Afrodisiac

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Afrodisiac Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A ten-year music-industry veteran at age 25, Brandy returns with 15 new tracks, ditching long-time collaborator Rodney Jerkins in favor of producers Timbaland, Organized Noize and Kanye West.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Brandy's meatiest album to date. [9 Jul 2004, p.85]
  2. Recalls Janet Jackson at her best.
  3. New Musical Express (NME)
    80
    A superbly impertinent set. [10 Jul 2004, p.48]
  4. Afrodisiac teases more than tantalizes.
  5. Brandy has always tended toward blandness and is either unequipped or too restrained to unleash the soulful vocal flights that give R&B its distinctive stamp. [11 Jul 2004]
  6. "Afrodisiac" is Brandy’s most personally revealing album to date and her least lyrically fluffy, but its intimacy is hamstrung by the MTV-flavoured, formulaic gloop with which most contemporary, American R&B now seems to be contaminated.
  7. Paint-by-number grooves, coupled with nonexistent hooks and forgettable melodies, do not result in an album that requires repeated plays; that is unfortunate, since a few Timbaland-produced tracks demand just that.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Oct 6, 2015
    10
    I had to come and write up on my favorite album from my favorite artist. If there ever was an album that was ever truly UNDER appreciated, itI had to come and write up on my favorite album from my favorite artist. If there ever was an album that was ever truly UNDER appreciated, it is "Afrodisiac". Every vocal, lead and especially background, is perfectly placed and sung. The emotion let out into these songs whether it was having fun, being a little sexy, or pouring her heart out about her personal life and her career, was truly felt down to the core of my soul. There is no other artist with the "Brandy sound", she is clearly in a league of her own. If you are someone reading this, looking to get into Brandy, start here. Expand
  2. KyleM
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    Everything "William P" writes in his review, is exactly how I feel. This album is a masterpice. I am 25 and have hundreds of hundreds of cds Everything "William P" writes in his review, is exactly how I feel. This album is a masterpice. I am 25 and have hundreds of hundreds of cds in my collection, with R n' B being my favorite. I am in pursuit of a music industry job, such as promotions, marketing, and public relations, and I cannot get my mind around the fact that this album did as poorly as it did. The singles put out were all wrong. "Turn it up" or "Sadiddy" should have come out way early, with something like "Focus" or "Where you wanna be" following around the date the album came out. "Afrodisiac" should have been a U.S. single Brandy had the oppurtunity to be the female counterpart to Usher, and it all went so wrong. I read that she was supposed to be on a co-headlinging tour with him last year, but that did not happen. This album is amazing, even "Should I go" could've been a single, with the Coldplay "Clocks" music in the background, amazing. I cannot even believe her label released a "Best of " cd not even a year after "Afrosiac". Her label split up with her, but they should have milked this album for all it was worth. Support "Afrodisiac", it's better than the "Best of". It makes really sad to see this happen. Key tracks: "Afrodisiac", "Focus", "Sadiddy", "Necessary", "Should I go" Expand
  3. NseE
    Jul 16, 2004
    10
    Fantastic, though not as great as 'Full moon'. Kanye West outdoes homself on the brilliant 'Talk about our love', and the Fantastic, though not as great as 'Full moon'. Kanye West outdoes homself on the brilliant 'Talk about our love', and the tender 'Where you wanna be'. Other outstanding tracks are 'I tried', 'Who is she to you', the title track, and 'Focus'. Brandy sounds more mature and though she only co-penned 1 track ('Finally'), the songs are for the most part autobiographical. Very sparse yet catchy production, coupled with Brandy's almost grainy, soulful voice. Expand
  4. KrystalM
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    Fantastic!
  5. KristalF
    Sep 21, 2004
    9
    All I can say is I feel her! A lot of these songs hit home. I play them and sing along and really feel her pain, I am going through a lot of All I can say is I feel her! A lot of these songs hit home. I play them and sing along and really feel her pain, I am going through a lot of the same things. Brandy IM WITH YOU GIRL! Expand
  6. san
    Jul 12, 2004
    8
    Some real club bangers mixed with some heartfelt ballands (and one or two filler tracks) makes for a totally different, totally listenable Some real club bangers mixed with some heartfelt ballands (and one or two filler tracks) makes for a totally different, totally listenable (compared to "Full Moon" - "What About Us?" honorably excepted) Brandy album. More than a growing-up album (but, unfortunately, not AS grown up as it could be), "Afrodisiac" makes the most of the opportunities presented to Brandy by Timbaland, Brandy and - strangely - Coldplay - don't miss the spectacular last track, "Should I Go?". Great but no CD of the year. Expand
  7. garenb
    Aug 18, 2004
    0
    it truely sux

See all 32 User Reviews