Aha Shake Heartbreak

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 124

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JaviM
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    Amazing sound. Great songs, they're not all the same so it gives a great feeling to the listener. Plus some of the lyrics are just great
  2. joel
    Apr 29, 2006
    10
    i feel this album is being given less credit than it deserves, a great follow up album to youth and young manhood! slownight so long and day old blues are the highlights of a fantastic album!
  3. KimP
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    This is one of the albums i never get tired of listening to. Music is supposed to be raw and full of passion, and this album is a perfect display of that. As for Caleb's voice, I think it's beautiful. Perfect voiced singers bore me.
  4. JamieK
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    this album deserved to be best album of the year.
  5. SidVicious
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    Hype can be an artists best friend or worst enemy. Kings of Leon recieved a hell of alot of hype. Hype usually deters me - if only becuase I've been burnt in the past by the hype machine. But I was crazy for the song 'Red Morning Light' off Youth and Young Manhood - So there you go, huh? And guess what fellows? Aha Shake Heartbreak is fecking fantastic! Buy it. Listen to Hype can be an artists best friend or worst enemy. Kings of Leon recieved a hell of alot of hype. Hype usually deters me - if only becuase I've been burnt in the past by the hype machine. But I was crazy for the song 'Red Morning Light' off Youth and Young Manhood - So there you go, huh? And guess what fellows? Aha Shake Heartbreak is fecking fantastic! Buy it. Listen to it. Make sweet love to it. You'll thank me later. Expand
  6. Joey
    Nov 22, 2004
    9
    the stylus magazine review nails down this album pretty well. the album is terrific-check it out.
  7. PaulW
    Nov 25, 2004
    9
    This CD is one of the best cd's i have ever bought! It's very out of the ordinary and thats what makes it so great. But maybe thats why i like it, i hate following the crowd and thats why these are such a great alternative to the Strokes, both equally as ingenious but perhaps this album offers more to the listener than the monotonous room on fire! Hope this has been a help, go This CD is one of the best cd's i have ever bought! It's very out of the ordinary and thats what makes it so great. But maybe thats why i like it, i hate following the crowd and thats why these are such a great alternative to the Strokes, both equally as ingenious but perhaps this album offers more to the listener than the monotonous room on fire! Hope this has been a help, go out and buy this album now!!! Expand
  8. JerryHello
    Nov 27, 2004
    10
    Better than the first. Plain brilliant and fun. Rockin' good news.
  9. JamieO
    Dec 22, 2004
    10
    Quality!!This album is full of pounding tunes that will make you want to listen to this album again and again!!Rock 'n' Roll!!
  10. ScottM
    Nov 21, 2005
    8
    can't get Taper Jean Girl out of my head....
  11. ChrisE
    Feb 23, 2005
    8
    Good but like the first album more
  12. steve
    Feb 24, 2005
    9
    fucking strong. can't wait to see them live in may.
  13. patrickD
    Apr 11, 2005
    9
    Grew up in SF with Butterfield, Hendrix, Cream, Led, Santana. I would say this group is the most exciting group I have heard today. Saw them at the Great American Music Hall on 4/9. Tore the house down. It was quite a mix of young and old. All were appreciative of excellence in rock. They have it down pure, powerful and no bull.
  14. KonK
    Apr 25, 2007
    9
    Fantastic album. The band has developed a lot since their debut. It actually sounds like a new band. I liked their debut album, and din't buy this second one for a while, unsure whether it would match the quality of the first. But now, I look back at the first and think, wow- that's nothing compared to this. One of the best contemporary rock albums I have by a band that is Fantastic album. The band has developed a lot since their debut. It actually sounds like a new band. I liked their debut album, and din't buy this second one for a while, unsure whether it would match the quality of the first. But now, I look back at the first and think, wow- that's nothing compared to this. One of the best contemporary rock albums I have by a band that is talented, can actually play their instruments, and play really well. Expand
  15. MarioPPPP
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    I don't know what the guy who gave it a 4 meant. It sounds really good, it's produced way better (it doesn't sound like Ryan Adams) than the debut record because you can dance to it and it sounds fresher. Some beats have grown, and you can't call 'em "Southern Strokes" anymore because the guitars have their own style right now.
  16. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    there is not one bad song on this album, all the songs fit together like a glove. Caleb talks about not getting it up, taking cocaine, women's nipples and having sex with hookers, he leaves no stone unturned, callsic album.
  17. AlanR
    Feb 2, 2005
    0
    Only the most emotionally crippled people with no respect for the original rock legends these guys spunk on could possibly enjoy this.
  18. crunkymccrunk
    Mar 10, 2005
    1
    i hate these guys darnit!! poser attack!!!
  19. Mr.Hankey
    Jul 15, 2006
    3
    Unfortunately, I was part of the hype machine as well. I usually don't listen to hype bands besides the few that caught my attention earlier in their recording stages. Youth and Young Manhood won itself the worst title of 2003 but was a very mediocre anyway so it was not ironic. Winning themselves car commercials Kings of Leon were confident to go back into the studio to produce Unfortunately, I was part of the hype machine as well. I usually don't listen to hype bands besides the few that caught my attention earlier in their recording stages. Youth and Young Manhood won itself the worst title of 2003 but was a very mediocre anyway so it was not ironic. Winning themselves car commercials Kings of Leon were confident to go back into the studio to produce their sophomore effort Aha Shake Heartbreak which is the lamest excuse to go see a band live. I saw Kings of Leon in 2005 with the Shout Out Louds and Secret Machines and what was so funny is that the warm-up bands were even better than the headliner. Kings of Leon's Aha Shake Heartbreak is considered a garage rock revival outfit and I have to agree but the keyword is revival because this is no garage rock record. They may try to revive it but they will get the same sound that is bland, blunt and blatant every time you listen. Both their albums sound exactly alike and I don't care what anyone says the concert that I saw was horrible ( Thank God for the Secret Machines ). The lightest way I can shun this record is by saying this, this is my opinion not pitchfork's but if you like your Coldplay southern with no piano or keyboard, heavier on the guitar and a rough voice that sounds like a mouse than you have a favorite record of 2005. Expand
  20. jayk
    Oct 24, 2006
    4
    i really wanted to like this band, and i did, until i found out they just copy off of zeppelin in their pics and logos. they even try to look like led zeppelin, just go to www.led-zeppelin.com, look at some pics, and then google image search "kings of leon" and you will eventually see what i am talking about i like their songs though, i fell in love with red morning light and the i really wanted to like this band, and i did, until i found out they just copy off of zeppelin in their pics and logos. they even try to look like led zeppelin, just go to www.led-zeppelin.com, look at some pics, and then google image search "kings of leon" and you will eventually see what i am talking about i like their songs though, i fell in love with red morning light and the bucket(the only ones worth listening to) Expand
  21. DannyC
    Apr 12, 2005
    3
    I bought this record with great expections. I listened to it for about a week. I dig there sound, and I like what they are doing, but it comes down to the fact that the songs are just poor. I find Caleb's voice painfull to listen to. The Bucket is the only song worth listening to. I enjoy this song alot. It seems that whenever a song starts I like it, but then the boys try to make it I bought this record with great expections. I listened to it for about a week. I dig there sound, and I like what they are doing, but it comes down to the fact that the songs are just poor. I find Caleb's voice painfull to listen to. The Bucket is the only song worth listening to. I enjoy this song alot. It seems that whenever a song starts I like it, but then the boys try to make it sound bad, by bad melodies, bad lyrics, and bad vocals. Better luck next time boys. Expand
  22. tim
    May 25, 2005
    5
    sux ass compared to the first one
  23. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Not only is this one of the best albums of all time, in my top 10, but it is the best Kings of Leon album, and I have all there albums, so I know. This album kicks major ass. The lyrics are hilariously realistic, Caleb's voice is uniquely eccentric, and the instrumentation is perfect. They set up the sound they wanted to start with on "Youth and Young Manhood" and they just perfected it.Not only is this one of the best albums of all time, in my top 10, but it is the best Kings of Leon album, and I have all there albums, so I know. This album kicks major ass. The lyrics are hilariously realistic, Caleb's voice is uniquely eccentric, and the instrumentation is perfect. They set up the sound they wanted to start with on "Youth and Young Manhood" and they just perfected it. This album has a sound and feel that no other album has ever invoked on me before. There is not one bad song on this album. I have listened to each song multiple times, and have listened to this album in it's entirety countless times. This is what music should be. Expand
  24. MattC
    Feb 24, 2005
    10
    This is an absolutely brilliant album and a great follow-up to their UK debut album. Usually the second album is hard for artists, but Kings Of Leon have mastered the skill with their southern country/rock tones.
  25. patricks
    Mar 20, 2005
    9
    Swashbuckin' stuff from the KoL. This album surpasses their debut. Stacked full of riffs, hooks reminisent of the Stones circa. Exile on Main Street. The album is consistent throughout with only perhaps one or two average songs. The Strokes ort to go to lessons again.
  26. Borat
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    Jagshemesh!!! Nice! I Like!
  27. JohnR
    Apr 7, 2005
    8
    It's unfortunate that people like 'chairman sac' (below, brilliant man...) feel the need to shred a band without stopping to...um...think......It's sort of obvious that Rolling Stone would be the ones getting ADVERTISING REVENUE from listing the clothes they give to the band, free, for the shoot. "Here, pick any clothes you guys want off of these racks for the shoot." It's unfortunate that people like 'chairman sac' (below, brilliant man...) feel the need to shred a band without stopping to...um...think......It's sort of obvious that Rolling Stone would be the ones getting ADVERTISING REVENUE from listing the clothes they give to the band, free, for the shoot. "Here, pick any clothes you guys want off of these racks for the shoot." Yeah. What a bunch of jerks... Great record, though there are admittedly a few filler cuts mixed in with 4 or 5 showstoppers...Not as 'southern' as their first (sounding like the police several times...) but that's really a good thing. Next one should be damn good. BTW- vocals are one aspect of a band. Those that say the redundant- "band is okay but vocals are crap" and then give a 0 or 1 rating must feel 80-100% of music is the vocals...Okay, if you feel they make the record unlistenable then fine...but 'catchy tunes and hooks' surely indicate more than a 1... Expand
  28. JeffD
    Jul 8, 2005
    3
    I wanted to like this album, I really did. But what kept coming back to me was that there's really nothing there. This disc reminds me of The Strokes in that they're competent musicians, but there's no content. As the famous phrase says, "there's no there there." Vocalist reminds me somewhat of Bon Scott, and the music is decent 70's-ish rock/boogie, but this disc I wanted to like this album, I really did. But what kept coming back to me was that there's really nothing there. This disc reminds me of The Strokes in that they're competent musicians, but there's no content. As the famous phrase says, "there's no there there." Vocalist reminds me somewhat of Bon Scott, and the music is decent 70's-ish rock/boogie, but this disc passed by without a notice in my cd player. I put it on again, and before I knew it 6 songs had passed by without any real notice. There's just nothing there that really breaks any new ground or recycles older styles in a memorable way. Forgettable. Also presenting an issue (which the band probably had nothing to do with) is the fact that the CD has Microsoft Copy Protection, which means that if you buy this CD and want to listen to it on your iPod, you're pretty much out of luck. Expand
  29. zackg
    Jan 1, 2005
    10
    This is a spectacular album. Their first was great, but Aha Shake Heartbreak is twice as good. These guys are really good, and hopefully their music is heard by more ears in the future, because people are missing out on some great sound.
  30. AmerB
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    A pleasant surprise, indeed. This album is great. After listening to their first album, you could feel there's something great in their sound. Their confidence was appealing..and with their sound now being improved..KOF is one hell of a great band. Shorter songs..faster beats..and the slow numbers hit the mark as well. The only thing that can be improved now is the lyrics. But A pleasant surprise, indeed. This album is great. After listening to their first album, you could feel there's something great in their sound. Their confidence was appealing..and with their sound now being improved..KOF is one hell of a great band. Shorter songs..faster beats..and the slow numbers hit the mark as well. The only thing that can be improved now is the lyrics. But overall, this album is really refreshing. Expand
  31. Dannyd
    Feb 10, 2005
    9
    Not as good as Youth and Young Manhood. Still Rockin
  32. BenJ
    Feb 23, 2005
    8
    This is a brilliant album that surpasses "Youth & Young Manhood" with ease in my book. It's strengths lie in great songs and brilliant sequencing, so the album reaches constant peaks rather than the usual "load the good songs at the front but let it trail off at the end"
  33. goatiestoatie
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    awesome
  34. mikek
    Mar 25, 2005
    1
    garbage...it does have some catchy tunes and hooks but the whole albums is boring...followil sounds like crap, how can anyone think that his voice is good...he sounds like randy newman with add as pitchfork said in their review.
  35. KOLRoXYeah
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    This album definately lives up to it expectations. With amazing songs like 4 Kicks, King of the Rodeo, and Velvet Snow, this alblum is jam-packed with HITS, Calebs vocals are original and addicting to listen to. I campare them to band like The Rolling Stones and Led Zeppelin. Rock music can be saved and the Kings Of Leon are here to help!
  36. Nymark
    Mar 8, 2005
    9
    a disjointed simple complexity that craves attention. this album is an intriguing adventure to say the least. as a recording it holds a lot of heart within its writing, production and performance, live on the other hand?... i'll find that out on the 9th july in newcastle, uk. bring it on.
  37. AshleyM
    Mar 9, 2005
    9
    The first album was hard to take. The band was marketed as a southern fried answer to the Strokes, and the album was painfully polished. If they came out of the garage for that album, they went back in for this one. The new album brings to mind Captain Beefheart if he were to embrace Stoner Rock. Definitely a good and if not innovative, very strong album.
  38. KyleB
    Apr 18, 2005
    9
    King of Leon are so underrated. It's sad. Just because they're not the most original band ever, doesn't mean they're not enjoyable.
  39. ChairmanSac
    Apr 5, 2005
    0
    This type of music is 100% pure, unadulturated garbage. Nothing more. If you want to hear a band that does what 1,000,000 bands have done before, check out Kings of Leon. If you want a band that is so image conscious that they do photo shoots for Rolling Stone in which they list the designer and cost of all the clothes they are wearing, check out Kings of Leon. But if you enjoy quality This type of music is 100% pure, unadulturated garbage. Nothing more. If you want to hear a band that does what 1,000,000 bands have done before, check out Kings of Leon. If you want a band that is so image conscious that they do photo shoots for Rolling Stone in which they list the designer and cost of all the clothes they are wearing, check out Kings of Leon. But if you enjoy quality music, do not check out Kings of Leon; your money would be better spent on some of the $150 jeans they were wearing in Rolling Stone. Simply disgusting. Expand
  40. Rory
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Caleb's abrasive, yet tuneful, "two packs a day" vocals juxtaposed and the innovative anchoring of Jared has made this album my favourite of all time. Drawing, or should the be re-drawing, from numerous musical stylings and centering them around the freedom of rock, has led to an explosive and refined listen. In other words: F*cking love it, so fresh and innovation, numero 3 shall be Caleb's abrasive, yet tuneful, "two packs a day" vocals juxtaposed and the innovative anchoring of Jared has made this album my favourite of all time. Drawing, or should the be re-drawing, from numerous musical stylings and centering them around the freedom of rock, has led to an explosive and refined listen. In other words: F*cking love it, so fresh and innovation, numero 3 shall be good, and finally give them the level of respec they deserve. Expand
  41. RadimH
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    One of the best CD I ever heard.
  42. KitT
    May 3, 2007
    10
    One of my favourite albums of all time, 'nuff said...
  43. WillL.
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    This album has a very live feel, in terms of little overdubs, tracks don't hang around long with the album just about 35 mins. 'The Bucket' and 'King of the Rodeo' are my favourites, it's only flaw is it fizzles out a little near the end.
  44. nickb
    Nov 25, 2004
    10
    Easily the finest album I have heard in many many years. Not one bad track it just gets better with every listen. Far superior to there critically acclaimed last outing. For some it may need a couple of listens to trully appreciate. If this is the case for you then stick with it I promise you will not be dissapointed.
  45. marcoc
    Nov 26, 2004
    9
    a fantastic album. probably the best of the year. anybody who's into r n r must get their hands on this. it's equal if not superior to their preceding album
  46. ted
    Nov 28, 2004
    4
    Much worse than the debut record. You won't find here any catchy melodies like the ones in Molly's Chambers or Holy Roller Novocaine. The only song that deserves to receive above-average rating is Razz (and maybe King Of the Rodeo).
  47. JerryS
    Jan 6, 2005
    1
    This is the worst and most painful album I have listened to in years. Because of this I have put it up on Ebay to let some other poor unsuspecting mug buy it.
  48. [Anonymous]
    Feb 17, 2005
    9
    so good
  49. Maggie
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    How con you not love this? Every bit as good as Youth and Young Manhood. You should see them live if you get the chance. The shows are incredible.
  50. Anthony
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    This album has it all
  51. jamesh
    Feb 3, 2005
    9
    Better than their first. More mature, more interesting, more complex, with each song flowing well into the next. Moves the band out of the simplistic retro southern rock category and more into the indie sphere.
  52. DylanE
    Mar 14, 2005
    8
    I Very much enjoyed this CD, I am pretty new to KOL but it still spurred me to recommend them to all of my friends. Tracks like Milk, The Bucket and Soft are absoloutly Killer tracks, I am hooked.
  53. JessicaG
    Mar 16, 2005
    10
    this album fucking rocks they have some really great lyrics ... i fucking love it
  54. BigBrad
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    Fantastic. The best rock'nroll band since the 70's. Aha rocks
  55. bobb
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    what an album celeb vocals are just amazing
  56. MattF
    Apr 11, 2005
    9
    A great unique and enegetic album. Every track makes you want ot get up and dance, and the bucket is perhaps the best song of 2004.
  57. timmyp
    May 13, 2005
    9
    Makes you want to dance and punch people at the same time.
  58. AngieH
    May 16, 2005
    10
    This album is brilliant, the Kings of Leon are one of the best indie acts yet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! "Four kicks whos strutting now!"
  59. carlos
    May 17, 2005
    7
    ummm....okay album but they still bring good songs.
  60. TravisS
    May 17, 2005
    9
    I've had this album for about 7 months now and still enjoy it as much as the day I bought it. I think KOL's style isn't anything ground-breaking but is definitely catchy as hell and has a lot of energy.
  61. BrandonB
    May 23, 2005
    7
    Interesting sounds, good storytelling but good luck understanding it. Lacks the flow and sing-a-long choruses of their debut.
  62. PaulJ
    May 31, 2005
    10
    simply amazing
  63. DavisW
    May 4, 2005
    9
    A really enjoyable listen, through and through. Not as raw as the debut, but they get the toes tapping more on this one.
  64. TBoneM
    Jul 12, 2005
    8
    This album definitely grows on you. Slow Night, So Long is probably the best song on the album. Taper Jean Girl is very good as is The Bucket. This is a good album that is getting sold short by some people. If your ear is used to 80s New Wave retreads, electronic stuff or some other more radio friendly sound, you might have a hard time adjusting.
  65. Satanic_Majesty,Colombia
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    Aha Shake HeartBreak is the "far beyond driven" outcome of a jagged Youth and Young Manhood. It's got the most intimate and authentic elements of a realistic band, coming up from a roary/garage gig debut. What elements? It's amazing and never_heard simplistics, with such a hooky voice that takes you to a particular geography, full of visions, smells, flavors and of course, Aha Shake HeartBreak is the "far beyond driven" outcome of a jagged Youth and Young Manhood. It's got the most intimate and authentic elements of a realistic band, coming up from a roary/garage gig debut. What elements? It's amazing and never_heard simplistics, with such a hooky voice that takes you to a particular geography, full of visions, smells, flavors and of course, sounds. A majestic display of both rythmic and lead guitars, groovy drums and full_bodied bass sound. On the whole, this album amazingly shows that this band is a blend of a never_heard 70's cocky rock psychedelia, with new arrangements of america's traditional music. Among The Strokes, The Vines and The Hives, KOL are the most original band. But one thing is for sure: you've got to be a Classic Rocker to dig these guys, cuz if you like the other post_modern crap -say, the groups noted down before- don't waste your meaningless critics on this wonderfull band. Viva Colombia Carajo!!! Expand
  66. SteveT
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Wow! Stripped down licks and sassy attitude.
  67. TomP
    Feb 21, 2005
    8
    Not as good as youth and young manhood (how can u beat that??) but still quality - different
  68. ErdemB
    Nov 24, 2004
    7
    Kicks arse.
  69. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    This album is fantastic, whenever I hear it it reminds me why Only By the Night sucked so bad. Its god damn rock n roll. First three tracks are perfect, and fit together brilliantly
  70. Dec 14, 2010
    9
    Aha Shake Heartbreak is a major improvement from their first album. They slowed down their songs so much so it's an easier and smoother listen. It's a great sound and a wonderful listen. All In All, Aha Shake Heartbreak is a improvement from their fist album. A-
  71. j30
    Feb 19, 2012
    7
    Aha Shake Hearbreak is s fun pop rock album with some solid tracks such as "The Bucket," "Four Kicks," "King of the Rodeo" and "Taper Jean Girl."
  72. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    Brilliant follow up to their impressive debut Youth and Young Manhood. More mature musically but still with the exciting sound where your not sure quite what they will throw out at you. Sometimes frantic, sometimes quiet and subtle it's a very accomplished record with catchy rock riffs a plenty. King of the Rodeo, Milk, The Bucket, Soft are all classic KOL tracks. Arguably this was theirBrilliant follow up to their impressive debut Youth and Young Manhood. More mature musically but still with the exciting sound where your not sure quite what they will throw out at you. Sometimes frantic, sometimes quiet and subtle it's a very accomplished record with catchy rock riffs a plenty. King of the Rodeo, Milk, The Bucket, Soft are all classic KOL tracks. Arguably this was their peak artistically. Still sounds just as great today. Expand
  73. May 7, 2012
    10
    Kings of Leon made an amazing, if not better, follow-up to Youth and Young Manhood in 2004 with Aha Shake Heartbreak. This is, to me, the last album KOL made in which I love every single song. It starts calmly with Slow Night, So Long but there are a mixture of songs on this album. It is definitely in my top 10 album list, an album everyone should listen to at least once.
  74. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    This is one of my favorite albums of the 2000s. It's raw and untamed. The album just flows so nicely and only slows down for the haunting "Milk" and the three-chord "Day-Old Blues." These guys' energy is astonishing and there's a lot of soul here. My favorite album of their current 5.
  75. Oct 24, 2014
    7
    Ethan James comes up to the plate for the second time on the King's sophomore release and produces an album which synthesizes the band's raunchy roots with some slick and positively refined sounds.

    The King's sound has matured, moving away from the more dubious moments of Youth and Young Manhood while holding on to and building on the positive aspects of their debut. Aha Shake
    Ethan James comes up to the plate for the second time on the King's sophomore release and produces an album which synthesizes the band's raunchy roots with some slick and positively refined sounds.

    The King's sound has matured, moving away from the more dubious moments of Youth and Young Manhood while holding on to and building on the positive aspects of their debut. Aha Shake Heartbreak marks an intermittent sound, itself a refinement suggestive of the incredible exploits soon to follow.

    Aha Shake Heartbreak presents a record which benefits from an increased sense of unity brought by the band to their new material, both in terms of sonic architecture and subject matter. Brothers Nathan, Jared and vocalist cum rhythm guitarist Caleb comprise a tight rhythm section which delivers a dynamic range of tones - from southern infused garages to more subdued and reflective grooves - underpinning cousin Mathew's raw and colorful guitar work. All the while Caleb sings about the extremities of fame ("Bucket"), worn out sexual preoccupation ("Milk"), the madness of gang and gun violence ("Four Kicks") and the consequences of heavy cocaine consumption ("Velvet Snow"), among other themes.

    All in all, Aha Shake Heartbreak captures a band transformed for the better after the crazy antics of Youth & Young Manhood. The dreaded sophomore album can make or break a band, and in this case, I would say with resounding praise that Aha Shake Heartbreak is the record which establishes Kings of Leon as a top band of the noughties, into the band we now know, and which did much to lead them down the road into becoming a sensation.

    Track Picks: King of the Rodeo || Pistol of Fire || Bucket || Four Kicks
    Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Apart from Caleb Followill’s distinctive, growly vocals--half-man half-grizzly--this could be a completely different band. A much better band. It’s quite an incredible transformation--and I’ll say this upfront: it doesn’t matter what you thought of their debut, you should listen to this album.
  2. New Musical Express (NME)
    80
    It would seem from the evidence presented here that [King Of Leon] are intent on rebuilding themselves from scratch, drawing on whatever wild and wonderful influences they've tripped over in their race to live five lifetimes in every day. [30 Oct 2004, p.63]
  3. With shorter, tighter songs far more reminiscent of 80’s post-punk than Southern AOR, Aha Shake Heartbreak can only be considered a pleasant surprise.