• Record Label: Arista
  • Release Date: Nov 4, 2003
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. 80
    It’s gorgeous, moving and magnificent.
  2. While there's nothing approaching the memorable hook of Solace's "Into the Fire" or the stalking menace underlying Fumbling Towards Ecstasy's "Possession," Afterglow stays true to McLachlan's impeccably designed songcraft and keen sense of melody.
  3. Blender
    70
    It's quite a feat: crushing, weighty themes conveyed via music that floats in a netherworld a few steps off the ground. [Dec 2003, p.144]
  4. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    Comely but slight, Afterglow works hard to stay on a calm, unprepossessing middle middle course despite McLachlan's initimate soul-searching. [7 Nov 2003, p.68]
  5. Her voice is still in fine shape, but tracks like "Fallen" and "Drifting" are so mild-mannered you have to wonder if anyone will even notice she's back.
  6. Some may call that predictable, some may call it reliable, but there's little arguing that Afterglow is a solid effort -- it won't win new fans, but it will certainly satisfy the old ones.
  7. Q Magazine
    60
    McLachlan's gorgeous voice has always been her strength, and even Pierre Marchand's soft-rock production can't diminish its power. [Mar 2004, p.107]
  8. Eventually the piano-based songs grow repetitive, while retaining their lush romanticism.
  9. Die-hard fans will be delighted. Others might yawn.
  10. If these songs have a certain melancholic charm, it has been obscured beneath an impenetrably bland sheen.
  11. Mojo
    20
    A vapid yet relentlessly self-regarding solemnity prevails. [Feb 2004, p.95]
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. ixata
    Dec 22, 2006
    9
    easily one of the most woderful album ever existed... bt sadly, i cant gv it a 10 for it sounds quite same as srfacing... this doesnt sound easily one of the most woderful album ever existed... bt sadly, i cant gv it a 10 for it sounds quite same as srfacing... this doesnt sound lyk an after-6-years-break album, more lyk 6 days.. bt still great Full Review »
  2. CapnFoo
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    This is the first mclachlan cd I got, and so far none of her other albums I have acquired since then have matched it. My rating is not based This is the first mclachlan cd I got, and so far none of her other albums I have acquired since then have matched it. My rating is not based on her other cd's so I give it a 10 Full Review »
  3. KimS
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    She's amazing! Finds a way to touch each and every listner! Wow!