Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    85
    Armed with a collection of adrenaline-pumping beats and diverse vocal appearances, it's a musical force that continues to establish Zimmerman's place among the house music greats.
  2. Nov 1, 2012
    80
    Having always been a master at transcending genres, he makes sure his new album includes something for every musical taste.
  3. 70
    >album title goes here< may show a more mature, artistically evolved deadmau5, but it'll still sell out auditoriums.
  4. Oct 23, 2012
    60
    To a saucer-eyed teenager with a head full of pills stood amidst Deadmau5's immersive, impressive son-ET-lumiere experience, watching everything "going right off," it'll probably sound amazing. Maybe the rest of us should just wait outside in the car until the show's over. [Nov 2012, p.105]
  5. Oct 10, 2012
    60
    Though it doesn't strike me as having the longevity of Random Album Title or 4x4=12, it's nonetheless worth the price of admission.
  6. Sep 27, 2012
    60
    His house-derived grooves don't have a lot of the swing and soul that older heads crave, but they're also not nearly as heavy-handed and macho as his haters claim.
  7. Sep 26, 2012
    60
    Flying in the face of his public persona, this is a sprawling (could be tighter) and humble (could be more persuasive) Deadmau5 album and one best suited for established fans.
  8. Sep 26, 2012
    60
    Deadmau5 brings a love of spectacle--and the humor of a natural ham--to his strobe-lit club anthems.
  9. Oct 10, 2012
    50
    At his best - "The Veldt," "Closer," and "Channel 42," which has a nice, Cameo-like wah-funk wiggle - Deadmau5 is a topflight roots-of-EDM mimic. At his worst, he's a troll.
  10. Oct 2, 2012
    40
    Album Title Goes Here is simply, and honestly, a pointless release, a record designed for two very different crowds, yet lacking the ammunition to even moderately please anyone.
  11. Sep 26, 2012
    40
    Right now, for all its impressive fireworks, it feels hollow as its title.
  12. Sep 26, 2012
    40
    It's derivative, cliched and gives the impression of having been made by someone who's never danced in their life, but in a purely technical sense, it's extremely well produced, punchy, powerful, with a strong grasp of dynamics and occasional flashes of a deft melodic touch.
  13. 10
    What strikes you first about Album Title Goes Here, apart from the moronic postmodernism-for-tweens title, is how resolutely un-danceable it is.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    0
    This is the worst album I have ever heard from deadmau5. I am a huge fan since 2008. I saw him and had the opportunity to meet and talk to him in 2009. Cool guy. This album seems like it was rushed. None of the tracks flow together, each song sounds like 2 songs put together, yeah cool but it doesnt sound relevant, it just sounds like to completely different songs in one that have nothing to do with each-other. superliminal was cool but it doesnt even come close to what hes capable of. October, Veldt and profession greifers (only the intrumental) are great. The sound qaulity is really good but the rest of the songs sound cheesy (no pun). The tracks sound like amature work. deadmau5 used to blow me away with his music now I am only shocked at how horrible some of the songs are. I hope he was just rushed into making this album and I think he should take some time off and focus on making music instead of having some pretty lights. I mean thats cool n all but I seriously am not going to another show unless he comes out with a better album and or he just doesn't play majourty of the songs. I also liked failbait for what it is, and most of the collabs are great. but this album terrified me. Where did that deadmau5 funk go? Full Review »
  2. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    I think this is an excellent album.
    has excellent songs like Professional Griefer, The Veldt, Channel 42, maths and Supperliminal think
    Deadmau5 did a great job Full Review »
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    6
    For anyone who's familiar with EDM's favorite mau5, Album Title Goes Here is as expected more of the same, and whether that be a yay or nay, is up to the listeners. For newer audiences that may not be familiar with the EDM cult, "Professional Griefers" featuring Gerard Way from My Chemical Romance is probably the most accessible track, featuring electronic guitar-esque stuttered beats along with Way's signature aggressive vocals. Its recommendable tracks are "There Will Be Coffee", a progressive house breakdown that's strong on melody, "The Veldt", another progressive house song strong on melodies which blend swimmingly with newcomer James' soothing voice, and "Telemiscommunications", which features synthpop songstress Imogen Heap in one of her most plausible vocal performances to date. However, its negativity derives from the negatives previous album faced: deadmau5's sheer lack of progression, with tedious opener "Superliminal" and headache inducing "Maths" being notable examples of that. So far fans, it depends on whether you're looking for the same ole, same ole. And for newer audiences, it just depends on what you expected from the hype. Full Review »