User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 62
  2. Negative: 10 out of 62

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    0
    This is the worst album I have ever heard from deadmau5. I am a huge fan since 2008. I saw him and had the opportunity to meet and talk to him in 2009. Cool guy. This album seems like it was rushed. None of the tracks flow together, each song sounds like 2 songs put together, yeah cool but it doesnt sound relevant, it just sounds like to completely different songs in one that have nothingThis is the worst album I have ever heard from deadmau5. I am a huge fan since 2008. I saw him and had the opportunity to meet and talk to him in 2009. Cool guy. This album seems like it was rushed. None of the tracks flow together, each song sounds like 2 songs put together, yeah cool but it doesnt sound relevant, it just sounds like to completely different songs in one that have nothing to do with each-other. superliminal was cool but it doesnt even come close to what hes capable of. October, Veldt and profession greifers (only the intrumental) are great. The sound qaulity is really good but the rest of the songs sound cheesy (no pun). The tracks sound like amature work. deadmau5 used to blow me away with his music now I am only shocked at how horrible some of the songs are. I hope he was just rushed into making this album and I think he should take some time off and focus on making music instead of having some pretty lights. I mean thats cool n all but I seriously am not going to another show unless he comes out with a better album and or he just doesn't play majourty of the songs. I also liked failbait for what it is, and most of the collabs are great. but this album terrified me. Where did that deadmau5 funk go? Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    I think this is an excellent album.
    has excellent songs like Professional Griefer, The Veldt, Channel 42, maths and Supperliminal think Deadmau5 did a great job
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    Just another great CD to workout to, do homework, drive, and enjoy life. Everything is better listening to Deadmau5, and he is diverse enough to have music that appeals to any mood I could be in.
  4. Oct 13, 2012
    6
    For anyone who's familiar with EDM's favorite mau5, Album Title Goes Here is as expected more of the same, and whether that be a yay or nay, is up to the listeners. For newer audiences that may not be familiar with the EDM cult, "Professional Griefers" featuring Gerard Way from My Chemical Romance is probably the most accessible track, featuring electronic guitar-esque stuttered beatsFor anyone who's familiar with EDM's favorite mau5, Album Title Goes Here is as expected more of the same, and whether that be a yay or nay, is up to the listeners. For newer audiences that may not be familiar with the EDM cult, "Professional Griefers" featuring Gerard Way from My Chemical Romance is probably the most accessible track, featuring electronic guitar-esque stuttered beats along with Way's signature aggressive vocals. Its recommendable tracks are "There Will Be Coffee", a progressive house breakdown that's strong on melody, "The Veldt", another progressive house song strong on melodies which blend swimmingly with newcomer James' soothing voice, and "Telemiscommunications", which features synthpop songstress Imogen Heap in one of her most plausible vocal performances to date. However, its negativity derives from the negatives previous album faced: deadmau5's sheer lack of progression, with tedious opener "Superliminal" and headache inducing "Maths" being notable examples of that. So far fans, it depends on whether you're looking for the same ole, same ole. And for newer audiences, it just depends on what you expected from the hype. Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    This is the new Deadmau5 album, absolutely wonderful. Such a kick to listen to whilst working out. Superliminal is the best track on the album. Good job, Joel.
  6. Sep 29, 2012
    6
    I usually love deadmau5's albums through and through, but this is his weakest attempt in a while. Most of the good songs were eithor leaked or previosly released. I feel like he tried to make a really long album. I would rather have a great small album than a large one filled with alright songs. the only good songs that werent already released were superliminal and Sleepless
  7. Oct 19, 2012
    9
    Songs in this album are individually made. You don't dance them, idiots, you "dig" them with your "head" and that is how it's made. It's one of the influent and concentration giving albums that I am able to hear by myself. And because of deadmau5 and his career of progressive house, there will still be no f***s given to the mainstream, todays trending, nor the world out there, just listen.Songs in this album are individually made. You don't dance them, idiots, you "dig" them with your "head" and that is how it's made. It's one of the influent and concentration giving albums that I am able to hear by myself. And because of deadmau5 and his career of progressive house, there will still be no f***s given to the mainstream, todays trending, nor the world out there, just listen. The criticizers should start listening instead of making bias to the funny and obvious sounding title. It's deadmau5 and his idea of making the title that way, the same way he told everyone the truth in his album "For Lack of a Better Name". Stop whining. > album title goes here < isn't bad at all, it's just Failbait that is out of style. The album itself is different, people around the world are listening to the whole thing. I throughly enjoy all the songs from Superliminal to October. Sleepless and Telemiscommunications are just a bit from deadmau5's mind. Never ever mind the Failbait (while reviewing). Expand
  8. Nov 12, 2012
    3
    In his 2012 effort, Album Title Goes Here, deadmau5 sticks to his style that works for him and his fans, which is no problem in my book. However, some tracks never find their footing (
  9. Jan 8, 2013
    7
    >Album Title Goes Here< is certainly does little to be the most standout offering from the now super-popular Deadmau5. Nokia has uses Deadmau5 in great amounts to showcase their products worldwide through 4D city-wide projects, and it's been cool. But all that stardom warrants greater expectations from the fan base and those who are interested in checking in with Deadmau5 for the first>Album Title Goes Here< is certainly does little to be the most standout offering from the now super-popular Deadmau5. Nokia has uses Deadmau5 in great amounts to showcase their products worldwide through 4D city-wide projects, and it's been cool. But all that stardom warrants greater expectations from the fan base and those who are interested in checking in with Deadmau5 for the first time. While >Album Title Goes Here< won't necessarily be regarded as his best work overall, there are some stellar movers & shakers to be found here. Easily one of the best cuts features My Chemical Romance's Gerard Way on "Professional Griefers", carrying a tightly woven, sick & infectious production with Way shout-chanting his way through some kind of post-apocalyptic surreality where the world is gone insane and digital fantasties run amuck. Outside of Griefers and the album opener "Superliminal", >Album Title Goes Here< finds most of its stride in restrained club-house tendencies. "The Veldt", "October", and "Closer" demonstrate this greatly with longer intros that blend into steady beats overlain with programmed synthesizers to carry the hooky melodies. No, this may not be his best work, but it certainly is fun and worth adding to the collection for already-fans. Newcomers may want to start with some of the predecessors to >Album Title Goes Here< before fully jumping in this late in the game. Expand
  10. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    Pretty good album and satisfied with purchase. There are some really bassy songs like Channel 42 and Fn Pig. This album is mixed with vocals and techno.
  11. Mar 27, 2013
    0
    I don't really understand all of the success behind dubstep, especially from artists like Deadmau5, which is probably one of the stupidest names I have ever heard in my life. This is all just electronic noise with an alarming amount of high pitched noises that hurt my ears. It's similar to my opinion on football. Why do people like the stupidest things? I'll never know.
  12. May 9, 2013
    8
    Some great tracks, some OK tracks, a couple I found a little annoying or totally out of place for deadmau5. The album doesn't flow very well; it's too bad he didn't write it as a continuous mix like his others (though there is a pretty good one on youtube by SNSR3DLINE). I'll give it a decent rating because I like deadmau5, and there are some great songs on here, but he can definitely do better.
  13. May 31, 2013
    8
    This album is a good album if you ask me.This album is better than 4x4=12 for me that is just my opinion.This album ads more harmony and happines into songs.Deadmau5 did a good job going on a big risk to go full progresive house on this album.Irespect the only hardcore fans who love hard songs from deadmau5 but its still a good album.It does not desever like a 55 it deserves a 80.Critics iThis album is a good album if you ask me.This album is better than 4x4=12 for me that is just my opinion.This album ads more harmony and happines into songs.Deadmau5 did a good job going on a big risk to go full progresive house on this album.Irespect the only hardcore fans who love hard songs from deadmau5 but its still a good album.It does not desever like a 55 it deserves a 80.Critics i think just listenen the songs like telemiscomunications or filbait and closer but they did not listen to the super songs named the veldet or professional girafigers or eaven there might be coffe.its an 8 for me and you shoud buy this album if you like house and that kind of music. Expand
  14. Dec 11, 2013
    8
    Great album! I hear a new style that I really like, shown in October, Closer, and There Might be Coffee that I really like! What I do not like is Telemiscommunications, Failbait, and Sleepless. But overall, great job!
  15. Dec 27, 2013
    3
    Don't get me wrong, I love Deadmau5, and this album has it's moments like "Superliminal", "The Veldt", and "Professional Griefers", but overall the album is sub-par for Deadmau5 standards. In particular, songs like "Fn Pig" and "Take Care of the Proper Paperwork" are just simply not that good and the rest of the tracks seem like they are half-baked at best. Though this album is forgivableDon't get me wrong, I love Deadmau5, and this album has it's moments like "Superliminal", "The Veldt", and "Professional Griefers", but overall the album is sub-par for Deadmau5 standards. In particular, songs like "Fn Pig" and "Take Care of the Proper Paperwork" are just simply not that good and the rest of the tracks seem like they are half-baked at best. Though this album is forgivable since it is just a collection of past recordings, hopefully Deadmau5's next album is far better. Expand
  16. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    This review is not in english, sry about that.

    Ok, na wstępie warto zaznaczyć, że Deadmau5 podążył właściwą ścieżką. Odstawił w niepamięć dubstepowe wstawki na rzecz czystego house'u bądź eksperymentalnej muzyki (czyt. elektronicznej). W pamięci zapadł mi utwór Fn Pig przywodzący czasy starego Joela, ale gwiazdą albumu jest dla mnie Take Care of Proper Paperwork. Geniusz w czystej
    This review is not in english, sry about that.

    Ok, na wstępie warto zaznaczyć, że Deadmau5 podążył właściwą ścieżką. Odstawił w niepamięć dubstepowe wstawki na rzecz czystego house'u bądź eksperymentalnej muzyki (czyt. elektronicznej). W pamięci zapadł mi utwór Fn Pig przywodzący czasy starego Joela, ale gwiazdą albumu jest dla mnie Take Care of Proper Paperwork. Geniusz w czystej postaci, nie rozumiem też narzekań co do braku przysłowiowego "dropu", takowy jest tam zbędny. Ogółem martwa mysz skleciła fantastyczny album, ale mam wrażenie, że stać ją na więcej :)
    Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    80
    Having always been a master at transcending genres, he makes sure his new album includes something for every musical taste.
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    60
    To a saucer-eyed teenager with a head full of pills stood amidst Deadmau5's immersive, impressive son-ET-lumiere experience, watching everything "going right off," it'll probably sound amazing. Maybe the rest of us should just wait outside in the car until the show's over. [Nov 2012, p.105]
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    50
    At his best - "The Veldt," "Closer," and "Channel 42," which has a nice, Cameo-like wah-funk wiggle - Deadmau5 is a topflight roots-of-EDM mimic. At his worst, he's a troll.