negative: 2 out of 49

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DeeinLondon
    Jul 22, 2004
    7
    She's my near favourite RnB artist (second only to Mary J Blije in my books!). Hence I was expecting too much maybe. Track 12 definitely worth a listen, huge hints of Aaliyah's style and more maturity from Brandy than in her previous albums. However I feel Timbaland hasn't given it his all. I would describe this album as a Tease. Slowly it gets more appealing the more times She's my near favourite RnB artist (second only to Mary J Blije in my books!). Hence I was expecting too much maybe. Track 12 definitely worth a listen, huge hints of Aaliyah's style and more maturity from Brandy than in her previous albums. However I feel Timbaland hasn't given it his all. I would describe this album as a Tease. Slowly it gets more appealing the more times you listen to it. I personally prefer Full Moon Expand
  2. Nikki-
    Jul 8, 2004
    9
    This was a great CD for Brandy!
  3. MikeyM
    Jul 9, 2004
    8
    Although no where near as good as Never Say Never it is ten times better than Full Moon!
  4. NseE
    Jul 16, 2004
    10
    Fantastic, though not as great as 'Full moon'. Kanye West outdoes homself on the brilliant 'Talk about our love', and the tender 'Where you wanna be'. Other outstanding tracks are 'I tried', 'Who is she to you', the title track, and 'Focus'. Brandy sounds more mature and though she only co-penned 1 track ('Finally'), Fantastic, though not as great as 'Full moon'. Kanye West outdoes homself on the brilliant 'Talk about our love', and the tender 'Where you wanna be'. Other outstanding tracks are 'I tried', 'Who is she to you', the title track, and 'Focus'. Brandy sounds more mature and though she only co-penned 1 track ('Finally'), the songs are for the most part autobiographical. Very sparse yet catchy production, coupled with Brandy's almost grainy, soulful voice. Expand
  5. Vaughn
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    This record exceeded all my expectations and I'm very satisfied.
  6. AliceW
    Sep 6, 2004
    10
    I love this album, I havent heard real R&B like this in years. Its ashame that everyone doesnt feel that way, cause this album is one of the best female releases in ages
  7. KristalF
    Sep 21, 2004
    9
    All I can say is I feel her! A lot of these songs hit home. I play them and sing along and really feel her pain, I am going through a lot of the same things. Brandy IM WITH YOU GIRL!
  8. NicholasM
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    AMAZING!
  9. markyj
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    Brandy shines on this effort. Her best to date bar none
  10. DamianC
    Jul 9, 2004
    10
    An amazing achievement by Brandy, but by Timbaland above all....if he didn't have your respect before, he commands it on this album.
  11. DavidKM
    Oct 20, 2004
    8
    A real surprise -- gets under the skin like a chigger. Production is top notch and some great ass shakin' shit. She deserves props for the stretch.
  12. PWalker
    Jul 10, 2004
    8
    At first listen the album may seem less than Brandy's usual quality of material. Over time and repeated listens Timbaland's production melds with Brandy's voice to create just the right blend for an album with many great songs that will provide many more repeated listenings than the usual , easily dismissed R&B fare.
  13. m.lewis
    Jul 11, 2004
    9
    i appreciate the honesty and adventure that brandy is bringing to the game right now.
  14. san
    Jul 12, 2004
    8
    Some real club bangers mixed with some heartfelt ballands (and one or two filler tracks) makes for a totally different, totally listenable (compared to "Full Moon" - "What About Us?" honorably excepted) Brandy album. More than a growing-up album (but, unfortunately, not AS grown up as it could be), "Afrodisiac" makes the most of the opportunities presented to Brandy by Timbaland, Brandy Some real club bangers mixed with some heartfelt ballands (and one or two filler tracks) makes for a totally different, totally listenable (compared to "Full Moon" - "What About Us?" honorably excepted) Brandy album. More than a growing-up album (but, unfortunately, not AS grown up as it could be), "Afrodisiac" makes the most of the opportunities presented to Brandy by Timbaland, Brandy and - strangely - Coldplay - don't miss the spectacular last track, "Should I Go?". Great but no CD of the year. Expand
  15. tonyn
    Jan 1, 2005
    9
    pulsing positively with life and rhythm
  16. WilliamP
    Jan 1, 2005
    10
    Brandy's "Afrodisiac" is the best R&B album of 2004. And it is very disappointing that it went under the radar by the public. This album is genius...everything from the lyrics, subject matter, excellent production provided by Timbaland and Kanye West, Brandy's vocal performance throughout the entire album -- this is her best album yet. This is one of the most solid R&B albums I Brandy's "Afrodisiac" is the best R&B album of 2004. And it is very disappointing that it went under the radar by the public. This album is genius...everything from the lyrics, subject matter, excellent production provided by Timbaland and Kanye West, Brandy's vocal performance throughout the entire album -- this is her best album yet. This is one of the most solid R&B albums I have heard in a long time. No other R&B artist has gone as far as referencing an alternative band just as Coldplay or going as far as sampling Iron Maiden. This album deserved to get more attention that it got. The single selection made by Atlantic Records was all wrong. She is nominated for the 2005 Grammys for Best Contemporary R&B album and deserves to win it. Expand
  17. mahishak
    Jan 31, 2005
    10
    I loved this album, you can definately see Brandy's growth, a young teen who has grown into a women, and has experienced real grown up problems--I believe this album, and i felt it all the way. mk
  18. DerrickS
    Feb 3, 2005
    10
    Lovely album! In fact, THE BEST R&B ALBUM of 2004! Just a shame that it was slept on by many people...who need to take this verteran R&B, Soul, and POP diva serious....
  19. KyleM
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    Everything "William P" writes in his review, is exactly how I feel. This album is a masterpice. I am 25 and have hundreds of hundreds of cds in my collection, with R n' B being my favorite. I am in pursuit of a music industry job, such as promotions, marketing, and public relations, and I cannot get my mind around the fact that this album did as poorly as it did. The singles put out Everything "William P" writes in his review, is exactly how I feel. This album is a masterpice. I am 25 and have hundreds of hundreds of cds in my collection, with R n' B being my favorite. I am in pursuit of a music industry job, such as promotions, marketing, and public relations, and I cannot get my mind around the fact that this album did as poorly as it did. The singles put out were all wrong. "Turn it up" or "Sadiddy" should have come out way early, with something like "Focus" or "Where you wanna be" following around the date the album came out. "Afrodisiac" should have been a U.S. single Brandy had the oppurtunity to be the female counterpart to Usher, and it all went so wrong. I read that she was supposed to be on a co-headlinging tour with him last year, but that did not happen. This album is amazing, even "Should I go" could've been a single, with the Coldplay "Clocks" music in the background, amazing. I cannot even believe her label released a "Best of " cd not even a year after "Afrosiac". Her label split up with her, but they should have milked this album for all it was worth. Support "Afrodisiac", it's better than the "Best of". It makes really sad to see this happen. Key tracks: "Afrodisiac", "Focus", "Sadiddy", "Necessary", "Should I go" Expand
  20. MininaenaeBob
    Jun 11, 2005
    7
    I think this a pretty good album. I do think however, that she should have stayed with Rodney Jerkins instead of switching to Timbaland. Timbaland's beats are sometimes outstaning, and other times low tempo. There are many that have potential to be good singles though. My favorites are Finally and Afrodisiac. I have a whole bunch of other favorites but I am just naming my top two.
  21. JD
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    WOW! WHAT AN INCREDIBLE ALBUM! This takes the cake as 2004 record of the year (Well, besides Usher of course) How else can you describe this perfect album other than amazing? Every song is incredible and you will fall in love with it, you can listen to it five times in a row and not get sick of it. The standout tracks on this album are 'Where You Wanna Be' and 'Talk About WOW! WHAT AN INCREDIBLE ALBUM! This takes the cake as 2004 record of the year (Well, besides Usher of course) How else can you describe this perfect album other than amazing? Every song is incredible and you will fall in love with it, you can listen to it five times in a row and not get sick of it. The standout tracks on this album are 'Where You Wanna Be' and 'Talk About Our Love'. Very good album, take my word for it, you will LOVE IT Expand
  22. Laddell
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    Brandy is the BEST! I love all her albums so far, but AFRODISIAC proves to be the best. Besides Aaliyah and Timbaland, Brandy and Timbaland are the best collaboration yet. Brandy also did a wonderful job with Kanye West. Although they helped her, Brandy's talent is why she's the Queen of R&B in my eyes. I love ya Brandy!-Laddell
  23. NathanM
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    I don't think that Timbaland should have helped produce her album. I would have collaborated with Lil john, more of Kanye West, Jermaine Dupri, and Missy Elliot. These would have given a good variety of tracks and would have delivered better tracks than "Who Is she to you" and "Saddity." I loved what she came up with though, but I think it could have been better. I agree with the I don't think that Timbaland should have helped produce her album. I would have collaborated with Lil john, more of Kanye West, Jermaine Dupri, and Missy Elliot. These would have given a good variety of tracks and would have delivered better tracks than "Who Is she to you" and "Saddity." I loved what she came up with though, but I think it could have been better. I agree with the other comments about how her record label failed to promote some of the better tracks to become videos. It was probably the record labels way of having the album fail purposely so they could release her. I would have came out with "Who I Am" first to pull the masses into her personal life, and get the sense that this album is not like the rest, it's more personal. Then with "Where you wanna be" because it's not a slow song but a song that ,again, is personal and is a "that's my song!!" kind of single and it had popular rapper of the time T.I. collaborating along with it, which went very well the beat because his style is smooth, just like the song. I play that song to people who hate brandy, and they say she should have had a video for this song instead of "Who Is She to you." Then "turn it Up" as the third single to show how versatile the album is, going from very personal to club hopping, remixing it with missy which goes well with it's unusual beat to complement the song. Finally, ending her album promotion with "Say you Will" to show I can sing any style of music and shows she can sing a love song just as good as Mariah Carey or Whitney Houston. And maybe had the last video as "Should I go" to leave audience with a cliff hanger: Is Brandy in the music business or has she retired to take care of her baby. I just hope that she finds a record label soon, because her style and voice is like no other, and it would be ashame for a pioneer of her status to leave the business with a great album with horrible promotion as her last project. (She needs to get her braids back and eat a little bit more. I don't think anybody recognizes her anymore. People think she's a new artist or something). Expand
  24. adiybaj
    May 10, 2006
    10
    I love all of brandy albums. She is real and Ican relate to alot of her songs.
  25. KrystalM
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    Fantastic!
  26. MarioA
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    This CD was Truth, truth made into kool songs
  27. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    Brandy's best album! My favoprite ont he albun is "Who I Am"...Ever song is something everyone can relate to and is most likely going to be talked about for a long time!!!
  28. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing album! Brandy blew it out of the water! I love the way she used her voice to flow with the beats. Her vocals are out of this world. The album so very creative! It's a must have!
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. A superbly impertinent set. [10 Jul 2004, p.48]
  2. 70
    A far cry from the pleasing pubescent fluff of her formative years. [Aug 2004, p.139]
  3. It's beat-filled melancholy, an affirmation wrapped in a lament, it's the Coldplay record that the R&B set have never had.